Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 8 (8 total).

Brookings Institution, Metropolitan Policy Program

Annotation: The Brookings Institution's Metropolitan Policy Program (formerly the Center on Urban and Metropolitan Policy) was launched in 1996 to provide research and policy analysis on the shifting realities of cities and metropolitan areas. The program aims to redefine the challenges facing metropolitan America, and to promote innovative solutions to help communities grow in more inclusive, competitive, and sustainable ways. The Program provides information and presents findings to decisionmakers. A variety of reports, articles, and presentations are available on the Web site.

Keywords: Urban, Community programs, Electronic publications, Policy analysis, Public policy, Urban environment, Urban health, Urban population

Morehouse School of Medicine, Health Promotion Resource Center (HPRC)

Annotation: The Health Promotion Resource Center (HPRC) at the Morehouse School of Medicine has developed a health promotion and disease prevention model for underserved populations. The center's philosophy is to increase health promotion efforts that are likely to be more successful in those populations where the community at risk identifies its own health concerns, develops its own prevention and/or intervention strategies, and forms a decision-making coalition board to make policy decisions and identify resources for program implementation. Health promotion, prevention, education, training, and information dissemination efforts are concentrated in, but are not limited to the areas of substance abuse, parenting, maternal and child health, cancer, and violence. Services to consumers include publications.

Keywords: Health promotion, Model programs, Rural population, Underserved communities, Urban population

National Council of Urban Indian Health (NCUIH)

Annotation: The National Council of Urban Indian Health (NCUIH) aims to support and advocate for quality, accessible health care for all American Indians and Alaska Natives living in urban communities through advocacy, training, education, and leadership development. The council supports Urban Indian Health Programs (UIHP) that include comprehensive clinics and outreach centers. Information available includes newsletters, weekly news and resources update, legislative alerts, position papers on urban Indian health, and additional resources. The council presents an annual conference, workshops and training opportunities, and a membership teleconference series.

Keywords: Advocacy, Alaska Natives, Native Americans, Training, Urban health, Urban population

National League of Cities (NLC)

Annotation: The National League of Cities (NLC) is an association of U.S. municipalities and state leagues of municipalities whose mission is to strengthen and promote cities as centers of opportunity, leadership, and governance. It represents local governments to Congress and federal agencies, develops national municipal policy, sponsors conferences, conducts research and analysis on topics important to cities, and provides training, technical assistance, and information for elected and appointed local government officials. The Children and Families in Cities Project helps city officials to act on behalf of at-risk children and their families by providing direct technical assistance, research and policy analysis, and community support. Publications include a newspaper, Nation's Cities Weekly, and a catalog. Information services are available to member cities through the league's Municipal Reference Service. The organization also sponsors training seminars and conferences.

Keywords: Local government, Policy, Technical assistance, Urban population

National Urban League (NUL)

Annotation: The National Urban League (NUL) is a civil rights and social welfare organization whose mission is to eliminate racial segregation and discrimination in the United States and to achieve parity for African Americans and other minorities in every phase of American life. NUL works to eliminate institutional racism and to provide direct services to minorities in the areas of employment, housing, education, social welfare, health, family planning, mental retardation, law and consumer affairs, youth and student affairs, labor affairs, veterans' affairs, and community and minority business development.

Keywords: Blacks, Injury prevention, Minority health, Racial discrimination, Racism, Access to health care, Urban population

New York Academy of Medicine (NYAM)

Annotation: The New York Academy of Medicine, founded in 1847, is an independent nonprofit institution whose mission is to enhance the health of the public. The academy serves as a center for urban health policy and works to ehance the health of people living in cities worldwide through research, education, advocacy, and prevention. The academy's agenda focuses on safeguarding children's health, educating young scientists, curtailing the spread of HIV/AIDS and improving care, helping consumers access reliable helth information, improving the public's ability to come with disasters, and caring for older adults. In addition, the academy provides health education programs and has a library open to the general public (the bibliographic catalog and other electronic resources are available online). The library sponsors research fellowships, academic programs, and public lectures on medical history and related fields.

Keywords: Epidemiology, Health care reform, Health education, Health policy, New York, Poverty, Public health, Urban population

United States Conference of Mayors (USCM)

Annotation: The United States Conference of Mayors (USCM) is the official nonpartisan organization of cities with populations of 30,000 or more. The primary roles of The U.S. Conference of Mayors are to: promote the development of effective national urban/suburban policy; strengthen federal-city relationships; ensure that federal policy meets urban needs; provide mayors with leadership and management tools; and create a forum in which mayors can share ideas and information. It has programs on numerous health, environment, and other topics focused on the well-being of city residents. It provides publications, videos, a best practices database, and other resources.

Keywords: Community programs, I Model programs, Local government, Policies, Urban population

Urban Indian Health Institute

Annotation: the Urban Indian Health Institute (UIHI) was established in 2000 as a division within the Seattle Indian Health Board (SIHB), a community health center targeting urban American Indians and Alaska Natives. The UIHI provides centralized nationwide management of health surveillance, research, and policy considerations regarding the health status deficiencies affecting urban American Indians and Alaska Natives. Its principal components are the Urban Indian Information Center, the Urban Indian Epidemiology Center, and the Center for Tele-Health / Tele-Education and Advanced Communication.

Keywords: Native Americans, Urban health, Urban populations

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.