Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 18 (18 total).

American Public Human Services Association (APHSA)

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs (AMCHP)

Annotation: The Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs (AMCHP) supports state maternal and child health programs and provides national leadership on issues affecting women and children. AMCHP accomplishes its mission through the active participation of its members and partnerships with government agencies, families and advocates, health care purchasers and providers, academic and research professionals, and others at the national, state, and local levels. AMCHP tracks and analyzes emerging policy issues that impact family health and distributes the information to subscribers electronically via the AMCHP Legislative Alert. Issues areas include adolescent and school health; best practices; child health; data and assessment; family involvement; Medicaid, State Children's Health Insurance Program, and welfare; mental health; and women's and perinatal health. It also has a National Center for Health Reform Implementation.

Keywords: Maternal health, Advocacy, Block grants, CSHN programs, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Federal MCH programs, Guidelines, Models, Professional societies, Public policies, State programs, Technical assistance, Title V

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB)

Annotation: The Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB) is charged with primary responsibility for promoting and improving the health of our Nation's mothers and children. As part of the Health Resources and Services Administration, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, MCHB administers Title V of the Social Security Act. MCHB's mission is to provide national leadership and to work in partnership with States, communities, public-private partners, and families to strengthen the maternal and child infrastructure, assure the availability and use of medical homes, and build knowledge and human resources in order to assure continued improvement in the health, safety, and well-being of the maternal and child health population. MCHB administers major programs including the Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant, the Healthy Start Initiative, the Emergency Medical Services for Children Program, Traumatic Brain Injury, and the Universal Newborn Hearing Screening Program. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. MCHB also provides a national hotline for prenatal care information.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Block grants, Brain injuries, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Emergency medical services for children, Federal agencies, Healthy Start, Hearing screening, Hotlines, Infant health, MCH programs, MCH services, Maternal health, Perinatal health, Title V programs

Maternal and Child Health Information Resource Center (MCHIRC)

Annotation: The Maternal and Child Health Information Resource Center (MCHIRC) helps MCH practitioners on the federal, state, and local levels improve their capacity to gather, analyze, and use data for planning and policymaking. The MCHIRC is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau. Publications include The Health and Wellbeing of Children: A Portrait of States and the Nation, The National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs Chartbook, Child Health USA, and Women's Health USA. The resource center also sponsors a graduate student internship program and the DataSpeak web conference series, and provides technical assistance for state and local MCH agencies in published journal articles.

Keywords: Health statistics, Block grants, Child health, Conferences, Information services, Management, Policy development, Program descriptions, Public health, Publications, Research, Resource centers, Title V programs

National Center for Cultural Competence (NCCC)

Annotation: The purpose of the National Center for Cultural Competence (NCCC) is to increase the capacity of health and mental health programs to design, implement, and evaluate culturally and linguistically competent service delivery systems. The Center provides technical assistance and consultation, networking opportunities, and information for health professionals and policymakers about designing, implementing, and evaluating culturally competent health services, including services for children with special health care needs and their families. Resources and publications include policy briefs, checklists, self assessments, promising practices, distance learning, and conference information. The center's Web site includes a Spanish language portal for families.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Cultural diversity, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Guidelines, Infant care, Information networks, Information sources, Linguistic competence, National MCH resource center, Networking, Program development, Program evaluation, Publications, Resource centers, SIDS, Spanish language materials, Title V programs, Training

National Health Law and Policy Resource Center (NHLPR Center)

Annotation: The National Health Law and Policy Resource (NHLPR) Center's mission is to promote laws and public policies that foster and facilitate accessible, affordable and quality health care for all Americans, particularly vulnerable and disadvantaged populations. It furnishes a non-partisan forum for informed dialogue, based on the best available data and information, between academics, practitioners and public policy makers on important health law and policy issues. The center was formerly known as the National Maternal and Child Health Resource Center. Today the center maintains the following programs: the Maternal and Child Health Program, the Program on Health Care for the Aging, the Rural Health Care Program and the Health Care Conflict Management Program. Core activites of the center include conducting research and demonstration projects involving health law and policy and the provision of education and training and the provision of technical assistance and consultation to public policy makers, third-party payers of health services, health-care administrators, providers of health services and related services, health-care consumers and health-law practitioners. The center's Health Care Conflict Management Program also provides facilitation and mediation services for prevention and resolution of health care disputes. Another center activity is the operation of an Information Clearinghouse for a variety of health law and policy topics. These activities are externally funded through grants and contracts.

