Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (128 total).

ABC for Health (ABC for Health)

Annotation: ABC for Health (Advocacy and Benefits Counseling for Health) is a Wisconsin-based nonprofit public interest law firm dedicated to ensuring health care access for children and families, particularly those with special needs or who are at risk. ABC for Health's mission is to provide health care consumers with the information, advocacy tools, legal services, and expert support they need to navigate through America's health care financing system.

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Health care financing, Legal issues, State organizations, Wisconsin

Ability Society of Alberta

Annotation: The Ability Society of Alberta is committed to enhancing the lives of persons with any type of disability by providing information, education, and access to advance technology. The Society provides innovative, appropriate, and needed technical aids to individuals with any type of disability, seniors, their families, and support systems. All equipment and resources at the Ability Society are available to test in house or borrow on a short-term basis. Services to consumers include reference information and referrals. The Society also sponsors training seminars and workshops.

Keywords: Special health care needs

ADA National Network

Annotation: The ADA National Network (formerly the Americans with Disabilities Act Regional Disability and Business Technical Assistance Centers) consists of 10 regional centers that provide local assistance and foster implementation of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) throughout the United States. The regional centers focus on the specific needs of the residents who reside in their service area. The Network develops projects and events of national significance and works closely with national partners. It conducts research, provides training, and produces a variety of publications. The ADA Knowledge Translation Center, which is also part of the Network, conducts systematic reviews of the current state of ADA related research and translating findings into plain language summaries for policymakers, technical reports, publications in peer-review journals, and presentations at national conferences.

Keywords: Federal legislation, Accessible facilities, Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Technical assistance

Adopt a Special Kid (AASK)

Annotation: Adopt A Special Kid (AASK) provides complete, no-fee foster and adoption services to families interested in helping children in the child welfare system. The organization was formed in 1973 on the principle that it is every child's right to be a permanent member of a supportive family. AASK's pioneering success in placing children in California lead to requests to replicate its program model, and, today, adoption programs and services developed by AASK operate in California, Arizona, Ohio and New Mexico. In addition to its programs to find families for waiting children, AASK also advocates systemic changes that will improve life opportunities for these children.

Keywords: Adoption, Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Foster care, Model programs, Services

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD)

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD) advocates for policies, guidelines, and programs that promote optimal oral health and oral health care for infants, children, and adolescents, including those with special health care needs (SHCNs). AAPD’s website contains guidelines and policy statements and issues of the journal, Pediatric Dentistry.

Keywords: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Consumer education, Education, Guidelines, Medical research, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Professional societies, Publications, Spanish language materials

American Association of People with Disabilities (AAPD)

Annotation: The American Association of People with Disabilities was formed as an umbrella organization to provide an effective means of bringing people with disabilities together to leverage their power. The specific purposes for which the AAPD was formed include the following: to further the productivity, independence, full citizenship and total integration of people with disabilities into all aspects of society; to foster leadership among people with disabilities; to support full implementation and enforcement of disability non-discrimination laws; to conduct programs to enhance the lives of people with disabilities, including programs to reduce poverty and unemployment; assure adequate housing and access to and funding for assistive technology; to provide critical benefits and services to people with disabilities such as life, health and disability insurance; and to educate the public and government policymakers regarding issues affecting people with disabilities. Services provided to consumers include referrals, publications and reference information. AAPD publishes a quarterly newsletter, AAPD News.

Keywords: Adults, Special health care needs

ARCH National Respite Network and Resource Center (ARCH)

Annotation: ARCH National Respite Network and Resource Center assists and promotes the development of quality respite and crisis care programs in the United States. The ARCH National Respite Network includes the National Respite Locator, a service to help caregivers and professionals locate respite services in their community; the National Respite Coalition, a service that advocates for preserving and promoting respite in policy and programs at the national, state, and local levels; and the Respite Technical Assistance Center, which is funded by the U.S. Administration on Aging. ARCH National Respite Network and Resource Center is a project of the Chapel Hill Training-Outreach Project.

Keywords: Advocacy, Coalitions, Crisis intervention, Family support services, Information networks, Life course, Resource centers, Respite care, Special health care needs, Technical assistance

Association for Persons with Severe Handicaps (TASH)

Annotation: The Association for Persons with Severe Handicaps (TASH) promotes human dignity, education, and independence for people with developmental disabilities. Members include parents, administrators, teachers, medical and legal personnel, researchers, speech pathologists, occupational and physical therapists, and people with disabilities. The association provides information referrals and publications; publishes a monthly newsletter and quarterly scholarly journal; and holds regional workshops, training seminars, and an annual conference. A catalog is also published.

