Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 13 (13 total).

American Nurses Association (ANA)

Annotation: The American Nurses Association (ANA) represents the nation's 2.9 million registered nurses through its 54 constituent associations. It fosters high standards of nursing practice, promotes the economic and general welfare of nurses in the workplace through a comprehensive workplace advocacy program, projects a positive and realistic view of nursing, and lobbies Congress and regulatory agencies on issues affecting nurses and the public. The association promotes women's health research issues and investigates such issues as domestic violence, maternal and child health, immunization, reproductive health, and women and aging. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information (reports, policy statements, and resources are available on the Web site). ANA publishes a catalog, newsletter, and journal.

Keywords: Nurses, Adolescent health, Advocacy, Child health, Immunization, Infant health, Legislation, Nursing services, Nursing societies, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Women's health, Workplace

Center for Collaborative Solutions

Annotation: The Center for Collaborative Solutions (CCS) is a nonprofit organization that facilitates and drives organizational change by helping others to discover innovative and effective ways to achieve shared goals. Services are provided to create high quality, collaborative partnerships, teams, programs, and workplaces. The work of CCS is built around two divisions within the organization: workplace services and afterschool services. Current projects include an afterschool health initiative that includes a California state-wide Nutrition Education Leadership Learning Community and a California statewide labor=management committee to address rapidly increasing health care costs in public education.

Keywords: Child care, Organizatonal change, School age children, Workplace

Employee Benefit Research Institute (EBRI)

Annotation: The Employee Benefit Research Institute (EBRI) is a nonpartisan public policy research organization that provides educational and research materials on employee benefits, including maternity benefits. EBRI serves employers, employees, retired workers, public officials, the media, and the public as they address health, welfare, and retirement issues. EBRI provides consumers with referrals, publications, and reference information. EBRI also sponsors policy forums and publishes a newsletter and issue briefs.

Keywords: Employee benefits, Maternity leave, Workplace health promotion

National Action Alliance for Suicide Prevention

Annotation: The National Action Alliance for Suicide Prevention was established in 2010 as a public-private partnership advancing the National Strategy for Suicide Prevention (NSSP). The alliance champions suicide prevention as a national priority, catalyzes efforts to implement high priority objectives of the NSSP, and cultivates the resources needed to sustain progress. Activities include developing a prioritized research agenda; preparing the clinical work force to care for individuals who are suicidal; transforming health care delivery for individuals at highest risk for suicide; incorporating suicide prevention into health care reform; advancing suicide prevention for military, veterans, and their families; enhancing suicide prevention with the juvenile justice system; and promoting suicide prevention in the workplace to CEOs by developing a comprehensive business case.

Keywords: Advocacy, Health care reform, Juvenile justice, Public private partnership, Research, Suicide prevention, Training, Workplace health promotion

National AIDS Fund

Annotation: AIDS United (formed when the National AIDS Fund, a grantmaking public charity, and AIDS Action, a nonprofit advocacy organization, merged) is a national organization that works to connect funding, advocacy, and capacity-building programs in the fight against HIV/AIDS in the United States. AIDS United advocates for people living with or affected by HIV/AIDS and the organizations that serve them. It supports more than 400 grassroots organizations that provide HIV prevention, care and support services to underserved individuals, and populations most impacted by the HIV/AIDS epidemic.

Keywords: AIDS, Advocacy, Education, HIV, Workplace

National Business Group on Health (NBGH)

Annotation: The National Business Group on Health (NBGH), formerly the Washington Business Group on Health (WBGH), is a non-profit organization devoted to representing larger employers' perspective on national health policy issues and providing practical solutions to its members' most important health care problems. Members are primarily Fortune 500 companies and large public sector employers, including health care purchasers, who provide health insurance coverage to workers, retirees, and their families. Initiatives include: the Institute on Health Care Costs and Solutions; the Council on Employee Health and Productivity; the Institute on the Costs and Health Effects of Obesity; the Global Health Benefits Institute; the National Committee on Evidence-Based Benefit Design; the National Leadership Committee on Consumer-Directed Health Care; and the Center for Prevention and Health Promotion. The Web site provides access to fact sheets, employer toolkits and other materials on a variety of health topics. NBGH publishes a newsletter and sponsors workshops.

