Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (81 total).

Adoption Exchange Association (AED)

Annotation: The Adoption Exchange Association (AEA) provides a forum for the exchange of ideas and strategies, collaboration on issues of mutual interest, and increased effectiveness in using resources to provide waiting children permanent homes. AEA connects representatives of state, regional, and national adoption exchanges, including placement agencies, parents, child welfare professionals, and concerned citizens across the United States. The association has developed Standards for Adoption Exchanges, which can be ordered from the Web site, along with other materials exploring various aspects of the adoption process. AEA also offers information packets on children waiting for adoption and resources within individual states.

Keywords: Adoption, Agencies, Collaboration, Information networks, Information services, Standards

AdoptUSKids

Annotation: AdoptUSKids works to raise public awareness about the need for foster and adoptive families and supports states, territories, and Tribes in their efforts to find families for children in foster care, particularly the most challenging to place. AdoptUSKids offers a variety of resources, services, and tools to both families and child welfare professionals. One of its core services is to provide technical assistance and resources to states, territories, and Tribes through the National Resource Center for Diligent Recruitment at AdoptUSKids (NRCDR).

Keywords: Adoptive parents, Adoption, . Collaboration, Children, Foster care, Foster parents, Information sources, Public service announcements

Alliance for Early Success

Annotation: The Alliance for Early Success (formerly the Birth to Five Policy Alliance) provides leadership, funding, and curates technical assistance to improve state policies that lead to better health and economic outcomes, especially for the most vulnerable young children. The alliance brings state, national, and funding partners together to improve state policies for children, from birth through age 8. The website provides information about partnerships and grants. Resources address three policy areas (health, family support, and learning) and three policy foundations (standards, screening and assessment, and accountability). The alliance also published a blog.

Keywords: Child development, Collaboration, Family support, Grants, Health policy, Leadership, Learning, Public private partnerships, Socioeconomic status

Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health (AIM)

Annotation: The Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health (AIM) is a national alliance to promote consistent and safe maternity care to reduce maternal mortality by 1,000 and severe maternal morbidity by 100,000 instances over the course of four years, 2014 – 2018 (and continuing). Over this four-year period, AIM will collaborate with eight qualified states and a large number of hospitals and hospital systems across the U.S. participating on a voluntary basis to initiate or improve a culture of maternal safety through continuous quality improvement cycles. The purpose of the AIM program is to equip, empower and embolden every state, perinatal quality collaborative, hospital network/system, birth facility and maternity care provider in the U.S to significantly reduce severe maternal morbidity and maternal mortality through proven implementation of consistent maternity care practices that are outlined in maternal safety bundles (action systems). The AIM Program is designed to complement current maternal safety initiatives in progress, as well as drive continuous quality improvement on a state and birth facility level. It is funded through the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Collaboration, Maternal health, Maternal mortality, Prevention programs, Quality assurance

America's Promise Alliance

Annotation: America's Promise Alliance is devoted to creating conditions for success for all young people. Activities are framed around five promises: caring adults, safe places, a healthy start, an effective education, and opportunities to serve. Activities include partnerships, fundraising, advocacy, and leadership and career development. The alliance launched the GradNation Campaign in 2010, building on 105 dropout prevention summits convened across the country to raise awareness and inspire action. Additional resources include research publications and a parent engagement toolkit for organizations and community leaders.

Keywords: Character, Adolescent development, Adolescents, Character development, Child development, Children, Coalitions, Collaboration, Life skills, Youth development

American Institutes for Research (AIR)

Annotation: The American Institutes for Research conduct and apply the best behavioral and social science research and evaluation towards improving peoples’ lives, with a special emphasis on the disadvantaged. Within the United States and internationally, AIR produces improvements in education, health, and the workforce; addresses the needs of individuals, organizations, and communities; designs and advances statistical and research methods; helps practitioners and organizations to adopt evidence-based practices; and informs public understanding and policymaking by the best evidence. Topics include child welfare, cultural competence, families, juvenile justice, mental health, school violence prevention and intervention, and schools and special education.

