Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (32 total).

Association of Clinicians for the Underserved (ACU)

Annotation: Association of Clinicians for the Underserved (ACU) is a nonprofit, interdisciplinary organization working to improve the health of underserved populations by supporting and enhancing the development of the health care clinicians serving these populations. ACU offers access to information relevant to clinical practice; provides networking and training opportunities; and promotes research to increase understanding of underserved practice.

Keywords: Underserved communities, Professional societies, Resources for professionals

Best Babies Zone (BBZ)

Annotation: The Best Babies Zone (BBZ) Initiative is a multi-sector approach to reducing infant mortality and racial disparities in birth outcomes and improving birth and health outcomes by mobilizing communities to address the social determinants that affect health. The uniqueness of this national initiative lies in the fact that not only is the approach zonal, but it is comprehensive – addressing four critical sectors – economics, education, health, and community – in order to strengthen environments that support better and healthier outcomes. BBZ is funded by the W.K. Kellogg Foundation and is being implemented in three cities – Cincinnati, Ohio; New Orleans, Louisiana; and Oakland, California.

Keywords: Barriers, Cities, Communities, Community action, Environmental influences, Infant mortality, National initiatives, Public private partnerships, Racial factors, Risk factors, Socioeconomic factors

U.S. Bureau of Primary Health Care (BPHC)

Annotation: The Bureau of Primary Health Care (BPHC) funds Health Centers in underserved communities, providing access to high quality, family oriented, comprehensive primary and preventive health care for people who are low-income, uninsured or face other obstacles to getting health care. The Web site provides access to searchable databases, statistics, employment opportunities, document archives, and publications.

Keywords: HIV, Homeless persons, Immunization, Migrant health, Primary health care, Public health programs, Public health services, Public housing, Underserved communities

California Center for Public Health Advocacy

Annotation: The California Center for Public Health Advocacy (CCPHA) is a nonpartisan nonprofit organization that raises awareness about critical public health issues and mobilizes communities to promote the establishment of effective state and local health policies. Recent work has primarily addressed the growing epidemic of childhood obesity by advocating for state and local public policies that promote healthy eating and physical activity. The center currently focuses on three main policy strategies: (1) physical education in public schools, (2) expanding access to healthy food in communities, and (3) assuring implementation of school nutrition standards. Activities also includes analyizing and publizing important health information for policy makers and the general public, supoorting community advocates in promiting local policy reforms, and keeping advocates informed about state legislation.

Keywords: , Advocacy, California, Children, Communities, Health promotion, Obesity, Pulic health, School health

California Endowment

Annotation: The California Endowment is a private, statewide health foundation whose mission is to expand access to affordable, quality health care for underserved individuals and communities, and to promote fundamental improvements in the health status of all Californians. Guiding the endowment's work is a multicultural approach to health, which is defined not only by race and ethnicity, but financial status, cultural beliefs, gender, age, sexual orientation, geographic location, immigration status, and physical or mental abilities. This approach seeks to mobilize the talents, cultures and assets of California's diverse populations to improve the quality of our health systems and to promote health at the level of communities. A wide variety of publications covering topics such as access to care, mental health, cultural competence, and disparities in health can be downloaded in pdf format from the endowment's Web site.

Keywords: Cultural diversity, Underserved communities, . Program improvement, Access to health care, California, Cultural competence, Foundations

Center for Oral Health Research in Appalachia (COHRA)

Annotation: The Center for Oral Health Research in Appalachia (COHRA) was established in 2002 to identify factors that lead to oral health disparities in children and families in Appalachia. The Center represents a collaboration from several sites including the University of Pittsburgh West Virginia University, University of Michigan, University of Iowa, and the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, the people of Bradford and Burgettstown in Pennsylvania and the people of Nicholas and Webster counties in West Virginia. The website provides information on the conceptual model and study design, project objectives and project status, publications, and future directions.

