Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS), a Canadian public corporation, provides information on occupational diseases and safety (e.g., ingredients, health and hazards data, storage and handling, personal protection, case law) and chemical product safety. The centre disseminates information through a worldwide electronic information service (online and CD-ROM), direct responses to queries, and publications. Some materials are available in French. Services to consumers also include referrals. The organization publishes a catalog and newsletter, and sponsors training seminars. Representatives of government, management, and labor oversee the centre.

Keywords: Reproductive hazards, Canada, Information dissemination, Occupational safety and health, Teratogens, Teratology

Annotation: The Connecticut Pregnancy Exposure Information Service operates a telephone service that provides current information on the possible risk to a fetus exposed to a particular medication, chemical, infection, or substance abuse during pregnancy. The service is offered to women who are pregnant or planning a pregnancy, health care providers, and concerned partners who want information, education, or counseling about exposure risks. Callers at risk or with complicated exposures are encouraged to seek personal genetic counseling, which can be provided by this service or by a genetic counselor in the caller's region. Telephone callers receive written follow-ups. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Publications include fact sheets and a newsletter.

Keywords: Reproductive hazards, Connecticut, Drug use during pregnancy, Fetus, Hotlines, Information services, Pregnancy, Risk assessment, Substance abuse, Teratogens, Teratology

Annotation: Healthy Child Healthy World (formerly the Children's Health Environmental Coalition) is dedicated to protecting the health and well being of children from harmful environmental exposures. The organization works to educate parents, support protective policies, and engage communities in making responsible decisions and well-informed lifestyle improvements to create healthy environments where children and families can flourish. Healthy Child Healthy World provides a variety on online resources, including environmental-safety checklists, articles describing preventive techniques, downloadable reports (many related to organic lifestyle choices), a community action kit, a blog featuring recognized health experts and highlighting news and events, an electronic newsletter, links to searchable databases, and Health eHouse -- an interactive virtual house designed to make it easier for families to identify environmental health hazards in the home.

Keywords: Environmental health, Child health, Household safety, Public awareness campaigns, Teratogens, Teratology, Toxicology

Annotation: The National Center for Environmental Health (NCEH), a component of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), strives to promote health and quality of life by preventing or controlling those diseases or deaths that result from interactions between people and their environment. Programs and campaigns include vessel sanitation, healthy places, poisoning prevention, and air pollution and resipratory health. Information is also provided on asthma and emergency response. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information and publications, including a newsletter. The center also sponsor conferences and training seminars and workshops. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Congenital abnormalities, Data, Developmental disabilities, Environmental health, Environmental influences, Government financing, Hazardous materials, Lead poisoning, Medical research, Reproductive hazards, Teratology

Annotation: The National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities (NCBDDD) is a federal agency within the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Activities include surveillance, research, technical assistance to states, and provision of information and education to the public. Topics include: causes of birth defects (including causes, having a healthy pregnancy, folic acid, and fetal alcohol syndrome); developmental disabilities (austism spectrum disorders, cerebal palsy, vision impairment, hearing loss, mental retardation), helping children develop and reach their full potential (child development, early hearing detection and intervention, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, Duchenne Becker Muscular Dystrophy), and promoting health and well-being among people of all ages with disabilities (disability and health, hereditary blood disorders, and woment with disability). NCBDDD publishes a newsletter and a journal and sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops. Some publications and the Web site are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Data, Developmental disabilities, Disease prevention, Environmental health, Human development, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Teratology

Annotation: The National Organization on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome (NOFAS) is a non-profit public health advocacy organization that develops and implements innovative ideas in prevention, education, intervention, and public policy in the United States and internationally. It provides materials for educators, advocacy groups, expectant mothers, those living with fetal alcohol spectrum disorders, and health care professionals.

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Drug use during pregnancy, Family support programs, Fetal alcohol effects, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Teratogens, Teratology

Annotation: The National Pesticide Information Center (NPIC) provides information on a variety of pesticide-related topics, including toxicology, health and environmental effects, pesticide product information, information on the recognition and management of pesticide poisonings, treferrals for laboratroy analyses, investigation of pesticide incidents, emergency treatment information, safety information, and clean-up and disposal procedures. NPIC provides a toll-free telephone service available to anyone in the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands including the general public, the hearing impaired, Spanish speakers and medical, veterinary, and other health care professionals.

Keywords: Insecticides, Environmental exposures, Hotlines, Information services, Non English language materials, Spanish language materials, Teratogens, Teratology

Annotation: The Organization of Teratology Information Specialists (OTIS) is an organization of teratology Information Services (TIS) located throughout the United States and Canada. OTIS provides pregnancy risk education prior to and during pregnancy in efforts to improve pregnancy outcomes, increase infant and child health, and decrease birth defects, mental retardation, and learning disabilities. The organization provides a toll-free 800 number of counseling and education and offers more than 60 fact sheets for consumers (some are available in Spanish and French) on topics such as flu, cancer, depression, chicken pox, alcohol, and the effects of drug exposure during pregnancy. A complete list of TIS sites is posted on the Web site.

