Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This project sought to increase the incidence and duration of breastfeeding in the state. The purpose of the project was to develop statewide strategies for breastfeeding promotion. Clients targeted were those least likely to breastfeed. Activities included developing and implementing industry policies that support working, breastfeeding women; conducting a public media campaign and establishing a toll-free hotline; counseling and educating low-income and minority women through WIC and MCH programs; and providing professional education. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196871.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infants, Low income groups, Minorities, Mothers, Nutrition, Outreach, WIC Program

Annotation: The purpose of this project was to mount a large scale effort to improve the rate and duration of breastfeeding in low income women in the Bronx. The project worked with administration and providers at community health centers, public hospitals, and health department-sponsored prenatal and well baby clinics to implement policies and procedures which would promote breastfeeding and to improve the level of attitudes, knowledge and skills of all professional staff in relation to breastfeeding. Due to the size of the population and the project's limitations, activities were chosen that would have a long term effect, and not necessitate the continuous presence of the team at a health facility. The team developed a program of professional education on The Art and Science of Breastfeeding and made recommendations and changes in an agency's policy and procedures. In addition to the professional education component, the team worked with health care facilities to develop and implement policies and procedures which were conducive to the initiation and maintenance of breastfeeding. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-198026.

Keywords: Breastfeeding promotion, Infants Breastfeeding mothers, Low income population

Annotation: This handbook answers common questions about breastfeeding. The handbook discusses the choice to breastfeed; explains how breastfeeding works; and provides information about getting ready for a newborn, first feedings, special situations, going home, nutrition, common problems, breastfeeding beyond infancy, separations from the infant, the father's role, and weaning.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org $15, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-61002-160-9.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Consumer education materials, Fathers, Infant feeding, Infants, Mothers, Newborn infants, Nutrition, Weaning, Young children

Annotation: This book offers tips and advice for sleep during naptimes and at night for families with breastfeeding infants. The authors are proponents of bedsharing and give guidance on how to minimize its risks.

Keywords: Bedsharing, Breastfeeding, Consumer education materials, Infant care, Infants, Mothers, SIDS, Sleep, Sleep environment, Sleep position

Annotation: This document provides guidance on breastfeeding for African American women. Topics include the health benefits of breastfeeding for infants and women, finding support and information, how breast milk is made, steps to take before giving birth, learning to breastfeed, common challenges and questions, breastfeeding and special situations, pumping and milk storage, going back to work, nutrition and fitness, and handling stress. Tear-out tools are included.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 712E, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (800) 690-7650 Fax: (202) 205-2631 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Blacks, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Educational materials, Families, Infants, Mothers, Women', s health

Annotation: This guide, which is geared toward Alaska Native and Native American women, deals with the following breastfeeding-related issues: (1) benefits of breastfeeding, (2) risks associated with not breastfeeding, (3) answers to breastfeeding questions, (4) where to go for help, and (5) tips for breastfeeding success. The booklet includes charts and tables.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 712E, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (800) 690-7650 Fax: (202) 205-2631 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Alaska natives, American Indians, Breastfeeding, Consumer education materials, Families, Infants, Mothers

Annotation: This guide, which is geared toward Alaska Native and Native American women, deals with the following breastfeeding-related issues: (1) benefits of breastfeeding, (2) risks associated with not breastfeeding, (3) answers to breastfeeding questions, (4) where to go for help, and (5) tips for breastfeeding success. The booklet includes charts and tables.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 712E, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (800) 690-7650 Fax: (202) 205-2631 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alaska natives, American Indians, Breastfeeding, Consumer education materials, Families, Infants, Mothers

Annotation: This document presents evidence-based criteria about breastfeeding for use in practice settings (clinic, hospital, public health; WIC, and the community). The document consists of a table that presents critera, inpatient and outpatient practicies, potential perinatal outcomes, critical time, and exceptions. References for each criterion are provided, and the document concludes with a reference list.

Contact: Wisconsin Association for Perinatal Care, McConnell Hall, 1010 Mound Street, Madison, WI 53715, Telephone: (608) 417-6060 Fax: 608/267-6089 E-mail: wapc@perinatalweb.org Web Site: http://www.perinatalweb.org/ Out of print.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding support, Guidelines, Infants, Mothers

Annotation: This manual provides information that helps health care professionals promote breastfeeding and counsel breastfeeding women. It includes general information on the benefits of breastfeeding and its promotion, preventive strategies for general problems, and sections on problems common to either the mothers or the infants.

Contact: Essential Medical Information Systems, P.O. Box 1607, Durant, OK 74702, Telephone: (800) 225-0694 Secondary Telephone: (405) 924-0643 Fax: (405) 924-9414 $14.95 plus $2.75 shipping and handling; prepayment required. Document Number: ISBN 0-9292-4068-5.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Infants, Mothers, Therapeutics

Annotation: The handbook is a loose-leaf manual designed as a reference guide for resource mothers. Chapters describe in general terms the activities of a resource mother, development of self-esteem and coping skills, access to community resources, labor and delivery preparation, prenatal and postpartum care, breastfeeding and nutrition, baby care and child development, child safety issues, and family planning options. Other materials provided include home visiting checklists and resource bibliographies. The manual contains a glossary and index. It was reprinted in a spiral-bound edition in 1994.

Contact: International Medical Services for Health, MotherNet America Program, 45449 Severn Way, Suite 161, Sterling, VA 20166-8918, Telephone: (703) 444-4477 Secondary Telephone: (800) 521-1175 Fax: (703) 444-4471 $10.00 plus $6.00 shipping for 1-5 books; prepayment required.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Child safety, Childbirth, Communication skills, Home visiting, Infants with special health care needs, Nutrition education, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Problem solving, Resource mothers, Self esteem

Annotation: This project studied the effects of epilepsy on pregnancy outcomes. The purpose of the study was to: (1) Examine the outcome of infants exposed in utero to antiepileptic drugs and/or to maternal seizures, and compare their outcome to that of a group of infants without such exposure; and (2) look for correlates in pregnancy (i.e., seizure type and frequency, and antiepileptic drug use) that may predict adverse outcome. A group of pregnant women with epilepsy, a group of nonepileptic pregnant women, and the case and control infants were followed for a period of three years. Case children had a statistically significant higher mean number of minor anomalies per child (5.05) than the control children (3.65). Given the results of the study, with similar rates of malformations with exposure to the common antiepileptic drugs, it was suggested that maternal antiepileptic drugs be chosen for the most effective maternal seizure control. Further research is needed to address the neurodevelopmental effects of these medications. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB92-135870.

Keywords: Bayley Scales, Birth Defects, Breastfeeding, Child Development, Epilepsy, High risk infants, High risk mothers, High risk pregnancy, Neuromotor Status, Parent-Child Interaction, Pregnant Women, Seizures, Stanford-Binet IV