Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This website includes information for families about changes that occur when a child with a disability or with special health care needs becomes a legal adult. Teaching your child how to navigate the health care system and encouraging them to become actively involved in their medical care are among the topics explored in video and e-publication formats.

Contact: Nemours Children's Health System, 10140 Centurion Parkway North, Jacksonville, FL 32256, Telephone: (904) 697-4100 Web Site: http://www.nemours.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Teen Health Site

Keywords: Adolescents, Consumer education, School to work transitions, Special health care needs, Transition planning, Transition to independent living, Young adults

Annotation: This systematic review provides the results of an analysis of the evidence base for care interventions, implementation strategies, and between-provider communication tools among children with special health care needs who are making the transition from pediatric to adult medical care services. Several databases were searched to identify studies published through September 2021; gray literature searches were also conducted in order to identify additional resources relevant to the topic. The publication is divided into 12 chapters and includes tables, figures, and appendixes.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Literature reviews, Research reviews, Special health care needs, Transition planning, Transition to independent living, Transitions, Young adults

Annotation: This report summarizes the health care transition (HCT) strategies that Title V agencies documented in their 2021 applications and 2019 annual reports. The document highlights examples of states' HCT innovations and offers recommendations for future health care transition strategies in state Title V action plans.

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: info@GotTransition.org Web Site: http://gottransition.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Federal agencies, Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Transition planning, Transition to independent living, Transitions, Young adults

Annotation: This report presents results and recommendations from a roundtable on value-based payment (VBP) for pediatric-to-adult transition services held by the Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health and key informant deliberations. The report describes recommended VBP payment options, with examples of how each could be structured, along with quality measures that could be coupled with the options.

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: info@GotTransition.org Web Site: http://gottransition.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Health care financing, Medical fees, Transition to independent living

Annotation: This report focuses on teens and young adults with autism who are about to finish high school and highlights challenges facing minority youth and those from low-income households. It identifies risk and protective factors that can influence how lives turn out. It describes what is known about this population, including individual and household demographics and disability characteristics and adaptive behaviors. It also looks and special education services during secondary school and health, mental health, and health care. Recommendations are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Drexel Autism Institute, Drexel University, 3141 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104, E-mail: https://drexel.ed Web Site: https://drexel.edu/autisminstitute/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Autism, Transition to independent living

Annotation: This report examines state Title V action plans for fiscal year 2016 and summarizes objectives and strategies for increasing the percentage of adolescents with and without special health care needs who receive services necessary to make transitions to adult health care. It also contains suggestions for states to consider as they refine and update their transition objectives and evidence-informed strategies as part of their state action plans. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: info@GotTransition.org Web Site: http://gottransition.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Community action, Statewide planning, Strategic plans, Title V programs, Transition planning, Transition to independent living

Annotation: This report summarizes the successes and vision of a national initiative to help young people transition from foster care and thrive. Contents include information about the initiative's impact, timeline, core strategies, outcome areas, and next steps. The report describes how the initiative is helping young people in foster care achieve critical milestones in permanence, education, employment, financial capability, housing, physical and mental health, and social capital; how the initiative integrates young people's voices into its work; and how it collaborates with national and local partners, policymakers, and young people to create conditions that improve outcomes for youth transitioning to adulthood.

Contact: Annie E. Casey Foundation, 701 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 547-6600 Fax: (410) 547-6624 E-mail: webmail@aecf.org Web Site: http://www.aecf.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Collaboration, Foster care, National initiatives, Outcome and process assessment, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, Public private partnerships, School to work transition, Transition planning, Transition to independent living, Transitions, Young adults, Youth development, Youth in transition programs

Annotation: This document for physical educators provides guidance on ensuring that students in community-based transition programs receive physical education services in community settings, and that those services are developed and implemented by certified adapted physical education teachers. Contents include background, reasons for concern, clarification from the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Special Education Programs, a call to action, and best practices and recommendations for providing meaningful physical education services in secondary special education transition programs.

Contact: SHAPE America–Society of Health and Physical Educators, 1900 Association Drive, Reston, VA 20191-1598, Telephone: (800) 213-7193 Fax: (703) 476-9527 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.shapeamerica.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community action, Community based services, Disabilities, Models, Nutrition education, Physical activity, Physical education, Students, Teaching, Transition planning, Transition to independent living, Youth in transition programs

Annotation: This environmental scan identifies collections of strategies to advance performance for NPM #12: Transiton--percent of adolescents with and without special health care needs who received services necessary to make transitions to adult health care. It includes a list of reviews and compilations on the topic; frameworks and landmark initiatives; databases and related search terms; and inclusion and exclusion criteria. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Block grants, Evidence-based practice, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Transition planning, Transition to independent living

Annotation: This report gives national and state data on the use of vocational rehabilitation services to support employment of people with autism. It spotlights use of job placement services and on-the-job supports, and outcomes of students and Social Security Income (SSI) recipients. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Drexel Autism Institute, Drexel University, 3141 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104, E-mail: https://drexel.ed Web Site: https://drexel.edu/autisminstitute/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Autism, Children with special health care needs, Statistics, Transition to independent living, Vocational rehabilitation

Annotation: This brief describes a study to identify operational issues and solutions related to the implementation of California's Confidential Health Information Act (Senate Bill 138), a law to address the privacy concerns of individuals insured as dependents on a parent's or partner's health plan. Topics include legal gaps that led to the new legislation, findings from telephone interviews with health insurance carriers and health plans, and an analysis of website content related to privacy practices.

