Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (41 total).

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD)

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD) advocates for policies, guidelines, and programs that promote optimal oral health and oral health care for infants, children, and adolescents, including those with special health care needs (SHCNs). AAPD’s website contains guidelines and policy statements and issues of the journal, Pediatric Dentistry.

Keywords: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Consumer education, Education, Guidelines, Medical research, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Professional societies, Publications, Spanish language materials

Association for Persons with Severe Handicaps (TASH)

Annotation: The Association for Persons with Severe Handicaps (TASH) promotes human dignity, education, and independence for people with developmental disabilities. Members include parents, administrators, teachers, medical and legal personnel, researchers, speech pathologists, occupational and physical therapists, and people with disabilities. The association provides information referrals and publications; publishes a monthly newsletter and quarterly scholarly journal; and holds regional workshops, training seminars, and an annual conference. A catalog is also published.

Keywords: Developmental disabilities, Advocacy, Disabilities, Handicapping conditions, Information services, Integration, Special education, Special health care needs

Association on Higher Education and Disability (AHEAD)

Annotation: The Association on Higher Education And Disability (AHEAD) is an international, multicultural organization of professionals committed to full participation in higher education for persons with disabilities. AHEAD was founded in 1977 to address the need and concern for upgrading the quality of services and support available to persons with disabilities in higher education. The association aims to promote excellence through education, communication, and training, and offers numerous training programs, workshops, publications and conferences. Special interest group listservs on various topics are available to members.

Keywords: College students, Colleges, Disabilities, Special education

Bright Futures for Families

Canadian Association for Community Living (CACL)

Annotation: The Canadian Association for Community Living (CACL) works to ensure that people with intellectual disabilities can live, learn, and work in integrated settings in their communities and that their rights are protected by legislation and public policy.

Keywords: Integration, Mental retardation, Public policies, Special education

Center for Applied Special Technology (CAST)

Annotation: The Center for Applied Special Technology (CAST) is a not-for-profit organization that works to expand educational opportunities for individuals with disabilities through innovative uses oftechnology. CAST focuses on the development of learning models and tools that are usable by a wide range of learners and specifically promotes Universal Design for Learning (UDL), an approach to teaching, learning and curriculum development that draws on current brain research and new technology to respond to individual differences in learning styles. CAST promotes UDL through leadership in the National Center on Accessing the General Curriculum, and through presentations and participation in national education forums. Books, journal articles, videotapes and newsletters that discuss both UDL and technology in learning are available. CAST also develops software and Web sites that support UDL. CAST is the developer of Bobby (acquired by Watchfire in July 2002),a Web-based program that assists designers in making Web sites accessible to disabled people. CAST offers professional development and curriculum planning support in schools and other educational settings.

Keywords: Educational materials, Curriculum development, Disabilities, Educational programs, Special education

Center for Best Practices in Early Childhood Education

Annotation: The Center for Best Practices in Early Childhood Education in the College of Education and Human Services at Western Illinois University provides products, training materials, conference presentations and workshops on topics relating to technology and early childhood. Catalogs of various software, print, and video products and complimentary copies of ACTTive Technology, the Center's quarterly publication dedicated to technology and young children with disabilities, are available upon request.

Keywords: Technology, Children with special health care needs, Early childhood education, Early intervention

Center for Parent Information and Resources (CPIR)

Annotation: The Center for Parent Information and Resources (CPIR) serves as a central source of information and products for the community of Parent Training Information (PTI) Centers and the Community Parent Resource Centers (CPRCs) so that they can focus their efforts on serving families of children with disabilities. The Center also works to increase the coordination of parent training efforts throughout the network and to increase Parent Centers’ knowledge and capacity in specific domains. CPIR's online resource cover key topics, K-12 issues, early intervention/early childhood, and parent centers' 14 priorities. Users can customize their online searches by audience, format, language, and resource producer. Resources are available in English and Spanish. It is funded by the Office of Special Education Programs at the U.S. Department of Education. This center continues the work of the Technical Assistance ALLIANCE for Parent Centers.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Early intervention, Family centered services, Information sources, Parenting, Resource centers, Spanish language materials, Special education

Council for Exceptional Children (CEC)

Annotation: The Council for Exceptional Children (CEC) is a large international professional organization dedicated to improving educational success for individuals with exceptionalities - students with disabilities and/or gifts. CEC advocates for appropriate governmental policies; sets professional standards; provides continual professional development; advocates for newly and historically underserved individuals with exceptionalities; and helps professionals obtain conditions and resources necessary for effective professional practice. Services provided include the following: information dissemination, public policy advocacy and information; conventions and conferences; special education publications; and standards for the preparation and certification of special educators and professional practice. Please note: consumers are asked not to direct inquiries to both CEC and the ERIC Clearinghouse on Disabilities and Gifted Education, since the two organizations share staff and resources in responding to questions on disabilities.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Educational factors, Educational programs, Professional societies, Special education programs

Council of Administrators of Special Education (CASE)

Annotation: The Council of Administrators of Special Education (CASE) is a professional organization and support group serving special education administrators throughout the United States and Canada. A division of the Council for Exceptional Children, CASE is organized to promote professional leadership, provide opportunity for study of problems common to its members, and to communicate through discussion and publications information that will develop improved services for exceptional children. The council maintains a website; publishes a journal and a newsletter; and produces additional materials through its Research and Development Committee. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. The Council also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Professional education, Special education

Early Childhood Technical Assistance Center (ECTAC)

Annotation: The Early Childhood Technical Assistance Center (ECTAC) supports the implementation of the early childhood provisions of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). Their mission is to strengthen service systems to ensure that children with disabilities (birth through age five) and their families receive and benefit from high quality, culturally appropriate, and family-centered supports and services. The center is funded by the U.S. Department of Education. A publications list and online discussion lists are available on the Web site. The center was formerly called the National Early Childhood Technical Assistance System (NECTAS).

