Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (33 total).

American Association of SIDS Prevention Physicians (AASPP)

Annotation: The American Association of SIDS Prevention Physicians (AASPP) has these objectives: medical education, advocacy, clinical research, career development, and referral networking for medical professionals interested in SIDS and pediatric sleep disorders as well as those involved in the care of infants in the neonatal intensive care unit (NICU) and upon discharge. AASPP holds an annual conference is held each year and is associated with the American SIDS Institute (http://www.sids.org).

Keywords: Child death, Infant death, Research, SIDS, Sleep disorders

American Lung Association (ALA)

Annotation: The American Lung Association (ALA) is a voluntary health organization dedicated to the prevention, cure, and control of all types of lung disease through public health education, advocacy, and research. ALA monitors air quality and publishes reports that detail the effects of tobacco, pollutants, and other environmental factors on the air, our communities, and our world. The Web site provides access to downloadable reports; indepth resources related to lung health, lung disease, and air quality at home, at school, outdoors, and at work. Anyone can register to receive ALA's free electronic newsletters.

Keywords: Asthma, Infants, Public health education, Lung diseases, Prevention, Respiratory distress syndrome, SIDS, Smoking during pregnancy

American SIDS Institute (ASI)

Annotation: The American SIDS Institute (ASI) is a national nonprofit health care organization dedicated to the prevention of sudden infant death and the promotion of infant health. ASI's mission is to: conduct research related to the cause of sudden infant death and its prevention; provide clinical services to assist pediatricians in managing high risk infants; provide education about prevention methods aimed at the public and medical community; and offer family support services including crises phone counseling, grief literature, and referrals.

Keywords: Consumer education, Family support, Infant health, Infant mortality, Prevention programs, Professional education, Research, SIDS

Arizona Department of Health Services, Unexplained Infant Death Council

Annotation: The Unexplained Infant Death Council assists the Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS) to develop unexplained infant death training and educational programs, to inform the governor and the legislature of the need for specific programs regarding unexplained infant deaths, and to approve and periodically review the infant death investigation checklist. The council consists of 11 members and is staffed by the ADHS Child Fatality Review Program. The council develops protocols for investigations of infant deaths that have no previously diagnosed illness contributing to the death. The protocols specifically address the need for compassion and sensitivity with parents and caregivers, include recommended procedures for law enforcement, and require scene investigations as a component of the infant death investigation.

Keywords: SIDS, Arizona, Child death, Infant death, Infant mortality, State organizations

Association of SIDS and Infant Mortality Programs (ASIP)

Annotation: The Association of SIDS and Infant Mortality Programs (ASIP) is a multidisciplinary professional membership organization whose members provide community education, training programs, and consultation for health departments, hospitals, emergency responders, medical examiners and law enforcement. The SIDS/ID professionals in ASIP (whose work addresses Sudden Infant Death Syndrome and Other Infant Death) represent a majority of the states, in many cases including the State SIDS/ID program director. ASIP provides national leadership to establish and promote policy and practice for professionals who respond to infant and child death and is committed to bereavement support, risk reduction and prevention services.

Keywords: Infant health, Infant mortality, SIDS

California Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) Program

Annotation: The California Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) Program is dedicated to Sudden Infant Death support, awareness, and risk reduction. Information is provided on grief and bereavement, SIDS facts, and infant care practices for reducing the risk of SIDS. Information is available for SIDS professionals, SIDS Coordinators, and families. Numerous materials are available in Spanish, and occasionally in Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Tagalog, and VIetnamese. The program is under the direction of the California Department of Public Health, Maternal, Child and Adolescent Health Division.

Keywords: Advocacy, California, Consumer education materials, Family support, Infant death, Infant mortality, Parent support, SIDS, Spanish language materials

Charlie's Kids Foundation

Annotation: Charlie's Kids Foundation was established to increase safe sleep awareness and education with the ultimate goal of reducing the SIDS mortality rate. The foundation provides a children's board book (story book) with a sticker listing the do's and don'ts of safe sleep.

