Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The American Council on Alcoholism (ACA) is a national nonprofit health organization dedicated to educating the public about the effects of alcohol, alcoholism, and alcohol abuse, and the need for prompt effective, readily-available, and affordable alcoholism treatment.

Keywords: Substance abuse prevention programs, Alcohol abuse, Drug abuse

Annotation: Free To Grow is a national demonstration program aimed at strengthening Head Start's organizational capacity and local partnerships to implement integrated family and community strengthening strategies to reduce young children's vulnerability to substance abuse, child abuse and other destructive behaviors. Free to Grow works to identify the best ideas and practices in the field of prevention in general, and substance abuse and child abuse prevention in particular, and apply them to improve the overall environment of young children. There are fifteen Free To Grow sites across the country. These sites work in collaboration with local funding and program partners, including school systems, law enforcement, and substance abuse and mental health treatment programs. Funded by a partnership of foundations and government agencies, the program operates out of Columbia University's Mailman School of Public Health. The Web site provides an electronic newsletter and information about strategies and resources of use to families and professionals.

Keywords: Child abuse, Community programs, Head Start, National initiatives, Prevention programs, Substance abuse

Annotation: Join Together works to advance effective alcohol and drug policy, prevention and treatment. It provides publications and reference information for consumers, and maintains searchable databases. Join Together is a project of the Boston University School of Public Health.

Keywords: Community programs, Substance abuse prevention

Annotation: The Links Foundation is a nonprofit organization operated exclusively for charitable and educational purposes. The Foundation is empowered to design support and conduct educational activities useful to individuals, groups and communities. The Foundation also provides services to youth which are directed toward upgrading both their academic and technical skills, charitable services to senior citizens, and supporting the defense of individual and group human and civil rights. The Links Foundation also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Adolescents, Blacks, Family planning programs, Minority groups, Substance abuse prevention

Annotation: A service of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), SAMHSA’s National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information (NCADI ) is the Nation’s primary resource for information about substance abuse prevention and addiction treatment. Free and low-cost information, publications, and multimedia resources are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, through toll-free phone service in English and Spanish. NCADI’s resources and Library databases are also accessible online. Materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages. Anyone can sign up to receive electronic news updates. The on-site Resource Library is open to the public, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Drug abuse, Substance abuse prevention programs

Annotation: The National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence (NCADD) works to prevent and control alcoholism through programs of public and professional education, medical and scientific information, and public policy advocacy. The council refers callers to local affiliates for counseling and provides print information on alcoholism. Publications include a catalog and a newsletter.

Keywords: Alcoholism, Drug abuse, Substance abuse prevention programs, Substance abuse

Annotation: The National Inhalant Prevention Coalition (NIPC) is a public-private effort to promote awareness and recognition of the problem of inhalant use. NIPC serves as an inhalant referral and information clearinghouse, stimulates media coverage about inhalant issues, develops informational materials, produces ViewPoint (a quarterly newsletter), provides training and technical assistance, and leads a week-long national grassroots inhalant education and awareness campaign, the National Inhalants and Poisons Awareness Week. A spanish-language version of the website is also available.

Keywords: Inhalants, Consumer education, Prevention, Substance abuse prevention programs

Annotation: The Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP) works with federal, state, public, and private organizations to develop comprehensive prevention systems. CSAP provides national leadership in the development of policies, programs, and services to prevent the onset of illegal drug use, prescription drug misuse and abuse, alcohol misuse and abuse, and underage alcohol and tobacco use. CSAP also promotes effective substance abuse prevention practices that enable states, communities, and other organizations to apply prevention knowledge effectively.

Keywords: Substance abuse, Alcoholic beverages, Alcoholism, Drugs, High risk adolescents, Prevention programs, Self help clearinghouses

Annotation: The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. SAMHSA's mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities. The website provides information about strategic initiatives, health reform, prevention, treatment, and recovery;publications in English and Spanish; data; and grants.

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Drug abuse, Mental health, Model programs, Substance abuse prevention programs, Substance abuse treatment services