Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (35 total).

ACT for Youth

Annotation: ACT (Assets Coming Together) for Youth connects positive youth development resources and research to practice in New York State and beyond. The ACT for Youth Center of Excellence provides technical support, training, and evaluation for youth-serving programs funded by the NYS Department of Health, youth development and adolescent sexual health resources housed on the ACT for Youth Web site, a home base for the ACT Youth Network, which connects young community activists across New York State.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Advocacy, New York, Sexual health, State initiatives, Youth development, Youth services

AIDS Alliance for Children, Youth and Families

Annotation: The AIDS Alliance for Children, Youth, and Families, founded in 1994 as the AIDS Policy Center for Children, Youth and Families, is a national organization focused on the needs of children, youth, and families living with, affected by, or at risk for HIV and AIDS. Since its founding, the organization has been an advocate for children, youth, and families affected by HIV/AIDS. While continuing with policy analysis and advocacy activities, the organization has expanded its mission to include education and training for consumers and providers. The organization offers local and national training, technical assistance, and publications.

Keywords: AIDS, Advocacy, Children, Education, Families, HIV, Listservs, Training, Youth

America's Promise Alliance

Annotation: America's Promise Alliance is devoted to creating conditions for success for all young people. Activities are framed around five promises: caring adults, safe places, a healthy start, an effective education, and opportunities to serve. Activities include partnerships, fundraising, advocacy, and leadership and career development. The alliance launched the GradNation Campaign in 2010, building on 105 dropout prevention summits convened across the country to raise awareness and inspire action. Additional resources include research publications and a parent engagement toolkit for organizations and community leaders.

Keywords: Character, Adolescent development, Adolescents, Character development, Child development, Children, Coalitions, Collaboration, Life skills, Youth development

American Association of the Deaf-Blind (AADB)

Annotation: The mission of the American Association of the Deaf-Blind (AADB) is to assure that a comprehensive, coordinated system of services is accessible to all deaf-blind persons enabling them to achieve their maximum potential through increased independence, productivity and integration into the community. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in large print, Braille, and on disk (MS Word).. AADB prints a quarterly magazine, The Deaf-Blind American. The organization also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Advocacy, Civil rights, Deafness, Disabilities, Hearing disorders, Information services, Visually impaired, Youth services

American Youth Policy Forum

Annotation: The American Youth Policy Forum is a nonpartisan professional development organization providing learning opportunities for policymakers working on youth issues at the local, state, and national level. A publications list is available. Forums are by invitation.

Keywords: Public policy, Adolescents, Professional educaton, Youth

Board on Children, Youth, and Families

Annotation: The Board on Children, Youth, and Families was created in 1993 to provide a national focal point for analysis of child and family issues in the policy arena. With the National Academy of Sciences serving as its parent organization, the Board is established under the joint aegis of the National Research Council and the Institute of Medicine. Overseeing a broad range of work, the Board convenes functions that foster the exchange of ideas among individuals with mutual interests, conducts large-scale studies in which experts from a range of disciplines and sectors are brought together, synthesizes research and makes recommendations on issues of national importance, and initiates shorter-term projects that examine time-sensitive issues. The work is conducted by committees with expertise pertinent to the issues under consideration. Priority areas of the board's work are: children and youth in precarious family circumstances, the social implications of the growing diversity of the childhood population, the science base for childhood interventions, and the quality of children's health care. Reference information and publications are available to consumers, and a publications order form lists all of the organizations reports. The Board also publishes a newsletter. The Board holds numerous meetings each year as well as public briefings and a regional journalists seminar designed to enhance media coverage of child, youth, and family issues.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Families, Policy development, Youth

Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs

Annotation: The Catalyst Center at the Boston University School of Public Health is dedicated to improving coverage and financing of care for children and youth with special health care needs. The center creates publications and products, answers technical assistance questions, researches innovative state-based financing strategies, guides stakeholders to outside resources, and connects those interested in working together to address complex health care financing issues. The center is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Adolescents with special health care needs, Health care financing, Health insurance, National MCH resource center, Resource centers, Youth

Center on Alcohol Marketing and Youth (CAMY)

Annotation: The Center on Alcohol Marketing and Youth (CAMY) at Georgetown University monitors the marketing practices of the alcohol industry to focus attention and action on industry practices that jeopardize the health and safety of America's youth. The center produces research reports, fact sheets, and media summaries, and calls on concerned adults to take action against the inappropriate promotion of alcohol to vulnerable populations.

