Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Academic Pediatric Association (APA) is dedicated to improving the health of all children and adolescents by providing leadership in the education of child health professionals, research and the dissemination of new knowledge, patient care with measurable improvements in health outcomes, and advocacy for an equitable children's health agenda. APA provides online educational resources and research networks, legislative updates, and publications including special reports, a newsletter, and the journal, Academic Pediatrics.

Keywords: Child health, Adolescent health, Child advocacy, Pediatrics, Professional education, Professional organizations, Professional training, Research , Resources for professionals

Annotation: The American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP) represents over 7,500 child and adolescent psychiatrists, physicians with at least five years of additional training beyond medical school in adult, child, and adolescent psychiatry. Academy members actively research, diagnose, and treat emotional, developmental, behavioral, and mental disorders affecting children, adolescents, and their families. The Academy provides public information, including a referral service that works with child advocacy groups, parents, teachers, and other medical and mental health professionals. Some family materials are available in Spanish, Arabic, Hebrew, Icelandic, Malaysian, Polish, Spanish, and Urdu. The academy publishes a catalog, a newsletter and a journal. The academy also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Psychiatry, Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Advocacy, Behavior, Child mental health, Children, Conferences, Foreign language materials, Guidelines, Mental health, Mental health professionals, Mental health services, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Referrals, Spanish language materials, Training

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) develops policy and educates health professionals and the public on pediatric health needs, and serves as an advocate for children, adolescents, and families by promoting legislation and community-based programs that affect their health. Publications include Red Book: Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases, AAP News, policy statements, manuals, patient education materials, and a monthly journal, Pediatrics, as well as a publications catalog. Some resources are available in Spanish and other languages. AAP also sponsors conferences and training seminars for members.

Keywords: Adolescents, Child abuse, Child advocacy, Child care, Child health, Conferences, Immunization, Injury prevention, Pediatrics, Preventive health services, Professional societies, Professional training, Publications, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: The American Health Quality Association (AHQA) represents quality improvement organizations and professionals working to improve the quality of health care in communities across the country. AHQA offers education and networking opportunities for its members and provides information and publications for providers as well as consumers.

Keywords: , Quality assurance, Resources for professionals, Consumer education, Health services, Model programs, Professional training

Annotation: The College of American Pathologists (CAP) is a medical society serving physician members and the laboratory community in the United States as well as abroad. CAP sponsors seminars, CME courses, and a national conference; provides print and electronic resources for members; promotes public health and wellness through media information; and advocates for sound government policy.

Keywords: Professional societies, Advocacy, Health personnel, Medical education, Pathologists, Policy development, Professional training, Resources for professionals

Annotation: Health Literacy Media (HLM, formerly Health Literacy Missouri) advocates for health literacy issues at the state and national level, working to effect policy change, inform stakeholders, and support and initiate grassroots and community activities. HLM provides fee-based services, programs, and materials to corporations, organizations, and health professionals. Services include a speakers bureau, readability services, field-testing of translated materials, training, program evaluation, printed and online material, local media communications, and building capacity for statewide initiatives.

Keywords: Advocacy, Health literacy, Information services, Resources for professionals, Training

Annotation: The Unintentional Injury Prevention and Control Program offers services to consumers that include referrals, publications and reference information. Materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian languages, and other languages.

Keywords: Curricula, Data, Educational materials, Injury Prevention, Injury surveillance systems, Massachusetts, Resources for professionals, State initiatives, Training, Training materials, Visual aids

Annotation: The National Alliance for Hispanic Health (NAHH) is a network of Hispanic health and human service providers that focuses on improving the health and well being of Hispanics. The alliance maintains the National Hispanic Family Health Helpline (866-783-2645) which offers Hispanic consumers free reliable and confidential health information in Spanish and English.Services to consumers includes referrals to local sources of information and medical services, inquiry responses, publications, and reference information.

Keywords: Hispanic Americans, Adolescent health, Child abuse, Child health, Education, Information services, Injury prevention, Minority health, Minority health promotion, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Substance abuse, Training

Annotation: The National Association of EMS Physicians (NAEMSP) has the mission to foster excellence and provide medical leadership so that all individual and communities receive quality out-of-hospital emergency medical services. The association develops guidelines and strategies to prevent discomfort, disability, and death in the community. It provides electronic communications, an EMS literature retrieval service, and a comprehensive network for all professionals servicing the EMS industry. Publications include a journal, Prehospital Emergency Care; a newsletter, NAEMSP News; and several textbooks. NAEMSP also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Emergency medical services, Injury prevention, Resources for professionals, Therapeutics, Training, Trauma

Annotation: The National Center for Disaster Medicine and Public Health (NCDMPH) is an academic center tasked with leading federal, and coordinating national, efforts to develop and propagate core curricula, education, training and research in all-hazards disaster health. It was established in 2008 by Homeland Security Presidential Directive-21 as a Center of the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences and receives additional program support from the Henry M. Jackson Foundation for the Advancement of Military Medicine. By establishing core curricula and competencies in disaster medicine and public health education, the NCDMPH will better prepare the nation to respond to natural and man-made disasters or other catastrophic public health events.

Keywords: Curricula, Disaster planning, Emergencies, Hazards, Health education, Professional education, Training for professionals

Annotation: The National Center for Disaster Preparedness (NCDP) serves as a national resource in disaster and terrorism readiness. The NCDP, which includes the CDC-funded Academic Centers for Public Health Preparedness (initiated prior to the attacks of September 11), works with other academic institutions, advocacy organizations, and public policy institutions to provide bioterrorism curriculum development, training for public health professionals, crisis-response mechanisms, surveillance models, preparedness standards, public policy analysis, and research methodologies in efforts to increase the nation's capacity to prevent and respond to terrorism and enhance disaster preparedness.

Keywords: Model programs, Professional training, Public health, . Research, Injury prevention, Leadership training, Preventive health services, Public health service, Resources for professionals, Standards, curricula

Annotation: Founded in 1985 by the American Prosecutors Research Institute in response to a dramatic increase in reported child abuse cases, the National Center for Prosecution of Child Abuse (NCPCA) works to improve the investigation and prosecution of child abuse through court reform, professional specialization, and interagency coordination. The center provides training and technical assistance, research services, a national network of child abuse prosecutors (through the National District Attorneys Association), and a clearinghouse on case law, court reforms, legislative initiatives, and trial strategies. Publications include a comprehensive manual, Investigation and Prosecution of Child Abuse, and a monthly newsletter, Update.

Keywords: Child abuse, Advocacy, Child advocacy, Clearinghouses, Information dissemination, Injury prevention, Legal issues, Resources for professionals, Training

Annotation: The National Commission for Health Education Credentialing (NCHEC) works to improve the quality of health education practice. The commission maintains a certification process for health education specialists and promotes professional preparation and continuing education programs. Publications include a newsletter.

Keywords: Certification, Continuing education, Health education, Professional review organizations, Professional standards review, Professional training, Resources for professionals

Annotation: ThinkFirst National Injury Prevention Foundation works to prevent brain, spinal cord, and other traumatic injuries through education, research, and advocacy. The foundation offers theory-based, evidence-based injury prevention programs for children, adolescents, and young adults; presentations through a chapter network; injury prevention facts; educational materials and resources; training for physicians and other health professionals; and speaker, volunteer, and support opportunities.

Keywords: Advocacy, Brain injuries, Child safety, Educational materials, Injury prevention, Multimedia, Prevention programs, Research, Resources for professionals, Spinal cord injuries, Traffic safety, Training