Contact: University of California, San Francisco, Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies, 513 Parnassus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94143-0410, Telephone: (415) 476-5255 Web Site: http://healthpolicy.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Confidentiality, Health insurance, Organizational change, Policy development, Social change, State legislation, Transition to independent living

Annotation: This document outlines a plan to enhance federal interagency coordination, to develop compatible goals to improve outcomes for youth with disabilities in transition, and to help agencies approach transition in a more integrated way that will lead to improved outcomes by 2020. Contents include definitions, history, and assumptions; a shared vision and the compatible outcome goals used to frame coordination across federal agencies and respective programs, the approach, examples of current federal cross-systems initiatives that support compatible outcome goals, and policy priorities that will inform work going forward.

Contact: U.S. Department of Labor, Office of Disability Employment Policy, Frances Perkins Building, 200 Constitution Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20210, Telephone: (202) 693-7880 Secondary Telephone: (866) 633-7365 Fax: (202) 693-7888 E-mail: infoDEP@dol.gov Web Site: http://www.dol.gov/odep Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Disabilities, Federal programs, Program improvement, School to work transition, Service integration, Special health care needs, Strategic plans, Transition planning, Transition to independent living, Young adults

Annotation: This report describes characteristics of youth on the autism spectrum at age 17; what happens to them as they enter adulthood in the areas of transition planning and the services cliff; and what is known about key outcomes in the areas of disconnection, health, mental health, health care, postsecondary education, employment, living arrangements, social and community participation, and safety and risk. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Drexel Autism Institute, Drexel University, 3141 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104, E-mail: https://drexel.ed Web Site: https://drexel.edu/autisminstitute/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Autism, Children with special health care needs, Statistics, Transition to independent living

Contact: Association of University Centers on Disabilities, 1010 Wayne Avenue, Suite 1000, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301) 588-8252 Fax: (301) 588-2842 E-mail: aucdinfo@aucd.org Web Site: http://www.aucd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with developmental disabilities, Adolescents with special health care needs, Self care, Transition to independent living, Young adults, Youth in transition programs

Annotation: This report focuses on mental health problems, co-occurring mental health problems and substance use disorder, and mental health service use among older adolescents ages 16-17 and young adults ages 18 to 25. The report provides a snapshot of mental health issues among older adolescents and young adults overall and by key issues for the transition into adulthood such as housing, employment, education, and insurance coverage.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Comorbidity, Health care utilization, Mental health, School to work transition, Substance use disorders, Transition to independent living, Young adults

Annotation: This booklet provides an overview of the knowledge, skills, and actions required to help ensure a smooth transition from adolescence to adulthood for youth with special health care needs. It includes basics of transition planning, a checklist to help adolescents identify the skills they need in order become independent, and fact sheets for making it all happen.

Contact: Waisman Center for Mental Retardation and Human Development, University of Wisconsin, Madison, 1500 Highland Avenue, Madison, WI 53705-2280, Telephone: (608) 263-5776 Secondary Telephone: (608) 263-1656 Fax: (608) 263-0529 Web Site: http://www.waisman.wisc.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Transition planning, Transition to independent living

Annotation: This policy brief focuses on national and state efforts to secure comprehensive confidentiality protections for young adults insured as dependents. Topics include Affordable Care Act provisions related to young adults, insurance communications that may compromise young adults' confidentiality and negatively impact their health, young adults' need for confidentiality as recognized by law and state law approaches to securing confidentiality in dependent coverage. Recommendations are included.

Contact: Advocates for Youth, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 750, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-3420 Fax: (202) 419-1448 Web Site: http://www.advocatesforyouth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Communication, Confidentiality, Health care reform, Health insurance, Medical records, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Patient rights, Reproductive health, Sexual health, Transition planning, Transition to independent living, Young adults

Annotation: This report summarizes what is known about the health, safety, and well-being of young adults and offers recommendations for policy and research. Contents include a cross-cutting recommendation that applies to all policies and programs addressing young adults, whether public or private, in all sectors of society. Subsequent recommendations focus on the key domains of relationships, education and employment, civic engagement and national service, public health, the health care systems, and government investments in marginalized young adults.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: customer_service@nap.edu Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Evidence based medicine, Health status, Preventive health services, School to work transition, Service integration, Transition planning, Transition to independent living, Young adults, Youth in transition programs

Annotation: This website comprises information and resources from the Autism Transition Project (2012-2014), a two-year project to study how students with an autism spectrum disorder are being prepared to move from the public schools into employment or additional education in the community. Resources include a national and state scan; literature and resources; and the agenda and presentations from the Symposium on Autism Spectrum Disorders & Transition (June 16, 2014) and the Conference Autism Spectrum Disorders & Transitions from High School: Challenges & Opportunities (December 5, 2014).

Contact: Center for Health and Health Care in Schools, George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health, 2175 K Street, N.W., Suite 200, Room 213, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 994-4895 E-mail: chhcs@gwu.edu Web Site: http://www.healthinschools.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Autism, Conference proceedings, Literature reviews, Students, Transition planning, Transition to independent living, Young adults

Annotation: [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: info@GotTransition.org Web Site: http://gottransition.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Forms, Transition planning, Transition to independent living, Youth