Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (21 total).

Academic Pediatric Association (APA)

Annotation: The Academic Pediatric Association (APA) is an organization of health care professionals that works to improve health care for children by conducting research, teaching, and formulating public policy. Publications include a newsletter, a series of guidelines for general pediatrics education of medical students and pediatric residents and a journal.

Keywords: Child health, Children, Consumer education, Guidelines, Health education, Health services, Information sources, Professional societies, Professional training, Public policy, Research, Teaching

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

Annotation: The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) supports research designed to improve the quality of health care, reduce its cost, and broaden access to essential services. AHRQ supports the National Guideline Clearinghouse, a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines; the National Quality Measures Clearinghouse, a public resource for evidence-based quality measures and measure sets; the Patient Safety Network, a collection of patient safety news, literature, tools, and resources; and the Effective Health Care Program, a collection of research centers working to provide evidence on health care interventions.

Keywords: Health care delivery, Safety, Clearinghouses, Clinical medicine, Foreign language materials, Guidelines, Health disparities , Health policy, Medical technology, Patient care management, Program evaluation, Referrals, Research, Research, Service delivery, Spanish language materials, State Children's Health Insurance Program, Training, Treatment outcomes

American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP)

Annotation: The American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP) represents over 7,500 child and adolescent psychiatrists, physicians with at least five years of additional training beyond medical school in adult, child, and adolescent psychiatry. Academy members actively research, diagnose, and treat emotional, developmental, behavioral, and mental disorders affecting children, adolescents, and their families. The Academy provides public information, including a referral service that works with child advocacy groups, parents, teachers, and other medical and mental health professionals. Some family materials are available in Spanish, Arabic, Hebrew, Icelandic, Malaysian, Polish, Spanish, and Urdu. The academy publishes a catalog, a newsletter and a journal. The academy also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Psychiatry, Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Advocacy, Behavior, Child mental health, Children, Conferences, Foreign language materials, Guidelines, Mental health, Mental health professionals, Mental health services, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Referrals, Spanish language materials, Training

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD)

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD) advocates for policies, guidelines, and programs that promote optimal oral health and oral health care for infants, children, and adolescents, including those with special health care needs (SHCNs). AAPD’s website contains guidelines and policy statements and issues of the journal, Pediatric Dentistry.

Keywords: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Consumer education, Education, Guidelines, Medical research, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Professional societies, Publications, Spanish language materials

American Public Health Association (APHA)

Annotation: The American Public Health Association (APHA) represents members from a broad array of occupations in public health. APHA brings together researchers, health service providers, administrators, teachers, and other health workers in a multidisciplinary environment of professional exchange, study, and action. APHA is concerned with a broad set of issues affecting personal and environmental health, including federal and state funding for health programs, pollution control, programs and policies related to chronic and infectious diseases, a smoke-free society, and professional education in public health. The association actively serves the public, its members, and the public health profession through its scientific programs, publications, annual meeting, awards program, educational service, and advocacy efforts. Its Web site includes a wide variety of resources, including the Community Solutions to Health Disparities database. Publications include the monthly American Journal of Public Health, manuals, directories, books, pamphlets, and a newspaper, The Nation's Health. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information, and access to searchable databases.

Keywords: Public health, Access to health care, Community programs, Consumer education, Environmental health, Guidelines, Health promotion, Information sources, Mental health, Minority health, Model programs, Professional societies, Program evaluation, Publications, Standards

American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO)

Annotation: The American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) is a professional organization representing physicians who treat people with cancer. ASCO’s membership is comprised of clinical oncologists representing all oncology disciplines and subspecialties; physicians and health-care professionals participating in approved oncology training programs; oncology nurses; and other health-care practitioners with a predominant interest in oncology. ASCO’s members specialize in all fields of oncology, including medical, hematology, therapeutic radiology, surgical, and pediatric. ASCO offers training programs, symposia, and workshops, and sponsors an annual meeting. Publications include the peer-reviewed Journal of Clinical Oncology, ASCO News (a quarterly magazine), clinical practice guidelines, and patient guides. A publications catalog is available.