Keywords: Health care financing, Children with special health care needs, Information dissemination, Nutrition programs, Title V

Oregon Center for Children and Youth with Special Health Needs (OCCYSHN)

Annotation: OCCYSHN is Oregon’s Title V program for children and youth with special health needs funded by the federal Maternal Child Health Bureau, through a grant which is administered through the Child Development and Rehabilitation Center at Oregon Health and Sciences University. The Center works to promote coordinated, family-centered, community-based systems of care; provide policy and program development, population-based assessment and surveillance, and leadership for health systems and services in Oregon.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Family support programs, MCH programs, Oregon, Service coordination, Social Security Act, Title V, State programs

State Public Health Autism Resource Center (SPHARC)

Annotation: The State Public Health Autism Resource Center (SPHARC) is a resource center for state Title V agencies (supported through the MCH Block Grant) and others interested in improving systems for children, youth, and families with autism spectrum disorders and developmental disabilities. The SPHARC Web site provides state snapshots, promising practices, and other resources to support states as they develop and implement systems to improve the health and well-being of infants, children, and adolescents with autism and other special health care needs.

Keywords: Autism, Block grants, CSHN programs, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Developmental disabilities, Federal MCH programs, Maternal health, Models, National MCH resource center, Resource centers, State programs, Technical assistance, Title V

Title V Information System (TVIS)

Title V Information System, State MCH Applications and Contact Information

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Child, Adolescent, and Family Health (MCHB DCAFH)

Annotation: The Division of Child, Adolescent and Family Health (DCAFH) is one of five divisions in the Health Resources and Services Administration's (HRSA) Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB). The division focuses on improving health care for America's children and adolescents. Its preventive and primary care programs raise national awareness of such issues as the need for safe and healthy out-of-home childcare and the special emergency medical needs of children. Strategies include promoting national campaigns on safety and violence prevention that have proven effective in reducing illness, injury, and death among children and adolescents. DCAFH takes a lead role in encouraging comprehensive, community-based health care that combines public and private resources and promotes environments where healthy behaviors can develop.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Family health, Federal agencies, Health promotion, Preventive health services, Public awareness campaigns, Title V programs

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Healthy Start and Perinatal Services (MCHB DHSPS)

Annotation: The Division of Healthy Start and Perinatal Services (DHSPS) is one of five divisions of the Health Resources and Services Administration's (HRSA) Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB). The division provides national leadership that promotes healthy pregnancies and births and assures quality health care for all women. DPSWH develops and implements initiatives that focus on eliminating racial and ethnic disparities in perinatal and women's health, including comprehensive preventive services and programs that promote positive health behaviors. These initiatives include demonstration programs, partnerships with provider organizations and other federal agencies and bureaus, resource centers, mortality and morbidity review processes, and development of guidelines.

Keywords: Federal agencies, Health promotion, Healthy Start, Infant health, Infant mortality, Perinatal health, Prevention programs, Title V programs, Women', s health

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Maternal and Child Health Workforce Development (MCHB MCHWD)

Annotation: The Division of Maternal and Child Health Workforce Development (MCHWD) provides national leadership in planning, directing, coordinating, monitoring, and evaluating national programs related to professional and public education activities and training, focusing on the promotion of health and prevention of disease among women of reproductive age, infants, children, adolescents and their families, with special emphasis on the development and implementation of family-centered, comprehensive, care-coordinated, community-based and culturally competent systems of care for such populations. A listserv for all current and past trainees is available from the Association of University Centers on Disabilities.

Keywords: Federal agencies, Title V programs

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Research (MCHB DoR)

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Services for Children with Special Health Needs (MCHB DSCYSHN)

Annotation: The Division of Services for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs (DSCSHCN) is one of five divisions of the Health Resources and Services Administration's (HRSA's) Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB). The division supports systems of care for children and adolescents who have or are at risk for chronic conditions and who also require health and related services of a type or amount beyond that required by children generally.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Federal agencies, Title V programs

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of State and Community Health (MCHB DSCH)

Annotation: The Division of State and Community Health (DSCH) is one of five divisions of the Health Resources and Services Administration's (HRSA's) Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB). The division provides national leadership, direction, and administrative oversight for the Title V Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant Program, the State Systems Developments Initiative and the Abstinence Education programs. DSCH is the Federal Government's primary liaison with each of the 59 States and Jurisdictions Maternal and Child Health programs.

Keywords: Block grants, Federal agencies, Title V programs

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Office of Epidemiology and Research (MCHB OER)

Annotation: The Office of Epidemiology and Research (OER) provides a central location for all maternal and child health (MCH) data and research. The office administers funds and other resources for grants, contracts, and cooperative agreements; provides leadership in assisting in the development of the National Survey on Child Health and the National Survey on Children with Special Health Needs; coordinates the Health Information Technology efforts of the Bureau; and disseminates information on data collection and analysis on women of childbearing age, infants, children, and children with special health care needs.

Keywords: Federal agencies, Health surveys, MCH training, Research methodology, Technical assistance, Title V programs

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Office of Policy and Planning

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.