Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (39 total).

American Brain Tumor Association (ABTA)

Annotation: The American Brain Tumor Association (ABTA) provides publications which address brain tumors, their treatment, and coping with the disease; nationwide resource listings of brain tumor support groups and physicians offering investigative treatments;Connections pen-pal program; a national brain tumor symposium for patients and their families; and free social service consultations. ABTA also sponsors regional Town Hall meetings across the country which focus on state-of-the-art treatment options. ABTA funds brain tumor research at institutions throughout the United States and Canada. A tri-annual newsletter, the Message Line, describes those research advances as well as other ABTA activities. ABTA also publishes booklets.

Keywords: Brain diseases, Brain tumors, Cancer, Information services, Medical research

American Cancer Society (ACS)

Annotation: The American Cancer Society (ACS) is a nationwide community-based voluntary health organization dedicated to eliminating cancer as a major health problem by preventing cancer, saving lives, and diminishing suffering from cancer through research, education, advocacy, and service. The society provides educational materials and information for patients, their families, and professionals. Some publications are available in Spanish and in Asian languages (Chinese, Korean, and Vietnamese).

Keywords: Cancer, Information sources, Medical research, Public awareness materials

American Cancer Society, Cancer Action Network

Annotation: The American Cancer Society, Cancer Action Network (ACS CAN) is the the nonprofit, nonpartisan advocacy affiliate of the American Cancer Society that allows for increased lobbying of local, state and federal officials; cancer advocates to hold lawmakers accountable for their votes and actions through voter guides and town hall meetings; and provides legal protection to the Society. By forming ACS CAN, the Society is able to encourage additional advocacy efforts without jeopardizing its tax-deductible status. ACS CAN facilitates campaigns for more funding of cancer research, a national breast and cervical cancer early detection program, access to care, colon cancer, patient quality of life, and advocates for the Federal Drug Administration regulation of tobacco.

Keywords: Advocacy, Cancer, Lobbying, Patient advocacy

American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO)

Annotation: The American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) is a professional organization representing physicians who treat people with cancer. ASCO’s membership is comprised of clinical oncologists representing all oncology disciplines and subspecialties; physicians and health-care professionals participating in approved oncology training programs; oncology nurses; and other health-care practitioners with a predominant interest in oncology. ASCO’s members specialize in all fields of oncology, including medical, hematology, therapeutic radiology, surgical, and pediatric. ASCO offers training programs, symposia, and workshops, and sponsors an annual meeting. Publications include the peer-reviewed Journal of Clinical Oncology, ASCO News (a quarterly magazine), clinical practice guidelines, and patient guides. A publications catalog is available.

Keywords: Guidelines, Oncology, Cancer, Clinical medicine, Health services, Pediatric oncology, Physicians, Professional societies

Blood and Marrow Transplant Information Network (BMT Infonet)

Annotation: The Blood and Marrow Transplant Information Network offers information and support services for bone marrow, blood stem cell and cord blood transplant patients. A 228-page guide entitled Bone Marrow and Blood Stem Cell Transplants: A Guide for Patients, explains what's involved in undergoing a transplant with donor bone marrow or stem cells. A second book entitled Autologous Stem Cell Transplants: A Handbook for Patients explains what's involved in undergoing a transplant using the patient's own bone marrow or blood stem cells. Other books available include Across the Chasm: A Caregiver's Story, Mira's Month (a book for children whose parent is undergoing a transplant) and Finding the Money (a guide to paying medical bills). A Patient-to-Survivor Link program puts transplant patients in touch with survivors who can provide emotional support. A free quarterly newsletter, attorney referral services, and a directory of transplant centers is also available 24/7 via the website.

Keywords: Cancer, Bone marrow

Brain Tumor Foundation for Children (BTFC)

Annotation: Services for families of children with brain and spinal cord tumors include dissemination of informational materials, an annual conference for parents, distribution of a quarterly newsletter, activities and support groups for children and parents, and financial assistance for families in the state of Georgia.

Keywords: Brain tumors, Cancer

Brain Tumor Society

Annotation: The Brain Tumor Society provides services to consumers that include reference information and publications. The organization publishes a newsletter and resource guide. The organization also sponsors conferences and workshops.

Keywords: Brain tumors, Cancer

Breast Cancer Action (BCA)

Annotation: Breast Cancer Action (BCA) seeks to inspire and encourage the changes necessary to end the breast cancer epidemic. The organization questions common assumptions and calls for corporate accountability. BCA conducts annual town meetings, publishes a variety of materials, including a newsletter (available in both English and Spanish) and electronic e-mail alerts, recruits volunteers, conducts fundraising campaigns, and advocates for support.

Keywords: , Advocacy, Breast cancer, Public awareness campaigns, Women's health

Breast Cancer Fund

Annotation: The Breast Cancer Fund identifies — and advocates for elimination of — the environmental and other preventable causes of the disease.

Keywords: Advocacy, Breast cancer, Women's health

Breast Cancer Network of Strength

Annotation: The Breast Cancer Network of Strength (formerly the Y-ME National Breast Cancer Organization) offers breast cancer information, publications, peer support, survivor-staffed hotlines (interpreters available in 150 languages), a newsletter, and conferences. It publishes a newsletter and and distributes For Single Women with Breast Cancer and When the Woman You Love Has Breast Cancer, a booklet that addresses the emotional issues of men whose wives, partners, or other loved ones are diagnosed with breast cancer. A Spanish hotline and Spanish-language publications are available. The organization sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars.

