Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This online tracker contains a map of the U.S. and accompanying chart highlighting each state's policy in response to the 2016 federal guidance allowing states to provide Medicaid coverage of maternal and/or caregiver depression screening during a well-child visit under the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT) benefit. The map indicates which states either require, recommend, or allow maternal depression screening using the two-generational approach and, where applicable, provides the reimbursement rate for this fee-for-service.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: info@nashp.org Web Site: http://www.nashp.org

• Link

Keywords: Depression, Financing, Maternal health, Medicaid, Policy, Postpartum depression, Screening, State legislation

Annotation: This issue brief highlights Action 1.14 from the White House Blueprint for Addressing the Maternal Health Crisis, focused on expanding capacity to screen, assess, treat, and refer for maternal depression and related behavioral disorders. The document examines evidence-supported interventions for addressing perinatal depression, including universal screening protocols, psychiatric consultation services, and care coordination support. It presents current data on the prevalence and disparities in maternal mental health screening and treatment across different populations and geographic areas, with particular attention to racial, ethnic, and socioeconomic factors. The brief outlines specific state-level innovations being implemented to improve maternal mental health care, such as Illinois's DocAssist program and Montana's PRISM consultation line, and provides evidence-based measures for tracking progress in expanding behavioral health support services.

Contact: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: https://maternalhealthlearning.org/

• Link

Keywords: Assessment, Coordination, Depression, Health care disparities, Maternal health, Mental health, Model programs, Postpartum depression, Referrals, Screening, State initiatives

Annotation: This trainer's manual provides guidance for delivering a two-session training program to help community health workers identify, support, educate and refer clients with maternal depression. The manual includes step-by-step instructions for facilitating group activities, discussion prompts, and practice scenarios focused on client-centered communication skills, engagement techniques, and educational messaging. It contains detailed appendices with implementation guidance for remote delivery, handouts in English and Spanish, and mental health resources. The training emphasizes building rapport, normalizing discussions of maternal depression, and practicing skills through role-play.

Contact: Cicatelli Associates, 505 Eighth Avenue, Suite 1900, New York, NY 10018, Telephone: (215) 594-7741 Fax: (212) 629-3321 Web Site: https://www.caiglobal.org/

• PDF

Keywords: Community health workers, Depression, Education, Maternal health, Postpartum depression, Professional training

Annotation: In this video presentation, Dr. Nancy Byatt shares information on MCPAP-- the Massachusetts Child Pscychiatry for Moms program--which provides consultation to health care providers regarding behavioral/mental health and safe medications for pregnant or breastfeeding patients. MCPAP also helps to connect people to support groups and community-based services and serves as an example of behavioral and primary care integration that can be replicated.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Behavioral medicine, Depression, Maternal health, Mental health, Model programs, Perinatal health, Primary care, Service integration

Annotation: This webinar focuses on maternal mental health within a cultural context, highlighting factors to consider when addressing the mental health needs of Black, Indigenous, and People of Color (BIPOC) in underserved communities. Culturally-sensitive approaches to MCH services that address postpartum depression and other mental health concerns are discussed by a variety of panelists during the hour-long video presentation.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Cultural barriers, Cultural factors, Health equity, MCH services, Maternal health, Mental health, Postpartum depression, Racial factors, Risk factors, Service delivery

Annotation: This webinar (1) describes how systems changes in maternal mental health and substance use disorders can lead to increases in diagnosis and treatment rates; (2) identifies opportunities to use the "Medicaid Institutions for Mental Disease (IMD) Exclusion" to improve treatment of mental health and substance use disorders in MCH populations; and (3) discusses the process by which Virginia leveraged a Medicaid IMD waiver to improve access to care and treatment for reproductive age women.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Maternal health, Medicaid, Mental health, Model programs, Postpartum depression, Substance abuse, Virginia

