Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 11 (11 total).

Brookings Institution, Metropolitan Policy Program

Annotation: The Brookings Institution's Metropolitan Policy Program (formerly the Center on Urban and Metropolitan Policy) was launched in 1996 to provide research and policy analysis on the shifting realities of cities and metropolitan areas. The program aims to redefine the challenges facing metropolitan America, and to promote innovative solutions to help communities grow in more inclusive, competitive, and sustainable ways. The Program provides information and presents findings to decisionmakers. A variety of reports, articles, and presentations are available on the Web site.

Keywords: Urban, Community programs, Electronic publications, Policy analysis, Public policy, Urban environment, Urban health, Urban population

CityMatCH

Annotation: CityMatCH is a national organization of maternal and child health (MCH) leaders working to improve the health and well-being of urban women, children, and families by strengthening the public health organizations and leaders in their communities. The Perinatal Periods of Risk (PPOR) Learning Network brings community stakeholders together to build consensus, support, and partnership around infant mortality data. CityMatCH convenes an annual conference, a webinar series, and leadership training for emerging and mid-level leaders in urban MCH. Resources include the CityLights newsletter, the MCH Life Course Toolbox, NewsBriefs, a Toolkit for Policy Development, and issue specific publications.

Keywords: State surveys, Health agencies, Immunization, Information sources, Local MCH programs, MCH services, Networking, Program descriptions, Publications, Urban health

Council of the Great City Schools

Annotation: The Council of the Great City Schools provides a forum for urban educators to develop strategies, exchange ideas, and conduct research on urban education. The council promotes public policy initiatives to ensure improvement of education and equity in the delivery of comprehensive educational programs. The organization publishes reports and a newsletter (these can be downloaded in pdf format from the Web site), and sponsors training seminars and conferences.

Keywords: Child health, Educational programs, School districts, Urban environment

Morehouse School of Medicine, Health Promotion Resource Center (HPRC)

Annotation: The Health Promotion Resource Center (HPRC) at the Morehouse School of Medicine has developed a health promotion and disease prevention model for underserved populations. The center's philosophy is to increase health promotion efforts that are likely to be more successful in those populations where the community at risk identifies its own health concerns, develops its own prevention and/or intervention strategies, and forms a decision-making coalition board to make policy decisions and identify resources for program implementation. Health promotion, prevention, education, training, and information dissemination efforts are concentrated in, but are not limited to the areas of substance abuse, parenting, maternal and child health, cancer, and violence. Services to consumers include publications.

Keywords: Health promotion, Model programs, Rural population, Underserved communities, Urban population

National Council of Urban Indian Health (NCUIH)

Annotation: The National Council of Urban Indian Health (NCUIH) aims to support and advocate for quality, accessible health care for all American Indians and Alaska Natives living in urban communities through advocacy, training, education, and leadership development. The council supports Urban Indian Health Programs (UIHP) that include comprehensive clinics and outreach centers. Information available includes newsletters, weekly news and resources update, legislative alerts, position papers on urban Indian health, and additional resources. The council presents an annual conference, workshops and training opportunities, and a membership teleconference series.

Keywords: Advocacy, Alaska Natives, Native Americans, Training, Urban health, Urban population

National Urban League (NUL)

Annotation: The National Urban League (NUL) is a civil rights and social welfare organization whose mission is to eliminate racial segregation and discrimination in the United States and to achieve parity for African Americans and other minorities in every phase of American life. NUL works to eliminate institutional racism and to provide direct services to minorities in the areas of employment, housing, education, social welfare, health, family planning, mental retardation, law and consumer affairs, youth and student affairs, labor affairs, veterans' affairs, and community and minority business development.

Keywords: Blacks, Injury prevention, Minority health, Racial discrimination, Racism, Access to health care, Urban population

New York Academy of Medicine (NYAM)

Annotation: The New York Academy of Medicine, founded in 1847, is an independent nonprofit institution whose mission is to enhance the health of the public. The academy serves as a center for urban health policy and works to ehance the health of people living in cities worldwide through research, education, advocacy, and prevention. The academy's agenda focuses on safeguarding children's health, educating young scientists, curtailing the spread of HIV/AIDS and improving care, helping consumers access reliable helth information, improving the public's ability to come with disasters, and caring for older adults. In addition, the academy provides health education programs and has a library open to the general public (the bibliographic catalog and other electronic resources are available online). The library sponsors research fellowships, academic programs, and public lectures on medical history and related fields.

Keywords: Epidemiology, Health care reform, Health education, Health policy, New York, Poverty, Public health, Urban population

Pacific Research Institute for Public Policy (PRI)

Annotation: The Pacific Research Institute for Public Policy (PRI) is a California based and oriented think-tank, which centers its policy goals on concepts of individual freedom and responsibility. Specific areas of interest are Health Care, Civil Rights, Urban Studies, Privatization, Welfare, Technology Policy, the Environment, and the Law. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. PRI sponsors conferences and and workshops and also publishes briefings, studies, a newsletter and a catalog.

Keywords: California, Civil rights, Health care delivery, Public policies, Urban environment

Urban Health Partners

Annotation: The primary goal of the Urban Health Partners program at Wayne State University is to promote and enhance health information services to Detroit’s public health professionals. The target audience for the program is public health providers lacking traditional access to a medical library serving hard-to-reach and underserved populations in southeastern Michigan. A secondary goal is to facilitate improved access to an online collection of organized, quality Arabic-language health education materials for providers and health information seekers; over 80 publications in Arabic are available at no charge on the Web site.

Keywords: Information services, Materials for consumers, Medical libraries, Non English language materials, Underserved communities, Urban health

Urban Indian Health Institute

Annotation: the Urban Indian Health Institute (UIHI) was established in 2000 as a division within the Seattle Indian Health Board (SIHB), a community health center targeting urban American Indians and Alaska Natives. The UIHI provides centralized nationwide management of health surveillance, research, and policy considerations regarding the health status deficiencies affecting urban American Indians and Alaska Natives. Its principal components are the Urban Indian Information Center, the Urban Indian Epidemiology Center, and the Center for Tele-Health / Tele-Education and Advanced Communication.

Keywords: Native Americans, Urban health, Urban populations

Virginia Commonwealth University, Center for Public Policy (CPP)

Annotation: The Center for Public Policy is a part of the Virginia Commonwealth University, oriented towards the study of health policy, urban studies and politics. Aside from research, the Center conducts training programs and conferences, and prepares publications. The Center's research is focused on the Commonwealth of Virginia. The Center also directs an interdisciplinary Ph.D. program in public policy and administration with concentrations in health policy, urban policy, and public management in state and local government.

Keywords: Health policy, Public policies, Research, Urban environment, Virginia

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.