Keywords: Collaboration, Evaluation, Information services, Listservs, Model programs, Program development, Public policy, Research

American Institutes for Research, Center for Effective Collaboration and Practice (CECP)

Annotation: The Center for Effective Collaboration and Practice (CECP) at the American Institutes for Research supports and promotes a reoriented national preparedness to foster the development and the adjustment of children with or at risk of developing serious emotional disturbance. To achieve that goal, the center has a policy of collaboration at federal, state, and local levels that contributes to and facilitates the production, exchange, and use of knowledge about effective practices. The center is funded by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Special Education Programs and receives additional support from the Center for Mental Health Services, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Topics covered by the center include child welfare, cultural competence, families, juvenile justice, mental health, school violence prevention and intervention, and schools and special education. The center provides publications, list service discussions, information about promising practices and prevention programs that work, and links to further information.

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Affective disorders, Child mental health, Collaboration, Information services, Listservs, Model programs

Association for Community Health Improvement (ACHI)

Annotation: The Association for Community Health Improvement (ACHI) convenes and supports leaders from the health care, public health, community, and philanthropic sectors to help achieve shared community health goals. The association works to strengthen community health through education, peer networking, and the dissemination of practical tools such as searchable databases, audio conferences, and free downloadable community health materials. ACHI hosts an annual conference, publishes a newsletter, and posts news and updates on its website.

Keywords: Community based services, Collaboration, Electronic publications, Networking

Baby Blossoms Collaborative

Annotation: Baby Blossoms Collaborative (BBC)works to eliminate factors that contribute to health disparities through efforts to strengthen the community capacity by identifying the contributing factors that lead to racial, geographic, and economic disparities contributing to poor reproductive outcomes and poor infant health; reducing overall feto-infant mortality; and builds on the strengths of the community. The BBC is comprised of 35+ maternal child health partner agencies and small businesses in Douglas County, Nebraska, and provides resources on safe sleep for infants, perinatal periods of risk, Fetal and Infant Mortality Review cycle of improvement, bereavement, and preconception health.

Keywords: Child health, Collaboration, Community coordination, Community programs, Infant health, Nebraska, Pregnancy outcome, Reproductive health

Building Bridges Initiative (BBI)

Annotation: The Building Bridges Initiative (BBI) identifies and promotes practice and policy initiatives that will create strong and closely coordinated partnerships and collaborations between families, youth, community- and residentially-based treatment and service providers, advocates and policymakers to ensure that comprehensive services and supports are family-driven, youth-guided, strength-based, culturally and linguistically competent, individualized, evidence- and practice-informed, and consistent with the research on sustained positive outcomes.

Keywords: Adolescents, Collaboration, Mental health services, Parent professional relations

Casey Family Programs

Annotation: Casey Family Programs is a national foundation that provides direct services and works to promote advances in child welfare practice and policy and collaborate with foster, kinship, and adoptive parents to provide safe, loving homes for youth. The foundation also collaborates with counties, states, and native tribes to improve services and outcomes for the more than 500,000 young people in out-of-home care across the United States. Casey Family Programs conducts studies and gathers information; offers access to innovative projects and online publications; organizes and participates in conferences, and provides life-skills tools and opportunities for young people at risk. The foundation has offices in several states.

Keywords: Child welfare, Collaboration, Electronic publications, Foster care, Foundations, Model programs, Out of home care

Catherine E. Cutler Institute for Child and Family Policy

Annotation: The Catherine E. Cutler Institute for Child and Family Policy is funded by the Child Care Bureau to conduct a mixed method, in-depth case study in Colorado to examine current practice across systems in order to determine the degree to which the educational needs of children younger than five in the child welfare system are being addressed through collaborations between child welfare agencies, early intervention/preschool special education programs under IDEA and quality early care and education programs. The Institute also identifies best practices and develops policy recommendations for how the multiple agencies which provide these services can better coordinate their efforts.

Keywords: Child development, Child welfare, Collaboration, Early childhood education, Early intervention services, School readiness, Service integration, Young children

CDC Foundation

Annotation: Established by Congress as an independent, nonprofit organization, the CDC Foundation connects the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) with private-sector organizations and individuals to build public health programs that make the world healthier and safer. The CDC Foundation helps CDC pursue innovative ideas that need support from outside partners. The support needed is most often funding, but also can include expertise, information, leadership or connections to specific groups of people. CDC Foundation partnerships help CDC launch new programs, expand existing programs that show promise, or establish a proof of concept through a pilot project before scaling it up. In each partnership, outside support gives CDC experts the flexibility to quickly and effectively connect with the right partners, information and technology needed to address a priority public health challenge.