Keywords: Barriers, Geographic regions, Health promotion, Oral health, Research, Strategic plans, Underserved communities

Center for Schools and Communities

Annotation: Since 1988, the Center for Schools and Communities has been committed to improving outcomes for children and families through training, technical assistance, program evaluation, research, and resource development. The center's work focuses on prevention and intervention initiatives operated by schools, organizations, and agencies serving children, youth, and families. The website provides information about professional development, initiatives, and right-to-know compliance.

Keywords: Children, Communities, Families, Intervention, Prevention, Program evaluation, Research, Schools, Technical assistance, Training

Communities In Schools (CIS)

Annotation: Communities In Schools is a nationwide network of professionals dedicated to keeping kids in school and helping them succeed in life. CIS positions site coordinators inside schools to assess students' needs and provide resources. CIS coordinates with local businesses, social service agencies, health care professionals, and volunteers and provides food, school supplies, health care, counseling, academic assistance, and positive role models.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Communities, Education, Educational attainment, Public schools, Students

Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF)

Annotation: The Community Preventive Services Task Force was established in 1996 by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to identify population health interventions that are scientifically proven to save lives, increase lifespans, and improve quality of life. The task force is an independent, nonfederal, unpaid panel of public health and prevention experts that provides evidence-based findings and recommendations about community preventive services, programs, and policies to improve health. The task force produces recommendations (and identifies evidence gaps) to help inform the decision making of federal, state, and local health departments, other government agencies, communities, health professionals, employers, schools, and research organizations.

Keywords: Communities, Community health, Decision making, Health policy, Life course, Model programs, Prevention programs, Prevention services, Program improvement, Research

Education Development Center, Center for School and Community Health Programs (EDC CSCHP)

Annotation: The Education Development Center's (EDC's) Center for School and Community Health Programs (CSCHP) works to improve the lives of children, adolescents, and school staff. The center develops comprehensive health and mental health initiatives in schools and communities. Projects enhance the capacity of state and local education agencies to work with professionals who provide health education and direct services to children and youth.

Keywords: Communities, School health

Forefront: Innovations in Suicide Prevention

Annotation: Forefront develops and disseminates innovative, evidence-based approaches to suicide prevention. Forefront provides trainings to peers wishing to support individuals newly bereaved by suicide, people wishing to work on state policy initiatives and who want to engage with traditional news media, health professionals, campuses and schools, communities, and groups of journalists and journalism students. Forefront is a collaboration of the University of Washington School of Social Work, Communication, School of Nursing, and College of Education.

Keywords: Communities, Health occupations, Schools, Suicide prevention, Training

Funders' Network for Smart Growth and Livable Communities

Annotation: The Funders’ Network for Smart Growth and Livable Communities is a non-partisan, not-for-profit organization that exists to inspire, strengthen and expand philanthropic leadership and funders’ abilities to support organizations working to improve communities through better development decisions and growth policies. It brings together foundations, nonprofit organizations and other partners to address the range of environmental, social, and economic problems caused by development strategies that fail to consider the big picture.

Keywords: Communities, Housing, Planning, Urban environment

Hesperian

Annotation: Hesperian is a non-profit publisher of books and educational materials that help people take the lead in their own health care and organize to improve health conditions in their communities. Herperian collaborates with health workers, grassroots groups, and community organizations around the world to develop books that are practical, accessible, and appropriate across varied conditions and cultures. The books are written to be understood by people with little formal education. The foundation's "open-copyright" policy encourages organizations to reproduce, translate, and adapt the materials for distribution on a not-for-profit basis. All materials are published in both English and Spanish, and the foundation's Translations Fund give small grants to help organizations translate Hesperian's books and newsletters into other languages. Their website has numerous links to useful organizations in its Action for Health section.

