Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 9 (9 total).

Annie E. Casey Foundation, Kids Count

Annotation: Kids Count, a project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation, is a national and state-by-state effort to track the status of children in the United States. By providing policymakers and citizens with benchmarks of child well-being, KIDS COUNT seeks to enrich local, state, and national discussions concerning ways to secure better futures for all children. The Casey Foundation supports KIDS COUNT projects in more than 50 areas of the United States to raise public awareness and accountability for the condition of kids and families. The Kids Count project conducts surveys, collects and compiles data, hosts online data sites, including CLIKS online (a database of county, city and community level information on children), and publishes a variety of data books and pocket guides

Keywords: Statistical data, Child advocacy, Child health, Child welfare, Data collection, Online databases, Public awareness campaigns, Publications

Child Trends

Annotation: Child Trends is a nonprofit research organization that works to improve the lives and prospects of children and youth through high-quality research. Clients include researchers, policymakers, funders, and practitioners. Services include high-level analyses and helping organizations make their direct services more effective. Resources include indicators of children's well-being, a searchable database of evaluated programs serving children and youth and research based on those evaluations, and a national knowledge center providing insight on U.S. Latino children and families. Child Trends also hosts a newsroom and blog.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Child health, Community programs, Data analysis, Data collection, Family relations, Health statistics, Information sources, Model programs, Program descriptions, Research, Statistical analysis

First Things First

Annotation: First Things First supports the healthy development and learning of young children from birth to age 5 in Arizona. The website explains why the early years are critical for a child's healthy development and why investing in quality early childhood programs benefits children, families, communities, and the state. The website includes information for parents and families on topics such as brain development, ages and stages, child care and preschool, and literacy. Resources include a parent kit; a birth to five helpline; annual and biennial reports on statewide and regional needs and assets, and regional impact; research on brain science, quality early learning, and parenting education and family support; and data and statistics relevant to early childhood on national, state, and local levels.

Keywords: Arizona, Child care, Child health, Child safety, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Family support, Learning, Parent education, Research, School readiness, State initiatives, Statistical data, Young children

Maternal and Child Health Epidemiology and Statistics Program (MCHESP)

Annotation: The Maternal and Child Health Epidemiology and Statistics Program (MCHESP) helps MCH practitioners on the federal, state, and local levels to improve their capacity to gather, analyze, and use data for planning and policymaking. The website provides information about the graduate student epidemiology program including internships for public health students, the DataSpeak web conference series, and supported projects. Additional resources include publishing technical assistance, publications (chartbooks and databooks), and research and data.

Keywords: Distance education, Epidemiology, Federal programs, Graduate education, MCH research, Planning, Policy development, Population surveillance, Public health infrastructure, Statistical data, Technical assistance

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)

Annotation: The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) provides consumers with referrals, publications, and reference information. It publishes a catalog and sponsors conferences and training seminars. Materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian, and other languages.

Keywords: Data, Education, Statistical surveys, Statistics

National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatits, STD, and TB Prevention, Division of Adolescent and School Health (DASH)

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Division of Adolescent and School Health promotes the health and well-being of children and adolescents to enable them to become healthy and productive adults. The website provides information on coordinated school health, health and academics, and school health surveillance. Publications and information on policy, health topics, data and statistics, program evaluation, training, and funded programs and funding opportunities are also provided. Success stories and resources for parents and teachers are also available.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescents, Federal programs, Financing, Health behavior, Health policy, Health promotion, Population surveillance, Program development, Program evaluation, Risk taking, School age children, School health education, School health programs, Statistical data, Students, Teaching, Training

National Survey of Children's Health Data Resource Center

Annotation: The National Survey of Children's Health Data Resource Center provides information on children's health and well-being collected in a manner that allows comparisons among states as well as nationally. The Web site provides an interactive data query feature which allows users to search more than 60 measures and child health and well-being derived from the National Survey of Children's Health, 2003 and to compare results for children of different ages, race and ethnicity groups, etc. Topics include children's physical and mental health stuatus; child and family demographics; health insurance status; family health and activities; access and use of health care services; parental health status; and parent's perceptions of neighborhood characteristics. Data files from the National Survey of Children's Health, 2003 can be downloaded in SAS format at no cost from the Web site. This center is a project of the Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative (CAHMI). The center is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: , Data, Online databases, Child health, Resource centers, Statistical surveys, Statistics

UCLA Center for Health Policy Research

Youth Indicators, 2005: Trends in the Well-Being of American Youth

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.