Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The American Cancer Society, Cancer Action Network (ACS CAN) is the the nonprofit, nonpartisan advocacy affiliate of the American Cancer Society that allows for increased lobbying of local, state and federal officials; cancer advocates to hold lawmakers accountable for their votes and actions through voter guides and town hall meetings; and provides legal protection to the Society. By forming ACS CAN, the Society is able to encourage additional advocacy efforts without jeopardizing its tax-deductible status. ACS CAN facilitates campaigns for more funding of cancer research, a national breast and cervical cancer early detection program, access to care, colon cancer, patient quality of life, and advocates for the Federal Drug Administration regulation of tobacco.

Keywords: Advocacy, Cancer, Lobbying, Patient advocacy

Annotation: Founded in 1932, the American College of Gastroenterology (ACG) works to advance the scientific study and medical practice of diseases of the gastrointestinal (digestive) tract. The college sponsors annual scientific meetings, provides regional postgraduate training courses, awards research grants, advocates on behalf of gastroenterologists and their patients, and disseminates scientific information on digestive health and GI disorders. Publications include the Journal of Gastroenterology. Patient materials are posted on ACG's Web site.

Keywords: , Gastroenterology, Advocacy, Disease prevention, Gastrogenterologists, Gastrointestinal diseases, Grants, Health promotion, Information sources, Patient education, Professional societies, Professional training

Annotation: The American Gastroenterological Association (AGA) is a society of physicians, surgeons, scientists, and other individuals within the healthcare community who have a demonstrated a continued interest in the functions and disorders of the digestive system. As a professional association, AGA serves as an advocate for its members and their patients; supports members’ practices and scientific needs; and promote the discovery, dissemination, and application of new knowledge leading to the prevention, treatment and cure of digestive diseases. AGA offers training and career development opportunities, publishes periodicals, and provides member resources such as patient education materials and an online supply store.

Keywords: Professional training, Gastroenterology, Advocacy, Disease prevention, Gastrogenterologists, Gastrointestinal diseases, Health promotion, Information sources, Patient education, Professional education, Professional societies, Publications

Annotation: The American Geriatrics Society (AGS) is an association of health care providers dedicated to improving the health and well-being of all older adults. AGS advocates for high quality, comprehensive accessible care and promotes research that expands knowledge of the aging process and the health care problems of older adults. The society provides public education and information and conducts education programs for health professionals. Publications include patient education materials, periodicals including the Journal of the American Geriatrics Society, and AGS's Complete Guide to Aging and Health (for lay audiences). Membership is open to anyone with an interest in geriatric health care.

Keywords: Older adults, Advocacy, Aging, Educational materials, Geriatrics, Information sources, Patient education, Policy development, Professional education, Public education, Public policy, Publications , Resources for professionals

Annotation: The Center for HIV Law and Policy is a national legal and policy resource and strategy center for people with HIV and their advocates. CHLP works to reduce the impact of HIV on vulnerable and marginalized communities and to secure the human rights of people affected by HIV. Legal and policy materials are available through an accessible web-based resource bank; interdisciplinary support networks of experts, activists, and professionals are cultivated; and a strategic leadership hub tracks and advances advocacy on critical HIV legal, health, and human rights issues.

Keywords: Advocacy, HIV, Human rights, Patient advocacy, Patient rights, Social policy

Annotation: Disability Rights Wisconsin (DRW) is a private non profit organization which was founded in 1977. Designated by the Governor to ensure the rights of all state citizens with disabilities through individual advocacy and system change, DRW is part of a national system of federally mandated independent disability agencies. DRW helps people across Wisconsin gain access to services and opportunity through its advocacy and legal expertise. DRW regularly challenge systems and society to create positive change and improve the lives of people with disabilities. The agency also works on disability issues with state and local governments.

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Disabilities, Legal aid, Patient advocacy, State organizations, Wisconsin

Annotation: Enroll America is a nonpartisan 501(c)(3) organization whose mission is to maximize the number of uninsured Americans who enroll in health coverage made available by the Affordable Care Act. Enroll America is a collaborative organization, working with partners that span the gamut of health coverage stakeholders—health insurers, hospitals, doctors, pharmaceutical companies, employers, consumer groups, faith-based organizations, civic organizations, and philanthropies—to engage many different voices in support of an easy, accessible, and widely available enrollment process.

Keywords: Advocacy, Enrollment, Health insurance, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act

Annotation: The Health Legacy Partnership, co-founded by the Joseph H. Kanter Family Foundation and the Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality (AHRQ), works to reward doctors' efforts to improve the delivery of quality healthcare; diminish healthcare disparities; improve healthcare decision making by giving people useful medical information based on scientific research; and support the development of a national outcomes database that will be used by doctors and patients to determine which treatments work best for specific diseases and conditions based on specific criteria of circumstances.

Keywords: Health care delivery, Health disparities, Patient advocacy, Physician patient relations

Annotation: The HIV Law Project provides legal and advocacy services to low-income HIV-positive residents of Manhattan and the Bronx, particularly women and people of color. The project provides advice and representation to clients in their day-to-day legal problems, including discriminatory treatment, HIV-related confidentiality issues, housing and eviction prevention, denial of financial and medical benefits, immigration law, public and private health insurance issues, consumer and creditor/debtor law, employment law and benefit issues, last wills and testaments and advanced planning, and permanency planning and other family law matters.

Keywords: AIDS, Advocacy, HIV, Local organizations, New York, Patient rights

Annotation: The March of Dimes (MOD) works to prevent birth defects and infant mortality through research, education, and advocacy programs. MOD's Pregnancy and Newborn Health Education Center provides information and referral services for the general public and professionals on topics such as preconception health, pregnancy, childbirth, genetics, and birth defects. MOD also produces educational materials on these and other topics such as prematurity, baby care, adolescent pregnancy, folic acid, nursing, and bereavement. A publications catalog is available, and some materials are available in Spanish. Anyone can subscribe to MOD's free electronic newsletter. MOD also sponsors the Prematurity Research Initiative, which provides funding for research into the causes of prematurity, and has developed PeriStats -- an online source for maternal, infant, and child health-related data at the state level and for many indicators at the county and national level (available at http://peristats.modimes.org/). The website can be viewed in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Adolescent pregnancy, Advocacy, Childbirth education, Genetic disorders, Genetics education, Infant mortality, Information services, Medical research, Patient education, Prenatal care, Preterm birth, Professional education, Public awareness materials, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website

Annotation: The National Quality Forum (NQF) is a not-for-profit membership organization created to develop and implement a national strategy for health care quality measurement and reporting. A shared sense of urgency about the impact of health care quality on patient outcomes, workforce productivity, and health care costs prompted leaders in the public and private sectors to create the NQF as a mechanism to bring about national change.

Keywords: Costs, Health care delivery, Patient advocacy, Patient care management, Qualitative evauation