Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Alabama Department of Public Health Oral Health Branch provides oral health education programs and materials, community water fluoridation, and a dental screening program. It also provides oral health data and information on finding a dentist.

Keywords: Alabama, Oral health, State health agencies

Annotation: The Alaska Health Education Library Project (AHELP) is an electronic clearinghouse of current health promotion and health education resources that are specific to and available in Alaska. It contains information on health promotion programs, projects and materials, key contact people in health promotion program areas, a calendar of health observances and health promotion training and events, and resource organizations at the state and national level. AHELP has an online discussion list (listserv) for professionals involved in health education and health promotion.

Keywords: Alaska, Clearinghouses, Health sciences libraries, Listservs, State agencies

Annotation: The Arizona Health Sciences Library (AHSL) is open to the public for on-site use; faculty, staff, students, and health care professionals licensed in Arizona may check out materials; electronic resources are accessible off-site for faculty, staff, and students.

Keywords: Arizona, Health sciences libraries, State agencies

Annotation: The Arkansas Center for Health Improvement's (ACHI's) mission is to be a catalyst for improving the health of Arkansans through evidence-based research, public issue advocacy, and collaborative program development. It focuses on: (1) improvements in access to and quality of health care; (2) elimination of financial barriers due to a lack of health insurance coverage; and (3) mitigation of health risks in order to improve Arkansas’s underlying population health.

Keywords: Arkansas, Health agencies, State organizations

Annotation: The Association of State Public Health Nutritionists is a membership organization that provides state and national leadership on food and nutrition issues, programs, and services aimed at improving population health.

Keywords: Public health, Advocacy, Education, Health promotion, Nutrition, Nutrition programs, Policy development, Standards, State health agencies

Annotation: The California Department of Mental Health has oversight of a public mental health budget of more than $4 billion, including local assistance funding. Its responsibilities include: providing leadership for local county mental health departments; evaluation and monitoring of public mental health programs; administration of federal funds for mental health programs and services; the care and treatment of the severely mentally ill at the five state mental hospitals (Atascadero, Metropolitan, Napa, Coalinga and Patton State Hospitals) and at the Acute Psychiatric Programs located at the California Medical Facilities in Vacaville and Salinas Valley; and implementation of the Mental Health Services Act (Proposition 63), which provides state tax dollars for specific county mental health programs and services.

Keywords: California, Health services delivery, Mental health, State agencies

Annotation: The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) is a consortia structure based on the agency's four key lines of business including (1) Medicare health plans operations, (2) financial management and fee for service operations, (3) Medicaid and children's health operations; and (4) quality improvement and survey and certification operations. Ten regional offices represent the agency in delivering key messages; putting into practice regulations, policy, and program guidance; and monitoring programs and evaluation of contractors/grantees. The website provides information on Medicare; Medicaid; the Children's Health Insurance Program; regulations and guidance; research, statistics, data, and systems; outreach and education; and tools. CMS was previously called the Health Care Financing Administration.

Keywords: Health care financing, Conferences, Data analysis, Diagnosis related groups, EPSDT, Federal agencies, Health insurance, Medicaid, Medicare, Program evaluation, Publications, Quality assurance, Spanish language materials, State agencies, State children', State programs, Statistics, Training, immunization, s health insurance program

Annotation: CityMatCH is a national organization of maternal and child health (MCH) leaders working to improve the health and well-being of urban women, children, and families by strengthening the public health organizations and leaders in their communities. The Perinatal Periods of Risk (PPOR) Learning Network brings community stakeholders together to build consensus, support, and partnership around infant mortality data. CityMatCH convenes an annual conference, a webinar series, and leadership training for emerging and mid-level leaders in urban MCH. Resources include the CityLights newsletter, the MCH Life Course Toolbox, NewsBriefs, a Toolkit for Policy Development, and issue specific publications.

