Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (32 total).

ACT for Youth

Annotation: ACT (Assets Coming Together) for Youth connects positive youth development resources and research to practice in New York State and beyond. The ACT for Youth Center of Excellence provides technical support, training, and evaluation for youth-serving programs funded by the NYS Department of Health, youth development and adolescent sexual health resources housed on the ACT for Youth Web site, a home base for the ACT Youth Network, which connects young community activists across New York State.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Advocacy, New York, Sexual health, State initiatives, Youth development, Youth services

Advocates for Youth (AFY)

Annotation: Advocates for Youth is dedicated to creating programs and advocating for policies that help young people make informed and responsible decisions about their reproductive and sexual health. Advocates provides information, training, and strategic assistance to youth-serving organizations, policy makers, youth activists, and the media in the United States and the developing world. Advocates publishes newsletters, as well as provider- and consumer-oriented publications on adolescent reproductive health. A publications catalog is available. Some materials are available in French, Spanish, and Portuguese.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Decision making skills, Information sources, Life skills, Peer education, Programs, Publications, Reproductive health, Sexual behavior, Sexuality education, Spanish language materials, Women

American Association of Sexuality Educators, Counselors, and Therapists (AASECT)

Annotation: The American Association of Sexuality Educators, Counselors, and Therapists (AASECT) promotes the development and advancement of the fields of sexual therapy, counseling, and education.  AASECT provides professional education and certification of sex educators, counselors, and therapists as well as supervisors of sex therapists in training.  Services to consumers include referrals and publications. AASECT publishes the a monthly newsletter, Contemporary Sexuality.   The association sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Reproductive health, Sexuality

American Sexual Health Association (ASHA)

Annotation: The American Sexual Health Association (ASHA) is a nonprofit organization that works to improve the health of individuals, families, and communities, with a focus on sexual health and sexually transmitted diseases (STDs). Through education, research, and public policy the association produces multifaceted programs addressing the most prevalent STDs. ASHA produces a variety of books, pamphlets, information packets, and other educational materials for patients, health providers, parents, teachers, and organizations.

Keywords: Sexually transmitted diseases, AIDS, Herpes genitalis, Hotlines, Human papillomavirus, Immunization, Prevention programs, Public health, Public policy, Sexual health

Association of Reproductive Health Professionals (ARHP)

AUA Foundation (AAU Foundation)

Annotation: The AUA Foundation is a partnership of physicians, researchers, health-care professionals, patients, caregivers, families and the public established to support and promote research, patient/public education and advocacy. Originally established in 1987 as the American Foundation for Urologic Disease (AFUD), the organization entered a new era of service in 2005 when it consolidated its programs with the American Urological Association . Information for researchers, health professionals, and patients is available via the Web site.

Keywords: , Foundations, Health education, Sexual health, Urologic diseases, Advocacy, Consumer education, Fundraising, Infertility, Kidney diseases, Preventive health services, Reproductive health, Research

CHOICE

Annotation: CHOICE is a community-based organization dedicated to increasing awareness of and access to sexual health services, especially among underserved populations who traditionally experience barriers to care. CHOICE operates five bi-lingual (Spanish-English) hotlines and programs of community education and outreach. The hotlines include: the CHOICE Hotline for general reproductive and women's health information, serving the five-county Philadelphia area; the Pennsylvania Department of Public Health AIDS Fact Line for information about HIV/AIDS related issues which serves the entire state; the Children's Health Line which helps families obtain free or low cost health care and insurance coverage for their children; the CHOICE Teen Line, which provides sexual health counseling and education to young callers; and the Blueprint for a Safer Philadelphia Community Hotline that is part of a local effort to reduce youth homicides through a public health model. CHOICE is on the list of instructional resources recommended and approved by the Philadelphia School District to provide sexual health education in the City's public schools. CHOICE is currently active in 180 schools, after-school programs, community sites, hospitals, and churches. CHOICE offers online resources in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Gynecology, AIDS, Advocacy, Advocacy, Child care, Children, Family planning, HIV, Health education, Health insurance programs, Hotlines, Information services, Maternal care, Reproductive health, Sexuality education

DisAbled Women's Network Ontario (DAWN)

Do It Now Foundation (DIN)