Keywords: Developmental disabilities, Advocacy, Disabilities, Handicapping conditions, Information services, Integration, Special education, Special health care needs

Association of Children's Prosthetic-Orthotic Clinics (ACPOC)

Annotation: The Association of Children's Prosthetic-Orthotic Clinics (ACPOC) works to support research in prosthetic-orthotic care for orthopedically disabled children, to promote interdisciplinary team development and collaboration, and to disseminate information among and about children's clinics. The association supports clinic teams through education, clinical research, and annual meetings. Publications include a newsletter. The organization also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Children, Special health care needs, Technology dependence

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs (AMCHP)

Annotation: The Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs (AMCHP) supports state maternal and child health programs and provides national leadership on issues affecting women and children. AMCHP accomplishes its mission through the active participation of its members and partnerships with government agencies, families and advocates, health care purchasers and providers, academic and research professionals, and others at the national, state, and local levels. AMCHP tracks and analyzes emerging policy issues that impact family health and distributes the information to subscribers electronically via the AMCHP Legislative Alert. Issues areas include adolescent and school health; best practices; child health; data and assessment; family involvement; Medicaid, State Children's Health Insurance Program, and welfare; mental health; and women's and perinatal health. It also has a National Center for Health Reform Implementation.

Keywords: Maternal health, Advocacy, Block grants, CSHN programs, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Federal MCH programs, Guidelines, Models, Professional societies, Public policies, State programs, Technical assistance, Title V

Association of University Centers on Disabilities (AUCD)

Annotation: The Association of University Centers on Disabilities (AUCD) supports and promotes a national network of university-based interdisciplinary programs. Network members comprise University Centers for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities, Leadership Education in Neurodevelopmental Disabilities programs, and Intellectual and Developmental Disability Research Centers. AUCD programs serve as a bridge between the university and the community, bringing the resources of both to achieve meaningful change. AUCD’s website addresses the range of interdisciplinary network activities, including services for children, adults, and families; academic training; research; training and technical assistance; policy advocacy; program evaluation; and dissemination of best practices and new information.

Keywords: Developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Fundraising, Medical research, Mental retardation, SCAN, University affiliated centers, University affiliated programs

Autism Speaks

Annotation: Autism Speaks was founded in February 2005 and is dedicated to funding research into the causes, prevention, treatments and a cure for autism; increasing awareness of autism spectrum disorders; and advocating for the needs of individuals with autism and their families.

Keywords: Advocacy, Autism, Children with special health care needs, Families

Blind Children's Fund

Annotation: Blind Children's Fund promotes the development of materials and methods regarding how to care for and work with and educate infants and young children. The fund develop articles, handouts and video materials for use by both parents and professionals.

Keywords: Blindness, Children with special health care needs, Vision disorders

Bright Futures for Families

Build Initiative

Annotation: BUILD is a national initiative that helps state leaders prepare young children aged birth to five to succeed by helping their families access high quality early learning; family and parenting support; early intervention for children with special needs; and comprehensive health mental health and nutritional services. BUILD assists states in planning and implementing a comprehensive early childhood “system of systems” that crosses policy domains and helps ensure that families get the services they need. It was created in 2002 by the Early Childhood Funders Collaborative (ECFC), a consortium of private foundations.

Keywords: Child mental health, Early intervention, Families, Family support services, Infants, Young children, Special health care needs

Carter Centers for Brain Research in Holoprosencephaly and Related Malformations

Annotation: The Carter Centers for Brain Research in Holoprosencephaly and Related Malformations were created to gather, store, organize, analyze, and share information about holoprosencephaly. The Carter Centers evaluate selected patients, participate in multiple research studies, and provide extensive education to families and health care providers. This organization is a collaboration among investigators in the fields of neurology, genetics, radiology, and related disciplines. Publications include a journal and a newsletter. Some materials are available in Spanish. The clinical research centers are : Texas Scottish Rite Hospital, Dallas, TX; Lucile Packard Children's Hospital at Stanford University Medical Center, Stanford, CA; Kennedy Krieger Institute, Baltimore, MD.

Keywords: Brain diseases, Children with special health care needs

Case Management Institute of Connecticut Community Care (CMI)

Annotation: Since 1984, the Case Management Institute of Connecticut Community Care has been offering the tools necessary to bring together structured training and practical experience in long-term care management of the elderly and disabled, including a strong focus on case management. The institute offers seminars, training, evaluation, and consultation to individuals and organizations involved in all aspects of case management. The Institute also publishes a catalog.

Keywords: Case management, Long term care, Mental health, Special health care needs, Training

Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs

Annotation: The Catalyst Center at the Boston University School of Public Health is dedicated to improving coverage and financing of care for children and youth with special health care needs. The center creates publications and products, answers technical assistance questions, researches innovative state-based financing strategies, guides stakeholders to outside resources, and connects those interested in working together to address complex health care financing issues. The center is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Adolescents with special health care needs, Health care financing, Health insurance, National MCH resource center, Resource centers, Youth

Center for Best Practices in Early Childhood Education

Annotation: The Center for Best Practices in Early Childhood Education in the College of Education and Human Services at Western Illinois University provides products, training materials, conference presentations and workshops on topics relating to technology and early childhood. Catalogs of various software, print, and video products and complimentary copies of ACTTive Technology, the Center's quarterly publication dedicated to technology and young children with disabilities, are available upon request.

Keywords: Technology, Children with special health care needs, Early childhood education, Early intervention

Center for Medical Home Improvement (CMHI)

Annotation: The Center for Medical Home Improvement (CMHI) establishes and supports networks of parent/professional teams to improve the quality of primary care medical homes for children and youth with special health care needs and their families. The center provides resources related related to medical home performance measures and improvement; offers consultation and educational services; and participates in conferences.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Medical home, Program improvement

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.