Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Center for Rural Health and Social Service Development (CRHSSD) at Southern Illinois University at Carbondale is a part of the University's mandate to conduct public health policy research in southern Illinois. The CRHSSD addresses evaluative activities, creation of new programs and training for the system. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. Materials are available in Spanish. The CRHSSD publishes a quarterly newsletter and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Illinois, Public health, Rural health, Social services, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The mission of CSH is to advance solutions that use housing as a platform for services to improve the lives of the most vulnerable people, maximize public resources and build healthy communities. Since its founding in 1991 as the Corporation for Supportive Housing, CSH has worked to advance new ideas and best practices, nourish collaborative and pragmatic community partners, amplify lived experiences, and center race equity through its four focus areas: training and education; consulting and assistance; lending; and policy reform.

Keywords: Housing programs, Social services

Annotation: Funded by the Bureau of Primary Health Care, Farmworker Health Services seeks to empower migrant and seasonal farm workers and their families to take ownership of their lives through its provision of health care, its outreach social services, and its promotion of preventive health care. The project places health professionals and allied health personnel at over 30 Migrant and Community Health Centers (M/CHC's) along the east coast during times of peak agricultural activity. It also strives to raise the consciousness of business, health care, social service, educational, and religious entities about the plight of the farm workers and to solicit their support. Offers referrals to consumers and sponsors outreach seminars. Materials are available in Spanish and Creole.

Keywords: Farm workers, Migrant health, Migrants, Outreach, Social services

Annotation: The Goldwater Institute was established in 1988 as an independent, nonpartisan research and educational organization dedicated to the study of public policy in Arizona. The Institute advances public policies based on the principles championed by the late Senator Barry Goldwater during his years of public service -- limited government, economic freedom, and individual responsibility. Goldwater scholars compile research papers and commentaries and participate in policy briefings and events.

Keywords: Policy, Private sector, Social services

Annotation: HealthConnect One focuses on collaborative work with grassroots maternal and child health (MCH) and social service providers. Activities include training community health workers (CHWs), including doulas and breastfeeding peer counselors, to improve the health of their own community; assisting organizations in developing programs that use peer support, incorporating trained CHWs into paid positions in outreach, health education, and community health advocacy; and mobilizing diverse stakeholders to build policies and programs that improve MCH in some of the most distressed communities in the country. The website provides information on advocacy; programs and training; news, events and resources; and ways to get involved.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Community based services, Community health aides, Home visiting, Indigenous outreach workers, MCH services, Model programs, Peer counseling, Peer support programs, Social support, Training

Annotation: Established in 1974, Mountain States Group is a private nonprofit organization that works to enhance the quality and availability of human services through creative program development, with a focus on underserved rural areas. The group conducts ongoing projects in health, education, and social services. Its activities promote the goal of community responsibility for the planning, implementation, and maintenance of human services programs. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish. MSG sponsors conferences and training seminars and publishes a newsletter and program materials.

Keywords: Access to health care, Community-based health services, Health education, Human services, Information services, Rural population, Social services

Annotation: The National Association of Social Workers (NASW) is a professional organization of more than 155,000 social workers. The association produces the Social Work Abstracts Database, available on CD-Rom and through Silverplatter. Publications include the bimonthly journal Social Work, the quarterly journal Health and Social Work, other journals, directories, and guides, a monthly newspaper, NASW News., and a catalog. The National Social Work Library provides general information and research services to members. In addition, NASW sponsors continuing education opportunities, including workshops, conferences, and training seminars.

Keywords: Social work, Information services, Social workers

Annotation: Tri-Town Community Action Agency a private non-profit corporation providing a variety of social services to the disadvantaged of northwestern Rhode Island since its establishment during the Johnson Administration’s “War on Poverty” in 1964. The majority of programs operated by Tri-Town Community Action Agency serve the residents in the Towns of Johnston, North Providence, Smithfield, North Smithfield, Burrillville ,Glocester, Scituate and Foster; however, the agency does provide limited services in every city and town throughout the state of Rhode Island. Services include breastfeeding peer counseling, Head Start program, health center, parent aide program, school-aged child care, Substance Abuse Prevention Task Force, toy distribution, and Women, Infants and Children Nutritional Program (WIC) services.

Keywords: Child health, Breastfeeding promotion, Child care, Head Start, Health services delivery, Low income groups, Rhode Island, Social services, Substance abuse prevention, WIC Program

Annotation: The U.S. Administration for Children and Families' Office of Planning, Research, and Evaluation (OPRE) is responsible for performance management, conducts research and policy analyses, and develops and oversees research and evaluation projects to assess program performance and inform policy and practice. The Office provides guidance, analysis, technical assistance, and oversight to ACF programs on: strategic planning; performance measurement; research and evaluation methods; statistical, policy, and program analysis; and synthesis and dissemination of research and demonstration findings. OPRE includes the Division of Economic Independence and the Division of Child and Family Development.

Keywords: Children, Families, Family economics, Federal agencies, Social services

Annotation: The Center for Advanced Studies in Child Welfare (CASCW) at the University of Minnesota School of Social Work brings the University of Minnesota together with county and state social services in a public-private partnership dedicated to improving the lives of high-risk families and children. CASCW sponsors workshops, forums, and conferences on issues in child welfare and supports research on child welfare topics. CASCW provides information to child welfare practitioners, educators, and policy makers; publications produced include a newsletter. The Center also provides a stipend to students admitted to the School of Social Work's MSW or PhD programs who are committed to post-graduate work in county or state child welfare services.

Keywords: Child health, Child welfare, Families, Information, Social services, Social work

Annotation: The Vera Institute of Justice is a private nonprofit organization dedicated to making government policies fairer, more humane, and more efficient for all people. Working in collaboration with government and local communities, Vera designs and implements innovative projects that expand the practice of justice and improve the quality of urban life. Vera operates demonstration projects in partnership with government, conducts original research, and provides technical assistance to public officials in New York and throughout the world. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. The organization publishes a newsletter.

Keywords: Criminal justice system, New York, Research, Social services, Urban environment

Annotation: The Youth Transition Funders Group is a network of grantmakers whose mission is to help all youth make a successful transition to adulthood by age 25. Goals include five critical outcomes: educational achievement in preparation for career and community participation, including a high school diploma, postsecondary degree and/or vocational certificate training; gainful employment and/or access to career training to achieve life-long economic success; connections to a positive support system - namely, guidance from family members and caring adults, as well as access to health, counseling and mental health services; the ability to be a responsible and nurturing parent; and the capacity to participate in the civic life of the community.

Keywords: Adolescents, Educational attainment, High risk adolescents, Parent support services, Social support, Transition to independent living, Young adults, Youth in transition