Annotation: Do It Now (DIN) Foundation is a national, nonprofit educational foundation working to provide adolescents and their families with timely, accurate information on a range of behavioral health issues, including alcohol and alcoholism, contraception, sexually transmitted diseases, drug use and abuse, parenting, eating disorders, suicide, and stress. Publications include pamphlets, booklets, books, reports, and posters. A publications catalog is available. Some publications are available in Spanish, Italian, French, German, and other languages. The DIN Web site is written for adolescents.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Depression, Eating disorders, Mental health, Rape, Sexually transmitted diseases, Substance abuse, Suicide

ETR Associates (ETR)

Annotation: ETR Associates is a private, nonprofit health education organization and publisher of health education materials. It develops and distributes maternal and child health pamphlets, booklets, videos, and charts, including more than 46 pamphlets on pregnancy and childbirth. Other topics include family life education, abstinence, birth control, reproductive health, sexual responsibility, self-esteem, drug use, and sexually transmitted disease. Publications include two baby care booklets in both English and Spanish; the Have a Healthy Baby bilingual pamphlet series,which is an innovative bilingual approach to prenatal education, with English on one side and Spanish on the reverse; a pamphlet on fetal alcohol syndrome; a series of Kid Care pamphlets for parents and caregivers of children ages 2 to 5; and illustrated childbirth charts and displays. A publication catalog is available.

Keywords: Adolescents, Reproductive health, Sexually transmitted diseases

Guttmacher Institute ( )

Annotation: The Guttmacher Institute is a nonprofit corporation for research, policy analysis, and public education in the field of reproductive health. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. The institute publishes Perspectives on Sexual and Reproductive Health, International Family Planning Perspectives, The Guttmacher Policy Review, fact sheets, briefing papers, and special reports. A publications catalog is available. Some materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian, and other languages. The institute also has a list service, accessible through its Web site. The International Data Center allows users to build, download, and print custom tables, graphs, and maps using information from countries and regions.

Keywords: Pregnancy, Adolescent pregnancy, Data, Family planning, Foreign language materials, Information services, Listservs, Medical research, Online systems, Policy analysis, Prenatal care, Public education, Publications, Reproductive health, Sexuality education

Indiana University, Center for Adolescent and Family Studies

Annotation: The Center for Adolescent and Family Studies (formlerly the Center for Adolescent Studies) at Indiana University works to further the understanding of the psychological, biological and social features of normal adolescence. The center functions as a resource center for educators, health practitioners, parents and researchers by providing electronic guides to Web resources on health related topics such as violence prevention, depression, eating disorders, alcohol and drug abuse, sexuality, and AIDS. It also provides links to research conducted by the Indiana University School of Education on adolescent issues, resources for teachers focusing on the social and emotional growth of students, and information on upcoming conferences. Links to Youth Service America, a youth volunteer service project, and the Starbright Foundation, which addresses the psychosocial issues surrounding youth with chronic illnesses, are also provided.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Adolescent mental health, Adolescent sexuality, Violence prevention

Juvenile Justice Clearinghouse (JJC)

Annotation: The Juvenile Justice Clearinghouse (JJC) is a component of the National Criminal Justice Reference Service that collects, synthesizes, and disseminates information on juvenile justice and delinquency prevention. Through print and other media, the Clearinghouse offers the latest research findings, descriptions of promising programs, publications on youth-related issues, practical guides and manuals, announcements of funding opportunities, and other resources on juvenile justice and related topics.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Clearinghouses, Homeless persons, Injury prevention, Juvenile delinquency, Missing children, Runaways, School dropouts, Sexual abuse, Substance abuse

KidsPeace National Center for Kids in Crisis

Annotation: KidsPeace, The National Center for Kids Overcoming Crisis, is a private, not-for-profit organization dedicated to helping children overcome crisis through a variety of public education initiatives, prevention efforts, and treatment programs. KidsPeace offers public awareness outreach (including the distribution of public service information and free materials); research and development through the organization's Lee Salk Center; and a national referral network which connects parents, doctors and children to more than 20,000 sources of assistance nationwide. The KidsPeace Hospital, a division of KidsPeace, provides acute inpatient care for kids in crisis. KidsPeace National Centers for Kids in Crisis centers (also a division of KidsPeace) is dedicated to helping children overcome crisis through treatment, counseling and education. Thirty distinct treatment programs at 25 centers across the U.S. include intensive foster care, diagnostic services, education systems, and treatment facilities.