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol education, Industry, Marketing, Youth

Clearinghouse on International Developments in Child, Youth and Family Policies

Annotation: The Clearinghouse on International Developments in Child, Youth and Family Policies provides cross-national, comparative information and linkages regarding the policies, programs, benefits and services available in the advanced industrialized countries to address child, youth and family needs.  Initial coverage focuses on the countries of the European Union (EU) plus Norway and Iceland, and on most of the Organization for Economic Development (OECD) countries. Expansion to other countries and parts of the world is planned. The clearinghouse serves the U.S. media, public officials and their staffs, public and private agency administrators and their board members, scholars, students, and all English-reading individuals throughout the world with access to the World Wide Web.

Keywords: Children, Clearinghouses, Europe, Families, Health statistics, Information sources, International organizations, Online databases, Program descriptions, Public policies, Youth

Coalition of Community Foundations for Youth, Community Foundations Leading Change (CFleads)

Annotation: The Coalition of Community Foundations for Youth is a national network formed to promote the physical, intellectual, and social development of children and their families. The coalition joins with other organizations of common or compatible purpose to eliminate the racial, cultural, and economic barriers which impair family well-being. It hopes to change and encourage individual and collective reform efforts involving public policy research and dissemination, education, advocacy, community organizing, marketing and media campaigns, and constituency-designed models of integrated service delivery.

Keywords: Youth, Families, Foundations, Technical assistance

CYFERNet: Children, Youth, and Families Education and Research Network

Annotation: CYFERnet is a national network of land grant university faculty and county extension educators working to support community-based educational programs for children, youth, parents and families. CYFERnet is funded as a joint project of the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Institute for Food and Agriculture (NIFA) and the Cooperative Extension System. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Community based services, Child development, Educational programs, Family relations, Government programs, MCH programs, Parenting skills, Youth development

Family-Run Executive Director Leadership Association (FREDLA)

Annotation: The Family-Run Executive Director Leadership Association provides trainings, publications, and other resources for family-run organizations, including policies, standards, core competencies, for the fields of children's mental health, non-profit leadership, policy, the needs of children, youth, and families, the support of organizations and systems that serve them, and more.

Keywords: Adolescents, Behavioral health, Children, Families, Mental health, Organizations, Youth

FHI 360 ( )

Annotation: FHI 360 is a global development organization committed to solving social problems in the United States and around the world through education, social marketing, research, training, policy analysis, and innovative program design and management. FHI 360's programs focus primarily on health, education, youth development, and the environment. It acquired the programs, expertise, and assets of the Academy for Educational Development in 2011.

Keywords: Child development, Developing countries, International health, Adolescent health, Child health, Community development , Education, Educational change, Educational materials, Environment, International health, Policy analysis, Research, Social problems, Teaching, Training Program development, Youth, program management

Forum for Youth Investment

Annotation: The Forum for Youth Investment (the Forum) is dedicated to increasing the quality and quantity of youth investment and youth involvement by promoting a "big picture" approach to planning, research, advocacy and policy development among the broad range of organizations that help constituents and communities invest in children, youth and families. To do this, the Forum is committed to building connections, increasing capacity and tackling persistent challenges across the allied youth fields. Their Web site contains papers, articles, editorials, written and PowerPoint presentations, and other tools that have been created by Forum staff and consultants. The forum also publishes a newsletter. Forum Focus: What's Health Got to Do With It.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Families, Policy development, Youth

Grantmakers for Children, Youth and Families (GCYF)

Annotation: Grantmakers for Children, Youth and Families (GCYF) serves as a point of contact for grantmakers seeking collegial and collaborative relationships with other funders concerned with children, youth, and families. Focus areas include building constituencies in diverse communities, maternal and child health, immigrant youth and educational opportunities, poverty and working families, and grantmaking in times of crisis.