Keywords: Collaboration, Foundations, Health promotion, Public private partnerships

UCLA Center for Healthier Children, Families and Communities

Annotation: The UCLA Center for Healthier Children, Families and Communities works to improve society's ability to provide children with the best opportunities for health and well-being, and the chance to assume productive roles within families and communities. Uniting a broad range of specialists, including health care providers, educators, economists, and public policy makers together with families, community groups, providers, and businesses, the center aims to increase the efficiency, effectiveness, and distribution of health and social services; assist communities in transforming themselves into healthier environments for their children; and improve the health of children, families, and communities by developing innovative and responsive service programs; The center is a multi-disciplinary program of the UCLA School of Medicine, Department of Pediatrics, and the UCLA School of Public Health, with faculty participation from the School of Public Policy and Social Research, School of Law, and the College of Letters and Sciences. The center provides technical assistance, training, publications, and other resources.

Keywords: , Public private partnerships, Child health, Collaboration, Community programs, Education, Families, Interdisciplinary approach, Program improvement, School readiness, Service delivery, University affiliated centers

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Public Health Law Program (CDC PHLP)

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Public Health Law Program (CDC PHLP) has these goals: to improve the understanding and use of law as a public health tool; to develop CDC’s capacity to apply law to achievement of its Health Protection Goals; and to develop the legal preparedness of the public health system to address all public health priorities. The program (1) develops practical, law-centered tools for practitioners and policy makers in all relevant sectors; (2) engages practitioners and policy makers in identifying priorities and in developing and applying legal tools; (3) addresses all four core elements of public health legal preparedness: laws and legal authorities; competencies; coordination across sectors and jurisdictions; and, scientific and best-practices information; (4) provides consultation to CDC programs and partners; and (5) establishes partnerships linking CDC and all partners active in public health law.

Keywords: Collaboration, Federal initiatives, Legal issues, Public health

Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative (CAHMI)

Annotation: The Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative (CAHMI) develops and facilitates the implementation of client-centered quality-measurement tools. CAHMI’s website has information about how to implement and apply the measures. CAHMI also provides technical assistance for services for client-centered quality measurement and improvement, including research design, analysis, and reporting to key stakeholders. The initiative's Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health (DRC) functions to advance the use of public data on health and health-related services for children, adolescents, and their families.

Keywords: Collaboration, Quality assurance, Adolescent health, Child health , Evaluation, Measures, Surveys

Children's HealthWatch

Annotation: Children's HealthWatch, formerly Children's Sentinel Nutrition Assessment Program (C-SNAP), Children's HealthWatch works to improve child health by bringing evidence and analysis from the front lines of pediatric care to policy makers and the public. The network of pediatricians and public health researchers collects data on children up to the age of four in emergency rooms and clinics at Boston Medical Center, the University of Maryland School of Medicine in Baltimore; the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences in Little Rock; Hennepin County Medical Center in Minneapolis; and St. Christopher's Hospital in Philadelphia. Data is collected and analyzed on food security, housing stability, home environment issues, health, and other possible hardship experiences for young children, particularly in low income areas.

Keywords: Child health, Child nutrition, Collaboration, Data collection, Housing, Hunger, Low income groups, Nutrition assessment, Public policy, advocacy

Collaborative Family Healthcare Association (CFHA)

Annotation: The Collaborative Family Healthcare Association is a membership organization of physical and mental health providers and consumers. It promotes collaborative family healthcare as an optimal way to deliver care. Services to consumers include inquiry responses and reference information. A list serve is also available on the association's Web site. The association also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Health care, Collaboration, Consumers, Family centered care, Health personnel, Information services

Collaborative Family Healthcare Coalition (CFHcC)

Annotation: Founded in 1993, the Collaborative Family Healthcare Coalition (CFHcC) functions as a communication network and information clearinghouse for the healthcare professionals who are its members. Resources include an annual conference, maintenance of Web site databases and listings, and the publishing of a quarterly newsletter, "Working Together."

Keywords: Family centered services, Collaboration, Families, Health personnel, Physician patient relations

Collaborative Improvement and Innovation Network to Reduce Infant Mortality (COIN )

Annotation: The Collaborative Improvement and Innovation Network (COIN) to Reduce Infant Mortality is a public-private partnership developed by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau to reduce infant mortality and improve birth outcomes in 13 southern states. These states include Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Texas. These states comprise U.S. Department of Health and Human Services regions four and six. Participants learn from one another and national experts, share best practices and lessons learned, and track progress toward shared benchmarks.

Keywords: Collaboration, Infant mortality, Prevention, Public private partnerships, Risk reduction

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.