Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (23 total).

Allies Against Asthma (AAA)

Annotation: Allies Against Asthma (AAA) is a national initiative aimed at improving asthma control for children and adolescents. The program provides support to seven community-based coalitions to develop, implement, and sustain comprehensive asthma management programs that include improved access to and quality of medical services, education, family and community support, and environmental and policy initiatives. The program is funded by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. AAA responds to inquiries, provides technical assistance, and posts numerous Web resources and links to other programs.

Keywords: Asthma, Adolescents, Children, Coalitions, Community programs, Online databases

America's Promise Alliance

Annotation: America's Promise Alliance is devoted to creating conditions for success for all young people. Activities are framed around five promises: caring adults, safe places, a healthy start, an effective education, and opportunities to serve. Activities include partnerships, fundraising, advocacy, and leadership and career development. The alliance launched the GradNation Campaign in 2010, building on 105 dropout prevention summits convened across the country to raise awareness and inspire action. Additional resources include research publications and a parent engagement toolkit for organizations and community leaders.

Keywords: Character, Adolescent development, Adolescents, Character development, Child development, Children, Coalitions, Collaboration, Life skills, Youth development

American Network of Oral Health Coalitions (ANOHC)

Annotation: American Network of Oral Health Coalitions is an online community of oral health coalitions from across the country. The website contains community forums for users to pose questions and engage in conversations with other members and topic experts about specific issues. Users can also post and find documents of interest, tools, samples, and presentations. The website was developed through a cooperative agreement between Oral Health America and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Keywords: Coalitions, Coordination, Networking, Oral health

ARCH National Respite Network and Resource Center (ARCH)

Annotation: ARCH National Respite Network and Resource Center assists and promotes the development of quality respite and crisis care programs in the United States. The ARCH National Respite Network includes the National Respite Locator, a service to help caregivers and professionals locate respite services in their community; the National Respite Coalition, a service that advocates for preserving and promoting respite in policy and programs at the national, state, and local levels; and the Respite Technical Assistance Center, which is funded by the U.S. Administration on Aging. ARCH National Respite Network and Resource Center is a project of the Chapel Hill Training-Outreach Project.

Keywords: Advocacy, Coalitions, Crisis intervention, Family support services, Information networks, Life course, Resource centers, Respite care, Special health care needs, Technical assistance

Breastfeeding Coalition of Washington

Annotation: The Breastfeeding Coalition of Washington (BCW) is a statewide coalition comprised of local coalitions working together to promote, protect and support breastfeeding as a vital part of the health and development of children and families. It is a program of WithinReach and receives funding from the Washington State Department of Health. BCW goals include protecting and promoting a public environment supportive and accepting of breastfeeding; increasing the incidence and duration of breastfeeding; providing up-to-date referral and educational materials to healthcare professionals, organizations and the community at large; advocating for policies in workplaces, educational institutions and childcare facilities to support breastfeeding families in a way that is culturally relevant and sensitive. The BCW offers a free newsletter, Breastfeeding Matters.

Keywords: Advocacy, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Coalitions, Lactation, Referrals, State initiatives, Washington

California Adolescent Heath Collaborative (CAHC)

Annotation: The California Adolescent Heath Collaborative (CAHC) is a public-private statewide coalition with the goal of increasing understanding and support for adolescent health and wellness in California. The CAHC brings together groups to share information around issues related to adolescent health topics such as mental health, use of health services, and budget issues. The collaborative also sponsors regional trainings; partners with the National Adolescent Health Information Center at the University of California San Francisco to prepare report cards and data guides to improve access to data on adolescent health; produces publications; and maintains a website that serves as a gateway to resources on adolescent health in California.

Keywords: Adolescent health, California, Coalitions, Interagency cooperation, Public private partnerships, Statewide planning

Coalition Against Unsafe Sleep Environments (CAUSE)

Annotation: The Coalition Against Unsafe Sleep Environments (CAUSE) was formed to forge a partnership of the private, non-profit, consumer and government sectors working on the issue of infant safe sleep, including national, state, and local groups and individuals from the injury prevention, SIDS, child welfare and Maternal and Child Health arenas. It advocates for safe sleep messages, standards for safe products, and legislation, and provides information including data, studies, materials, and other resources.