Keywords: Early intervention, Children with special health care needs, Early childhood education, Information services, Outreach, Special education

Education Law Center (ELP)

Annotation: The Education Law Center (ELC) advocates on behalf of public school children for access to an equal and adequate education under state and federal laws, ELC focuses on improving public education for disadvantaged children, and children with disabilities and other special needs. ELC uses a wide variety of strategies, including public education and engagement, policy initiatives, research, communications and, as a last resort, legal action. ELC works to improve education for urban school children by advocating for effective implementation of the programs and reforms ordered in the landmark Abbott v. Burke school funding case, and provides direct legal assistance to lower income children in disputes involving access to an adequate, equal and appropriate education under state and federal laws. ELC focuses primarily in New Jersey and also provides information, technical assistance and support to attorneys and advocates in other states seeking to improve public education.

Keywords: Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Education, Legal aid, New Jersey, Public education, Public schools, State organizations

Family Network on Disabilities of Florida (FND)

Annotation: Family Network on Disabilities (FDN) is a national network of individuals of all ages who may be at-risk, have disabilities, or have special needs, together with their families, professionals, and concerned citizens. Their mission is to provide family-driven support, education, information, and advocacy. FDN provides online learning tools (including archived webinars), a digital library, and resources at the national library and Florida state level.

Keywords: , Special education, Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Education, Florida, Information services, Parent education, Parenting, Support groups

Family Resource Center on Disabilities (FRCD)

Family Voices

Annotation: Family Voices aims to achieve family-centered care for children and adolescents with special health care needs. Family Voices provides families with tools to make informed decisions, advocate for improved public and private policies, build partnerships with professionals, and serve as trusted health care resources. Family Voices provides technical assistance, training, and connections among Family-to-Family Health Information Centers and partnering organizations. The website features health information and resources including publications, news, projects, events, and advocacy efforts.

Keywords: Parent groups, Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Community programs, Consumer education, Family resource centers, Health insurance, Health policy, Legislation, Medicaid, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials, State children's health insurance program, State programs

Fathers' Network

Annotation: The National Fathers Network advocates for fathers of children with special health needs through support and mentoring programs, conferences and training seminars, a newsletter, a Web page, development of curriculum, and ongoing work with professionals to enhance service delivery for all family members. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Consumer education, Family centered services, Fathers, Information sources, Parenting, Public awareness materials, Publications, Referrals, Spanish language materials, Special education

Federation for Children with Special Needs (FCSN)

Genetics Home Reference (GHR)

Annotation: Genetics Home Reference (GHR) is a service of the National Library of Medicine. It provides brief, lay-language summaries of genetic conditions and related genes and chromosomes. Understanding is enhanced by direct links to glossary definitions and a handbook called Help Me Understand Genetics that explains fundamental genetic concepts. Additional links to onsumer information from MedlinePlus, applicable clinical trials, and relevant patient support groups are provided. Each summary of a specific medical condition includes links to advanced information from the National Library of Medicine and other authoritative sources. A glossary and information on newborn screening are included.

Keywords: Genetic disorders, Consumer education, Genes, Genetics, Genetics education, Information services, Information sources, Rare diseases, Special health care needs

"I Have a Dream" Foundation (IHAD)

Annotation: Founded in 1986, the "I Have a Dream"® Foundation is a comprehensive educational support program for youth (called "Dreamers") from low-income areas and under-achieving schools. Sponsors with the "I Have a Dream"® Program adopt entire grades from low-income public schools or public housing developments. The youth receive year-round programs of academic, social, cultural and life skills enrichment from elementary school through high school, followed by assured tuition assistance for college or vocational education. While funding comes from a wide range of organizations, the program's approach is more personal than institutional. Projects of the foundation have been positively evaluated by independent consulting and research companies. The foundation provides inquiry responses to consumers, publishes a newsletter, and offers conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Mentors, Special education programs

Institute for Child Health Policy (ICHP)

Annotation: The Institute for Child Health Policy works to improve the health status of infants and children by integrating intellectual and organizational resources of the state university system to assist in the formulation and evaluation of health policies, programs, and systems. A major division of the Institute is the Center for Policy and Program Coordination, funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. The institute sponsors conferences and training seminars and publishes a newsletter. Topics include Children's Medical Services, Florida's Healthy Kids, Florida KidCare, child health financing and reimbursement, and telehealth. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Public policies, Child health, Child health services, Children with special health care needs, Conferences, Distance education, Florida, Health care financing, Health insurance, Health policy, Infant health, Managed care, Outreach, Program development, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials, Training

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.