Keywords: State surveys, Health agencies, Immunization, Information sources, Local MCH programs, MCH services, Networking, Program descriptions, Publications, Urban health

Annotation: The Claude Moore Health Siences Library at the University of Virginia serves as a biomedical information resource for the university at large, the local community, and the Commonwealth of Virginia through proactive outreach services, and the nation through cooperative programs with other libraries and agencies. The library is open to the public and some services are provided to local health care professionals and the public, in addition to specialized services provided to those affiliated with the University of Virginia.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, State agencies, Virginia

Annotation: Coe Library is the largest of four libraries at the University of Wyoming, with a collection including materials in both the health and social sciences. As a U. S. government depository library Coe houses more than 2 million federal publications in print, microform and electronic formats. Free library services are available to UW students, faculty, staff, alumni, and Wyoming residents and patrons of the libraries with which UW has established borrowing agreements; nonresidents may obtain borrowing privileges for a modest fee.

Keywords: Health libraries, State agencies, Wyoming

Keywords: Child health, Colorado, Maternal health, State agencies

Annotation: Connecticut's Bureau of Health, Nutrition, Family Services and Adult Education provides programs and services for students to assess, protect, and promote health; administers federal grants for child and school nutrition programs; and provides adult education instructional programs predominately through local school districts and various community and faith-based organizations.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adult education, Child health, Connecticut, Nutrition programs, Public health, State agencies

Annotation: The Delaware Healthy Mother and Infant Consortium (DHMIC) is established to help ensure the effective implementation of the recommendations set forth by the Infant Mortality Task Force (IMTF). Consortium mandates include reviewing and analyzing evaluations and reports and making appropriate recommendations. The Consortium is established in Delaware Code and reports to the governor.

Keywords: Child health, Delaware, Infant health, Maternal health, State agencies

Annotation: The Dickerman Library offers electronic searching of its library catalog, journal title searching for users of the New York State Department of Health, a new books display, and links to catalogs of other libraries. The Wadsworth Center is New York's state health laboratory.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, New York, State agencies

Annotation: The District of Columbia Department of Health (DC DOH) Dental Services sponsors a school-based oral health program (SBOHP) that provides onsite access to care for children at-risk for not receiving oral health services. The program provides free basic dental services to children at partnering public schools, public charter schools, and Head Start and early childhood learning centers. Participating schools/sites must have at least 50% of its student population enrolled in the national free or reduced-price lunch program. Services are provided to children onsite using portable dental units and include dental sealant application, fluoride treatment, dental screenings and dental prophylaxis (cleanings), oral health literacy, education and promotion, and dental referrals. Services are provided by licensed dentists and/or oral health educators. All children must have a signed parental consent form in order to receive services. Students who need more advanced care are referred to dental clinics and dental offices for further treatment. All new school-based health centers include dental services.

Keywords: District of Columbia, Oral health, School health services, State agencies

Annotation: The Ebling Library is a newly constructed health sciences learning center that combines three health sciences libraries at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, formerly known as the W.W. Middleton Health Sciences Library, the Weston Library, and the Pharmaceutical Library. The reference staff responds to in-person, phone and e-mail subject queries. Reference assistance includes answering directional and reference questions, providing instruction, technical assistance, and referral. A variety of electronic toolkits and other online resources are available on the Web site.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, State agencies, Wisconsin

Annotation: Mississippi's Family-to-Family Health Information and Education Center is a family-focused, family-managed resource center that empowers families of children with special health care needs to be partners in decisions concerning the health of their children. The F2F Center is a collaboration of The University of Southern Mississippi Institute for Disability Studies, the Children’s Medical Program of the Mississippi State Department of Health, and LIFE of Mississippi, Inc. Through project activities, the F2F Center works to enable families to be knowledgeable, comfortable and competent in addressing the Title V system with regard to their child’s unique health care needs as well as advocating for ongoing and continuous quality improvement. The Center is funded by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Family centered services, MCH programs, Mississippi, State agencies

Keywords: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Health statistics, National Center for Health Statistics, State health agencies, State programs

Annotation: The Florida Agency for Health Care Administration is responsible for the administration of the Florida Medicaid program, licensure and regulation of Florida’s health facilities and for providing information to Floridians about the quality of care they receive.

Keywords: Florida, Health systems agencies, State agencies

Annotation: The George T. Harrell Library primarily serves the faculty, students, and staff of Penn State Milton S. Hershey Medical Center and the Penn State College of Medicine, and users from the Central Pennsylvania community. The Web site provides access to many electronic resources, including online databases and consumer health information.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Pennsylvania, State agencies