Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Acoustic Neuroma Association (ANA) is a national, patient-founded support and information organization for people who have experienced acoustic neuroma or other benign tumor affecting the cranial nerves. The association promotes and supports education and research. Publications for consumers include a booklet, Acoustic Neuroma; a brochure, Acoustic Neuroma? Inside—Some Answers; and a quarterly newsletter, Notes. ANA also sponsors a biennial national conference.

Keywords: Acoustic neuroma, Nervous system diseases, Support groups, Tumors

Annotation: The Alagille Syndrome Alliance is a support network for individuals and families with this liver disorder. The alliance publishes a newsletter, Liver Link, and other informational materials. It also provides networking (the Alliance hosts a chat room and electronic bulletin board); parent matching services; and consultation through a medical advisory board. The Alliance also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Liver diseases, Support groups

Annotation: The ALS Association, previously known as Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis Association (ALSA), supports research on amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), also known as Lou Gehrig's disease. Association activities include research funding, patient services, public and professional education, chapter development, and the establishment of ALS clinical service centers nationwide. Services provided to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Publications include manuals on managing ALS, Basic Home Care, ALS and The ALS Association, a set of five videos, Reason for Hope (a newsletter published three times a year), and Scientific Briefings (published 2–4 times a year). The association also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis, Medical research, , Motor neuron disease, Neuromuscular diseases

Annotation: The Alzheimer's Association (formerly the Alzeimer's Disease and Related Disorders Association) works to conquer Alzheimer's disease, to increase public awareness of the disease, and to affect related policy decisions. The association's Library and Resource Center collects and disseminates educational materials, scientific journals, research reports, and other information in various formats (print, videotape, audiotape, microfilm, CD-ROM) for professionals in patient care, service delivery, policy development, and medical research. Publications include the quarterly Advances Newsletter. A publications catalog is available. Some publications are available in Spanish and Asian languages. ADRDA also provides referrals, and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Alzheimers disease, Information services

Annotation: Founded in 1938, the American Academy of Dermatology (AAD) is a professional society of medical doctors specializing in skin disease. The organization conducts educational programs, provides placement , and compiles statistics. Publications include a directory, a newsletter, and the Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology. Some materials are available in Spanish. ADD also maintains a listserv.

Keywords: Skin diseases

Annotation: The American Academy of Neurology (AAN), established in 1948, is an international professional association of more than 20,000 neurologists and neuroscience professionals dedicated to providing the best possible care for patients with neurological disorders. AAN publishes the Patient Information Guide for Neurology, a comprehensive directory of patient- and family-oriented publications and services for people with neurologic disorders. The guide includes information sources for more than 300 neurologic disorders, and it lists the addresses, E-mail addresses, Internet sites, and telephone numbers of more than 185 organizations that provide patient information services. Publications include a catalog, a newsletter, and a journal. AAN also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Neurology, Nervous system diseases, Neurologists, Professional societies

Annotation: The American Academy of Periodontology (AAP) seeks to advance the periodontal health of the public and to represent and serve the academy's members. Their Web site provides a wealth of information on periodontal disease including consumer fact sheets, frequently asked questions, and other educational material. It also includes a database for finding a periodontist.

Keywords: Dental societies, Oral health, Periodontal diseases

Annotation: The American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (AAPM&R) is a national medical society representing physicians who are specialists in the field of physical medicine and rehabilitation. The academy sponsors educational conferences and programs; publishes Archives (a scholarly journal) and Physiatrist (a newsletter); and promotes legislative advocacy. An online discussion forum is open to members.

Keywords: Rehabilitation, Advocacy, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Legislation, Musculoskeletal diseases, Professional societies

Annotation: Services to consumers include physican referrals, information referrals, publications, and reference information. The Association publishes a quarterly newsletter, advocates for research, and sponsors public forums and scientific conferences.

Keywords: Immunologic diseases, Information services

Annotation: The American Behcet's Disease Association provides information and peer support for people with Behcet's disease. The association offers a quarterly newsletter, information on audiotape, telephone support, local support group information, and national patient conferences. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Behcet', Connective tissue diseases, Parent groups, Reiter', Stevens-Johnson Syndrome, s Syndrome, s Syndrome

Annotation: The American Brain Tumor Association (ABTA) provides publications which address brain tumors, their treatment, and coping with the disease; nationwide resource listings of brain tumor support groups and physicians offering investigative treatments;Connections pen-pal program; a national brain tumor symposium for patients and their families; and free social service consultations. ABTA also sponsors regional Town Hall meetings across the country which focus on state-of-the-art treatment options. ABTA funds brain tumor research at institutions throughout the United States and Canada. A tri-annual newsletter, the Message Line, describes those research advances as well as other ABTA activities. ABTA also publishes booklets.

Keywords: Brain diseases, Brain tumors, Cancer, Information services, Medical research

Annotation: The American Celiac Society/Dietary Support Coalition (ACS/DSC) provides educational and informational materials on lactose-free, gluten-free diets to patients, physicians, nutritionists, and others. The society responds to information requests, provides referrals to support groups, publishes a newsletter, hosts a list serve, sponsors educational conferences and meetings on celiac desease(Sprue, Non-Tropical Sprue, Tropical Sprue), Dermatitis Herpetiformis, Crohn's Disease, Lactose Intolerance, Wheat Intolerance, and various autoimmune diseases, and supports research on celiac sprue disease and other dietary disorders. Membership is open to all individuals with dietary problems, family and friends of these individuals, medical professionals, and anyone interested in learning more about these dietary problems and promoting the ideals of our organization. Materials are available in Spanish and Italian.

