Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The U.S. Administration for Children and Families (ACF) administers programs focusing on the well-being of children and the self-sufficiency of families. Some services at ACF include programs involving persons with developmental disabilities, child care, child welfare services, prevention and treatment of child abuse and neglect, runaway and homeless youth, Head Start, Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), and child support enforcement issues. ACF also supports an Healthy Marriage Initiative which focuses on low-income married couples with children, the Fatherhood Initiative, and the Family Violence Prevention and Services Program. ACF provides consumers with referrals, publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish. The agency also publishes newsletters, and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child care, Child support, Domestic violence, Family centered care, Family economics, Family relations, Family support programs, Fathers, Head Start, Spanish language materials, Training materials, Young children

Annotation: The American Health Quality Association (AHQA) represents quality improvement organizations and professionals working to improve the quality of health care in communities across the country. AHQA offers education and networking opportunities for its members and provides information and publications for providers as well as consumers.

Keywords: , Quality assurance, Resources for professionals, Consumer education, Health services, Model programs, Professional training

Annotation: The Atlantic Coast Child Welfare Implementation Center is one of five regional training and technical assistance (TTA) centers funded by the Children's Bureau to partner with states and tribes to execute projects that will focus on the implementation of strategies that their child welfare systems have identified to improve the quality and effectiveness of child welfare services for children, youth, and families.

Keywords: Training, Child welfare, Region III, Region IV, Regional programs, Technical assistance

Annotation: The Center for Faith-Based and Community Initiatives works within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to create an environment that welcomes the participation of faith-based and community-based organizations as partners in assisting Americans in need. The center provides technical assistance, collaborates with religious and neighborhood organizations, and provides training for center staff so that they can better understand how to reach out and partner with these organizations. In addition, the center offers toolkits, fact sheets, and other resources covering a variety of topics to enhance the work of faith-based and community organizations.

Keywords: Religious organizations, Community based agencies, Community programs, Faith, Outreach, Technical assistance, Training

Annotation: The Center for Latino Community Health, Evaluation, and Leadership Training is a partnership between the National Council of La Raza and California State University, Long Beach to improve the health of the Latino community on local, regional, and national levels. The center develops health programs for underserved Latino communities, provides technical assistance to organizations already serving in this capacity, and furnishes Latino communities with the research and education needed to facilitate the development of effective health programs and policies.

Keywords: Community programs, Health policy, Hispanic Americans, Leadership training, National initiatives, Program development, Program evaluation, Public private partnerships, Training

Annotation: The Center for School Mental Health (CSMH) strengthens policies and programs in school mental health to improve learning and promote success for children and adolescents.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Clearinghouses, Conferences, Interdisciplinary training, Mental health, National MCH resource center, Publications, Referrals, Resource centers, School counseling, School health, School health programs, School personnel, School psychology, Spanish language materials, Technical assistance, Training

Annotation: The Center on the Social and Emotional Foundations for Early Learning is a five-year project designed to strengthen the capacity of child care and Head Start programs to improve the social and emotional outcomes of young children. Funded by Head Start and the Child Care Bureau in the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the center will develop training and technical assistance (T/TA) materials that reflect evidence-based practices for promoting children's social and emotional development and preventing challenging behaviors. The center will then work with professional organizations and Head Start and child care T/TA providers to ensure the use of the evidence-based practices in local demonstration sites.

Keywords: Child care, Child development, Child health, Children, Early childhood education, Head Start, Mental health, Nuvee, Prevention programs, Program improvement, Technical assistance, Training

Annotation: The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) is a consortia structure based on the agency's four key lines of business including (1) Medicare health plans operations, (2) financial management and fee for service operations, (3) Medicaid and children's health operations; and (4) quality improvement and survey and certification operations. Ten regional offices represent the agency in delivering key messages; putting into practice regulations, policy, and program guidance; and monitoring programs and evaluation of contractors/grantees. The website provides information on Medicare; Medicaid; the Children's Health Insurance Program; regulations and guidance; research, statistics, data, and systems; outreach and education; and tools. CMS was previously called the Health Care Financing Administration.

Keywords: Health care financing, Conferences, Data analysis, Diagnosis related groups, EPSDT, Federal agencies, Health insurance, Medicaid, Medicare, Program evaluation, Publications, Quality assurance, Spanish language materials, State agencies, State children', State programs, Statistics, Training, immunization, s health insurance program

Annotation: The Community-Campus Partnerships for Health (CCPH) is a nonprofit organization founded in 1996 to foster health-promoting partnerships between communities and educational institutions. It identifies students, institutional leaders, and community leaders as equal constituencies and serves as a bridge between government and foundation-sponsored initiatives in community-oriented health professions education. CCPH has an online newsletter, Partnership Matters; a mentor network that provides training and technical assistance; other training opportunities; and awards for exemplary partnerships.

Keywords: Collaboration, Community based services, Health occupations, Health personnel, Model programs, Public private partnerships, Training, Universities

Annotation: The Diversity Rx Web site serves as a clearinghouse of information on model programs, policies, and legal issues related to cross cultural health, in collaboration with the National Conference of State Legislatures, Resources for Cross Cultural Health Care, and the Kaiser Family Foundation. Diversity Rx sponsors conferences, produces reports, and hosts an email discussion group for those interested in cross-cultural healthcare news.