Keywords: Health policy, Child health, Maternal health, Workplace health promotion

National Collaborative on Workforce and Disability for Youth (NCWD/Youth)

Annotation: The National Collaborative on Workforce and Disability for Youth (NCWD/Youth) is composed of partners with expertise in disability, education, employment, and workforce development policy and practice. NCWD/Youth is housed at the Institute for Educational Leadership in Washington, DC. The Collaborative, funded through the U.S. Department of Labor's Office of Disability Employment Policy, is charged with assisting state and local workforce development systems to integrate youth with disabilities into their service strategies.

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Disabilities, Transition to independent living, Work force, Workplace, Young adults, Youth

National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)

Annotation: The National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) is the federal agency responsible for conducting research and making recommendations for the prevention of work-related injury and illness. NIOSH responds to inquiries from consumers for referrals and reference information and provides technical assistance for its research programs. Publications include an electronic newsletter, a science blog, and a variety of downloadable brochures and other documents (many materials are available in Spanish). The Institute also maintains a listserv and sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars.

Keywords: Occupational safety and health, Agricultural injuries, Data, Environmental exposure, Federal initiatives, Injury prevention, Prenatal care, Public education, Regulations, Reproductive hazards, Reproductive health, Resources for professionals, Women's health, Workplace health promotion

National Partnership for Women and Families

Annotation: The National Partnership for Women and Families is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization dedicated to improving the lives of women and families. Through public education and advocacy the National Partnership promotes fairness in the workplace, quality health care, and policies that help women and men meet the dual demands of work and family. Founded in 1971 as the Women's Legal Defense Fund, the National Partnership has grown in size and scope. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish. The organization also publishes a newsletter and maintains a listserv.

Keywords: Advocacy, Health education, Health services, Women, Work, Work family issues, Workplace

National Wellness Institute (NWI)

Annotation: The National Wellness Institute (NWI) is a nonprofit corporation that promotes optimal well-being based on a six-dimensional wellness philosophy. Activities include providing new and innovative professional development programs, creating effective lifestyle assessments, identifying quality resources for health promotion and wellness professionals, and developing visions that will project wellness to the 21st century. The institute sponsors an annual national wellness conference and serves as a national resource referral center. Its membership division, the National Wellness Association, provides its members with additional networking opportunities, wellness resources, newsletters on the latest development and resources in the field, and information on career opportunities.

Keywords: Health education, Health promotion, Workplace health promotion

U.S. Occupational Safety and Health Administration, Office of Information and Consumer Affairs (OSHA)

Annotation: Occupational Safety and Health Administration responds to inquires from consumers and professionals and prepares and distributes publications on a range of health and safety topics, including environmental exposures during pregnancy as they occur in the workplace. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Occupational safety and health, Prenatal care, Workplace health promotion

Wellness Councils of America (WELCOA)

Annotation: Wellness Councils of America (WELCOA) is a national nonprofit membership organization that works to promote healthier lifestyles for all Americans, especially through health promotion activities at the worksite. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. WELCOA publishes a catalog and a monthly consumer health education newsletter, Healthy YOUniverse. The organization sponsors conferences and training seminars as well.

Keywords: Workplace health promotion

Workplaces Respond to Domestic & Sexual Violence: A National Resource Center

Annotation: The Workplaces Respond to Domestic and Sexual Violence: A National Resource Center project offers information on providing effective workplace responses to victims of domestic violence, sexual violence, dating violence, and stalking. The website provides opportunities to interact with a virtual employee, create a workplace policy, learn about the cost of sexual violence, and identify security concerns. Topics include workplace violence, guns and the workplace, protection orders, and union responses. Funded by the U.S. Department of Justice Office on Violence Against Women, the Workplaces Respond project is a partnership of the Family Violence Prevention Fund (FVPF), Legal Momentum, Pennsylvania Coalition Against Rape and its National Sexual Violence Resource Center, Resource Sharing Project of the Iowa Coalition Against Sexual Assault, American Bar Association Commission on Domestic Violence, Corporate Alliance to End Partner Violence, and Victim Rights Law Center.

Keywords: Domestic violence, Resource centers, Sexual assault, Workplace health promotion

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.