Keywords: Celiac disease, Diet therapy, Gluten intolerance, Lactose intolerance, Restricted diets, Support groups

Annotation: The American College of Cardiology (ACC) works to foster optimal cardiovascular care and disease prevention through professional education, promotion of research, and leadership in standards development and health care policy formulation. ACC publishes newsletters, a journal, and a catalog and sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops.

Keywords: Cardiovascular diseases, Heart diseases, Medical education, Policy development, Professional societies

Annotation: The American College of Chest Physicians (ACCP) is a medical specialty society of physicians, surgeons, allied health professionals, and academicians who specialize in diseases of the chest: pulmonology, cardiology, cardiovascular and cardiothoracic surgery, hypertension, critical care medicine, and related disciplines. AACP promotes the prevention and treatment of diseases of the chest through leadership, education, research, and communication. The college sponsors an annual meeting, offers CME courses, publishes a journal, provides online resources, and advocates for improved health care services.

Keywords: Professional societies, Advocacy, Allied health professionals, Cardiovascular diseases, Health services, Hypertension, Medical education, Physicians

Annotation: Founded in 1932, the American College of Gastroenterology (ACG) works to advance the scientific study and medical practice of diseases of the gastrointestinal (digestive) tract. The college sponsors annual scientific meetings, provides regional postgraduate training courses, awards research grants, advocates on behalf of gastroenterologists and their patients, and disseminates scientific information on digestive health and GI disorders. Publications include the Journal of Gastroenterology. Patient materials are posted on ACG's Web site.

Keywords: , Gastroenterology, Advocacy, Disease prevention, Gastrogenterologists, Gastrointestinal diseases, Grants, Health promotion, Information sources, Patient education, Professional societies, Professional training

Annotation: The American Diabetes Association (ADA) promotes research on the prevention and cure of diabetes and works to improve the well-being of people with diabetes and their families. Publications include Clinical Diabetes, Diabetes, Diabetes Care, Diabetes Forecast, Diabetes Spectrum, andDiabetes Advisor. The association also publishes a catalog. Some materials are available in Spanish. ADA also sponsors conferences and workshops.

Keywords: Diabetes, Insulin, Metabolic diseases, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The American Gastroenterological Association (AGA) is a society of physicians, surgeons, scientists, and other individuals within the healthcare community who have a demonstrated a continued interest in the functions and disorders of the digestive system. As a professional association, AGA serves as an advocate for its members and their patients; supports members’ practices and scientific needs; and promote the discovery, dissemination, and application of new knowledge leading to the prevention, treatment and cure of digestive diseases. AGA offers training and career development opportunities, publishes periodicals, and provides member resources such as patient education materials and an online supply store.

Keywords: Professional training, Gastroenterology, Advocacy, Disease prevention, Gastrogenterologists, Gastrointestinal diseases, Health promotion, Information sources, Patient education, Professional education, Professional societies, Publications

Annotation: The American Heart Association (AHA) is a national voluntary health agency whose mission is to reduce disability and death from cardiovascular diseases and stroke. AHA provides services and resources for healthcare professionals as well as patients and families. The association compiles statistics, offers advocacy services, provides continuing education courses, promotes physical activity and healthy eating, sponsors conferences and Web sessions, and publishes information and educational materials, including scientific findings, heart-healthy cookbooks for consumers, and electronic PDA programs for healthcare professionals.

Keywords: Continuing education, Advocacy, Cardiovascular diseases, Consumer materials, Health promotion, Heart diseases, Legislation, Medical education, Nutrition, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Spanish language materials, Statistics

Annotation: The American Kidney Fund is a national, non-profit voluntary health organization providing direct financial aid to needy kidney patients, transplant recipients and donors to help cover the cost of treatment-specific expenses. Grants are available to assist patients afford medication, transportation, emergency transient dialysis, and special diet needs diet. In addition, the Fund supports public and professional education, kidney donor development and sponsors clinical scientist nephrology fellowship awards. AKF publishes a newsletter and many brochures about kidney diseases and its treatment, including selections in Spanish. The organization also sponsors conferences. Eligibility for financial assistance must be demonstrated by filing an application, available through the patient's renal social worker or nephrologist.

Keywords: Chronic kidney failure, Dialysis, Financial support, Kidney diseases, Organ transplantation

Annotation: The American Liver Foundation (ALF) is a national nonprofit organization dedicated to the prevention, treatment, and cure of hepatitis and other liver diseases through research, education, and advocacy on behalf of those at risk of or affected by liver disease. The foundation has state and regional chapters across the United States. Services to consumers include publications and reference information.

Keywords: Hepatitis, Alagille syndrome, Alpha-1-antitrypsin deficiency, Galactosemia, Liver cirrhosis, Liver diseases, Organ transplantation