Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 11 (11 total).

ACT for Youth

Annotation: ACT (Assets Coming Together) for Youth connects positive youth development resources and research to practice in New York State and beyond. The ACT for Youth Center of Excellence provides technical support, training, and evaluation for youth-serving programs funded by the NYS Department of Health, youth development and adolescent sexual health resources housed on the ACT for Youth Web site, a home base for the ACT Youth Network, which connects young community activists across New York State.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Advocacy, New York, Sexual health, State initiatives, Youth development, Youth services

American Association of the Deaf-Blind (AADB)

Annotation: The mission of the American Association of the Deaf-Blind (AADB) is to assure that a comprehensive, coordinated system of services is accessible to all deaf-blind persons enabling them to achieve their maximum potential through increased independence, productivity and integration into the community. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in large print, Braille, and on disk (MS Word).. AADB prints a quarterly magazine, The Deaf-Blind American. The organization also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Advocacy, Civil rights, Deafness, Disabilities, Hearing disorders, Information services, Visually impaired, Youth services

CYFERNet: Children, Youth, and Families Education and Research Network

Annotation: CYFERnet is a national network of land grant university faculty and county extension educators working to support community-based educational programs for children, youth, parents and families. CYFERnet is funded as a joint project of the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Institute for Food and Agriculture (NIFA) and the Cooperative Extension System. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Community based services, Child development, Educational programs, Family relations, Government programs, MCH programs, Parenting skills, Youth development

Indiana Youth Institute (IYI)

Annotation: The Indiana Youth Institute (IYI), a statewide intermediary organization, promotes attentiveness to Indiana's young people and those who work on their behalf; encourages policies and programs that foster healthy development of youth; collaborates with state and national organizations to improve the lives of our state's young people and ensures that their voices are heard. IYI promotes the healthy development of youth by providing research, training and development, and advocacy services for adults who serve and influence the lives of youth. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. IYI research services include the development of special reports on youth-related topics, statistics and analysis related to youth, interpretation of research findings, and technical assistance on conducting research studies. The IYI resource center houses a comprehensive collection of books and journals on topics related to children, youth and families. The institute publishes a newsletter and sponsors conferences. Training services include capacity building workshops, topical seminars, customized training and research-based presentations. IYI advocates directly, and in collaboration with others, for the healthy development of youth.

Keywords: Youth, Adolescents, Health promotion, Indiana, Information services, Public policies, Statistics

National Center for Mental Health Promotion and Youth Violence Prevention

Annotation: The National Center for Mental Health Promotion and Youth Violence Prevention is a training and technical assistance center for grantees of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services working to promote mental health and prevent youth violence among children, their families, and other adults. Through training, technical assistance, distance learning, and on-site consultation, the center helps grantees develop needs assessments and implement strategic plans, use evidence-based interventions, select and use evaluation tools, build coalitions that include families, youth, and other stakeholders, and sustain projects beyond their initial federal funding. The center provides on-site technical assistance and consultation, training workshops and tutorials, online courses, and information on the latest research, events, and funding opportunities. The center also conducts national conferences and regional meetings to facilitate peer interaction and learning.

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Children, Consultation, Health promotion, Injury prevention, Mental health, Needs assessment, Technical assistance, Training, Violence prevention, Youth services

National Foster Parent Association (NFPA)

Annotation: The National Foster Parent Association (NFPA) is a non-profit, volunteer organization that supports support foster parents in achieving safety, permanence and well-being for the children and youth in their care. NFPA promotes communication and cooperation among foster parents, foster parent associations, child care agencies and other child advocates; strives to improve the foster care system; encourages the recruitment and retention of foster parents; and provides information on current issues and events regarding foster care. In addition, NFPA provides training programs, technical assistance, education materials, and information and referral services.

Keywords: Advocacy, Foster children, Information dissemination, Foster care, Adolescent health, Child health, Educational materials, Foster parents, Recruitment, Referrals, Technical assistance, Training, Youth services

National Resource Center for Youth Services (NRCYS)

Annotation: The National Resource Center for Youth Services (NRCYS) at the University of Oklahoma works to enhance the quality of life of the nation's at-risk youth and their families by improving the effectiveness of human services. It provides publications (including books and videotapes), training, and technical assistance services to child welfare and youth providers. The center serves as a referral service and provides information on program models, including training curricula and materials for people who work with adolescents and their families; it also sponsors an annual summer training conference for child welfare and youth service professionals from across the country. A publications catalog and newsletter are available.

Keywords: Adolescents, High risk adolescents, Information services, Youth

National Wraparound Initiative (NWI)

Annotation: The National Wraparound Initiative (NWI) is a collaborative effort that promotes the implementation of high quality wraparound (a team-based, holistic approach to service and support planning for children, youth, and their families) . NWI seeks to accomplish this work through the creation of a learning and sharing community that includes a range of stakeholders (caregivers, educators, mental health professionals, etc.) with a high level of expertise in Wraparound. NWI provides conceptional background materials, implementation and fidelity tools, and handbooks for team participants.

Keywords: Collaboration, Child health programs, Community based services, Family support services, Holistic health, Program planning, Youth services

National Youth Employment Coalition (NYEC)

Annotation: The National Youth Employment Coalition (NYEC) is a nonprofit membership organization of national service providers. The Coalition provides resources and networking opportunities for youth employment policymakers. Publications include a newsletter,Youth Notes. NYEC has developed the Promising and Effective Practices (PEPNET), a self assessment, self-nomination and peer review process to identify effective youth employment/development initiatives. Services to consumers include reference information. The coaltion sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops.

Keywords: Adolescent employment, Coalitions, Youth services

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Disability (HHS OD)

Annotation: The Office on Disability (OD), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), implements and coordinates policies, programs, and special initiatives related to disabilities both within HHS and with other federal agencies. The office support plans and initiatives designed to tear down barriers facing people with disabilities and encourages interaction and cooperation among federal, state, community, and private-sector partners. Program initiatives include I Can Do It, You Can Do It, a nationwide effort to ensure that children and youth with disabilities have access to health care, physical fitness opportunities, and wellness programs.

Keywords: Disabilities, Child health, Federal agencies, Physical fitness, Program development, Public health services, Special health care needs, Youth

Youth Transitions Funders Group

Annotation: The Youth Transition Funders Group is a network of grantmakers whose mission is to help all youth make a successful transition to adulthood by age 25. Goals include five critical outcomes: educational achievement in preparation for career and community participation, including a high school diploma, postsecondary degree and/or vocational certificate training; gainful employment and/or access to career training to achieve life-long economic success; connections to a positive support system - namely, guidance from family members and caring adults, as well as access to health, counseling and mental health services; the ability to be a responsible and nurturing parent; and the capacity to participate in the civic life of the community.

Keywords: Adolescents, Educational attainment, High risk adolescents, Parent support services, Social support, Transition to independent living, Young adults, Youth in transition

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.