Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (141 total).

ADA National Network

Annotation: The ADA National Network (formerly the Americans with Disabilities Act Regional Disability and Business Technical Assistance Centers) consists of 10 regional centers that provide local assistance and foster implementation of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) throughout the United States. The regional centers focus on the specific needs of the residents who reside in their service area. The Network develops projects and events of national significance and works closely with national partners. It conducts research, provides training, and produces a variety of publications. The ADA Knowledge Translation Center, which is also part of the Network, conducts systematic reviews of the current state of ADA related research and translating findings into plain language summaries for policymakers, technical reports, publications in peer-review journals, and presentations at national conferences.

Keywords: Federal legislation, Accessible facilities, Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Technical assistance

Alagille Syndrome Alliance

Annotation: The Alagille Syndrome Alliance is a support network for individuals and families with this liver disorder. The alliance publishes a newsletter, Liver Link, and other informational materials. It also provides networking (the Alliance hosts a chat room and electronic bulletin board); parent matching services; and consultation through a medical advisory board. The Alliance also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Liver diseases, Support groups

American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (AAPM&R)

Annotation: The American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (AAPM&R) is a national medical society representing physicians who are specialists in the field of physical medicine and rehabilitation. The academy sponsors educational conferences and programs; publishes Archives (a scholarly journal) and Physiatrist (a newsletter); and promotes legislative advocacy. An online discussion forum is open to members.

Keywords: Rehabilitation, Advocacy, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Legislation, Musculoskeletal diseases, Professional societies

American Association of the Deaf-Blind (AADB)

Annotation: The mission of the American Association of the Deaf-Blind (AADB) is to assure that a comprehensive, coordinated system of services is accessible to all deaf-blind persons enabling them to achieve their maximum potential through increased independence, productivity and integration into the community. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in large print, Braille, and on disk (MS Word).. AADB prints a quarterly magazine, The Deaf-Blind American. The organization also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Advocacy, Civil rights, Deafness, Disabilities, Hearing disorders, Information services, Visually impaired, Youth services

American Association on Health and Disability (AAHD)

Annotation: The American Association on Health and Disability (AAHD) advances health promotion and wellness initiatives for children and adults with disabilities. AAHD accomplishes its mission through advocacy, education, public awareness, and research efforts at the federal, state, and community levels. The website contains the Health Promotion and Wellness Resource Center for People with Disabilities, which provides abstracts, best practices, data, links, fact sheets, presentations, and state resources on primary conditions, secondary conditions, and other health and disability-related topics. Additional content includes the Disability and Health Journal, news, initiatives, a public policy center, and membership and scholarship information.

Keywords: Disabilities, Access to health care, Advocacy, Education, Information dissemination, Intervention, Prevention services, Research

American Network of Community Options and Resources (ANCOR)

Annotation: The American Network of Community Options and Resources (ANCOR) represents and assists private agencies that provide support and services to people with mental retardation and/or other disabilities. The network helps these agencies to appropriately meet the needs of the people they serve and to improve their quality of life. Services to families and people with disabilities include referrals, publications, and reference information. ANCOR publishes a newsletter and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Mental retardation, Disabilities, Information services, Support groups

American Society for Deaf Children (ASDC)

Annotation: The American Society for Deaf Children (ASDC) provides information and support to parents and families of deaf or hearing-impaired children. The society offers assistance with educational or legal problems related to rearing a hearing-impaired child. Services are also provided to the public. Publications include a journal and a quarterly newsletter, The Endeavor. Some materials are available in Spanish, and the ASDC sponsors a biennial convention, a "First Year Free" program, and a listserv.

Keywords: Civil rights, Deafness, Disabilities, Family support services, Hearing disorders, Information services, Parent groups

Amputee Coalition

Annotation: The Amputee Coalition strives to empower people affected by limb loss to achieve their full potential through education, support and advocacy, and to promote limb loss prevention. The Coalition works to raise awareness about and increase practices to prevent limb loss and to ensure that no amputee feels alone through pre- and post amputation and recovery.Through its Limb Loss Resource Center, the Coalition responds to information requests, provides by topic, amputation level, and specific groups. Materials are available in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Amputees, Physical disabilities, Spanish language materials

Association for Persons in Supported Employment

Annotation: Association for Persons in Supported Employment works to expand integrated employment opportunities for persons with disabilities. Services to consumers include reference information. The organization publishes a newsletter and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Disabilities, Employment

Association for Persons with Severe Handicaps (TASH)

Annotation: The Association for Persons with Severe Handicaps (TASH) promotes human dignity, education, and independence for people with developmental disabilities. Members include parents, administrators, teachers, medical and legal personnel, researchers, speech pathologists, occupational and physical therapists, and people with disabilities. The association provides information referrals and publications; publishes a monthly newsletter and quarterly scholarly journal; and holds regional workshops, training seminars, and an annual conference. A catalog is also published.

Keywords: Developmental disabilities, Advocacy, Disabilities, Handicapping conditions, Information services, Integration, Special education, Special health care needs

Association of University Centers on Disabilities (AUCD)

Annotation: The Association of University Centers on Disabilities (AUCD) supports and promotes a national network of university-based interdisciplinary programs. Network members comprise University Centers for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities, Leadership Education in Neurodevelopmental Disabilities programs, and Intellectual and Developmental Disability Research Centers. AUCD programs serve as a bridge between the university and the community, bringing the resources of both to achieve meaningful change. AUCD’s website addresses the range of interdisciplinary network activities, including services for children, adults, and families; academic training; research; training and technical assistance; policy advocacy; program evaluation; and dissemination of best practices and new information.