Keywords: Child abuse, Mental disorders, Mental health, Sexual abuse

National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (NCCDPHP)

Annotation: The National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion is a component of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Divisions of the center that are relevant to maternal and child health include the Division of Adolescent and School Health, Division of Nutrition and Physical Activity, Division of Diabetes Translation, Division of Cancer Prevention and Control, Division of Reproductive Health, Division of Oral Health, and Office on Smoking and Health.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Community health services, Community programs, Data, Health promotion, Medical research, Nutrition education, Nutrition monitoring, Nutrition policies, Nutrition programs, Nutrition research, Oral health, Outreach, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Public health nutrition, School health, Sexual health, Sexually transmitted diseases, Smoking, Women's health

National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention (NCHHSTP)

Annotation: The National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention (NCHSTP) is responsible for public health surveillance, prevention research, and programs to prevent and control HIV, AIDS, other sexually transmitted diseases, and tuberculosis. NCHSTP works in collaboration with governmental and nongovernmental partners at the community, state, national, and international levels conducting research, surveillance, technical assistance, and evaluation. It includes the Division of HIV/AIDS Prevention, the Division of Viral Hepatitis, the Division of STD Prevention, the Division of TB Elimination, and the Division of Adolescent and School Health.

Keywords: AIDS, Data, HIV, HIV screening, Preventive health services, Sexually transmitted diseases, Tuberculosis

National Coalition to Prevent Child Sexual Abuse and Exploitation

Annotation: The National Coalition to Prevent Child Sexual Abuse and Exploitation seeks a unified effort to promote the healthy development of children and youth, and end child sexual abuse and exploitation. Membership includes organizations and individuals dedicated to dignity and health for all children and promoting adult and corporate responsibility in protecting children and creating caring connections with peers and adults fostering full, healthy, and productive lives. The Coalition prepares and distributes a national plan to prevent child sexual abuse and exploitation as well as an e-newsletter.

Keywords: Advocacy, Child abuse, Child health, Children, Prevention services, Sexual abuse

National Coalition to Support Sexuality Education (NCSSE )

Annotation: The National Coalition to Support Sexuality Education (NCSSE) consists of over 140 national organizations committed to medically accurate, age-appropriate, comprehensive sexuality education for all children and youth in the United States. NCSSE hosts meetings on key issues in sexuality education; supports member organizations in advocating for comprehensive sexuality education policies and programs at the state and national level; and provides a forum for networking, resource sharing, and collaboration among national organizations supporting comprehensive sexuality education. An extensive listing of curricula and other resources is available on the Web site; topics include sexuality education resources and curricula, abstinence-only curricula, HIV and AIDS curricula, guidelines for sexuality education programs, resources for families, and resources for faith-based organizations.

Keywords: Sexuality, Advocacy, Coalitions, Collaboration , Health promotion, Information dissemination, Reproductive health, Sexuality education

National Council on Gender (NCG)

Annotation: The National Council on Gender (NCG) elevates awareness of the importance of transforming gender norms across a wide range of social issues. The council comprises researchers, non-profit organizations, policymakers, and philanthropic institutions. The website provides information on the principles that guide the council's work and membership; the council's mission, goals, values, and priorities; what the council does to promote gender transformative policies and programs; membership organizations, agencies, and individuals; definitions of common gender words and terminology; recommended gender informed programs; recent reports on policies and programs by major agencies; and a training presentation on gender norms.

Keywords: Adolescents, Mental health, Relationships, Sexual identity, Social bias, Social change, Young men, Young women

National LGBT Health Education Center

Annotation: The National LGBT Health Education Center provides educational programming and consultation for health care organizations throughout the nation and the world with the goal of eliminating health disparities among lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) people. The Center is a part of The Fenway Institute, the research, training, and health policy division of Fenway Health, a federally qualified LGBt-focused health center. The website contains a blog, a training and events calendar, and publications and resources.

Keywords: Health education, National programs, Sexuality

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.