Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) is a national association representing family physicians, family medicine residents, and medical students that seeks to promote the science and art of family medicine and to ensure high-quality, cost-effective health care for clients of all ages. AAFP's website contains news and information on journals, continuing medical education, clinical care and research, running a practice, policy and advocacy, and careers. AAFP's patient Web site -- familydoctor.org -- features information for specific populations including women, men, parents and kids, and older adults; health tools such as a guide to over-the-counter medications; and tips for healthy living. The website can be viewed in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Child health, Conferences, Families, Immunization, Physicians, Preventive health services, Primary care, Professional societies, Professional training, Publications, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency responsible for conducting and supporting public health activities in the United States, including the prevention and control of infectious and chronic disease. The primary goals of the agency are to reduce health risks during every stage of life; spearhead efforts to improve global health; ensure that the places people live, work, and play have safe, healthy environments; and prepare for emerging health threats from mental health to environmental health. The Public Inquiries Office responds to inquiries in the areas of preventive medicine, immunization, disease control, and health education. The Web site covers a wide range of health & safety topics, including diseases & conditions, emergency preparedness, environmental health, life stages & populations, healthy living, injury and violence; travelers' health, and workplace health and safety. Also included are links to data and statistics, online access to CDC's journals and other publications; and tools & resources such as an image library, podcasts, and a Body Mass Index (BMI) calculator. A Spanish-language version of the Web site is available, and some materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian languages and other languages. CDC also sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops.

Keywords: Preventive health services, Adolescents, Data analysis, Data collection, Disease prevention, Environmental health, Federal agencies, Guidelines, Health education, Health promotion, Immunization, Listservs, Nutrition, Occupational safety and health, Online databases, Population surveillance, Publications, Safety, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website, Standards, Technical assistance, Training

Annotation: Child Care Aware© of America provides information for parents and child care providers. It helps families learn more about the elements of quality child care and how to locate programs in their communities. It also provides child care providers with access to resources for their child care programs. This organization changed its name from the National Association of Child Care Resource & Referral Agencies (NACCRRA) in 2012. The website can be viewed in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Child care, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website

Keywords: Health insurance, Information sources, Outreach, Program descriptions, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website, State children', State programs, s health insurance program

Annotation: The March of Dimes (MOD) works to prevent birth defects and infant mortality through research, education, and advocacy programs. MOD's Pregnancy and Newborn Health Education Center provides information and referral services for the general public and professionals on topics such as preconception health, pregnancy, childbirth, genetics, and birth defects. MOD also produces educational materials on these and other topics such as prematurity, baby care, adolescent pregnancy, folic acid, nursing, and bereavement. A publications catalog is available, and some materials are available in Spanish. Anyone can subscribe to MOD's free electronic newsletter. MOD also sponsors the Prematurity Research Initiative, which provides funding for research into the causes of prematurity, and has developed PeriStats -- an online source for maternal, infant, and child health-related data at the state level and for many indicators at the county and national level (available at http://peristats.modimes.org/). The website can be viewed in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Adolescent pregnancy, Advocacy, Childbirth education, Genetic disorders, Genetics education, Infant mortality, Information services, Medical research, Patient education, Prenatal care, Preterm birth, Professional education, Public awareness materials, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website

Keywords: Child development, Consumer education, Dictionaries, Directories, Health promotion, Information sources, Internet, Mobile applications, NLM, Pregnancy, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website, Women', s health

Annotation: The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) publishes brochures and conducts public education programs that promote child passenger safety. It operates a toll-free telephone service that handles consumer complaints on child safety seats and other automotive safety technologies and provides information on product recalls. NHTSA produces a traffic safety materials catalog. Some publications are available in Spanish. The organization maintains specialized sections for impaired driving, distracted driving, seat belts, teen driving, and child safety. The website can be viewed in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Car seats, Child safety, Consumer education, Health promotion, Information services, Motor vehicle safety, Safety, Seat belts, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website.

Annotation: The National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) responds to inquiries from the community, professionals, and the media. NIDA supports more than 85 percent of the world's research on the health aspects of drug abuse and addiction. The institute produces and distributes information based on its own drug abuse research, maintains statistics and information on drug exposed infants, and provides support and technical assistance for efforts to increase public and professional awareness of the relationship between drug abuse and AIDS. Some materials are available in Spanish. The Web site includes a section, NIDA for Teens, that is geared to adolescents ages 11 to 15. The institute also sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops and publishes a catalog and a newsletter. The website and publications are available in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Drug abuse, AIDS, Adolescents, Research, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website, Statistics, Substance abuse prevention, Substance dependance, Technical assistance

Annotation: StopBullying.gov provides information from various government agencies on what bullying is, what cyberbullying is, who is at risk, and how you can prevent and respond to bullying. The website is managed by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. The website can be viewed in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Bullying, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website, Violence prevention