Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 11 (11 total).

Maryland Department of Agriculture. 2014. Maryland WIC farmer's market cookbook. [Baltimore, MD: Maryland Department of Agriculture], 24 pp.

Annotation: This cookbook for families enrolled in the Special Supplemental Food Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) provides information on finding fresh, nutritious food at farmer's markets. Topics include reasons to shop at a farmer's market and how to use WIC checks to buy fruit and vegetables in season at the farmer's market. Additional contents include tips on food safety, storage, and preparation; recipes; a list of farmers' markets in Maryland; and information from national public health campaigns for pregnant women.

Contact: Maryland Department of Agriculture, 50 Harry S. Truman Parkway, Annapolis, MD 21401, Telephone: (410) 841-8106 Secondary Telephone: (301) 261-8106 Fax: (410) 841-5914 Web Site: http://mda.maryland.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Cookbooks, Food handling, Fruit, Infants, Maryland, Nutrition, Pregnant women, Recipes, State programs, Vegetables, WIC Program

U.S. Department of Agriculture, Team Nutrition. 2013. Grow it, try it, like it! Preschool fun with fruits and vegetables (rev.). Alexndria, VA: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Team Nutrition, multiple items.

Annotation: This garden-themed, nutrition education kit for child care center staff introduces children to three fruits (peaches, strawberries, and cantaloupe) and three vegetables (spinach, sweet potatoes, and crookneck squash). The kit includes seven booklets with activities. A CD-ROM with supplemental information and a DVD with Cool Puppy Pup's Picnic and Lunch Parties are also available. Each set of lessons contains hands-on activities, planting activities, and nutrition education activities that introduce MyPlate. The kit can be used to promote learning at home with parent/child activities and family-sized recipes that give tips for cooking with children.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Team Nutrition, 3101 Park Center Drive, Room 632, Alexandria, VA 22302, Telephone: (703) 305-1624 Fax: (703) 305-2549 Web Site: http://www.fns.usda.gov/tn Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Children, Food handling, Health promotion, Learning, Materials for children, Nutrition education, Recipes, Young children

Ohio State University Extension and Colorado State University Extension. 2011. Healthy baby, healthy me: A curriculum on safe food handling for pregnant women. Columbus, OH: Ohio State University Extension,

Annotation: This curriculum on safe food handling for pregnant women includes four lesson plans, handouts, a teachers0' guide, evaluation forms, and slides that can be projected or used as flip charts. Lesson one explains why pregnant women are at increased risk for foodborne illness; lesson two provides information about Toxoplasma gondii and how to prevent infection by this parasite; lesson three is about the foods that can be contaminated with Salmonella; and lesson four talks about using thermometers to take the temperatures of cooked foods to prevent Camplyobacter. Also included are marketing materials to promote the course and a certificate of completion.

Contact: Ohio State University Extension, 2120 Fyffe Rd., Room 3 Ag Admin, Columbus, OH 43210, Telephone: 614-292-6181 Fax: 618-688-3807 Web Site: http://extension.osu.edu Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Curricula, Educational materials, Food handling, Pregnant women, Safety

Annotation: This curriculum on safe food handling for pregnant women includes four lesson plans, handouts, a teachers guide, evaluation forms, and slides that can be projected or used as flip charts. Lesson one explains why pregnant women are at increased risk for foodborne illness; lesson two provides information about Toxoplasma gondii and how to prevent infection by this parasite; lesson three is about the foods that can be contaminated with salmonella; and lesson four talks about using thermometers to take the temperatures of cooked foods to prevent Camplyobacter. Also included are marketing materials to promote the course and a certificate of completion for the course.

Contact: Ohio State University Extension, 2120 Fyffe Rd., Room 3 Ag Admin, Columbus, OH 43210, Telephone: 614-292-6181 Fax: 618-688-3807 Web Site: http://extension.osu.edu Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Curricula, Food handling, Food safety, Pregnant women, Prenatal care

U.S. Food and Nutrition Service. 2001. Feeding infants: A guide for use in the child nutrition programs. (Rev. ed.). Alexandria, VA: U.S. Food and Nutrition Service, 104 pp.

Annotation: This guide is intended primarily for use by those who care for and feed infants under 12 months of age and participate in the Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP) and also for participants in other U. S. Department of Agriculture child nutrition programs serving infants. These topics are covered: (1) infant development and feeding skills; (2) feeding the breastfed baby; (3) feeding infant formula and how to use a bottle; (4) preventing tooth decay; (5) feeding solid foods, drinking from a cup, and choking prevention; (6) sanitary food preparation and safe food handling; and (7) commercially prepared and home-prepared baby food.

