Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (82 total).

Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety

Annotation: Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety is a broad-based alliance of consumer, safety, and law enforcement groups, insurance companies, and insurance agent organizations. These groups work together to promote adoption of effective highway safety legislation, standards, policies, and programs at national and state levels to reduce deaths, injuries, and economic costs associated with motor vehicle crashes. Services to consumers include limited referrals. Their informational brochure is available free by written request.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Traffic safety, Transportation injuries

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

Annotation: The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) supports research designed to improve the quality of health care, reduce its cost, and broaden access to essential services. AHRQ supports the National Guideline Clearinghouse, a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines; the National Quality Measures Clearinghouse, a public resource for evidence-based quality measures and measure sets; the Patient Safety Network, a collection of patient safety news, literature, tools, and resources; and the Effective Health Care Program, a collection of research centers working to provide evidence on health care interventions.

Keywords: Health care delivery, Safety, Clearinghouses, Clinical medicine, Foreign language materials, Guidelines, Health disparities , Health policy, Medical technology, Patient care management, Program evaluation, Referrals, Research, Research, Service delivery, Spanish language materials, State Children's Health Insurance Program, Training, Treatment outcomes

American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine (ACOEM)

Annotation: The American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine (ACOEM) is a professional society that promotes the health and safety of workers through preventive medicine, clinical care, research, and education. The organization sponsors two national conferences, scientific sessions, postgraduate seminars, training courses, and self-assessment programs. Publications include the monthly Journal of Occupational and Environmental Medicine, MRO Update Newsletter, an annual membership directory, and a newsletter, ACOEM Report.

Keywords: Health promotion, Personnel, Preventive medicine, , Occupational safety and health

American Ladder Institute (ALI)

Annotation: The American Ladder Institute (ALI) is a trade association representing the ladder industry. Their mission is to educate the public as to the selection, care, and safe use of ladders and to develop and disseminate appropriate standards for design, construction, testing, care, and use of ladders. ALI publishes lesson plans to help children learn about ladder safety. ALI also publishes a newsletter and press releases on ladder safety, and holds an annual conference.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Ladders, Safety, Standards

American Trauma Society (ATS)

Annotation: The American Trauma Society (ATS), a membership organization for health care trauma personnel, works to save lives through improved trauma care and injury prevention. ATS provides critical information on trauma to its members, to policy makers, and to the public. It supports the needs of families. It is also a strong supporter of injury prevention, creating and producing programs and providing these programs to its members. ATS programs cover the life-time of a person beginning with safety for children (the “Traumaroo Program”), teen behavior (alcohol, driving, etc.), adult and senior years (falls and driving). The society provides brochures and other print materials, videos, and posters to assist members in their community injury prevention programs.

Keywords: Emergency medical services, Injury prevention, Safety education, Therapeutics, Trauma

Association for the Advancement of Automotive Medicine (AAAM)

Association of Occupational and Environmental Clinics (AOEC)

Annotation: The Association of Occupational and Environmental Clinics (AOEC) was established to enhance the practice of occupational and environmental medicine through information sharing, education, and research. AOEC -- which is now a network of more than 60 clinics and 250 individuals -- works with communities to address their environmental health concerns and is a resource for patient referrals from other agencies. It administers the Pediatric Environmental Health Specialty Units Program to address the special needs of children and their families regarding environmental health concerns. It develops curriculum materials in environmental health and sponsors CME programs for clinicians and other health professionals. The Web site offers epidemiology tools, educational resources, training opportunities, and links.

Keywords: Child health, Cllinics, Environmental health, Occupational safety and health, Professional societies, Professional training

ASTM International

Annotation: ASTM International is a nonprofit organization founded in 1898 that provides a forum for industry, consumers, government representatives, and academia to develop standards for materials, products, systems, and services. ASTM's consumer products committee develops standards for playground equipment, infant furniture, bunk beds, toys, high chairs, helmets, toy chests, toxicity testing, and safety characteristics for a variety of consumer products. The society publishes a catalog, newsletter and monthly magazine, Standardization News. Some materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages. The society sponsors workshops and training programs.

Keywords: Consumers, Injury prevention, Product safety

Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS)

Annotation: The Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS), a Canadian public corporation, provides information on occupational diseases and safety (e.g., ingredients, health and hazards data, storage and handling, personal protection, case law) and chemical product safety. The centre disseminates information through a worldwide electronic information service (online and CD-ROM), direct responses to queries, and publications. Some materials are available in French. Services to consumers also include referrals. The organization publishes a catalog and newsletter, and sponsors training seminars. Representatives of government, management, and labor oversee the centre.

