Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The American Association of SIDS Prevention Physicians (AASPP) has these objectives: medical education, advocacy, clinical research, career development, and referral networking for medical professionals interested in SIDS and pediatric sleep disorders as well as those involved in the care of infants in the neonatal intensive care unit (NICU) and upon discharge. AASPP holds an annual conference is held each year and is associated with the American SIDS Institute (http://www.sids.org).

Keywords: Child death, Infant death, Research, SIDS, Sleep disorders

Annotation: The American Sleep Apnea Association (ASAA) was founded in 1990 as a non-profit organization by persons with apnea and concerned health care providers and researchers. The mission of ASAA is to reduce injury, disability, and death from sleep apnea and to enhance the well-being of those affected by this common disorder. The ASAA promotes education and awareness, the A.W.A.K.E. (Alert, Well, And Keeping Energetic) Network of voluntary mutual support groups, research, and continuous improvement of care. Referrals are available upon request, and ASAA publishes a newsletter.

Keywords: Apnea, Education, Sleep disorders, Support groups

Annotation: The American Sleep Association (ASA) is a national organization that focuses on improving public awareness of sleep disorders and sleep health, promoting sleep medicine research, and providing a portal for communication between patients, healthcare professionals, and scientists. ASA provides online information for professionals, technologists, patients, and the general public, including material about sleep problems in children and the diagnosis and treatment of sleep disorders. The association also produces a newsletter, and provides access to research abstracts, a directory of sleep labs, and online support groups, chat rooms, and message boards. Information is available in Spanish. ASA is a member-driven public service project that depends on volunteer efforts. Membership is free to those who register online.

Keywords: , Sleep, Public awareness campaigns, Research, Sleep deprivation, Sleep disorders

Annotation: Charlie's Kids Foundation was established to increase safe sleep awareness and education with the ultimate goal of reducing the SIDS mortality rate. The foundation provides a children's board book (story book) with a sticker listing the do's and don'ts of safe sleep.

Keywords: Prevention programs, Public awareness campaigns, SIDS, Sleep

Annotation: The Coalition Against Unsafe Sleep Environments (CAUSE) was formed to forge a partnership of the private, non-profit, consumer and government sectors working on the issue of infant safe sleep, including national, state, and local groups and individuals from the injury prevention, SIDS, child welfare and Maternal and Child Health arenas. It advocates for safe sleep messages, standards for safe products, and legislation, and provides information including data, studies, materials, and other resources.

Keywords: Coalitions, SIDS, Safe sleep

Annotation: As part of its infant safe sleep and SIDS risk reduction initiative, Columbus Public Health and the Franklin County Infant Safe Sleep Task Force have developed an online video on infant safe sleep, [AAP recommendations 1, 2, 4, 6, 10]

Keywords: Local MCH agencies, Ohio, Public awareness campaigns, Sleep position

Annotation: Services to affected families and medical professionals include referrals, publications, and reference information. The CCHS Network sponsors conferences and publishes newsletters twice annually.

Keywords: Congenital central hypoventilation syndrome, Respiratory diseases, Sleep apnea syndrome, Sleep disorders

Annotation: The Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services has produced a public service announcement on the ABC's of safe sleep, and a safe sleep brochure that conveys the message, "Safe sleep for your baby is as simple as ABC. Alone, on their Backs, in a Crib." For more information, see resources at Planning a Safe Place for Your Baby to Sleep.

Keywords: Missouri, Public awareness campaigns, Sleep position, State MCH agencies

Annotation: The National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) Health Information Center is a federal information and referral resource that responds to inquiries and disseminates information and publications on cholesterol, high blood pressure, asthma, heart disease, exercise, obesity, sleep disorders, stroke, sarcoidosis, and Raynaud's phenomenon. Some materials are available in Spanish. Clinical practice guidelines for health professionals are available on high blood cholesterol, high blood pressure, asthma, and obesity. Serial publications include HeartMemo, which provides program updates for health professionals about cholesterol, high blood pressure, and heart attack, and AsthmaMemo, which describes the activities of the National Asthma Education and Prevention Program. Publications can be accessed using the online catalog or ordered from NHLB in print format.

Keywords: Hypertension, Asthma, Blood and lymphatic diseases, Blood pressure disorders, Cardiovascular diseases, Heart diseases, Hematologic diseases, Information dissemination, Lung diseases, Respiratory diseases, Sleep disorders, Smoking

Annotation: The National Sleep Foundation (NSF) is an independent nonprofit organization dedicated to achieving a better understanding of sleep and sleep disorders and supporting education, sleep-related research, and advocacy. NSF's public awareness initiatives include Sleep Awareness Week and the "Drive Alert...Arrive Alive" campaign. The foundation produces education materials for the general public, including the news magazine, Sleepmatters, brochures, and videotapes. Web content is available in both English and Spanish.

Keywords: , Sleep, Advocacy, Public awareness campaigns, Research, Sleep deprivation, Sleep disorders

Annotation: The Sleep Products Safety Council (SPSC) is a nonprofit service organization established in 1986, whose mission is to provide consumer safety information, support research and promote activities aimed at reducing hazards associated with sleep products. The council is primarily funded through sales of safety hangtags that warn consumers of the potential fire and bedroom safety hazards that may result from improper use of sleep products. The SPSC Web site includes a children's page with interactive games and quizzes, which targets the "at risk" population responsible for the majority of bedroom fires: children under age 14. It also contains information for teachers, parents, and caregivers. In recent years, the council has also supported open-flame mattress research, in cooperation with the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, that will be utilized to develop a tougher standard for residential mattresses. Some materials are available in French or Spanish.

Keywords: Fires, Injury prevention, Non English language materials, Product safety, Sleep products, Spanish language materials

Annotation: NCAST-AVENUW is a self-sustaining program at the University of Washington affiliated with the School of Nursing and the Center on Human Development and Disability. The program is designed to give professionals, parents and other caregivers the knowledge and skills to provide nurturing environments for young children. NCAST-AVENUW develops and disseminates innovative research-based products and training programs for practitioners and researchers in many disciplines and settings which can be used with typically developing children, those at risk for developmental delays, and those diagnosed with special health needs.

Keywords: Child care, Child development, Children with special health care needs, Parenting, Research, Sleep, Training, Young children