Annotation: This compendium provides information for nurses caring for women, infants, and families in any setting: hospital, birthing center, ambulatory care, or home. This revised reference manual provides evidence-based information and guidelines for postpartum care, and addresses the physical, emotional, and psychosocial needs of mothers, newborns, and families for the first three months following birth. Topics include an overview of postpartum care in the hospital, discharge planning and health teaching, early home care of the mother and infant, reorganization of the family unit, and breastfeeding. Also featured are the latest research and practice recommendations for postpartum mood and anxiety disorders, including postpartum obsessive-compulsive disorder, panic disorder, and post-traumatic stress disorder secondary to birth trauma. References and a glossary are provided along with continuing education forms, questions, a participant evaluation form, patient handouts, and a post-text answer key.

Contact: Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses, 1800 M Street, NW, Suite 740S, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 261-2400 E-mail: Info@awhonn.org Web Site: https://www.awhonn.org/

• Preview Of 3rd Edition

Keywords: Home visiting, Infant care, Maternal mental health, Mental health services, Nursing services, Postpartum care, Postpartum depression, Postpartum women, Puerperal disorders, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This tip sheet describes how women with maternal depression can be identified and supported by states, health care providers, families, and friends. It defines and describes the symptoms of postpartum depression (vs. the "baby blues"); includes a map comparing rates of reported symptoms of depression after birth; and a link to additional resources.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Maternal mental health, Postpartum depression, Screening, Social support, Statistics

Annotation: This systematic review examines the benefits and harms of primary care-relevant interventions to prevent perinatal depression (i.e., depression during pregnancy and postpartum depression). Sources consulted for the review include MEDLINE, PubMED, PsyINFO, and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; references of relevant publications and government web sites were also searched. The review looked at publications published in English between January 1, 2012, and February 6, 2018. The evidence review concluded that counseling interventions can be effective in preventing perinatal depression; a variety of other intervention approaches provided some evidence of effectiveness, but lacked a robust evidence base and need further research.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Intervention, Literature reviews, Maternal health, Mental health screening, Postpartum depression, Pregnancy, Women', s health

Annotation: This website provides content from the Postpartum Progress blog focused on maternal mental health, postpartum depression, and perinatal mood disorders. Founded in 2004 by Katherine Stone, the site includes posts from the blog, a downloadable mental health checklist available in multiple languages, and a list of support organizations worldwide. The nonprofit arm of Postpartum Progress has merged with Postpartum Support International, which continues to offer support services, including a helpline for mothers in need.

Contact: Postpartum Support International, 6706 SW 54th Avenue , Portland, OR 97219, Telephone: (503) 894-9453 Secondary Telephone: (800) 944-4773 Fax: (503) 894-9452 E-mail: support@postpartum.net Web Site: http://www.postpartum.net

• Link

Keywords: Maternal health, Mental health, Postpartum depression

Annotation: This brief presents resources for families on finding help and learning more about depression during and after pregnancy. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Bibliographies, Depression, Electronic publications, Families, Maternal mental health, Postpartum depression, Pregnancy, Pregnant women

Annotation: This short video features an interview with Heather-- a new mother who experienced postpartum depression after giving birth to twins. She describes her health complications, both physical and emotional, including her sadness when she was unable to sustain breastfeeding beyond 5 weeks.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Childbirth, Maternal health, Mental health, Postpartum depression

Annotation: This short video features an interview with Dr. Handler-- a health practioner who emphasizes the importance of the postpartum period in a woman's life. She explains how this period is pivotal on the prenatal--interconception-well woman continuum, pointing out that new mothers often don't receive the care and attention they need. She briefly discusses new models of care that would focus on the physical and mental health of both mother and infant.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Maternal health, Postpartum care, Postpartum depression, Women', s health

Annotation: This research brief investigates the relationship between maternal depression and eating habits earlier in childhood, when food preferences are developing. Topics include the prevalence and severity of maternal depression; characteristics of mothers, households, and kindergarten-age children; and associations between mothers' depressive symptoms and their kindergarten-age children's eating practices. Contents include data, measures, analyses, and discussion and conclusions.

