Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The American Association of Poison Control Centers (AAPCC) is a professional organization for poison control centers and individuals involved in clinical toxicology and poison prevention. Association activities include maintaining the nationwide toll-free number (800/222-1222) which reaches all U.S. Poison Centers. Other activities include an annual scientific meeting, certification specialists, data collection, and toxicosurveillance. AAPCC provides access to the New Core System Database (NCSBeta) -- a comprehensive poisoning surveillance database -- and annual reports (summaries) of data from the National Poisoning and Exposure Database -- which contains detailed toxicological information on more than 24 million poison exposures reported to U.S. poison centers.from 1983-2006.

Keywords: Poisons, Certification, Emergency medical services, Hotlines, Poison control centers, Population surveillance, Prevention, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Resource centers, Toxicology

Annotation: Healthy Child Healthy World (formerly the Children's Health Environmental Coalition) is dedicated to protecting the health and well being of children from harmful environmental exposures. The organization works to educate parents, support protective policies, and engage communities in making responsible decisions and well-informed lifestyle improvements to create healthy environments where children and families can flourish. Healthy Child Healthy World provides a variety on online resources, including environmental-safety checklists, articles describing preventive techniques, downloadable reports (many related to organic lifestyle choices), a community action kit, a blog featuring recognized health experts and highlighting news and events, an electronic newsletter, links to searchable databases, and Health eHouse -- an interactive virtual house designed to make it easier for families to identify environmental health hazards in the home.

Keywords: Environmental health, Child health, Household safety, Public awareness campaigns, Teratogens, Teratology, Toxicology

Annotation: The International Life Sciences Institute (ILSI) conducts and supports research on nutrition, toxicology, food safety, and environmental safety. Its divisions include the Human Nutrition Institute, Risk Science Institute, Health and Environmental Sciences Insitute, ILSI North America and ILSI Center for Health Promotion (Atlanta, GA). ILSI sponsors workshops, international conferences, and a research awards program, and produces publications including a catalog, newsletter, and journal. Services to consumers include referrals, inquiry responses, reference information, searchable databases, and publications. Some materials are available in Spanish, Asian, and other languages.

Keywords: Food safety, Nutrition research, Public health, Toxicology

Annotation: The National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) works to reduce the burden of human illness and disability by understanding how the environment nfluences the development and proression of human disease. NIEHS publishes the peer-reviewed journal Environmental Health Perspectives and provides online access to downloadable resources such as studies and eports. The NIEHS Library maintains a searchable online catalog and provides links to consumer health materials and resources for researchers. Some materials are available in Spanish and Chinese.

Keywords: Environmental health, Chemicals, Information services, Lead poisoning, Medical research, Public health, Toxicology

Annotation: The National Library of Medicine'sToxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) maintains an environmental health Web site that provides access to resources produced by TEHIP as well as other governrment agencies and organizations. The Web site includes links to databases, bibliographies, tutorials, and other scientific and consumer-oriented resources. Other toxicology and environmental health-related web resources available from TEHIP include the Households Products Database, HazMap (an occupational toxicology database), ToxMap (which uses U.S. maps to show the location of toxic chemicals), and Tox Town -- an interactive guide to commonly encountered toxic substances, your health, and the environment. Online reference tools guide users through the various components of the TEHIP site.

Keywords: Toxicology, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Environmental influences, Environmental pollution, Hazardous materials, Health sciences libraries, Information dissemination, Information services, Information sources, Online databases

Annotation: The National Toxicology Program (NTP) is a federal interagency program whose mission is to evaluate agents of public health concern by developing and applying tools of modern toxicology and molecular biology. The program maintains an objective, science-based approach in dealing with critical issues in toxicology and is committed to using the best science available to prioritize, design, conduct, and interpret its studies. The Web site provides information on the testing status of agents at NTP, study results, public health reports, and current areas of research.

Keywords: Environmental health, Federal programs, Public health, Toxicology

Annotation: The Reproductive Toxicology Center (RTC), a nonprofit foundation, collects and disseminates information on the impact of drugs, chemical and physical agents, or other environmental factors on human fertility, pregnancy, and development. Unlimited access to the Reprotox database of fact sheets is available with an annual membership. Members can access Reprotox on the Internet at http://reprotox.org.

Keywords: Teratology, Drug use during pregnancy, Environmental exposures, Fertility, Information services, Nonprescription drugs, Prescription drugs, Radiation, Recreational drug use, Teratogens, Toxicology