Keywords: International organizations, Public health, Community programs, Cultural sensitivity, Foundations, Spanish language materials, Underserved communities

Latino Medical Students Association

Annotation: The Latino Medical Students Association (LMSA) strives to promote the recruitment, retention, academic success and support of Latinos in health profession careers that will help improve the delivery of health care services to Latinos and other medically underserved populations. The association promotes the development of a communication network for Latino medical and other health care students; fosters students' interests in improving health care for underserved communities; and offers educational enrichment programs for the recruitment of Latino medical school applicants. LMSA sponsors an annual conference and publishes an annual journal and a quarterly newsletter.

Keywords: Medical students, Hispanic Americans , Medical education, Minority health, Underserved communities

Morehouse School of Medicine, Health Promotion Resource Center (HPRC)

Annotation: The Health Promotion Resource Center (HPRC) at the Morehouse School of Medicine has developed a health promotion and disease prevention model for underserved populations. The center's philosophy is to increase health promotion efforts that are likely to be more successful in those populations where the community at risk identifies its own health concerns, develops its own prevention and/or intervention strategies, and forms a decision-making coalition board to make policy decisions and identify resources for program implementation. Health promotion, prevention, education, training, and information dissemination efforts are concentrated in, but are not limited to the areas of substance abuse, parenting, maternal and child health, cancer, and violence. Services to consumers include publications.

Keywords: Health promotion, Model programs, Rural population, Underserved communities, Urban population

National Association of Community Health Centers (NACHC)

Annotation: The National Association of Community Health Centers (NACHC) addresses the lack of access to basic health care by providing a unified voice and common source for research, information, training, and advocacy for a network of health centers and state and regional primary care organizations. The website contains information on policy and clinical issues, research and data, conferences, technical assistance, publications and resources, and careers. The association produces a magazine on news and issues surrounding health care delivery to the medically underserved and the community-based health professionals who serve them. NACHC also produces topical newsletters on developments in the legislative and policy arenas.

Keywords: Advocacy, Community health centers, Primary care, Rural health, Underserved communities

National Civic League (NCL)

Annotation: The National Civic League (NCL), founded in 1894, is a nonprofit membership advocacy organization that vigorously promotes the principles of collaborative problem solving and consensus-based decision making in local community building. The organization's mission is to transform democratic institutions by strengthening citizen democracy. The league offers community assistance and health community technical assistance, referrals, training, publications, research, and programs, including the All-America City Award Program.

Keywords: Advocacy, Communities

National Consortium of Telehealth Resource Centers

Annotation: The National Consortium of Telehealth Resource Centers (NCTRC) is an affiliation of the 14 Telehealth Resource Centers funded individually through cooperative agreements from the Health Resources & Services Administration, Office for the Advancement of Telehealth. The goal of the NCTRC is to increase the consistency, efficiency, and impact of federally funded telehealth technical assistance services. This was made possible by 14 Telehealth Resource Centers and administered through grant #G22RH30365 from the Office for the Advancement of Telehealth, Federal Office of Rural Health Policy, Health Resources and Services Administration, Department of Health and Human Services.

Keywords: Cost effectiveness, Policy development, Regional programs, Resources for professionals, Technical assistance, Telehealth, Underserved communities

National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, Health Disparities Research Program (HDRP)

Annotation: The National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research Health Disparities Research Program supports studies that provide a better understanding of the basis of health disparities and inequalities; develop and test tailored/targeted interventions for underserved populations; and explore approaches to the dissemination and implementation of effective findings to assure rapid translation into practice, policy, and action in communities.

Keywords: Barriers, Federal agencies, Federal grants, Grants guidance, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Oral health, Research, Underserved communities

National Public Health and Hospital Institute (NPHHI)

Annotation: The National Public Health and Hospital Institute is a private nonprofit organization established in 1988 to address the major issues facing public hospitals, safety net institutions, underserved communities, and related health policy issues of national priority. It provides applied research and education activities, fellowship programs, and research. NPHHI provides consumers with publications and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Health policy, Public hospitals, Underserved communities

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.