Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (22 total).

Adoption Exchange Association (AED)

Annotation: The Adoption Exchange Association (AEA) provides a forum for the exchange of ideas and strategies, collaboration on issues of mutual interest, and increased effectiveness in using resources to provide waiting children permanent homes. AEA connects representatives of state, regional, and national adoption exchanges, including placement agencies, parents, child welfare professionals, and concerned citizens across the United States. The association has developed Standards for Adoption Exchanges, which can be ordered from the Web site, along with other materials exploring various aspects of the adoption process. AEA also offers information packets on children waiting for adoption and resources within individual states.

Keywords: Adoption, Agencies, Collaboration, Information networks, Information services, Standards

Alliance for Information and Referral Systems

Annotation: The Alliance of Information and Referral Systems (AIRS) is a professional association of community information and referral providers. AIRS works to enhance the capacity of I&R providers to better serve their communities. The organization develops service standards, sponsors training conferences, produces publications (including a newsletter and a journal), and maintains an I&R clearinghouse.

Keywords: Information systems, Clearinghouses, Community based services, Referrals, Resources for professionals, Standards

American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN)

Annotation: The American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) represents America's baccalaureate- and higher-degree nursing education programs. AACN conducts research, collects data, advocates, and develops curriculum standards and policy statements. Publications include the Journal of Professional Nursing, Syllabus (a bimonthly newsletter), and AACN Issue Bulletins (each focusing on a specific topic).

Keywords: Curricula, School health programs, Colleges, Data collection, Education, Nursing, Nursing services, Policy development, Standards

American Board of Pediatrics (ABP)

Annotation: Founded in 1933,the American Board of Pediatrics (ABP) evaluates the credentials of physicians applying for certification as pediatricians and certifies those who quality. ABP's board of directors consists of pediatricians in education, research, and clinical practice, as well as nonphysicians who have a professional interest in the health and welfare of children and adolescents. The ABP strives to improve training, establishes the requirements for certification and recertification, and sets the standards for its examinations. Certification policies, procedures, applications, and evaluation tools are posted on the Web site.

Keywords: Certification, Evaluation, Pediatricians, Standards

American College of Medical Genetics (ACMG)

Annotation: The American College of Medical Genetics (ACMG) provides education, resources, and representation for the medical genetics profession. ACMG promotes the development and implementation of methods to diagnose, treat and prevent genetic disease and establishes uniform laboratory standards, quality assurance, and proficiency testing. The college develops clinical practice guidelines and produces laboratory-services directories, databases, position papers, and population screening guidelines.

Keywords: Genetics, Advocacy, Diagnosis, Genetics education, Health promotion, Preventive health services, Professional societies, Publications, Quality assurance, Resources for professionals, Standards

American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM)

Annotation: The American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM) is the professional organization for nurse-midwives in the United States. It works to improve services for mothers and babies in cooperation with other allied groups. The organization publishes the Journal of Nurse-Midwifery and Women's Health and provides a list of accredited, university-affiliated nurse-midwifery education programs. Information is available in Spanish, French, and Asian languages, and ACNM sponsors an annual conference. ACNM also provides a Web site for consumers called mymidwife.org.

Keywords: Nurse midwives, Childbirth, Conferences, Ethics, Family planning, Foreign language materials, Labor, Postpartum care, Prenatal care, Professional societies, Publications, Reproductive health, Standards

American Ladder Institute (ALI)

Annotation: The American Ladder Institute (ALI) is a trade association representing the ladder industry. Their mission is to educate the public as to the selection, care, and safe use of ladders and to develop and disseminate appropriate standards for design, construction, testing, care, and use of ladders. ALI publishes lesson plans to help children learn about ladder safety. ALI also publishes a newsletter and press releases on ladder safety, and holds an annual conference.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Ladders, Safety, Standards

American Optometric Association (AOA)