Keywords: Prevention programs, Public awareness campaigns, SIDS, Sleep

CJ First Candle

Annotation: CJ First Candle is dedicated to safe pregnancies and the survival of infants through the first years of life. Current priorities are to eliminate stillbirth, sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS), and other sudden unexpected infant deaths (SUIDs) with programs of research, education, and advocacy. CJ First Candle also provides compassionate grief support to anyone affected by the death of an infant through a dedicated crisis hotline. The website provides information and resources for new and expectant parents, families who are grieving, and professionals. First Candle merged with CJ Foundation for SIDS in 2017. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Infant health, Apnea, Home monitoring, Information services, Medical research, SIDS, Support groups

Coalition Against Unsafe Sleep Environments (CAUSE)

Annotation: The Coalition Against Unsafe Sleep Environments (CAUSE) was formed to forge a partnership of the private, non-profit, consumer and government sectors working on the issue of infant safe sleep, including national, state, and local groups and individuals from the injury prevention, SIDS, child welfare and Maternal and Child Health arenas. It advocates for safe sleep messages, standards for safe products, and legislation, and provides information including data, studies, materials, and other resources.

Keywords: Coalitions, SIDS, Safe sleep

Colorado Child Fatality Review Committee

Annotation: The Colorado Child Fatality Review Committee is a multidisciplinary group of professionals representing public health, medicine, law and law enforcement, child welfare, forensics, mental health, and other special interests related to the health and safety of children. The committee has been reviewing all child deaths in Colorado since 1989 to: describe trends and patterns of child death in Colorado, identify and investigate the prevalence of risk factors for child death, characterize high-risk groups in terms compatible with the development of public policy, evaluate the service and system responses to children and families who are at high risk and to offer recommendations for improvement in those responses, and improve the quality and scope of data necessary for child death investigation and review. Specific benefits have resulted from the child fatality review process. These include a better understanding of how children are dying in Colorado, greater accountability among professionals, participation in the development of prevention strategies, statewide child death investigation training, stimulation of policy assessment, and improvement in dialogue with the media.

Keywords: Child death, Colorado, Infant death, Infant mortality, Prevention, SIDS, State agencies

Cribs for Kids

Annotation: Cribs for Kids was established in 1998 under the guidance of SIDS of Pennsylvania, whose staff realized that most sudden unexpected infant deaths were among low-income families, and most of the infants who died were found on couches, chairs, or adult beds. Cribs for Kids partnered with portable crib manufacturer GRACO Pack N Play.® Currently, Cribs for Kids has more than 350 Partner Programs that provide safe sleep educational materials and portable cribs to families who cannot afford a safe place for their babies to sleep.

Keywords: State organizations, Advocacy, Consumer education, Family support, Infant death, Infant mortality, Parent support, Pennsylvania, SIDS

Inland Northwest SIDS Foundation

Annotation: The Inland Northwest SIDS Foundation offers public education on safe sleep practices for infants, bringing awareness to SIDS and other Sudden Unexpected Infant Death (SUID) and providing grief support to those who have experienced the loss of an infant. The Foundation provides educational materials on SIDS, safe sleep, and grief support; professional training for child care centers, classrooms; and hospitals; monthly safe sleep classes for parents, caregivers, and medical providers; and grief support meetings for those who have experienced a loss.

Keywords: Bereavement, Grief, Idaho, Prevention, Regional programs, SIDS

International Society for the Study and Prevention of Perinatal and Infant Death (ISPID)

Annotation: The International Society for the Study and Prevention of Perinatal and Infant Death (ISPID) is a not-for-profit organization that focuses on discovering evidence-based preventive measures for stillbirth and infant death. ISPID is also working to promote improved quality and standardization of care for affected parents. ISPID is devoted to the exchange of information among families, scientists, and other specialists in the field of perinatal and infant health and death as well as educating the community at large. ISPID is an amalgamation of the European Society for the Study and Prevention of Infant Death (ESPID), the SIDS Global Strategy Task Force (GSTF) and SIDS International.

