Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: 211 LA County provides access to a comprehensive range of human services to the people of Los Angeles County, California. It also provides access to the Taxonomy of Human Services, a classification system for indexing resources in information and referral databases that was developed by INFO LINE of Los Angeles, the predecessor to 211 LA County, and that is endorsed by the national association Alliance for Information and Referral Systems and United Way of America as the standard indexing system for the industry.

Keywords: California, Human services, Information systems, Local initiatives, Referrals

Annotation: The 5p– Society is a parent support organization for families of children with 5p– Syndrome (also known as Cri-du-Chat and Cat Cry Syndrome). The society's mission is to encourage and facilitate communication among families having a child with 5p–Syndrome and to spread the awareness and education of the syndrome to these families and their service providers. The society works with leading genetics and medical researchers to further research efforts, and holds an annual national meeting. Publications are available to consumers. Publications include the 5p– Newsletter.

Keywords: Cri du chat syndrome, Family support services, Information services, Parent groups, Support groups, Medical research

Annotation: The Academic Pediatric Association (APA) is an organization of health care professionals that works to improve health care for children by conducting research, teaching, and formulating public policy. Publications include a newsletter, a series of guidelines for general pediatrics education of medical students and pediatric residents and a journal.

Keywords: Child health, Children, Consumer education, Guidelines, Health education, Health services, Information sources, Professional societies, Professional training, Public policy, Research, Teaching

Annotation: The Academy for Eating Disorders (AED) is a multidisciplinary professional organization that promotes excellence in research, treatment, and prevention of eating disorders, including anorexa nervosa, bulimia nervosa, and binge eating disorder. Founded in 1993, AED provides education, training, and a forum for collaboration and dialogue. The academy sponsors conferences, produces a quarterly newsletter, assists in the development of professional guidelines, and identifies and rewards outstanding achievement in the field.

Keywords: Anorexia nervosa, Bulimia, Eating disorders, Health promotion, Preventive health services, Professional societies

Annotation: AcademyHealth, formerly the Academy for Health Services Research and Health Policy (AHSRHP), is the professional home for health services researchers, policy analysts, and practitioners, and a leading, non-partisan resource for the best in health research and policy. Drawing from the strengths of more than 3,600 individuals and 120 organizations, AcademyHealth provides a forum for its members to share the latest research, review and analyze health policy, and network with their peers. Services to consumers include publications and searchable databases. The organization publishes a journal and a newsletter, and sponsors conferences and workshops.

Keywords: Health policy, Health services, Policy development, Research, Training

Annotation: ACT (Assets Coming Together) for Youth connects positive youth development resources and research to practice in New York State and beyond. The ACT for Youth Center of Excellence provides technical support, training, and evaluation for youth-serving programs funded by the NYS Department of Health, youth development and adolescent sexual health resources housed on the ACT for Youth Web site, a home base for the ACT Youth Network, which connects young community activists across New York State.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Advocacy, New York, Sexual health, State initiatives, Youth development, Youth services

Annotation: Adopt A Special Kid (AASK) provides complete, no-fee foster and adoption services to families interested in helping children in the child welfare system. The organization was formed in 1973 on the principle that it is every child's right to be a permanent member of a supportive family. AASK's pioneering success in placing children in California lead to requests to replicate its program model, and, today, adoption programs and services developed by AASK operate in California, Arizona, Ohio and New Mexico. In addition to its programs to find families for waiting children, AASK also advocates systemic changes that will improve life opportunities for these children.

Keywords: Adoption, Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Foster care, Model programs, Services

Annotation: The Adoption Exchange Association (AEA) provides a forum for the exchange of ideas and strategies, collaboration on issues of mutual interest, and increased effectiveness in using resources to provide waiting children permanent homes. AEA connects representatives of state, regional, and national adoption exchanges, including placement agencies, parents, child welfare professionals, and concerned citizens across the United States. The association has developed Standards for Adoption Exchanges, which can be ordered from the Web site, along with other materials exploring various aspects of the adoption process. AEA also offers information packets on children waiting for adoption and resources within individual states.

