Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Allergy and Asthma Network/Mothers of Asthmatics, Inc. (AAN/MA) is a national nonprofit network of families working to overcome allergies and asthma. AANMA produces practical resources, educational materials, and programs to address the health and family needs of people with asthma and allergies. The organization provides reference information to consumers through its toll-free help line and publishes Allergy & Asthma Today magazine and the monthly newsletter MA Report. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Allergies, Asthma, Respiratory diseases

Annotation: The Allergy/Asthma Information Association (AAIA) is a federally registered Canadian charity organization that helps people with allergies and their families cope with hay fever, food allergies, asthma, and many other similar conditions. The association provides an allergy and asthma information service, educational workshops and seminars, and advocacy programs for the interests of people with allergies and asthma. Issues of concern include ingredient listings on packaged foods and cosmetics, content labeling on fabrics and clothing, and labeling of nonmedical ingredients on medications. Publications include a newsletter, allergy cookbooks, and over 40 Infoletters on topics regarding food allergies, asthma, and useful tips. Most publications are available in French. The Association sponsors conferences and training seminars. AAIA is affiliated with the Canadian Society of Allergy and Immunology, a professional body of allergy specialists who medically review their publications.

Keywords: Allergies, Asthma, Respiratory diseases

Annotation: Allies Against Asthma (AAA) is a national initiative aimed at improving asthma control for children and adolescents. The program provides support to seven community-based coalitions to develop, implement, and sustain comprehensive asthma management programs that include improved access to and quality of medical services, education, family and community support, and environmental and policy initiatives. The program is funded by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. AAA responds to inquiries, provides technical assistance, and posts numerous Web resources and links to other programs.

Keywords: Asthma, Adolescents, Children, Coalitions, Community programs, Online databases

Annotation: The American Academy of Allergy, Asthma, and Immunology (AAAAI) is a professional society of physicians specializing in allergy, asthma, and allergic diseases. The Academy enhances and supports allergy/immunology programs; fosters and disseminates research; provides advocacy and support for patients and the allergy/immunology specialists who provide their care; and provides education and information for members, other healthcare professionals, patients and the public. The Web site provides online access to brochures, allergy guides, tip sheets, research findings, and video guides. Included are school tools, parent resources, a food allergy library, The Virtual Allergist™ -- an interactive tool to help diagnose asthma and allergy symptoms -- and The National Allergy Bureau™ -- the section of the AAAAI's Aeroallergen Network that is responsible for reporting current pollen and mold spore levels to the public.

Keywords: Allergies, Asthma, Immunologic diseases, Respiratory diseases

Annotation: The American Lung Association (ALA) is a voluntary health organization dedicated to the prevention, cure, and control of all types of lung disease through public health education, advocacy, and research. ALA monitors air quality and publishes reports that detail the effects of tobacco, pollutants, and other environmental factors on the air, our communities, and our world. The Web site provides access to downloadable reports; indepth resources related to lung health, lung disease, and air quality at home, at school, outdoors, and at work. Anyone can register to receive ALA's free electronic newsletters.

Keywords: Asthma, Infants, Public health education, Lung diseases, Prevention, Respiratory distress syndrome, SIDS, Smoking during pregnancy

Annotation: The Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America (AAFA) is a nonprofit organization that works to control and find a cure for asthma and allergic diseases. The foundation supports research projects, patient and public education programs, public policy and advocacy efforts, and a network of chapters and support groups. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information, and publications. AAFA produces three bimonthly newsletters—Advance (patient education), Healthlines (for adolescents with asthma), and Leader's Link for support group leaders), and provides pamphlets, books, and videotapes on asthma and allergic diseases. A catalog is also available. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Allergies, Asthma, Medical research, Information services, , Respiratory diseases

Annotation: The National Center for Healthy Housing (NCHH), formerly the National Center for Lead-Safe Housing, develops and promotes methods to protect children from residential environmental hazards while preserving the supply of affordable housing. The center not only works to reduce children's risk of lead poisoning, but also aims to decrease children's exposure to other hazards in the home, including allergens and irritants associated with asthma. NCHH sponsors research on methods to reduce residential environmental hazards and seeks to find scientifically valid and practical strategies that make homes safe from these hazards. The center offers technical assistance and training to individuals, government agencies, nonprofit organizations, and others interested in lead poisoning prevention and methods for lead hazard control. NCHH publishes a free quarterly e-newsletter and has developed a variety of downloadable publications on topics related to healthy housing, including lead hazard control and prevention. Through its National Healthy Housing Clearinghouse, the Center maintains a searchable database of over 600 documents on lead and healthy housing topics.

Keywords: Environmental health, Asthma, Chemicals, Lead poisoning, Preventive health services, Public health, Research, Technical assistance

Annotation: The National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) Health Information Center is a federal information and referral resource that responds to inquiries and disseminates information and publications on cholesterol, high blood pressure, asthma, heart disease, exercise, obesity, sleep disorders, stroke, sarcoidosis, and Raynaud's phenomenon. Some materials are available in Spanish. Clinical practice guidelines for health professionals are available on high blood cholesterol, high blood pressure, asthma, and obesity. Serial publications include HeartMemo, which provides program updates for health professionals about cholesterol, high blood pressure, and heart attack, and AsthmaMemo, which describes the activities of the National Asthma Education and Prevention Program. Publications can be accessed using the online catalog or ordered from NHLB in print format.

Keywords: Hypertension, Asthma, Blood and lymphatic diseases, Blood pressure disorders, Cardiovascular diseases, Heart diseases, Hematologic diseases, Information dissemination, Lung diseases, Respiratory diseases, Sleep disorders, Smoking

Annotation: The National Institute for Children's Health Quality (NICHQ) is an independent, not-for-profit organization dedicated to improving children's health by improving the systems responsible for the delivery of children's healthcare. Services include learning collaboratives, building the capacity for improvement, state and regional improvement programs, advocacy and mobilization, and networks. The website provides information on areas of focus, projects, and resources including toolkits, publications, summary sheets, advocacy resources, and resources for parents.

Keywords: , Child health, Adolescent health, Asthma, Attention deficit disorder, Children with special health care needs, Data, Educational materials, Foster care, Health services, Model programs, Preventive health services, Primary care, Quality assurance, Training

Annotation: The National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) conducts and supports research on allergic, immunologic, and infectious diseases and conditions, including those caused by possible agents of bioterrorism. Institute staff responds to inquiries from consumers and professionals and distributes information materials. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: AIDS, Allergies, Asthma, Communicable diseases, HIV, Immunology, Information dissemination, Medical research, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: The National Respiratory Training Center (NRTC) is an independent non-profit educational organization committed to improving the health of patients with respiratory and allergic disease by enhancing the knowledge and skills of health professionals who care for them. The NRTC provides accredited education and training in asthma and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) assessment and management for healthcare professionals, including nurses and allied health professionals. The NRTC currently offers comprehensive courses in asthma and COPD, one-day workshops on asthma, COPD, and spirometry, and supplemental educational materials. All courses and materials are based on international medical and scientific literature and national practice guidelines. The NRTC international headquarters is in the United Kingdom. Since 1986, the NRTC has been offering courses in asthma, respiratory medicine, COPD, allergy, the psychology of compliance, spirometry, evidence-based medicine and smoking cessation throughout the UK and globally. The center provides a newsletter, training seminars, and workshops.

Keywords: Asthma, Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, Lung diseases, Professional education