Keywords: Infant death, International agencies, Professional societies, SIDS

Keeping Babies Safe

Annotation: Keeping Babies Safe is a non-profit, 501 (c)(3) organization whose mission is to educate and inform parents on how to keep babies safe from preventable injuries associated with unsafe cribs, dangerous infant products and unsafe sleep environments. It also conducts Project Safe Crib, a non-profit program designed to educate social workers and other health care personnel on safe crib practices as well as helping parents from economically challenged environments obtain safe cribs through health and human service organizations nationwide. It provides an online video about safe sleeping, and provides information about hazards, recalls, and other topics.

Keywords: Infant death, Infant equipment, Prevention programs, SIDS

Lullaby Trust

M.I.S.S. Foundation

Annotation: The MISS Foundation is a volunteer based organization committed to providing crisis support and long term aid to families after the death of a child from any cause. MISS also participates in legislative and advocacy issues, community engagement and volunteerism, and culturally competent, multidisciplinary, education opportunities. The Web site provides discussion forums, resources for families, professionals, caregivers, and bereaved children; downloadable publications concerning infant safety and survival; support-group location services; links to research projects; a bimonthly newsletter; and an online store. Spanish-language materials are available.

Keywords: Infant health, Bereavement, Emotional adjustment, Family support, Grief, Infant mortality, SIDS, Support groups

Massachusetts Center for Sudden Infant Death Syndrome

Annotation: The Massachusetts Center for Sudden Infant Death Syndrome offers these services: care and follow-up for families, public education about SIDS, professional training, data management and reporting on infant mortality in Massachusetts, and legislative advocacy.

Keywords: Bereavement, Massachusetts, SIDS, State organizations, Training

Minnesota Sudden Infant Death Center

Annotation: The Minnesota Sudden Infant Death Center at Children's Hospital is a statewide program that provides information, counseling, and support to anyone experiencing a sudden and unexpected infant death from any cause. In addition it is Minnesota's resource for information on sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and SIDS risk reduction, and conducts training and educational programs for health care providers, child care workers, and other professional and community groups. The center tracks infant mortality trends in Minnesota and participates in local, state, and national initiatives to reduce the risk of sudden, unexpected infant death. The center is a partnership between Children's Hospitals and Clinics of Minnesota and the Minnesota Department of Health.

Keywords: Advocacy, Child death, Infant death, Minnesota, Parent education, Risk factors, SIDS, State programs

National Center for Cultural Competence (NCCC)

Annotation: The purpose of the National Center for Cultural Competence (NCCC) is to increase the capacity of health and mental health programs to design, implement, and evaluate culturally and linguistically competent service delivery systems. The Center provides technical assistance and consultation, networking opportunities, and information for health professionals and policymakers about designing, implementing, and evaluating culturally competent health services, including services for children with special health care needs and their families. Resources and publications include policy briefs, checklists, self assessments, promising practices, distance learning, and conference information. The center's Web site includes a Spanish language portal for families.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Cultural diversity, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Guidelines, Infant care, Information networks, Information sources, Linguistic competence, National MCH resource center, Networking, Program development, Program evaluation, Publications, Resource centers, SIDS, Spanish language materials, Title V programs, Training

National Sudden and Unexpected Infant/Child Death and Pregnancy Loss Program Support Center (NSIDPSC)

Annotation: The National SIDS Sudden Unexpected Infant/Child Death and Pregnancy Loss Program Support Center (PSC), funded by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB), helps professionals and organizations at the local, state, regional, and national levels to initiate, expand, or improve their risk-reduction education and bereavement support programming. PSC provides information, training, and educational materials for families and for professionals. Programs include the African American Faith-Based Bereavement Support Initiative, the Healthy Child Care America Back to Sleep Train the Trainer Campaign, continuing education programs for nurses and pharmacists, and the Kicks Count campaign aimed at reducing stillbirths.

Keywords: Technical assistance, Curriculum development, Infant death, Infant mortality, National MCH resource center, Perinatal bereavement, Prevention programs, Resource centers, SIDS, Statistics, Training materials

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.