Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The American Lung Association (ALA) is a voluntary health organization dedicated to the prevention, cure, and control of all types of lung disease through public health education, advocacy, and research. ALA monitors air quality and publishes reports that detail the effects of tobacco, pollutants, and other environmental factors on the air, our communities, and our world. The Web site provides access to downloadable reports; indepth resources related to lung health, lung disease, and air quality at home, at school, outdoors, and at work. Anyone can register to receive ALA's free electronic newsletters.

Keywords: Asthma, Infants, Public health education, Lung diseases, Prevention, Respiratory distress syndrome, SIDS, Smoking during pregnancy

Annotation: The American Medical Women's Association (AMWA) promotes women's health through position statements, policy advocacy, and physician education. AMWA also sponsors conferences and training seminars and provides a career center.

Keywords: Advocacy, Policy development, Professional societies, Smoking cessation, Women', s health

Annotation: Founded in 1985, the American Society of Hypertension (ASH) is a nonprofit organization of 2,700 physicians and scientists who conduct research and exchange scientific information on hypertension. The society receives support from member and corporate contributions and through education grants. The society publishes a newsletter and the monthly American Journal of Hypertension. The society also sponsors an annual convention, conferences, workshops, and training seminars. The Society also sponsors two award programs annually. The first program, the Young Scholars Award, focuses on the area of ongoing research training in the field of hypertension for young clinicians planning a career in academic medicine. The other award, the ASH Distinguished Scientist Award, recognizes and rewards a senior scientist who has carried out a significant body of work in the field of hypertension or related cardiovascular diseases. Both Awards are presented at the ASH Annual Scientific Meeting, held in May of each year.

Keywords: Blood pressure disorders, Cardiovascular diseases, Heart diseases, Hematologic diseases, Hypertension, Lung diseases, Respiratory diseases, Smoking

Annotation: Americans for Nonsmokers' Rights is a member-supported lobbying association. It promotes clean indoor air legislation. Its sister organization the American Nonsmokers' Rights Foundation creates comprehensive programs for youth of all ages on issues of smoking prevention, the benefits of smokefree air, and the right to breathe smokefree air. It provides educational resources for schools, health departments, medical organizations, and others interested in the issues surrounding smoking and secondhand smoke.

Keywords: Adverse effects, Consumer protection, Environmental exposure, Nicotine, Smoking cessation

Annotation: The Legacy Tobacco Documents Library (LTDL) contains more than 10 million documents created by major tobacco companies related to their advertising, manufacturing, marketing, sales, and scientific research activities. The data in the Library is both full-text searchable and searchable through the index records created by the tobacco companies describing each document and its use in litigation. The Web site includes links to selected popular documents, digital collections, and additional resources.

Keywords: Online databases, Public health, Smoking, Tobacco

Annotation: The National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion is a component of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Divisions of the center that are relevant to maternal and child health include the Division of Adolescent and School Health, Division of Nutrition and Physical Activity, Division of Diabetes Translation, Division of Cancer Prevention and Control, Division of Reproductive Health, Division of Oral Health, and Office on Smoking and Health.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Community health services, Community programs, Data, Health promotion, Medical research, Nutrition education, Nutrition monitoring, Nutrition policies, Nutrition programs, Nutrition research, Oral health, Outreach, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Public health nutrition, School health, Sexual health, Sexually transmitted diseases, Smoking, Women', s health

Annotation: Established in 1978, the Office on Smoking and Health is the principal federal office for tobacco and health activities. The office administers a national public information program on the hazards of tobacco use, responds to inquiries from consumers and professionals, offers bibliographic and reference services, and publishes and distributes materials on smoking and health. Some publications are available in Spanish. It serves as a World Health Organization Collaborating Center on Tobacco and Health. The Smoking and Health Database is a comprehensive online resource covering the scientific, policy, legal, and historical literature related to smoking and tobacco use. The database contains over 56,000 records and is accessed by researchers, librarians, medical professionals, and the public nationwide.