Keywords: Developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Fundraising, Medical research, Mental retardation, SCAN, University affiliated centers, University affiliated programs

Association on Higher Education and Disability (AHEAD)

Annotation: The Association on Higher Education And Disability (AHEAD) is an international, multicultural organization of professionals committed to full participation in higher education for persons with disabilities. AHEAD was founded in 1977 to address the need and concern for upgrading the quality of services and support available to persons with disabilities in higher education. The association aims to promote excellence through education, communication, and training, and offers numerous training programs, workshops, publications and conferences. Special interest group listservs on various topics are available to members.

Keywords: College students, Colleges, Disabilities, Special education

Attention Deficit Disorder Association (ADDA)

Annotation: The Attention Deficit Disorder Association (ADDA) is a national nonprofit organization that offers information, resources, and networking services to adults with AD/HD and to the professionals working with them. The information and resources provided focus on diagnoses, treatment, strategies, and techniques for helping adults with AD/HD lead better lives. ADDA hosts conferences, provides audio and video materials, publishes a quarterly newsletter, offers networking opportunities, and provides advocacy in the field.

Keywords: Attention deficit disorder, Learning disabilities

Attention Deficit Disorder Resources

Annotation: Attention Deficit Disorder Resources is a national non-profit organization that helps people with ADD or ADHD achieve their full potential through education, support, and networking opportunities. Electronic news, online articles for parents and adults, and discussion forums can be accessed via the Web site. The organization also offers an online bookstore; maintains a lending library for members and registered library users; hosts Webcasts, free teleclasses, workshops, and conferences; and provides a directory of service providers who specialize in attention deficit disorders. Support groups are also provided in the Puget Sound, Washington, area.

Keywords: Attention deficit disorder, Learning disabilities, Hyperactivity, Information services

Autism Research Institute (ARI)

Annotation: ARI is the hub of a worldwide network of parents and professionals concerned with autism. ARI was founded in 1967 to conduct and foster scientific research designed to improve the methods of diagnosing, treating, and preventing autism. ARI also provides referrals and disseminates research findings to parents and others worldwide seeking help. The ARI data bank contains nearly 30,000 detailed case histories of autistic children from over 60 countries. Some materials are available in languages other than English. ARI publishes the Autism Research Review International, a quarterly newsletter covering biomedical and educational advances in autism research. ARI also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Autism, Developmental disabilities, Information dissemination, Medical research

Autism Society

Annotation: The Autism Society (formerly the Autism Society of America) provides information and referral services, education, and increase awareness to parents and families of people with autism. The society sponsors an annual national conference on autism and promotes advocacy and education through various publications including the bimonthly newsletter Advocate. Some materials are available in Spanish, French, Chinese and Vietnamese.

Keywords: Autism, Developmental disabilities

Beach Center on Disability

Annotation: The Beach Center on Disability is a research and training center that focuses on families of people with disabilities. The center is funded in part by the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research, Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services, U.S. Department of Education, and by private endowments. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. The center publishes a catalog and newsletter and sponsors conferences and training seminars. Some materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages. The center's Web site provides lists of groups and organizations in each state.

Keywords: Family support, Children, Developmental disabilities, Family resource centers, Technology dependence

Bethesda Communities

Annotation: Bethesda Lutheran Communities offers Christian education and residential rehabilitation services to people with mental retardation. It also offers short term and respite care, a fully accessible camp, day services, and case management. In addition to its main campus in Watertown, WI, Bethesda operates 37 community living facilities in ten states. Through its National Christian Resource Center, Bethesda offers free information and referral services nationwide, systems advocacy, resources for special religious education, staff training video modules, and workshops for religious and secular providers. Conferences and training seminars are sponsored as well. Publications include a catalog and newsletter. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Case management Religious organizations, Developmental disabilities, Family support, Mental retardation, Respite care

Boston Women's Health Book Collective (BWHBC)

Annotation: The Boston Women's Health Book Collective (also known as Our Bodies Ourselves) is a non-profit education, advocacy, and consulting organization. Its Women's Health Information Center maintains a resource directory of local and international feminist and women's health groups, offers links to health information via its Web site, publishes a newsletter, and has developed a Women and Health Thesaurus used in several libraries. Materials are available in Spanish, French, Chinese (Mandarin), and Vietnamese.

Keywords: Women, Disabilities, Women's health

British Columbia Centre of Excellence for Women's Health

Annotation: The Centre works to improve the health of women through innovative research and the development of women-centered programs, practice, and policies. The Centre partners with Canadian local community agencies, provincial initiatives, national organizations, and international agencies to conduct research and/or to exchange knowledge among community members, academic researchers, policy makers, and health care professionals. Priority topic areas are: women, gender, tobacco and lung health; women, gender, addictions and mental health; women and health services; women, gender and chronic disease; health promotion and women; and physical activity.

Keywords: Canada, Advocacy, Chronic illness and disabilities, Drug addiction, Health promotion, Mental health, Tobacco use, Women, Women's health, Women's health services

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.