Annotation: The American Optometric Association (AOA), founded in 1898, works to improve the quality, availability, and accessibility of eye care, vision care, and related health care. The association promotes standards of patient care and represents the optometric profession to government and other health care-related organizations. Publications include three periodicals: Journal of the American Optometric Association, American Optometric Association News, and Optometric Economics. The organization also sponsors conferences and training seminars. The association maintians offices in St. Louis, MO and metropolitan Washington, DC. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Optometry, Eye care, Patient care, Standards, Vision screening

American Public Health Association (APHA)

Annotation: The American Public Health Association (APHA) is the oldest and largest organization of public health professionals in the world, representing members from a broad array of occupations in public health. APHA brings together researchers, health service providers, administrators, teachers, and other health workers in a multidisciplinary environment of professional exchange, study, and action. APHA is concerned with a broad set of issues affecting personal and environmental health, including federal and state funding for health programs, pollution control, programs and policies related to chronic and infectious diseases, a smoke-free society, and professional education in public health. The association actively serves the public, its members, and the public health profession through its scientific programs, publications, annual meeting, awards program, educational service, and advocacy efforts. Its Web site includes a wide variety of resources, including the Community Solutions to Health Disparities database. Publications include the monthly American Journal of Public Health, manuals, directories, books, pamphlets, and a newspaper, The Nation's Health. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information, and access to searchable databases.

Keywords: Public health, Access to health care, Community programs, Consumer education, Environmental health, Guidelines, Health promotion, Information sources, Mental health, Minority health, Model programs, Professional societies, Program evaluation, Publications, Standards

Association of State Public Health Nutritionists (ASPHN)

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency responsible for conducting and supporting public health activities in the United States, including the prevention and control of infectious and chronic disease. The primary goals of the agency are to reduce health risks during every stage of life; spearhead efforts to improve global health; ensure that the places people live, work, and play have safe, healthy environments; and prepare for emerging health threats from mental health to environmental health. The Public Inquiries Office responds to inquiries in the areas of preventive medicine, immunization, disease control, and health education. The Web site covers a wide range of health & safety topics, including diseases & conditions, emergency preparedness, environmental health, life stages & populations, healthy living, injury and violence; travelers' health, and workplace health and safety. Also included are links to data and statistics, online access to CDC's journals and other publications; and tools & resources such as an image library, podcasts, and a Body Mass Index (BMI) calculator. A Spanish-language version of the Web site is available, and some materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian languages and other languages. CDC also sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops.

Keywords: Preventive health services, Adolescents, Data analysis, Data collection, Disease prevention, Environmental health, Federal agencies, Guidelines, Health education, Health promotion, Immunization, Listservs, Nutrition, Occupational safety and health, Online databases, Population surveillance, Publications, Safety, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website, Standards, Technical assistance, Training

Children's Research Center (CRC)

Annotation: The Children's Research Center is a division of the National Council on Crime and Delinquency (NCCD). The CRC works to reduce the incidence of child abuse and neglect by influencing public policies that affect the child welfare system, by conducting policy research and by assisting child welfare agencies in improve consistency and effectiveness in delivery systems. The center provides research to identify factors related to continued abuse and neglect, development of risk assessment instruments, protocols, and standards for case management, and evaluation and technical assistance to assure proper implementation. CRC sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars, and publishes a newsletter, journal, and research reports.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Children, Injury prevention, Standards, Technical assistance

Council on Accreditation (COA)

Annotation: The Council on Accreditation (COA) in an international, independent, not-for-profit child- and family-service accrediting body. It assists organizations seeking accreditation and provides training workshops. It promotes best-practice standards; champions quality services for children, youth, and families; and advocates for the value of accreditation. It publishes standards for the full array of child and family services, financial management and debt counseling services, behavioral healthcare services, employee assistance programs, and other service areas. It also publishes an annual report.