Contact: U.S. Food and Nutrition Service, 3101 Park Center Drive, Alexandria, VA 22302, Web Site: http://www.fns.usda.gov/fns Available from the website.

Keywords: Child care, Child care workers, Educational materials, Family child care, Food handling, Infant nutrition, Infants, Manuals, Menu planning, Sanitation

University of Massachusetts Extension. [1998]. Food handling is risky business. (Rev. ed.). [Amherst], MA: University of Massachusetts Extension, 48 pp.

Annotation: This trainer's manual explains the basics of safe food handling for those working in a variety of group settings. These include center-based child care, family child care, shelters, resident homes, congregate meal sites, school food services, and soup kitchens. The lesson materials include a trainer lesson plan, attendance sheet, trainer pretest and post test, and survey pretest and post test. The responsibilities of a trainer of food-safety education volunteers and a checklist for trainers are also included. The final section contains resource materials for use by trainers in teaching food handling. Some resource items are also provided in Spanish.

Contact: University of Massachusetts Extension, 101 University Drive, Ste. C1, Amherst, MA 01002, Telephone: 413-545-4800 Fax: (413) 545-6555 E-mail: ritabo@nutrition.umass.edu Web Site: http://www.umassextension.org/ $20.00.

Keywords: Food handling, Food preparation, Food safety, Spanish language materials

Puck CA, Kendall P. 1994. Serving children safe foods. [Fort Collins, CO]: Colorado State University, Cooperative Extension, 1 video (14:20 minutes, VHS 1/2 inch), 1 study guide (8 pp.).

Annotation: This videotape and accompanying study guide teach the relationship between nutrition, food safety, and health. Causes of food illness, basic rules for handling food safely, special picnic precautions, and prevention of choking are discussed.

Contact: Colorado State University, Extension, Campus Delivery 4040, Fort Collins, CO 80523-4040, Telephone: (970) 491-7334 Fax: (970) 491-7252 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.ext.colostate.edu $25.00 each or 3-in-one videotape and study guides for $55.00.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Child nutrition, Choking, Food handling, Food poisoning, Food safety, Videotapes

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Food and Drug Administration, Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition. [1987]. Food protection unicode. Washington, DC: Food and Drug Administration, 113 pp.

Annotation: This document is a draft of the proposed food protection unicode of the Food and Drug Administration. The draft combines food codes for food service, food vending, and retail food stores in order to eliminate duplication and redundancy. Included in the unicode are provisions relating to protection against contamination; design, construction and operation and maintenance of equipment and utensils; cleaning and protection of equipment and utensils; water, liquid waste and refuse; physical facilities; and poisonous/toxic materials, first aid supplies, medicinal and cosmetics.

Keywords: Codes, Food handling, Food labeling, Food safety

Chauliac M. 1984. The principal foods: Their composition, conservation, and transformation. Children in the Tropics. 1984. No. 147/148:1-110,

Annotation: This issue discusses the energy and building requirements of nutrition to grow, develop, reproduce, and maintain vital functions as a basis of a satisfactory health status. Section topics include an overview of nutritional requirements and recommended intakes, the classification of food, specific properties of the different foods most usually consumed around the world, different means of conserving and transforming food, and weaning foods. Each section contains exercises to review content. Technical notes provide information on preparation and storage of fish meal using small fish and examples of typical menus. The appendices include charts comparing the nutritional value of different foods and recommended intakes and the folic acid content of some foods. A brief bibliography concludes the issue.

Keywords: Food habits, Food handling, International health, Nutrients, Nutrition, Nutrition education, Nutrition research, Nutritional requirements, Nutritive value, Tropical regions

Hille HM. 1960. Food for groups of young children cared for during the day. [Washington, DC]: U.S. Children's Bureau, 58 pp. (Children's Bureau publication; no. 386)

Annotation: This booklet discusses the selection and serving of food to children in child care settings. The development of good eating habits is also stressed. The booklet provides tips on planning, a food plan for one meal and two snacks, a meal planning form, a daily food plan, suggestions on food purchasing and storage, food preparation, food costs, and safe food service. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

Keywords: Child care centers, Child nutrition, Dietary guidelines, Food handling, Food safety, Group feeding, Menu planning, Snacks

U.S. Children's Bureau. 1919. The preparation of artificial food. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, 4 pp. (Children's Bureau, Dodger no. 6)

Annotation: A publication of the U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

Keywords: Food handling, Food safety, Guidelines, Infant formula, Parent education