Keywords: Children, Families, Grants, Philanthropy, Youth

Indiana Youth Institute (IYI)

Annotation: The Indiana Youth Institute (IYI), a statewide intermediary organization, promotes attentiveness to Indiana's young people and those who work on their behalf; encourages policies and programs that foster healthy development of youth; collaborates with state and national organizations to improve the lives of our state's young people and ensures that their voices are heard. IYI promotes the healthy development of youth by providing research, training and development, and advocacy services for adults who serve and influence the lives of youth. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. IYI research services include the development of special reports on youth-related topics, statistics and analysis related to youth, interpretation of research findings, and technical assistance on conducting research studies. The IYI resource center houses a comprehensive collection of books and journals on topics related to children, youth and families. The institute publishes a newsletter and sponsors conferences. Training services include capacity building workshops, topical seminars, customized training and research-based presentations. IYI advocates directly, and in collaboration with others, for the healthy development of youth.

Keywords: Youth, Adolescents, Health promotion, Indiana, Information services, Public policies, Statistics

Institute for Youth Development

Annotation: The Institute for Youth Development (IYD) is a non-partisan, non-profit organization founded in 1996 dedicated to ensuring the best possible future for America's children by promoting positive choices and behaviors. It focuses on a comprehensive risk-avoidance message regarding majro risk behaviors amonth you, including alcohol, drugs, sex, tobacco, and violence. Current IYD projects include the Compassion Capital Fund Program (to assist faith-based and community organizations in competing for federal grants), the Abstinence Education Initiative, and Right Choices for Youth (a nationwide, multi-year initiative focused on helping youth avoid risk behaviors). The Web site provides materials for professionals, parents, and adolescents.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Youth development

Institute for Youth, Education and Families

Annotation: The Institute for Youth, Education and Families, launched by the National League of Cities (NLC), is a national resource and advocacy center formed to strengthen the capacity of municipal leaders to enhance the lives of youth and families using partnerships and collaboration to promote measurable improvements in youth, education, and family outcomes. The institute provides information and technical assistance to municipal leaders; collects and synthesizes information on youth, education, and families across the country; and advocates the importance of youth, education, and family issues in municipal life and the involvement of youth in addressing those issues effectively. Action kits, toolkits, strategy guides, case studies, and research reports are available on the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Advocacy, City government, Collaboration, Community programs, Education, Electronic publications, Families, Youth

Mid-Atlantic Network of Youth and Family Services (MANY)

Annotation: The Mid-Atlantic Network of Youth and Family Services (MANY) is a network designed to strengthen and coordinate resources and services for youth in high risk situations and their families. MANY offers consultation, training workshops, and information on program innovations, funding, legislation, and policy. The Network also maintains an online Knowledge Center, which is organized to address the 6 key components of operating community services that support the positive development of youth.

Keywords: Adolescents, Delaware, District of Columbia, Homeless persons, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Runaways, Technical assistance, Virginia, West Virginia, Youth

National 4-H Council

Annotation: The National 4-H Council provides grants, sponsors awards, establishes programs and initiatives, designs and publishes curriculum and reference materials, and creates linkages fostering innovation and shared learning to advance the 4-H youth development movement, building a world in which youth and adults learn, grow, and work together as catalysts for positive change. Programs focus on afterschool activities, safety, (including ATV safety), health and wellness, environmental stewardship, youth governance, rural youth development, and family strengthening. The council partners with 4-H at all levels—national, state and local. Publications are available through an online bookstore.

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Child health, Child safety, Injury prevention, Youth development

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.