Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 9 (9 total).

Every Child Matters Education Fund. 2009. Homeland insecurity... Why new investments in children and youth must be a priority for the Obama Administration and the 111th Congress. [3rd ed.]. Washington, DC: Every Child Matters Education Fund, 15 pp.

Annotation: This publication focuses on how the issues of health, child abuse, imprisonment, and poverty affect children and families in the United States. The publication provides information on federal spending on children, and offers recommendations for how to improve the well-being of children. Recommendations are divided into the following categories: health insurance, child abuse and neglect, prisons, and child poverty. A list of questions that can be posed to candidates in the 2008 presidential election are included. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the publication. The web site also provides a video presentation.

Contact: Every Child Matters Education Fund, 1023 15th Street, NW, Suite 401 , Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 223-8177 Fax: (202) 223-8499 E-mail: info@everychildmatters.org Web Site: http://www.everychildmatters.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child health, Child neglect, Children, Correctional institutions, Families, Federal programs, Financing, Health insurance, Poverty, child advocacy

Baldwin KM, Jones J. 2000. Health issues specific to incarcerated women: Information for state maternal and child health programs. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins University, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 11 pp.

Annotation: This report examines health issues specific to incarcerated women. It describes characteristics of the women, standards for health services, and significant health care concerns. The report suggests areas for improvement in health care and potential roles for public health and maternal and child health. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Correctional institutions, Incarcerated women, Prisoners, Standards, State MCH programs, Women', Women', s health, s health services

Thompson LS, Sheahan PM. 1994. Health care of incarcerated youth: State programs and initiatives. Arlington, VA: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 102 pp.

Annotation: This report presents the results of a survey of workshop participants who had attended national and regional conferences sponsored by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau concerning meeting the health service needs of incarcerated youth. After a brief analysis of the overall survey results, the report presents state profiles that indicate the goals and objectives set during the conferences, and lists the program, community, and state actions taken to meet identified goals. The report also includes current initiatives and contact information by state. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Child health, Children, Correctional institutions, Health services, High risk populations, Incarcerated youth, State MCH programs

Thompson LS, Farrow JA, eds. 1993. Hard time, healing hands: Developing primary health care services for incarcerated youth. Arlington, VA: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 244 pp.

Annotation: This book provides guidance to health care providers and youth corrections professionals concerning the delivery of enhanced physical and mental health services for incarcerated youth. The publication reviews health status and health care delivery issues, training issues, and the legal aspects of providing care to this population. Specific chapters address health and psychological assessment, chronic illness, minority over representation, mental health, sexuality and sexually transmitted diseases, alcohol and other drug abuse programs, violence, homeless youth, and financing. A glossary and index are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Link

Keywords: Adolescent health services, Correctional institutions, Health services, Incarcerated youth, Primary care, Program development

Brecher EM, Della Penna RD. 1975. Health care in correctional institutions. Washington, DC: National Institute of Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice, 98 pp.

Annotation: This manual provides practical suggestions for improving the quality and efficiency of the health care available to inmates in correctional institutions. Part I (medical aspects) covers elements of sound correctional health care; supportive medical services; levels of care; health care services in women's, juvenile, and open (minimum security) institutions; health care services in local detention facilities (jails). Part II (organizing a correctional health care system) covers the need for statewide organization; recruiting, training, and retaining correctional health care personnel, assembling other resources; financing correctional health care; and contracting out. Part III covers interpersonal relationships in a correctional institution; dental care; environmental health considerations; and inmate health education.

Keywords: Correctional institutions, Health care systems, Incarcerated women, Incarcerated youth, Manuals

Hippchen LJ with Ligons D. 1966. Personnel and personnel practices in public institutions for delinquent children: A survey. Washington, DC: U.S. Children's Bureau, 29 pp. (Children's Bureau statistical series; no. 86)

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Correctional institutions, Juvenile delinquents, Personnel management, Standards, Statistics, Training

U.S. Children's Bureau. 1956-. Statistics on public institutions for delinquent children, 19__. Washington, DC: U.S. Children's Bureau, v. (Children's Bureau statistical series; nos. 78 (covers 1963), 89 (covers 1966), 94 (covers 1967))

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Correctional institutions, Juvenile delinquents, Statistics

U.S. Children's Bureau. 1940. Directory of state, county, and municipal training schools: Caring for delinquent children in the United States. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, 25 pp. (Bureau publication (United States. Children's Bureau); no. 264)

Annotation: A publication of the U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau.

Keywords: Correctional institutions, Directories, Juvenile delinquents

Bowler AC, Bloodgood RS. 1935. Institutional treatment of delinquent boys: Part 1—Treatment programs of five state institutions. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, 324 pp. (Bureau publication (United States. Children's Bureau); no. 228)

Annotation: A publication of the U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

Keywords: --, Adolescent males, Male children, Correctional institutions, Incarcerated youth, Institutionalization, Juvenile delinquents, State youth agencies