Contact: Urban Institute, 500 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: https://www.urban.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Depression, Food consumption, Food habits, Maternal mental health, Nutrition, Young children

Annotation: This paper examines the effects of maternal depression on maternal health, parenting, and child development as well as the policy options that could reduce the burden of disease for affected families and system-level health care costs. Topics include the scope of maternal depression, the prevalence of depression among mothers with infants by socioeconomic status and severity, consequences of untreated depression, the need for a two-generation approach, and the importance of health coverage.

Contact: Community Catalyst, 30 Winter Street, 10th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 338-6035 Fax: (617) 451-5838 E-mail: restuccia@communitycatalyst.org Web Site: https://www.communitycatalyst.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Costs, Depression, Health care systems, Health insurance, Infant health, Intervention, Maternal health, Mothers, Parenting, Policy development, Postpartum depression

Annotation: This website describes a comprehensive, focused, and integrated approach to identifying and treating depression in mothers participating in home visiting programs. The program involves three phases instituted over two years: (1) on-site training of home visitors in identification of maternal depression and role in the program, (2) training of therapists in Cincinnati in in-home cognitive behavioral therapy, and (3) ongoing training and support of therapists. Information about maternal depression, the program's research base, a training calendar, and additional resources about postpartum depression and postpartum support are included.

Contact: Every Child Succeeds, Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center, 3333 Burnet Avenue, ML 3005, Cincinnati, OH 45229-3039, Telephone: (513) 636-2830 Fax: (513) 636-2460 E-mail: everychildsucceeds@cchmc.org Web Site: http://www.everychildsucceeds.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Behavior change, Cognitive therapy, Comprehensive programs, Depression, Home visiting, Maternal health, Mental health, Postpartum care, Therapeutic programs, Training

Annotation: This brief describes a program that uses in-home cognitive behavioral therapy to treat maternal depression as an added component for home visiting programs. Topics include the impact of maternal depression on women, children, and families; the program's research and results, return on investment, design, and implementation; and opportunities and potential roles for states and home visiting programs.

Contact: Every Child Succeeds, Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center, 3333 Burnet Avenue, ML 3005, Cincinnati, OH 45229-3039, Telephone: (513) 636-2830 Fax: (513) 636-2460 E-mail: everychildsucceeds@cchmc.org Web Site: http://www.everychildsucceeds.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Behavior change, Cognitive therapy, Comprehensive programs, Costs, Depression, Financing, Home visiting, Maternal health, Mental health, Postpartum care, State programs, Therapeutic programs, Training

Annotation: This toolkit contains information and strategies for family health providers to use in working with mothers who may be depressed. It includes facts about depression; screening tools for more serious depression; and referrals, resources, and handouts for mothers who are depressed.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Depression, Maternal health, Mental health, Postpartum care, Screening

Annotation: This paper discusses the problem of maternal depression and its impact not only on the low-income mother but on her children. Topics include effective screening and treatment, Medicaid's potential role, issues outlined in the Affordable Care Act, challenges to providing services to mothers with depression enrolled in Medicaid, and emerging opportunities to address the challenges. A summary, recommendations, and references are also included.

Contact: Urban Institute, 500 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: https://www.urban.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Low income groups, Maternal health services, Maternal mental health, Medicaid, Mother child relations, Postpartum depression, Screening

Annotation: This report describes the results of a 2004-2012 literature search that evaluated the performance of screening instruments for postpartum depression, potential benefits and harms of screening, and impact on appropriate postscreening actions. Report contents include an introduction to postpartum depression and its adverse outcomes, screening, clinical and socioeconomic factors affecting risk; chapters on the study methods and results; a discussion of the findings; and conclusions and references. Appendices provide further detail into how the study was performed.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Publication No. 13-EHC064-EF.

• Link

Keywords: Literature reviews, MCH research, Maternal mental health, Mother child relations, Postpartum depression, Research methodology, Screening