Keywords: Languages, Cultural competence, Clearinghouses. , Cultural diversity, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Health education, Linguistic competence, Model programs, Program development, Technical assistance, Training

Annotation: The U.S. Department of Agriculture Food and Nutrition Service (FNS), formerly called Food and Consumer Service, responds to inquiries and provides information and publications on federal maternal and child nutrition programs, including the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC), Child Nutrition Programs, Food Stamp Program, and Commodity Supplemental Food Program (CSFP). Some materials are available in Spanish. FNS publishes a newsletter, sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops, and offers a variety of resources and information online, including links to related nutrition programs and access to e-mail discussion groups.

Keywords: Nutrition, Child nutrition programs, Commodity food supplemental programs, Conferences, Federal programs, Maternal nutrition programs, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials, Supplemental food programs, Training, WIC program

Annotation: Great Kids Inc. is a nonprofit international training and consulting organization dedicated to developing early childhood and home based programs for families with children 0-5 years. It provides training materials, support services, and curricula for child care providers and program staff (including home visitors). Materials are available in both English and Spanish.

Keywords: Curricula, Early childhood, Home visiting, International programs, Parenting education, Pregnancy, Professional training, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: HealthConnect One strives to advance equitable, community-based, peer-to-peer support for pregnancy, birth, breastfeeding, and early parenting in communities that have been historically marginalized and inadequately served. The organization trains community health workers (CHWs), including doulas and breastfeeding peer counselors; mobilizes diverse stakeholders to develop policies and programs that improve MCH; assists organizations in developing programs that use peer support; and incorporates trained CHWs into paid positions in outreach, health education, and community health advocacy. The website provides information on advocacy; programs and training; news, events and resources; and ways to get involved.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Community based services, Community health aides, Home visiting, Indigenous outreach workers, MCH services, Model programs, Peer counseling, Peer support programs, Social support, Training

Annotation: The LEND Center at the University of Pittsburgh (formerly UCLID) is an interdisciplinary leadership training program in developmental disabilities affiliated with the University of Pittsburgh and Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh. Funded training opportunities are available to students enrolled in graduate and post-graduate programs in health care, psychology, education, public health, law, and social services. The program provides training with a focus on autism spectrum disorders, sickle cell disease, fragile X, and audiology.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Interdisciplinary approach, Leadership training, MCH training programs, University affiliated centers

Annotation: Created by the state legislature, the Louis de la Parte Florida Mental Health Institute (FMHI) works to strengthen mental health services through training, research, and demonstration. The Institute designs and evaluates innovative prevention and treatment techniques, and it trains agencies and mental health professionals statewide to implement similar techniques and programs. Target populations include children, adolescents, and adults with severe mental illnesses. The Institute Library maintains a large collection of fact sheets, brochures, technical publications, and audiovisual materials. Some materials are available in Spanish. FMHI also sponsors conferences and provides online training and certificate programs.

Keywords: Mental disorders, Adolescents, Affective disorders, Children, Florida, Mental health, Mental health professionals, Mental health programs, Psychiatric hospitals, Research, Substance abuse, Training

Annotation: The Lullaby Trust provides specialist support for bereaved families and promotes expert advice on safer baby sleep. It was previously called The Foundation for the Study of Infant Deaths (FSID).

Keywords: Child death, Infant death, International organizations, International programs, Professional resources, Public awareness materials, SIDS, Training, United Kingdom

Annotation: The MCH Training Grantee Network provides technical support and services to grantees of the Maternal and Child Health Bureau's Training Program, including Web development, elearning, video project consultation, digital storytelling, consultation, and technical training and tutorials. It also maintains Web sites for these grantee groups: developmental behavioral pediatrics (DBP), leadership competencies, leadership and education in adolescent health (LEAH), nutrition, pediatric pulmonary centers (PPC), and workgroups.

Keywords: Leadership training, Federal MCH programs, MCH training

Annotation: The MidAtlantic Public Health Training Center provides training and continuing education opportunities for the public health workforce in the tri-state MidAtlantic network, covering Delaware, Maryland, and the District of Columbia. It is funded by the U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, and has a variety of academic and practice partners in the three jurisdictions. It offers workshops, symposia, satellite broadcasts, conferences and internships.

Keywords: Distance education, Training, Public health education, Public health programs, Public health schools, Training materials, University affiliated programs

Annotation: The Midwest Child Welfare Implementation Center is one of five regional training and technical assistance (TTA) centers funded by the Children's Bureau to partner with States and Tribes to execute projects that will focus on the implementation of strategies that their child welfare systems have identified to improve the quality and effectiveness of child welfare services for children, youth, and families. This center serves Regions V and VII.

Keywords: Training, Child welfare, Region V, Region VII, Regional programs, Technical assistance

Annotation: The Mountains and Plains Child Welfare Implementation Center is one of five regional training and technical assistance (TTA) centers funded by the Children's Bureau to partner with States and Tribes to execute projects that will focus on the implementation of strategies that their child welfare systems have identified to improve the quality and effectiveness of child welfare services for children, youth, and families. This center serves Regions VI and VIII.

Keywords: Training, Child welfare, Region VI, Region VIII, Regional programs, Technical assistance