Keywords: Coalitions, SIDS, Safe sleep

Coalition for State Genetics Coordinators (CSGC)

Annotation: The Coalition of State Genetics Coordinators (CSGC) is an organization of state and territorial genetics coordinators and others working to promote core public health functions as they apply to genetics. CSGC collects and disseminates information to promote research, education, and policy development; promotes the use of national guidelines developed for public health genetics; strengthens the skills of state genetics coordinators nationwide; promotes the accessibility of genetic health care services; and advocates for genetics in public health. The CSGC Web site includes links to state genetics sites.

Keywords: Coalitions, Genetics, Information dissemination, Public health

Connecticut Oral Health Initiative

Eating Disorders Coalition for Research, Policy, and Action (EDC)

Annotation: The Eating Disorders Coalition for Research, Policy, and Action (EDC) works to advance federal recognition of eating disorders as a public health priority. EDC promotes federal support for improved access to care and additional resources for research, education, prevention, and treatment of eating disorders.

Keywords: Advocacy, Anorexia nervosa, Bulimia, Coalitions, Eating disorders

Georgia Oral Health Coalition

Annotation: The mission of the Georgia Oral Health Coalition is to improve oral health and quality of life for all Georgians. Its aim is to increase access to dental care, prevent and reduce dental caries, periodontal disease, oral-facial trauma, and tobacco use, and detect oral cancer in early stages in order to reduce its incidence. Members include dental care providers, dental and medical associations, dental insurers, and public health coalitions in the state.

Keywords: Coalitions, Dental care, Georgia, Oral health, State initiatives

Healthy Schools Network

Annotation: Healthy Schools Network is a leading national voice for children's environmental health at school. The network's policy campaigns address three core facets: 1) child-safe standards for school design, construction, and siting; 2) child-safe policies for housekeeping and purchasing; and 3) environmental public health services for children. The network's resources include fact sheets, guides, peer-reviewed reports, and state-by-state data and policy profiles. The network convenes the Coalition for Healthier Schools, which provides a platform and forum for environmental health through regular conference calls and annual meetings. The center's National Collaborative on Green Cleaning and Chemical Policy Reform in Schools has worked to strengthen certification standards for cleaning products; develop a training toolkit; and provide information and technical comments to policymakers, schools, and communities.

Keywords: Advocacy, Coalitions, Collaboration, Community action, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Hazards, Health policy, Networking, Policy development, Prevention, Public awareness campaigns, Risk factors, School age children, School health, Schools, Students, Training

Hep B United

Annotation: He B United is a national coalition to address the public health challenge of hepatitis B. The coalition supports and leverages the success of local community coalitions across the United States to increase hepatitis B awareness, screening, vaccination, and linkage to care for all Americans and, in particular, for high-risk populations who are disproportionately impacted. The website contains facts on hepatitis B and information on local campaigns, policy initiatives, news, events, and resources such as webinars, hangouts, trainings, campaign materials, and a speakers bureau.

Keywords: Access to care, Asian Americans, Coalitions, Hepatitis B, High risk groups, Public awareness campaigns, Screening, Training, Vaccines

Maryland Dental Action Coalition (MDAC)

Annotation: The Maryland Dental Action Coalition (MDAC) develops and maintains a statewide partnership of individuals and organizations working together to improve the health of all Marylanders through increased oral health promotion, disease prevention, education, advocacy, and access to oral health care. The website provides news, information about coalition goals, and the Maryland Oral Health Plan.

Keywords: Advocacy, Coalitions, Maryland, Oral health, State organizations

Massachusetts Coalition for Oral Health (MCOH)

Annotation: The Massachusetts Coalition for Oral Health (MCOH) is comprised of public and private sector organizations whose mission is to promote effective community preventive measures to improve the oral health of all Massachusetts residents. The MCOH is committed to improving oral health through education, prevention, access to care, and health promotion. The website provides information about oral health in Massachusetts, community-based strategies, and community water fluoridation, education resources, guidelines, disparities in oral health, HIV/AIDS and oral health, reports and research, and links to other health resources.

