Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: Association of Clinicians for the Underserved (ACU) is a nonprofit, interdisciplinary organization working to improve the health of underserved populations by supporting and enhancing the development of the health care clinicians serving these populations. ACU offers access to information relevant to clinical practice; provides networking and training opportunities; and promotes research to increase understanding of underserved practice.

Keywords: Underserved communities, Professional societies, Resources for professionals

Annotation: The Bureau of Primary Health Care (BPHC) funds Health Centers in underserved communities, providing access to high quality, family oriented, comprehensive primary and preventive health care for people who are low-income, uninsured or face other obstacles to getting health care. The Web site provides access to searchable databases, statistics, employment opportunities, document archives, and publications.

Keywords: HIV, Homeless persons, Immunization, Migrant health, Primary health care, Public health programs, Public health services, Public housing, Underserved communities

Annotation: The California Endowment is a private, statewide health foundation whose mission is to expand access to affordable, quality health care for underserved individuals and communities, and to promote fundamental improvements in the health status of all Californians. Guiding the endowment's work is a multicultural approach to health, which is defined not only by race and ethnicity, but financial status, cultural beliefs, gender, age, sexual orientation, geographic location, immigration status, and physical or mental abilities. This approach seeks to mobilize the talents, cultures and assets of California's diverse populations to improve the quality of our health systems and to promote health at the level of communities. A wide variety of publications covering topics such as access to care, mental health, cultural competence, and disparities in health can be downloaded in pdf format from the endowment's Web site.

Keywords: Cultural diversity, Underserved communities, . Program improvement, Access to health care, California, Cultural competence, Foundations

Annotation: The Center for Oral Health Research in Appalachia (COHRA) was established in 2002 to identify factors that lead to oral health disparities in children and families in Appalachia. The Center represents a collaboration from several sites including the University of Pittsburgh West Virginia University, University of Michigan, University of Iowa, and the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, the people of Bradford and Burgettstown in Pennsylvania and the people of Nicholas and Webster counties in West Virginia. The website provides information on the conceptual model and study design, project objectives and project status, publications, and future directions.

Keywords: Barriers, Geographic regions, Health promotion, Oral health, Research, Strategic plans, Underserved communities

Annotation: Hesperian is a non-profit publisher of books and educational materials that help people take the lead in their own health care and organize to improve health conditions in their communities. Herperian collaborates with health workers, grassroots groups, and community organizations around the world to develop books that are practical, accessible, and appropriate across varied conditions and cultures. The books are written to be understood by people with little formal education. The foundation's "open-copyright" policy encourages organizations to reproduce, translate, and adapt the materials for distribution on a not-for-profit basis. All materials are published in both English and Spanish, and the foundation's Translations Fund give small grants to help organizations translate Hesperian's books and newsletters into other languages. Their website has numerous links to useful organizations in its Action for Health section.

Keywords: International organizations, Public health, Community programs, Cultural sensitivity, Foundations, Spanish language materials, Underserved communities

Annotation: The Latino Medical Students Association (LMSA) strives to promote the recruitment, retention, academic success and support of Latinos in health profession careers that will help improve the delivery of health care services to Latinos and other medically underserved populations. The association promotes the development of a communication network for Latino medical and other health care students; fosters students' interests in improving health care for underserved communities; and offers educational enrichment programs for the recruitment of Latino medical school applicants. LMSA sponsors an annual conference and publishes an annual journal and a quarterly newsletter.

Keywords: Medical students, Hispanic Americans , Medical education, Minority health, Underserved communities

Annotation: The Health Promotion Resource Center (HPRC) at the Morehouse School of Medicine has developed a health promotion and disease prevention model for underserved populations. The center's philosophy is to increase health promotion efforts that are likely to be more successful in those populations where the community at risk identifies its own health concerns, develops its own prevention and/or intervention strategies, and forms a decision-making coalition board to make policy decisions and identify resources for program implementation. Health promotion, prevention, education, training, and information dissemination efforts are concentrated in, but are not limited to the areas of substance abuse, parenting, maternal and child health, cancer, and violence. Services to consumers include publications.

Keywords: Health promotion, Model programs, Rural population, Underserved communities, Urban population

Annotation: The National Association of Community Health Centers (NACHC) addresses the lack of access to basic health care by providing a unified voice and common source for research, information, training, and advocacy for a network of health centers and state and regional primary care organizations. The website contains information on policy and clinical issues, research and data, conferences, technical assistance, publications and resources, and careers. The association produces a magazine on news and issues surrounding health care delivery to the medically underserved and the community-based health professionals who serve them. NACHC also produces topical newsletters on developments in the legislative and policy arenas.

Keywords: Advocacy, Community health centers, Primary care, Rural health, Underserved communities

Annotation: The National Consortium of Telehealth Resource Centers (NCTRC) is an affiliation of the 14 Telehealth Resource Centers funded individually through cooperative agreements from the Health Resources & Services Administration, Office for the Advancement of Telehealth. The goal of the NCTRC is to increase the consistency, efficiency, and impact of federally funded telehealth technical assistance services. This was made possible by 14 Telehealth Resource Centers and administered through grant #G22RH30365 from the Office for the Advancement of Telehealth, Federal Office of Rural Health Policy, Health Resources and Services Administration, Department of Health and Human Services.

Keywords: Cost effectiveness, Policy development, Regional programs, Resources for professionals, Technical assistance, Telehealth, Underserved communities

Annotation: The National Dental Association HEALTH NOW™ initiative provides resources and services to underserved communities and works to increase health care access, eliminate disparities, increase health literacy, and promote prevention. The initiative also features and promotes the interest of inter-professional health teams (including dentists, physicians, optometrists, nurses, dental assistants and physician assistants); partnerships with community organizations, academic institutions, faith-based entities; and affiliations with community health centers, Federally Qualified Health Centers, schools and senior citizen communities. NDA-HEALTH NOW™ programs are active in Chicago, Dallas, New Orleans, and New York.

