Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 6 (6 total).

ASCD

Annotation: ASCD (formerly the Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development) is an international educational leadership organization of professional educators from all levels and subject areas -- superintendents, supervisors, principals, teachers, professors of education, and school board members. Focus areas include publications, professional development, initiatives and programs, and public policy.

Keywords: Curriculum development, Education, Supervision, Teachers

Education Resources Information Center (ERIC)

Annotation: The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature from 1966 to the present. ERIC also contains a growing collection of materials in Adobe PDF format. ERIC's mission is to provide a comprehensive, easy-to-use, searchable Internet-based bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information for educators, researchers, and the general public. Activities that fulfill the ERIC mission are broadly categorized as collection development, content authorizations and agreements, acquisitions and processing, database and website operations, and communications.

Keywords: Continuing education, Curricula, Education, Educational programs, Evaluation methods, Online databases, Professional education, Teachers

National Association of Early Childhood Teacher Educators, Dept. of Teaching & Learning (NAECTE)

Annotation: The National Association of Early Childhood Teacher Educators (NAECTE) promotes the professional growth of early childhood teacher educators and advocates for improvements in early childhood teacher education. NEACTE responds to consumer inquiries, publishes a journal (Journal of Early Childhood Teacher Education), and sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Early childhood education, Professional education, Professional personnel, Teachers

National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE)

Annotation: The National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE), is a specialized accrediting body for teacher education. The council is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education as the only accrediting body for professional education units in schools, departments, and colleges of education that prepare professional educators to staff school programs for children from birth through grade 12. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. NCATE publishes a newsletter and places its list of accredited institutions on its website

Keywords: Accreditation, Education, Professional education, Teachers

National PTA (PTA)

Annotation: The National PTA is a nonprofit association of parents, educators, and students whose mission is to advocate for children in the schools, the community, and before governing bodies, and to encourage parent and public involvement in the public schools. The organization sponsors Building Successful Partnerships, a parent involvement initiative which focuses on increasing the level of awareness and the implementation of the National Standards for Parent/Family Involvement Program in schools. The National PTA also provides information on parenting techniques and activities for promoting family interaction. Online information is provided on legislative issues affecting children and on local PTA activities throughout the country. The National PTA sponsors an annual conference.

Keywords: Child advocacy, Family school relations, Parent education programs, Parent participation, Teachers

PE Central

Annotation: PE Central provides information and programs for those responsible for teaching children in physical activity settings. Although the organization primarily caters to physical education teachers, it does offer information for parents and programs for students as well. Examples of PE Central programs include "Log It" -- an internet-based pedometer step-logging program (located at http://www.peclogit.org), and Get Active Stay Active, a program for teens (located at http://getactivestayactive.com)

Keywords: Consumer education, Exercise, Health promotion, Parent education, Physical education, Physical fitness, Teachers, Training materials
   

The MCH Digital Library is one of six special collections at Geogetown University, the nation's oldest Jesuit institution of higher education. It is supported in part by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under award number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy with an award of $700,000/year. The library is also supported through foundation and univerity funding. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.