Keywords: Breast cancer, Women's health

Cancer Care

Annotation: Cancer Care is a nonprofit organization that helps people with cancer and their families to cope with the disease. The organization provides psychological, social, and educational services and financial assistance for people in New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut. Individual counseling, information, and referrals and group counseling and education programs are offered nationally through the Cancer Care Counseling Line (1 800 813-HOPE). Services are also offered online. Cancer Care also provides publications, including a newsletter, and sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops. Some materials are available in Spanish. All services are free of charge.

Keywords: Cancer, Family support services, Support groups, Financial support, New York, New jersey, Connecticut

Cancer Information Service (CIS)

Annotation: The Cancer Information Service (CIS) is a program of the National Cancer Institute (NCI), the Nation's lead agency for cancer research. Through its network of regional offices, the CIS serves the United States, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and the Pacific territories. The CIS provides cancer information to cancer patients and familes, the general public, and health professionals through its toll-free telephone service (1-800-4-CANCER)in English and Spanish, to deaf and hard of hearing callers through the toll-free TTY number (1-800-332-8615)and live, online assistance to users of NCI Web sites through LiveHelp, an instant messaging service. The CIS also works with organizations through its Partnership Program and participates in research efforts to find the best ways to help people adopt healthier behaviors. CIS cannot answer personal medical questions, make referrals to specific doctors or institutions, or give medical advice.

Keywords: Cancer, Medical research, Professional training

Candlelighters Childhood Cancer Foundation (CCCF)

Annotation: The Candlelighters Childhood Cancer Foundation (CCCF) is an international network of parents of children with cancer, survivors of childhood cancer, and interested professionals. The foundation identifies patient and family needs so that medical and social systems can respond adequately, eases frustrations and fears through sharing of feelings and experiences, provides guidance in coping with the effects of the disease on the child and family, and exchanges information on research, treatment, medical institutions, and community resources. Other activities include an ombudsman program for help with legal issues related to employment, insurance, or second opinions. CCCF also sponsors conferences and workshops and maintains a listserv. Publications include books and a resource catalog. Publications for families include Know Before You Go; Educating the Child with Cancer; You are Not Alone; and a quarterly newsletter called Candlelighter's Quarterly.

Keywords: Cancer, Children, Family support services, Information services, Parent groups

Children's Brain Tumor Foundation (CBTF)

Annotation: The Children's Brain Tumor Foundation (CBTF), a nonprofit organization, is dedicated to funding scientific research, and providing support and educational services to patients and families. The Foundation provides the following free support services: an extensive telephone information and referral service, a national parent-to-parent network, and educational teleconferences and telephone support groups for families and survivors. Publications include a newsletter and two free books, "A Resource Guide for Parents of Children with Brain and Spinal Cord Tumors", which is available in Spanish and "Parker's Brain Storm".

Keywords: Brain tumors, Cancer

Corporate Angel Network (CAN)

Annotation: The Corporate Angel Network (CAN) is a nationwide service offered to cancer patients traveling to and from recognized cancer hospitals. The network arranges free plane transportation by using the empty seats on corporate aircraft. Patients must be able to walk and travel with no life support systems. Financial need is not a requirement and both parents may accompany a child patient. Anyone can contact the organization for information, but the network must talk directly with patients before booking flights. The network publishes a newsletter.

Keywords: Cancer, Transportation of patients

DES Action

Annotation: DES Action is a consumer advocacy group for people exposed to diethylstilbestrol (DES) in utero, for the mothers given this drug during pregnancy and also for the 3rd Generation exposed (grandchildren of women prescribed the drug). DES was prescribed to prevent miscarriage. DES Action provides inquiry responses, medical and legal referral lists and a quarterly newsletter, DES Action Voice.

Keywords: Adenosis, Breast cancer, Cervical cancer, Clear-cell adenocarcinoma, Diethylstilbestrol, Infertility, Pregnancy complications, Preterm birth, Spontaneous abortion, Tubal pregnancy, Vaginal cancer

Foundation for Women's Cancer

G.I. Polyposis and Hereditary Colon Cancer Registry

Annotation: The G.I. Polyposis and Hereditary Colon Cancer Registry is one of a national network of gastrointestinal polyposis and hereditary colon cancer registries. It includes physicians, a coordinator, and other paramedical professionals who work to find families with heritable conditions, provide genetic counseling or referrals, communicate with their physicians, and educate them on the physical and emotional problems that may result from a heritable diagnosis. Publications include a quarterly newsletter, Hereditary Colon Cancer.

Keywords: Colon cancer, Familial adenomatous polyposis, Gardner syndrome, Gastrointestinal polyposis, Genetic counseling, Juvenile polyposis, Patient education, Patient identification, Peutz-Jeghers syndrome

Hereditary Colorectal Cancer Registry

Annotation: The Johns Hopkins Hereditary Colorectal Cancer Registry provides genetic counseling, information for patients and professionals about cancer genetics and research, and referrals to community and hospital resources. The organization develops research studies and literature for use by public and private agencies and individual patients and their families.

Keywords: Colon cancer, Patient identification, Peutz-Jeghers syndrome

Intercultural Cancer Council (ICC)

Annotation: The Intercultural Cancer Council (ICC) is funded both by government and private grants to confront the problem of addressing the dissemination of cancer information among minorities and the encouragement of medical education among minorities. Services to consumers include cancer education resource materials. Some materials are available in Spanish. The council sponsors conferences and the 7th Biennial Symposium on Minorities, the Medically Underserved and Cancer (2000).

Keywords: Cancer, Minorities

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.