Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 19 (19 total).

Alliance for Early Success

Annotation: The Alliance for Early Success (formerly the Birth to Five Policy Alliance) provides leadership, funding, and curates technical assistance to improve state policies that lead to better health and economic outcomes, especially for the most vulnerable young children. The alliance brings state, national, and funding partners together to improve state policies for children, from birth through age 8. The website provides information about partnerships and grants. Resources address three policy areas (health, family support, and learning) and three policy foundations (standards, screening and assessment, and accountability). The alliance also published a blog.

Keywords: Child development, Collaboration, Family support, Grants, Health policy, Leadership, Learning, Public private partnerships, Socioeconomic status

Attention Deficit Disorder Association (ADDA)

Annotation: The Attention Deficit Disorder Association (ADDA) is a national nonprofit organization that offers information, resources, and networking services to adults with AD/HD and to the professionals working with them. The information and resources provided focus on diagnoses, treatment, strategies, and techniques for helping adults with AD/HD lead better lives. ADDA hosts conferences, provides audio and video materials, publishes a quarterly newsletter, offers networking opportunities, and provides advocacy in the field.

Keywords: Attention deficit disorder, Learning disabilities

Attention Deficit Disorder Resources

Annotation: Attention Deficit Disorder Resources is a national non-profit organization that helps people with ADD or ADHD achieve their full potential through education, support, and networking opportunities. Electronic news, online articles for parents and adults, and discussion forums can be accessed via the Web site. The organization also offers an online bookstore; maintains a lending library for members and registered library users; hosts Webcasts, free teleclasses, workshops, and conferences; and provides a directory of service providers who specialize in attention deficit disorders. Support groups are also provided in the Puget Sound, Washington, area.

Keywords: Attention deficit disorder, Learning disabilities, Hyperactivity, Information services

CHADD -- Children and Adults with Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorders (CHADD)

Annotation: CHADD (Children and Adults with Attention-Deficit /Hyperactivity Disorders) is a national nonprofit organization serving individuals with attention deficit / hyperactivity disorder. Through collaboration leadership, advocacy,research, education, and support, CHADD provides science-based information about AD/HD to parents, educators, professionals, the media, and the general public. CHADD houses and administers the CDC'funded National Resource Center on AD/HD, a nation-wide clearinghouse for information, support, and referrals. CHADD has more than 20,000 members in over 200 local chapters. CHADD sponsors an annual conference and publishes a bi-monthly magazine, Attention!, a quarterly newsletter, Inside CHADD, and an electronic newsletter News from CHADD.

Keywords: Attention deficit disorder, Hyperactivity, Information dissemination, Learning disabilities, Parent groups, Support groups

Community Commons

Annotation: Community Commons is an interactive mapping, networking, and learning utility for the broad-based healthy, sustainable, and livable communities' movement. Services include map-able geographic information systems for all communities in the United States; an application program interface, providing free interoperable access to data; contextualized mapping, reporting, data visualization, and sharing abilities; searchable profiles of place-based community initiatives and multi-sector collaborations; peer learning opportunities to explore similar topics and share best practices; spaces for individuals and communities to share narratives, interviews, videos, images, documents, and other online resources.

Keywords: Collaboration, Communication, Community health, Data, Networking, Public private partnerships, Social change, Social learning

Educators for Social Responsibility (ESR)

Annotation: Educators for Social Responsibility (ESR), a national nonprofit organization founded in 1982, helps educators create safe, caring, respectful, and productive learning environments and also helps educators work with young people to develop the social skills, emotional competencies, and qualities of character they need to succeed in school and become contributing members of their communities. ESR also helps educators respond to local, national, and international crises related to interpersonal and systemic violence, intolerance, and global conflicts and war. Materials address all age groups from early childhood through grade 12.

Keywords: Adolescents, Character, Children, Education, Social learning, Social responsibility, Terrorism, Violence, Young children

First Things First

Annotation: First Things First supports the healthy development and learning of young children from birth to age 5 in Arizona. The website explains why the early years are critical for a child's healthy development and why investing in quality early childhood programs benefits children, families, communities, and the state. The website includes information for parents and families on topics such as brain development, ages and stages, child care and preschool, and literacy. Resources include a parent kit; a birth to five helpline; annual and biennial reports on statewide and regional needs and assets, and regional impact; research on brain science, quality early learning, and parenting education and family support; and data and statistics relevant to early childhood on national, state, and local levels.

Keywords: Arizona, Child care, Child health, Child safety, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Family support, Learning, Parent education, Research, School readiness, State initiatives, Statistical data, Young children

Global Family Research Project™

Annotation: The Global Family Research Project (formerly the Harvard Family Research Project) is an independent, entrepreneurial, nonprofit organization that supports all families and communities in helping children find success in and out of school. The project creates a worldwide exchange of ideas to further the understanding and implementation of anywhere, anytime learning for all. The team provides leadership to promote strategies that build pathways for children's whole development across all learning environments.

Keywords: Child development, Collaboration, Equal opportunities, Evaluation, Leadership, Learning, Policy development, Research, Staff development, Technical assistance

Hardman and Associates (H & A)

Annotation: Hardman and Associates are educational specialists in the field of dyslexia, Attention Deficit Disorders, and special learning disorders for children and adults. Hardman and Associates offers referrals, reference information, and diagnostic testing (with emphasis in the areas of language, perception, and attention). Hardman and Associates has developed an entire curriculum, for the bright dyslexic/ADD student, covering reading, math, grammar, and written expression, as well as content/study strategies. Hardman and Associates leads workshops/training for implementation of the curriculum, sponsors conferences, and provides speakers for state and national workshops. Hardman and Associates Teacher Training Course is accredited by the International Multisensory Structured Language Education Council.