Keywords: Guidelines, Oncology, Cancer, Clinical medicine, Health services, Pediatric oncology, Physicians, Professional societies

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs (AMCHP)

Annotation: The Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs (AMCHP) supports state maternal and child health programs and provides national leadership on issues affecting women and children. AMCHP accomplishes its mission through the active participation of its members and partnerships with government agencies, families and advocates, health care purchasers and providers, academic and research professionals, and others at the national, state, and local levels. AMCHP tracks and analyzes emerging policy issues that impact family health and distributes the information to subscribers electronically via the AMCHP Legislative Alert. Issues areas include adolescent and school health; best practices; child health; data and assessment; family involvement; Medicaid, State Children's Health Insurance Program, and welfare; mental health; and women's and perinatal health. It also has a National Center for Health Reform Implementation.

Keywords: Maternal health, Advocacy, Block grants, CSHN programs, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Federal MCH programs, Guidelines, Models, Professional societies, Public policies, State programs, Technical assistance, Title V

Bright Futures at Georgetown University

Annotation: Bright Futures at Georgetown University provides online and print access to the Bright Futures child health supervision materials sponsored by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration. The Georgetown project serves as liaison to the Bright Futures Distribution Center; provides access to content experts and to electronic training tools; maintains historical archives; and provides distance education for Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT) services. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Health supervision, Adolescents, Bright Futures, Children, Guidelines, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical activity, Spanish language materials

Bright Futures Pediatric Implementation Project

Annotation: The Bright Futures Pediatric Implementation Project examines barriers to health professionals' (e.g., pediatricians, nurses, family physicians, dentists, nurse practitioners) implementation of Bright Futures: Guidelines for Health Supervision of Infants, Children, and Adolescents and develops new strategies to improve implementation of the guidelines. The project is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Health supervision, Adolescents, Bright Futures, Children, Guidelines, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical activity, Spanish language materials

Bright Futures™ at AAP

Annotation: The Bright Futures Education Center focuses on improving awareness of the importance of preventive services among health care professionals, public/private partners, communities, and families; revising Bright Futures: Guidelines for Health Supervision of Infants, Children, and Adolescents; and developing materials to assist in implementation of the guidelines. The center is funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Health supervision, Adolescents, Bright Futures, Children, Guidelines, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical activity, Spanish language materials

U.S. Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP)

Annotation: The Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP) under the U.S. Department of Agriculture develops the Dietary Guidelines for Americans, the Food Guide Pyramid, the Interactive Healthy Eating Index, Expenditures on Children by Families, the Cost of Food at Home, the Nutrient Content of the U.S. Food Supply, and the new ChooseMyPlate initiative. CNPP staff help to define and coordinate nutrition education policy within USDA and to translate nutrition research into information and materials for consumers; policymakers; and professionals in health, education, industry, and media. The Center publishes a journal, Family Economics and Nutrition Review, and distributes publications for health professionals and consumers. Some materials are available in Spanish. The Center also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Nutrition, Child nutrition, Conferences, Coordination, Dietary guidelines, Family economics, Federal agencies, Food consumption, Health promotion, Information dissemination, Information sources, Information sources, Nutrition assessment, Nutrition education, Nutrition programs, Public policies, Public policy, Publications, Spanish language materials

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency responsible for conducting and supporting public health activities in the United States, including the prevention and control of infectious and chronic disease. The primary goals of the agency are to reduce health risks during every stage of life; spearhead efforts to improve global health; ensure that the places people live, work, and play have safe, healthy environments; and prepare for emerging health threats from mental health to environmental health. The Public Inquiries Office responds to inquiries in the areas of preventive medicine, immunization, disease control, and health education. The Web site covers a wide range of health & safety topics, including diseases & conditions, emergency preparedness, environmental health, life stages & populations, healthy living, injury and violence; travelers' health, and workplace health and safety. Also included are links to data and statistics, online access to CDC's journals and other publications; and tools & resources such as an image library, podcasts, and a Body Mass Index (BMI) calculator. A Spanish-language version of the Web site is available, and some materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian languages and other languages. CDC also sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops.

Keywords: Preventive health services, Adolescents, Data analysis, Data collection, Disease prevention, Environmental health, Federal agencies, Guidelines, Health education, Health promotion, Immunization, Listservs, Nutrition, Occupational safety and health, Online databases, Population surveillance, Publications, Safety, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website, Standards, Technical assistance, Training

Equator Network

Annotation: The EQUATOR (Enhancing the QUAlity and Transparency Of health Research) Network is an international initiative that seeks to improve the reliability and value of published health research literature by promoting transparent and accurate reporting and wider use of robust reporting guidelines. Resources are provided in English, German, Portuguese, and Spanish.

