Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The American Trauma Society (ATS), a membership organization for health care trauma personnel, works to save lives through improved trauma care and injury prevention. ATS provides critical information on trauma to its members, to policy makers, and to the public. It supports the needs of families. It is also a strong supporter of injury prevention, creating and producing programs and providing these programs to its members. ATS programs cover the life-time of a person beginning with safety for children (the “Traumaroo Program”), teen behavior (alcohol, driving, etc.), adult and senior years (falls and driving). The society provides brochures and other print materials, videos, and posters to assist members in their community injury prevention programs.

Keywords: Emergency medical services, Injury prevention, Safety education, Therapeutics, Trauma

Annotation: Founded in 1980, the Brain Injury Association of America seeks to create a better future through brain injury prevention, research, education and advocacy. Services to consumers include inquiry responses, information packets, and referrals to local resources. Publications include The National Directory of Brain Injury Rehabilitation Services, various brochures, including the eight-part "Road to Rehabilitation" series. Some materials are available in Spanish. The association also sponsors workshops, conferences, training seminars, and Brain Surgery Awareness Month in March.

Keywords: Advocacy, Brain injuries, Support groups, Education, Injury prevention, Intervention, Long term care, Rehabilitation, Research, Therapeutics, Trauma

Annotation: The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making about clinical treatments. Databases include the Cochrane database of systematic reviews, the database of abstracts of reviews of effects, the central register of controlled trials, the methodology register, the health technology assessment database, and the NHS economic evaluation database. Reviews explore the evidence for and against the effectiveness and appropriateness of treatments (medications, surgery, education, etc.) in specific circumstances. Summaries of the information are available at no charge on the Web site, and full access is available through libraries, by subscription, on CD-ROM, or on a pay-per-view basis. Some countries provide free access via varous arrangements within the country.

Keywords: Databases, Evidence based medicine, Literature reviews, Therapeutics

Annotation: As part of The George Washington University Medical Center, Ensuring Solutions knows that misuse of alcohol, a legal drug, is a major public health issue. Through its outreach and communications efforts, Ensuring Solutions emphasizes that alcohol problems:can be treated effectively; often have a strong genetic component; are chronic in nature, similar to asthma, diabetes and high blood pressure; require early detection and continuing care; cost business and communities more when left untreated. Ensuring Solutions provides research-based information on effective alcohol treatment and the barriers many people face when they seek help for a drinking problem.

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol abuse, Therapeutics

Annotation: Mayo Clinic is an integrated, not-for-profit group practice comprising staff physicians and scientists; residents, fellows, and students; and administrative and allied health personnel. The practice provides health services, health information, and education and research in clinics and hospitals in Rochester, Minnesota; Jacksonville, Florida; and Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona. The websites, MayoClinic.com, MayoClinic.edu, and MayoClinic.org, provide information and resources for clients and professionals. Health information topics include diseases and conditions, symptoms, drugs and supplements, tests and procedures, healthy lifestyle, and first aid. E-newsletters and a personalized health guidance tool are also available.

Keywords: Child health promotion, Consumer education, Development, Health promotion, Information sources, Internet, Nutrition, Therapeutics, Women', s health

Annotation: The National Association of EMS Physicians (NAEMSP) has the mission to foster excellence and provide medical leadership so that all individual and communities receive quality out-of-hospital emergency medical services. The association develops guidelines and strategies to prevent discomfort, disability, and death in the community. It provides electronic communications, an EMS literature retrieval service, and a comprehensive network for all professionals servicing the EMS industry. Publications include a journal, Prehospital Emergency Care; a newsletter, NAEMSP News; and several textbooks. NAEMSP also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Emergency medical services, Injury prevention, Resources for professionals, Therapeutics, Training, Trauma

Annotation: The National Association of State EMS Directors (NASEMSD) brings together the emergency medical services (EMS) directors of each state, the District of Columbia, and the U.S. territories. The association provides leadership in developing effective emergency medical systems and helps to formulate national EMS policy. It also sponsors an annual conference, and maintains databases on U.S. ambulance services and on physicians who provide medical direction to EMS provider agencies.

Keywords: Emergency medical services, Ambulances, Child health, Child injury, Emergency Medical System, Injuries, Injury prevention, National organizations, Resources for professionals, Therapeutics, Trauma

Annotation: The National Child Traumatic Stress Network (NCTSN) is a coalition of 54 treatment centers working to improve the quality, effectiveness, and availability of therapeutic services delivered to all children and adolescents experiencing traumatic events. The Network -- a Congressional initiative funded by the Center for Mental Health Services, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, US Department of Health and Human Services -- will collect data for systematic study; help to educate professionals and the public about the effects of trauma on children; and develop and disseminate effective, evidence-based treatments. The National Resource Center for Child Traumatic Stress (NRC-CTS) supports the mission of NCTSN by providing relevant information and resources to professionals and the public, including survivors of childhood trauma, their families, and communities. The Resource Center provides referrals, inquiry responses, reference information, and publications for consumers. The NCTSN Web site provides access to full-text reports, related reading lists, an archive of NCTSN newsletters, and the PILOTS database of scientific literature on traumatic stress. Some client brochures about child traumatic stress are available in foreign languages.

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Coalitions, Emergency medical services, Resource centers, Therapeutics, Trauma, Treatment services

Annotation: The Trauma Foundation is an independent nonprofit agency whose mission is to reduce the number of injuries and deths due to injuries, including those related to burns, domestic violence, firearms, transportation, the workplace, youth violence, and all injuries involving excess alcohol use, through prevention, improved trauma care, and improved rehabilitation. Its activities include data collection and research to support injury prevention policies; policy development and education; and information dissemination.

Keywords: Head injuries, Injury prevention, Public policies, Substance abuse, Therapeutics, Unintentional injuries, Violence prevention

Annotation: The Center for Substance Abuse Treatment (CSAT) is a component of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, Department of Health and Human Services. The center works to improve and expand treatment and recovery programs for people with substance abuse addictions through a comprehensive approach involving treatment professionals as well as service providers in education, employment, housing, criminal justice, and primary health care. CSAT works with States and community-based groups to improve and expand existing substance abuse treatment services under the Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant Program. Its programs target major U.S. cities, critical populations (adolescents, racial and ethnic minorities, residents of public housing, the homeless, rural and migrant populations), the criminal justice system, and women, infants, and children. CSAT runs a 24 hour English and Spanish national help line for substance abuse information and treatment referral (800) 622-HELP. Publications, trainings and workshops are also provided through CSAT.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Substance abuse, Therapeutics