Keywords: Access to health care, Oral health, Professional societies, Underserved communities

Annotation: The National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research Health Disparities Research Program supports studies that provide a better understanding of the basis of health disparities and inequalities; develop and test tailored/targeted interventions for underserved populations; and explore approaches to the dissemination and implementation of effective findings to assure rapid translation into practice, policy, and action in communities.

Keywords: Barriers, Federal agencies, Federal grants, Grants guidance, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Oral health, Research, Underserved communities

Annotation: The National Public Health and Hospital Institute is a private nonprofit organization established in 1988 to address the major issues facing public hospitals, safety net institutions, underserved communities, and related health policy issues of national priority. It provides applied research and education activities, fellowship programs, and research. NPHHI provides consumers with publications and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Health policy, Public hospitals, Underserved communities

Annotation: The National Sudden and Unexpected Infant / Child Death and Pregnancy Loss Project IMPACT supports state and local infant death programs by sharing information and resources, fostering partnerships and communication, and promoting policy and legislative changes. Project IMPACT works with a wide range of audiences-- professionals, policymakers, parents, grandparents and caregivers--to spread the word about how to reduce the risk of SIDS and other infant death. The Project, which has a special focus on under-served populations, is a cooperative agreement between the federal Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB) and the Association of SIDS and Infant Mortality Programs (ASIP). Together with other MCHB-funded projects, Project IMPACT helps to promote SIDS research and risk reduction messages to professionals and consumers to ensure the best care possible for all infants. The Project also assists in providing resources and training for bereavement services.

Keywords: Bereavement, Collaboration, Resource centers, SIDS, . Underserved communities, Infant death, Infant health, Infant mortality, National MCH resource center

Annotation: Formed in 2005, the RCHN Community Health Foundation (RCHN CHF) is a not-for-profit operating foundation whose mission is to support and benefit the work of community health centers (CHCs) nationally. The Foundation's work focuses on three areas of critical importance to Federally Qualified Health Centers and medically underserved communities: access, affordable prescription drugs, and health information technology.

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health centers, Health services delivery, Underserved communities

Annotation: The Robert F. Kennedy Memorial promotes respect for human rights and social justice in the U.S. and around the world. It is dedicated to realizing Robert Kennedy's dream of a just world through programs that reflect his concerns and tackle the toughest problems facing our society.

Keywords: Poverty, Awards, Human rights, Leadership training, Mass media, Underserved communities, Youth development

Annotation: The National Sudden and Unexpected Infant / Child Death and Pregnancy Loss Project at the National Center for Cultural Competence (SID/ID Project) is designed to impact state and local SIDS/ID programs, family support and advocacy organizations, national organizations related to SDIS/ID issues, and the three other National SIDS/ID Centers funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB). Activities of the SID/ID Project are designed to increase the capacity of these programs and organizations to incorporate cultural and linguistic competence into their services and supports materials, training efforts, and community engagement. A variety of electronic publications and Web-based tools can be accessed from the Web site.

Keywords: Collaboration, Bereavement, Infant death, Infant health, Infant mortality, SIDS, Underserved communities

Annotation: TeamSmile is an advocacy group that partners oral health professionals with professional athletic organizations to provide oral health care to children in underserved communities. Children receive free oral health education, screening, treatment, and are taught that the mouth and body are linked for overall health.

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Dental care, Health education, Oral health, Screening, Sports, Underserved communities

Annotation: The National Health Service Corps (NHSC) builds healthy communities by supporting qualified health professionals working in areas of the United States with limited access to care. NHSC is a federal government program administered by the Health Resources and Services Administration's Bureau of Clinical Recruitment and Service that provides scholarships and loan repayment to primary care health professionals in NHSC-eligible disciplines. NHSC providers, in turn, commit to serving for at least two years at an NHSC-approved site located in a Health Professional Shortage Area.

Keywords: Community service, Health personnel, Infant mortality, Poverty, Substance abuse, Primary health care, Underserved communities

Annotation: The United States-Mexico Border Health Commission (USMBHC) provides international leadership in efforts to identify key health issues in the U.S.-Mexico border region and develop programs to address specific problems. USMBHC organizes work groups and conferences; advocates for health improvements; and promotes public awareness. The commission also provides news and information on legislative action, immunization efforts, and other relevant topics and provides an electronic newsletter. USMBHC is comprised of the federal secretaries of health, the chief health officers of the ten border states, and prominent community health professionals from both nations. The commission was created as a binational health commission in 2000 with the signing of an agreement by the Secretary of Health of Mexico and the Secretary of Health and Human Services of the United States. In Dec. 2004 the commission was designated as a Public International Organization by Executive Order of the President. Its publications are available in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Federal agencies, International health, Advocacy, Federal programs, Health promotion, Information dissemination, Legislation, Program development, Public health, Underserved communities

Annotation: The Pacific Center for Special Care is an organization within the Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry committed to improving the oral health of underserved people on the local, state and federal level. The center has created best-practice models of, and advocates for, improved access to dental care for anyone who faces challenges receiving oral health services through the traditional oral health care system. This includes groups and individuals who have difficulty maintaining good oral health or accessing oral health services because of medical, physical, social, economic, and geographic conditions. The website provides information about projects, the virtual dental home, and training.

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Health care systems, Oral health, Special health care needs, Systems development, Telemedicine, Training, Underserved communities