Keywords: Guidelines, International programs, Medical research, Non English language materials, Reports, Research methodology, Spanish language materials

Guideline Central

Annotation: Guideline Central is a non-profit initiative dedicated to providing healthcare professionals with evidence-based clinical decision-support tools that are current, practical, and easily accessible. It partners with over thirty-five medical societies and government agencies to provide quick-reference tools that physicians can rely on for credible guidance in the management of a medical condition. It was established following the closure of the National Guideline Clearinghouse.

Keywords: Databases, Evidence based health care, Guidelines, Information sources, Professional standards review, Resource centers

National Center for Cultural Competence (NCCC)

Annotation: The purpose of the National Center for Cultural Competence (NCCC) is to increase the capacity of health and mental health programs to design, implement, and evaluate culturally and linguistically competent service delivery systems. The Center provides technical assistance and consultation, networking opportunities, and information for health professionals and policymakers about designing, implementing, and evaluating culturally competent health services, including services for children with special health care needs and their families. Resources and publications include policy briefs, checklists, self assessments, promising practices, distance learning, and conference information. The center's Web site includes a Spanish language portal for families.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Cultural diversity, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Guidelines, Infant care, Information networks, Information sources, Linguistic competence, National MCH resource center, Networking, Program development, Program evaluation, Publications, Resource centers, SIDS, Spanish language materials, Title V programs, Training

National HPV and Cervical Cancer Prevention Resource Center

Annotation: The National HPV and Cervical Cancer Prevention Resource Center, created by the American Social Health Association (ASHA), focuses on collecting, summarizing, and disseminating information on the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of HPV and the prevention of cervical cancer. The center offers information to the public, health care providers, and policy makers about human papillomavirus (HPV) and its link to cervical cancer; develops and distributes clinical guidelines; promotes public awareness; and contributes to Web-based continuing medical education sources.

Keywords: Sexually transmitted diseases, Cervical cancer, Continuing education, Data collection, Disease prevention, Dissemination, Guidelines, Human papillomavirus, National information resource centers, Public awareness materials

National Quality Measures Clearinghouse (NQMC)

Annotation: The National Quality Measures Clearinghouse (NQMC) is a public repository for evidence-based quality measures and measure sets. Sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), NQMC provides summaries of measures, comparison tools, and materials on how to use, select, apply, and interpret quality measures. The website includes a glossary of definitions and common properties, expert commentary in the fields of measures and guidelines, an online discussion list forum, and additional tools and links to related resources.

Keywords: Quality assurance, Evaluation, Evidence based medicine, Guidelines, Measures, Standards

Nutrition.gov

Oregon Evidence-based Practice Center (Oregon EPC)

Annotation: The Oregon Evidence-based Practice Center (Oregon EPC) conducts systematic reviews of healthcare topics for federal and state agencies and private foundations. These reviews report evidence from clinical research studies and the quality of that evidence for use by policymakers in decisions related to guidelines and coverage issues. It is a collaboration of Oregon Health and Science University, the Portland Veterans Affairs Medical Center, and the Kaiser Permanente Center for Health Research. Reviews can be downloaded from Oregon EPC's Web site.

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Guidelines , Health policy, Policy development, Research reviews

RTI-UNC Evidence-based Practice Center (RTI-UNC EPC)

Annotation: The RTI-UNC Evidence-based Practice Center (EPC) produces systematic reviews and analyses of the scientific evidence (evidence reports and updates) on a variety of health care and health policy topics. It also builds on these reports to create materials and messages for patients and clinicians relating to health care decisions. EPC personnel also conduct research into the best practices and methods for conducting reviews of the scientific literature. The center prepares AHRQ reports and technology assessments as well as reports for other public and private health care organizations on topics of their choosing. Center staff also design and conduct customized literature searches and quantitative analyses. The Center is one of 13 EPCs sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Data analysis, Guidelines, Health policy, Patient education materials, Policy development, Research reviews, Resources for professionals.

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.