Keywords: Coalitions, Massachusetts, Oral health, State agencies

Minnesota Oral Health Project (MNOHP)

Annotation: The Minnesota Oral Health Project (OHP) was created in 2010 by the University of Minnesota; the Minnesota Department of Health, Oral Health Division; and the National Children's Oral Health Foundation to improve the oral health of infants, children, and adolescents living in one of 43 participating counties. The website provides information about primary care health professionals who provide preventive oral health services, the etiology of dental caries and what caregivers can do to prevent it, applying fluoride varnish as part of well child care, and dentists who provide oral health care services for children ages 1–3 and those who provide services for children enrolled in Medicaid or MNCare. The website also provides tips for caregivers on preventing tooth decay. OHP is a nationwide project.

Keywords: Coalitions, Minnesota, Oral health, State organizations

National Child Traumatic Stress Network (NCTSN)

Annotation: The National Child Traumatic Stress Network (NCTSN) is a coalition of 54 treatment centers working to improve the quality, effectiveness, and availability of therapeutic services delivered to all children and adolescents experiencing traumatic events. The Network -- a Congressional initiative funded by the Center for Mental Health Services, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, US Department of Health and Human Services -- will collect data for systematic study; help to educate professionals and the public about the effects of trauma on children; and develop and disseminate effective, evidence-based treatments. The National Resource Center for Child Traumatic Stress (NRC-CTS) supports the mission of NCTSN by providing relevant information and resources to professionals and the public, including survivors of childhood trauma, their families, and communities. The Resource Center provides referrals, inquiry responses, reference information, and publications for consumers. The NCTSN Web site provides access to full-text reports, related reading lists, an archive of NCTSN newsletters, and the PILOTS database of scientific literature on traumatic stress. Some client brochures about child traumatic stress are available in foreign languages.

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Coalitions, Emergency medical services, Resource centers, Therapeutics, Trauma, Treatment services

National Coalition to Support Sexuality Education (NCSSE )

Annotation: The National Coalition to Support Sexuality Education (NCSSE) consists of over 140 national organizations committed to medically accurate, age-appropriate, comprehensive sexuality education for all children and youth in the United States. NCSSE hosts meetings on key issues in sexuality education; supports member organizations in advocating for comprehensive sexuality education policies and programs at the state and national level; and provides a forum for networking, resource sharing, and collaboration among national organizations supporting comprehensive sexuality education. An extensive listing of curricula and other resources is available on the Web site; topics include sexuality education resources and curricula, abstinence-only curricula, HIV and AIDS curricula, guidelines for sexuality education programs, resources for families, and resources for faith-based organizations.

Keywords: Sexuality, Advocacy, Coalitions, Collaboration , Health promotion, Information dissemination, Reproductive health, Sexuality education

National Partnership to Help Pregnant Smokers Quit

Annotation: The National Partnership to Help Pregnant Smokers Quit is a coalition of diverse organizations that have joined forces to increase the number of pregnant smokers who quit smoking. The partnership offers a broad range of resources for health care professionals, advocates, and consumers, including research findings, fact sheets, and cessation tips and techniques. Media campaigns, community outreach, and increased funding opportunities are among the strategic elements outlined in the coalition's Action Plan.

Keywords: Coalitions, Pregnancy counseling, Pregnant women, Prevention programs, Public awareness campaigns, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use, Women's health

National Youth Employment Coalition (NYEC)

Annotation: The National Youth Employment Coalition (NYEC) is a nonprofit membership organization of national service providers. The Coalition provides resources and networking opportunities for youth employment policymakers. Publications include a newsletter,Youth Notes. NYEC has developed the Promising and Effective Practices (PEPNET), a self assessment, self-nomination and peer review process to identify effective youth employment/development initiatives. Services to consumers include reference information. The coaltion sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops.

Keywords: Adolescent employment, Coalitions, Youth services

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.