Keywords: Dyslexia, Learning disabilities, Medical research

Institute for People, Place & Possibility (IP3)

Annotation: Institute for People, Place & Possibility (IP3) helps organizations, communities, and governments improve the understanding of, investment in, and action toward the vitality of people, places, and the natural environment. Services include data visualization and geographic information systems mapping, evidence and impact research, and storytelling and social media. IP3 supports Community Commons, an interactive mapping, networking, and learning utility for the healthy/sustainable/livable communities' movement.

Keywords: Collaboration, Communication, Community health, Data, Networking, Policy development, Public private partnerships, Research, Social change, Social learning

International Dyslexia Association (IDA)

Annotation: The International Dyslexia Association (IDA), formerly known as the Orton Dyslexia Society (ODS), promotes research and education of dyslexia and encourages appropriate teaching techniques. Publications include a quarterly newsletter, Perspectives, a journal, and many publications useful for parents, professionals, and individuals with dyslexia. A publications catalog is available. Some materials are available in Spanish. IDA provides information and referral services for testing, tutoring, and effective teaching programs and sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops.

Keywords: Dyslexia, Health education, Language disorders, Learning disabilities, Medical research

Learning Disabilities Association of America (LDA)

Annotation: The Learning Disabilities Association of America (LDA) is a national organization of parents, professionals, and people with specific learning disabilities. The association works to accurately identify and remediate people with learning disabilities and to share innovative ideas and teaching techniques. It also disseminates data, evaluates programs, promotes research, and works to increase awareness of the problems of people with learning disabilities, providing consumers with referrals and publications. The newsletter LDA Newsbriefs is published six times a year. Other publications include a journal and a resource catalog. Some materials are available in Spanish. The association also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Dyslexia, Information services, Medical research, , Learning disabilities

Learning Policy Institute

Annotation: The Learning Policy Institute conducts and communicates independent research to improve education policy and practice. Working with policymakers, researchers, educators, community groups, and others, the Institute seeks to advance evidence-based policies that support empowering and equitable learning for each and every child. Nonprofit and nonpartisan, the Institute connects policymakers and stakeholders at the local, state, and federal levels with evidence, ideas, and actions to strengthen the education system from preschool through college and career readiness.

Keywords: Educational change, Equal opportunities, Learning, Policy development, Research, School readiness, Systems development

National Center for Learning Disabilities (NCLD)

Annotation: The National Center for Learning Disabilities (NCLD) is a national organization committed to improving the lives of those affected by learning disabilities. NCLD's mission is to promote public awareness and understanding of children and adults with learning disabilities, and to provide national leadership on their behalf, so they may achieve their potential and enjoy full participation in our society. Resources include eBooks, videos, podcasts, online expert advice, and a service locator. In addition to age-appropriate guidance, the website provides information on the warning signs of learning disabilities, social and emotional skills, children's rights, schooling, teens and transition, advocacy, and more.

Keywords: Learning disabilities

National Center on Early Childhood Development, Teaching, and Learning (ECDTL)

Annotation: The National Center on Early Childhood Development, Teaching, and Learning (ECDTL) supports meaningful learning for children and the early educators who support them. The center is funded and guided by the U.S. Office of Head Start and the U.S. Office of Child Care to promote excellence across all ECE programs by offering resources, building program capacity, and encouraging consistent practices.

Keywords: Early childhood education, Head Start, Learning, Resource centers, Resources for professionals, Teaching, Technical assistance, Young children

Parents Helping Parents (PHP)

Annotation: Parents Helping Parents (PHP) is a nonprofit, family resource center that benefits children with special needs. This includes children of all ages (birth through life) and all backgrounds who have a need for special services due to any special need, including but not limited to illness, cancer, accidents, birth defects, neurological conditions, premature birth, learning or physical disabilities, mental health issues, and attention deficit (hyperactivity) disorder. PHP's mission is to help children with special needs receive the resources, love, hope, respect, health care, education, and other services they need to reach their full potential by providing them with strong families, dedicated professionals, and responsive systems to serve them. PHP provides assistive technology services through its iTech Center, hosts an online resource directory, and maintains the PHP Community Disability Library, which includes an online catalog.

Keywords: Disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Family resource centers, Health educaton, Learning disabilities, Mental disorders, Parent groups, Parents, Siblings, Spanish language materials, Support groups

Recording for the Blind and Dyslexic (RFD&B)

Annotation: Recording for the Blind and Dyslexic is a national nonprofit organization that provides recorded and computerized textbooks at all academic levels to people who cannot effectively read standard print because of a visual impairment, learning disability or other physical disability. The organization's 78,000 volume library contains a broad selection of titles, from literature and history to math and the sciences. Recording for the Blind and Dyslexic also offers individuals and institutional memberships, scholarship programs and a custom recording service. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. A catalog is also available.

Keywords: Blindness, Dyslexia, Learning disabilities, Vision disorders

Scottish Rite Centers for Childhood Language Disorders

Annotation: The Scottish Rite Centers for Childhood Language Disorders provide diagnostic evaluation, referrals, and treatment of childhood language disorders and associated learning disabilities. These services are available to preschool children and those in early grades who have difficulty speaking, reading, or understanding the spoken word. Centers located throughout the country, making services available to children regardless of race or creed or the family's ability to pay. Publications include a monthly journal, and occasional local conferences and training seminars are sponsored.

Keywords: Language disorders, Learning disabilities, Preschool children

Washington State Department of Early Learning

Annotation: The Department of Early Learning (DEL) helps create safe, healthy, nurturing learning experiences for all Washington children. Work focuses on the earliest years in children’s homes, child care, school programs and communities. Information and resources are offered for children's first and most important teachers—parents—as well as others who care for and teach young children.

Keywords: Child care, Early childhood development, Early childhood educators, Learning activities, Young children

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.