Keywords: Spanish language materials, Teratology, Information services, Non-English language materials, Teratogens

Annotation: The Pregnancy Risk Network is a telephone service that provides medical information to pregnant women and their health care providers on the possible risk of birth defects after prenatal exposure to medications, occupational exposures, alcohol, and other agents. This service is available Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Calls received from outside the upstate New York area are answered on an as-available basis. Pregnancy Risk Network sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Teratology

Annotation: The Reproductive Toxicology Center (RTC), a nonprofit foundation, collects and disseminates information on the impact of drugs, chemical and physical agents, or other environmental factors on human fertility, pregnancy, and development. Unlimited access to the Reprotox database of fact sheets is available with an annual membership. Members can access Reprotox on the Internet at http://reprotox.org.

Keywords: Teratology, Drug use during pregnancy, Environmental exposures, Fertility, Information services, Nonprescription drugs, Prescription drugs, Radiation, Recreational drug use, Teratogens, Toxicology

Annotation: The Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders (FASD) Center for Excellence is a project of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) devoted to preventing and treating FASD. The center has congressional mandates to: 1) study innovative clinical interventions and service delivery improvement strategies; 2) identify communities with exemplary comprehensive systems of care; 3) provide technical assistance to communities without comprehensive systems of care; 4) provide training to individuals in various service systems dealing with persons and families affected by FASD; 5) develop innovative techniques to prevent alcohol use by women in childbearing years; and 6) perform other functions, to the extent authorized by the Secretary of Health and Human Services, after consideration of recommendations made by the National Task Force on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome. The Information Resource Center within the FASD Center for Excellence maintains an online database of selected journal articles, reports, books, and other materials to identify evidence-based information on FASD. The FASD Center also publishes special reports and provides public access (by appointment) to its Viewing Library located in Rockville, Maryland.

Keywords: Alcohol use during pregnancy, Alcohol abuse, Disorders, Drug affected children, Fetal alcohol effects, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Online databases, Preventive health services, Resource centers , Service delivery systems, Substance abuse prevention, Substance abuse treatment services, Technical assistance, Teratology

Annotation: The Teratology Society supports researchers in the emerging field of teratology through conferences, symposia, and publications. The Society produces Birth Defects Reserch (formerly known asTeratology), a monthly international journal of abnormal development. The Society offers education courses, symposia, and workshops during the annual meeting held in June each year.

Keywords: Teratology, Developmental disabilities, Teratogens

Annotation: The Fetal Alcohol and Drug Unit (FADU) is a research unit dedicated to the prevention, intervention and treatment of Fetal Alcohol Syndrome (FAS) and Fetal Alcohol Effects (FAE). The unit conducts research on fetal alcohol and drug effects across the life span; disseminates information on fetal alcohol and drug effects; provides training in human behavioral teratology; and provides consultation services for individuals of any age thought to be affected by prenatal exposure to alcohol. Links to FADU publications and other FAS/FAE resources are located on the Web site.

Keywords: Fetal alcohol syndrome, Alcohol abuse, Drug use during pregnancy, Fetal alcohol effects, Information sources, Maternal fetal exchange, Medical research, Preventive health services, Teratogens, Teratology, Training

Annotation: The Pregnancy RiskLine is a telephone service for parents, potential parents, and medical professionals in Utah and Montana who request information, education, and counseling on the potential consequences of exposure to environmental hazards in pregnancy. Services include referrals, publications, and literature reviews. Materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian languages, and other languages. The organization also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Reproductive hazards, Teratogens, Teratology

Annotation: The Washington Poison Center is a statewide provider of immediate, free and expert treatment advice and assistance on the telephone in the case of exposure to poisonous, hazardous or toxic substances. The WPC is accessible toll-free, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Topics include general safety, medicine, food, plants, pets, adolescents,seniors, hazards, first aid, and fun and games. The center provides Mr. Yuk stickers, prevention and treatment guides in various languages, fact sheets, coloring and activity books, a teacher's guide with lesson plans and activity ideas, mini-posters, videos, and other materials. Callers not residing in Washington state are referred automatically by the national poison help line to poison control centers in their state. Languages include Chinese, Korean, Russian, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

Keywords: Teratogens, Hotlines, Poison control centers, Reproductive hazards, Risk assessment, Teratology, Washington

Annotation: The Windsor Occupational Health Information Service (WOHIS) is a United Way-sponsored community organization that maintains an extensive resource library (including a direct link to the computer service of the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety) and offers assistance with information requests. The service also produces publications on reproductive hazards and provides referrals to consumers.

Keywords: Reproductive hazards, Information services, Occupational safety and health, Teratogens, Teratology

Annotation: The Wisconsin Clearinghouse For Prevention Resources is an official information and materials resource for the state of Wisconsin that also serves schools, agencies, programs, community groups, and businesses nationwide. Its goal is to strengthen individuals, families, and communities. The Clearinghouse provides a wide range of educational materials and services to prevention specialists, counselors, and other professionals. Topics include alcohol and other drugs, curricula and teacher resources, high-risk youth and high-risk behaviors, resources for programs and professionals, tobacco and smoking, fetal alcohol syndrome, primary prevention and health promotion, mental health, and families and substance abuse prevention. Posters, publications and videotapes are available. Some materials are available in Spanish, plus a few items also available in Chinese, Vietnamese, Cambodian, and Korean. The organization publishes a quarterly newsletter.

Keywords: Alcoholic beverages, Audiovisual materials, Curricula, Educational materials, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Health promotion, High risk adolescents, Mental health, Recreational drug use, Self help clearinghouses, Smoking, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Teratology, Tobacco, Wisconsin