Keywords: Substance abuse, Health education, Information services, Nicotine, Online databases, Public health, Smokeless tobacco, Smoking, Tobacco

Annotation: The National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) Health Information Center is a federal information and referral resource that responds to inquiries and disseminates information and publications on cholesterol, high blood pressure, asthma, heart disease, exercise, obesity, sleep disorders, stroke, sarcoidosis, and Raynaud's phenomenon. Some materials are available in Spanish. Clinical practice guidelines for health professionals are available on high blood cholesterol, high blood pressure, asthma, and obesity. Serial publications include HeartMemo, which provides program updates for health professionals about cholesterol, high blood pressure, and heart attack, and AsthmaMemo, which describes the activities of the National Asthma Education and Prevention Program. Publications can be accessed using the online catalog or ordered from NHLB in print format.

Keywords: Hypertension, Asthma, Blood and lymphatic diseases, Blood pressure disorders, Cardiovascular diseases, Heart diseases, Hematologic diseases, Information dissemination, Lung diseases, Respiratory diseases, Sleep disorders, Smoking

Annotation: The National Partnership to Help Pregnant Smokers Quit is a coalition of diverse organizations that have joined forces to increase the number of pregnant smokers who quit smoking. The partnership offers a broad range of resources for health care professionals, advocates, and consumers, including research findings, fact sheets, and cessation tips and techniques. Media campaigns, community outreach, and increased funding opportunities are among the strategic elements outlined in the coalition's Action Plan.

Keywords: Coalitions, Pregnancy counseling, Pregnant women, Prevention programs, Public awareness campaigns, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use, Women', s health

Annotation: The Prevention of Gestational and Neonatal Exposure to Tobacco Smoke network seeks to improve the health of moms and their babies by offering information, resources and support to pregnant and postpartum women and their health care providers in quitting smoking. A toolkit is provided for healthcare professional to encourage smoking reduction and cessation.

Keywords: Fetal health, Infant health, Pregnant women, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use

Annotation: Infant mortality and morbidity are alarming concerns in the Saginaw community, particularly in high-risk women and minorities within the city of Saginaw. The purpose of this project is to develop a program to reduce specific identified risk and high-risk behaviors; improve pregnancy outcome and infant mortality in the community; and provide needed ancillary services that emphasize comprehensive, culturally competent care. The program will promote a continuum of family health that includes preconception, prenatal, postpartum, and interpartum periods involving mothers, infants, and fathers. The program will enhance the existing perinatal care system and develop creative new programs and services to fill gaps in care.

Keywords: Adolescent Health Programs, African American/ Black, Cultural Sensitivity, Data Collection, Domestic Violence, Health Education, Infant Mortality, Infant Morbidity, Prenatal Care, Provider Training, Risk Assessment, Smoking During Pregnancy.

Annotation: The Social Climate of Tobacco Control researches the increased health risks to children of exposure to secondhand smoke including lung cancer, heart disease, and respiratory illness. Support for the National Social Climate Survey of Tobacco Control was provided by the AAP Julius B. Richmond Center for Excellence for Children, Mississippi State University's Social Science Research Center, and the American Legacy Foundation.

Keywords: Child health, Children, Passive smoking, Prevention, Research, Smoking, Surveys, Tobacco use

Annotation: Truth Initiative (formerly American Legacy Foundation) is a non-profit public health organization dedicated to speaking, seeking, and spreading the truth about tobacco through education, tobacco-control research, policy studies, and community activism and engagement. The initiative shares research and the work of tobacco control colleagues with summaries of peer review studies and academic analyses. Topics include tobacco products, industry and influence, who smokes, policy and intervention, and patterns of use.

Keywords: Community action, Evaluation, Initiatives, Policy development, Prevention programs, Research, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use

Annotation: The Wisconsin Clearinghouse For Prevention Resources is an official information and materials resource for the state of Wisconsin that also serves schools, agencies, programs, community groups, and businesses nationwide. Its goal is to strengthen individuals, families, and communities. The Clearinghouse provides a wide range of educational materials and services to prevention specialists, counselors, and other professionals. Topics include alcohol and other drugs, curricula and teacher resources, high-risk youth and high-risk behaviors, resources for programs and professionals, tobacco and smoking, fetal alcohol syndrome, primary prevention and health promotion, mental health, and families and substance abuse prevention. Posters, publications and videotapes are available. Some materials are available in Spanish, plus a few items also available in Chinese, Vietnamese, Cambodian, and Korean. The organization publishes a quarterly newsletter.

Keywords: Alcoholic beverages, Audiovisual materials, Curricula, Educational materials, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Health promotion, High risk adolescents, Mental health, Recreational drug use, Self help clearinghouses, Smoking, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Teratology, Tobacco, Wisconsin