Keywords: Accreditation, Child health services, Family support services, Standards

Guideline Central

Annotation: Guideline Central is a non-profit initiative dedicated to providing healthcare professionals with evidence-based clinical decision-support tools that are current, practical, and easily accessible. It partners with over thirty-five medical societies and government agencies to provide quick-reference tools that physicians can rely on for credible guidance in the management of a medical condition. It was established following the closure of the National Guideline Clearinghouse.

Keywords: Databases, Evidence based health care, Guidelines, Information sources, Professional standards review, Resource centers

Joint Commission (JCAHO)

Annotation: The Joint Commission is an independent, not-for-profit organization that accredits and certifies health care organizations and programs in the United States. Joint Commission accreditation and certification are recognized nationwide as a symbol of quality that reflects an organization's commitment to meeting certain performance standards. Topics include emergency management, reliability, health care-associated infections and infection control, pain management, patient safety, and transitions of care. Resources include accountability measures, fact sheets, forms, manuals, monographs, papers, podcasts, reports, and videos. A blog, newsletters, sentinel event alerts, and speakers bureau are also available from the website.

Keywords: Accountability, Accreditation, Certification, Measures, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Standards

Lactation Education Accreditation and Approval Review Committee (LEAARC)

Annotation: The Lactation Education Accreditation and Approval Review Committee (LEAARC) reviews and grants formal recognition to education programs in lactation. LEAARC recognition is a formal, non-governmental, peer-review process of voluntary self evaluation. The website lists standards for accreditation and provides a list of approved courses.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Professional training, Standards: Accreditation

MedChi, the Maryland State Medical Society (Med Chi)

Annotation: MedChi, The Maryland State Medical Society (formerly the Medical and Chirurgical Faculty) designs and disseminates physician education materials, conducts continuing medical education programs, and works to increase medical research in the state. The Maternal, Infant, Child and Adolescent Health Committee reviews maternal mortalities and coordinates activities of many maternal child health (MCH) specialties in Maryland, including setting standards, advocacy, and legislation. Med Chi operates the Baltimore City Fetal Infant Mortality Review (FIMR) and provides technical assistance to FIMR's in all counties of Maryland. The organization produces a newsletter and journal, maintains a listserv, and sponsors conferences and training seminars. It also provides referrals, publications and reference information for consumers.

Keywords: Health education, Adolescent health, Advocacy, Child health, Continuing education, Educational materials, Infant health, Legislation, Maryland, Maternal health, Medical education, Standards

National Center for Disaster Preparedness (NCDP)

Annotation: The National Center for Disaster Preparedness (NCDP) serves as a national resource in disaster and terrorism readiness. The NCDP, which includes the CDC-funded Academic Centers for Public Health Preparedness (initiated prior to the attacks of September 11), works with other academic institutions, advocacy organizations, and public policy institutions to provide bioterrorism curriculum development, training for public health professionals, crisis-response mechanisms, surveillance models, preparedness standards, public policy analysis, and research methodologies in efforts to increase the nation's capacity to prevent and respond to terrorism and enhance disaster preparedness.

Keywords: Model programs, Professional training, Public health, . Research, Injury prevention, Leadership training, Preventive health services, Public health service, Resources for professionals, Standards, curricula

National Commission for Health Education Credentialing (NCHEC)

Annotation: The National Commission for Health Education Credentialing (NCHEC) works to improve the quality of health education practice. The commission maintains a certification process for health education specialists and promotes professional preparation and continuing education programs. Publications include a newsletter.

Keywords: Certification, Continuing education, Health education, Professional review organizations, Professional standards review, Professional training, Resources for professionals

National Quality Measures Clearinghouse (NQMC)

Annotation: The National Quality Measures Clearinghouse (NQMC) is a public repository for evidence-based quality measures and measure sets. Sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), NQMC provides summaries of measures, comparison tools, and materials on how to use, select, apply, and interpret quality measures. The website includes a glossary of definitions and common properties, expert commentary in the fields of measures and guidelines, an online discussion list forum, and additional tools and links to related resources.

Keywords: Quality assurance, Evaluation, Evidence based medicine, Guidelines, Measures, Standards

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.