Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Mountain States Genetics Regional Collaborative (MSGRC) -- formerly the Mountain States Genetic Network -- is a consortium of providers and consumers of genetic services in Arizona, Colorado, Montana, New Mexico, Texas, Utah, Wyoming, and Nevada. Members include representatives of state health departments, university medical schools, genetic services laboratories, hospitals, private medical practices, and various consumer organizations. The group is a regional network that provides a forum for problem sharing and solving, provides referrals, promotes efficient use of resources, and facilitates improvement of the quality and quantity of genetic services offered in the Mountain States region. The network maintains an online events calendar and provides links to genetics centers and resources.

Keywords: Genetics, Arizona, Colorado, Consortia, Data collection, Genetic counseling, Genetic services, Information services, Montana, New Mexico, Problem solving, Regional genetics networks, Utah, Wyoming

Annotation: Sealants for Smiles provides free school based oral health education and dental sealants to children in need in Utah. Through a network of volunteer and paid oral health professionals, Sealants for Smiles provides oral health assessments and application of dental sealants and fluoride varnish to children who cannot access or afford oral health care. The program serves children in portable dental units set up within elementary schools.

Keywords: Dental care, Dental sealants, Fluorides, Mobile health units, Oral health, State initiatives, Utah, Voluntary health agencies

Annotation: Baby Your Baby (BYB) is a public service campaign initiated in 1987 by the Utah Department of Health in partnership with the public and private sector to reduce Utah's infant mortality rate by expanding prenatal health care services and outreach. The campaign established a 1-800 statewide hotline to provide information on referral sources, give financial information, and answer questions relating to different aspects of prenatal and well-child care. BYB messages are also spread through television, radio, print, and outdoor advertising in both English and Spanish. The program has received numerous local, state, and national awards, including the National Achievement award from the National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition for Sustained Public Information Program in America.

Keywords: Hotlines, Infant mortality, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Public awareness campaigns, Utah

Annotation: The Utah Library State Division provides reference and interlibrary loan services to public libraries. It also provides direct library services (in special formats) to individuals who cannot read normal printed material.

Keywords: Libraries, State agencies, Utah