Keywords: Reproductive hazards, Canada, Information dissemination, Occupational safety and health, Teratogens, Teratology

Center for Auto Safety (CAS)

Annotation: The Center for Auto Safety (CAS) provides referrals and publications to consumers regarding auto defects by the auto manufacturers. Services also include referrals to Lemon Law Attorneys in the respective state, who practice the Lemon Law. CAS publishes a newsletter.

Keywords: Automobiles, Safety

Center for Progressive Reform

Annotation: The Center for Progressive Reform is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit research and educational organization working to protect health, safety, and the environment through analysis and commentary. CPR’s core issue areas are health, safety and the environment, addressing topics as: protecting the environment (including climate change, clean air and water, enforcement issues, environmental justice, toxins, the next generation of environmental policies, natural resources, wildlife and nature); defending clean science from political or corporate interference; ensuring food and drug safety; excessive secrecy in government (focused on areas affecting health, safety and the environment); regulatory policy (including cost-benefit analysis, risk assessment and various tools for weighing the merits of protective regulation); and corporate accountability and tort reform (including federal preemption of state tort laws).

Keywords: Advocacy, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Food safety, Public health, Safety

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency responsible for conducting and supporting public health activities in the United States, including the prevention and control of infectious and chronic disease. The primary goals of the agency are to reduce health risks during every stage of life; spearhead efforts to improve global health; ensure that the places people live, work, and play have safe, healthy environments; and prepare for emerging health threats from mental health to environmental health. The Public Inquiries Office responds to inquiries in the areas of preventive medicine, immunization, disease control, and health education. The Web site covers a wide range of health & safety topics, including diseases & conditions, emergency preparedness, environmental health, life stages & populations, healthy living, injury and violence; travelers' health, and workplace health and safety. Also included are links to data and statistics, online access to CDC's journals and other publications; and tools & resources such as an image library, podcasts, and a Body Mass Index (BMI) calculator. A Spanish-language version of the Web site is available, and some materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian languages and other languages. CDC also sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops.

Keywords: Preventive health services, Adolescents, Data analysis, Data collection, Disease prevention, Environmental health, Federal agencies, Guidelines, Health education, Health promotion, Immunization, Listservs, Nutrition, Occupational safety and health, Online databases, Population surveillance, Publications, Safety, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website, Standards, Technical assistance, Training

Children's Defense Fund (CDF)

Annotation: The Children's Defense Fund (CDF) is a research and advocacy group for children and youth. It gathers data and disseminates information on key issues affecting children and adolescents, including development and implementation of federal and state policies. CDF provides information, technical assistance, and support to a network of state and local child advocates, service providers, and public and private sector officials and leaders. Initiatives have included adolescent pregnancy prevention programs, prenatal care campaigns, universal immunization programs, promotion of the Head Start program, and the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP). Publications include a monthly newsletter, CDF Reports. A publications list is available. CDF also coordinates the Black Community Crusade for Children, an effort to strengthen black community support for children, and publishes a newsletter of Crusade activities, Necessary. In addition, it coordinates the Student Heath Outreach (SHOUT) project, a student-run project whose goal is to reach all eligible children and sign them up for health insurance by engaging students, as well as school administrators, in the effort to spread the word about Medicaid and CHIP.

Keywords: Child health, Adolescent pregnancy, Blacks, Child advocacy, Child care, Child safety, Children, Data collection, Homeless persons, Infant mortality, Legislation, Minority groups, Prenatal care, State children's heatlh insurance program, Statistics

Consumer Federation of America (CFA)

Annotation: The Consumer Federation of America (CFA) was established in 1968 as a nonprofit organization of national, state, and local groups committed to consumer advocacy and education. The federation lobbies for the passage of legislation to protect consumers in such areas as energy, food, health and safety, communications, handicaps, insurance, transportation, and the environment. Publications include CFA News, policy updates, studies, testimony, and more than a dozen consumer publications on topics ranging from managing consumer debt to resolving consumer complaints to safeguarding playgrounds. CFA's State and Local Resource Center, funded by Consumers Union and others, seeks to strengthen grassroots consumer organizations through grants, technical assistance, workshops, publications, and other services.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Advocacy, Bicycle helmets, Child health, Consumer Product Safety Network, Consumer education, Consumer education materials, Data, National organization, Residential injuries

Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC)

Annotation: The Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) evaluates the safety of products sold to the public, including children's furniture and toys. The commission receives safety-related complaints about these products through its toll-free hotline or its website. Safety-related publications can be downloaded from CPSC's Electronic Reading Room (searchable by subject) or ordered, free-of-charge, in print formats. Many materials are available in Spanish, Chinese, Tagalog, Korean, and Portuguese. The website also provides access to consumer product-related statistics and the National Electronic Surveillance System( a national probability sample of hospitals in the U.S.). A special section of the website is designed for children.

Keywords: Safety, Data, Data collection, Data profiles, Federal agencies, Hotlines, Injury prevention, Injury surveillance systems, NEISS, Product safety, Publications, Recreational injuries, Residential injuries, Spanish language materials, Toy injuries, Toy labeling, Toy safety, Transportation injuries

Council for Biotechnology Information

Annotation: The Council for Biotechnology Information is a coalition of biotechnology companies that aims to create a public dialogue and share information about biotechnology that is based on scientific research, expert opinion, and published reports. The council provides public information through its Web site, consumer-oriented brochures and printed materials, advertising, and a toll-free number. Topics addressed include environmental protection, better nutrition, feeding the world's population, the delivery of medicines through food, and food safety.

Keywords: Biotechnology, Drug administration routes, Environment, Food safety, Food supply, Genetic engineering, Hunger, Nutrition

Early Childhood Education Linkage System-Healthy Child Care Pennsylvania (ECELS-Healthy Childcare PA)

Annotation: The Early Childhood Education Linkage System-Healthy Child Care Pennsylvania (ECELS-Healthy Child Care PA) provides professional consultation, training, and technical assistance to improve early education and child care in Pennsylvania. Since December 1989, the PA Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics has operated the ECELS linking the resources of government, early childhood educators, and health professionals. Now operating Healthy Child Care America Pennsylvania, ECELS offers opportunities for professional development to PA early learning and child care practitioners. Resources include tools, fact sheets, a/v lending library, calendar of events, self-learning modules and workshops, and e-mail alerts.

Keywords: Child care workers, Child health, Child safety, Collaboration, Consultants, Early childhood educators, Pennsylvania, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Technical assistance

Farm Safety 4 Just Kids (FS4JK)

Annotation: Farm Safety 4 Just Kids is a grassroots organization whose mission is to promote a safe farm environmnet to prevent health hazards, injuries, and fatalities to children and youth through community involvement and support services. Activities include: disseminating educational and training materials; conducting educational programs; providing technical assistance; and providing referrals, reference information, and resource materials. The organization publishes a bimonthly newsletter and a catalog. It sponsors workshops, conferences, and training seminars.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Children, Educational materials, Farm workers, Safety, Technical assistance

First 5 LA

Annotation: First 5 LA is a child-advocacy organization created by California voters to invest tobacco tax revenues in programs for improving the lives of children in Los Angeles County, from prenatal through age 5. The vision is to create a future throughout Los Angeles' communities where all young children are born healthy and raised in a loving and nurturing environment so that they grow up healthy, are eager to learn, and reach their full potential. Programs include Best Start LA, community-developed initiatives; early developmental screening and intervention; family literacy; a parent hotline; Healthy Births; Healthy Kids; oral health and nutrition; partnerships for families; school readiness, universal preschool, and workforce development.

Keywords: Advocacy, California, Child health, Education, Families, Infant health, Infants, Local initiatives, Prenatal care, Safety, Young children

First Things First

Annotation: First Things First supports the healthy development and learning of young children from birth to age 5 in Arizona. The website explains why the early years are critical for a child's healthy development and why investing in quality early childhood programs benefits children, families, communities, and the state. The website includes information for parents and families on topics such as brain development, ages and stages, child care and preschool, and literacy. Resources include a parent kit; a birth to five helpline; annual and biennial reports on statewide and regional needs and assets, and regional impact; research on brain science, quality early learning, and parenting education and family support; and data and statistics relevant to early childhood on national, state, and local levels.

Keywords: Arizona, Child care, Child health, Child safety, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Family support, Learning, Parent education, Research, School readiness, State initiatives, Statistical data, Young children

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.