Keywords: Adoption, Agencies, Collaboration, Information networks, Information services, Standards

Annotation: Aiding Mothers and Fathers Experiencing Neonatal Death (AMEND) offers support and encouragement to parents who have lost an infant. Bereaved parents have one-to-one contact with a trained counselor who has also experienced a loss due to miscarriage, stillbirth, or neonatal death. Several local chapters exist without formal national affiliation. St. Louis AMEND was established in 1974. Los Angeles AMEND was established in 1977 and can be reached at P.O. Box 30, Harbor City, CA 90710-0030; (818) 887-7999. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Grief, Neonatal death, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion, Support groups, Parent support services

Annotation: The Alexander Graham Bell Association for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing is a membership-based information center on hearing loss, emphasizing the use of technology, speech, speechreading, residual hearing, and written and spoken language. AG Bell focuses specifically on children with hearing loss, providing ongoing support and advocacy for parents, professionals and other interested parties. AG Bell publishes books and brochures on the subject of hearing loss, auditory approaches in education, advocacy, employment, and advances in hearing technology. AG Bell also publishes a magazine, Volta Voices, and a scholarly journal, The Volta Review, and offers resource-referral services to individuals with questions about hearing loss and auditory approaches. AG Bell provides financial aid to qualifying applicants for mainstreamed, auditory-based education at the preschool, school-age, and university levels. Regional conferences and biennial conventions are held to educate both members and non-members on issues relating to hearing loss. AG Bell also provides governmental and education advocacy services through its state chapters, children's rights coordinators, and international affiliates.

Keywords: Deafness, Family support services, Hearing disorders, Lip reading training, Professional training

Annotation: The Alliance of Information and Referral Systems (AIRS) is a professional association of community information and referral providers. AIRS works to enhance the capacity of I&R providers to better serve their communities. The organization develops service standards, sponsors training conferences, produces publications (including a newsletter and a journal), and maintains an I&R clearinghouse.

Keywords: Information systems, Clearinghouses, Community based services, Referrals, Resources for professionals, Standards

Annotation: The Alzheimer's Association (formerly the Alzeimer's Disease and Related Disorders Association) works to conquer Alzheimer's disease, to increase public awareness of the disease, and to affect related policy decisions. The association's Library and Resource Center collects and disseminates educational materials, scientific journals, research reports, and other information in various formats (print, videotape, audiotape, microfilm, CD-ROM) for professionals in patient care, service delivery, policy development, and medical research. Publications include the quarterly Advances Newsletter. A publications catalog is available. Some publications are available in Spanish and Asian languages. ADRDA also provides referrals, and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Alzheimers disease, Information services

Annotation: The American Academy of Ambulatory Care Nursing (AAACN) is the association of professional nurses and associates who identify ambulatory care practice as essential to the continuum of high quality, cost-effective health care Their publications include ambulatory and telehealth standards, a Telehealth Nursing Practice Core Course, Guide to Ambulatory Competencies, an Annotated Staffing Bibliography, and Telehealth Resource Directory. Members receive a bi-monthly newsletter and choice of journals. AAACN holds an annual conference annually, usually in March or April.

Keywords: Primary care, Information services, Mobile health units, Nursing

Annotation: The American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP) represents over 7,500 child and adolescent psychiatrists, physicians with at least five years of additional training beyond medical school in adult, child, and adolescent psychiatry. Academy members actively research, diagnose, and treat emotional, developmental, behavioral, and mental disorders affecting children, adolescents, and their families. The Academy provides public information, including a referral service that works with child advocacy groups, parents, teachers, and other medical and mental health professionals. Some family materials are available in Spanish, Arabic, Hebrew, Icelandic, Malaysian, Polish, Spanish, and Urdu. The academy publishes a catalog, a newsletter and a journal. The academy also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Psychiatry, Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Advocacy, Behavior, Child mental health, Children, Conferences, Foreign language materials, Guidelines, Mental health, Mental health professionals, Mental health services, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Referrals, Spanish language materials, Training

Annotation: The American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) is a national association representing family physicians, family medicine residents, and medical students that seeks to promote the science and art of family medicine and to ensure high-quality, cost-effective health care for clients of all ages. AAFP's website contains news and information on journals, continuing medical education, clinical care and research, running a practice, policy and advocacy, and careers. AAFP's patient Web site -- familydoctor.org -- features information for specific populations including women, men, parents and kids, and older adults; health tools such as a guide to over-the-counter medications; and tips for healthy living. The website can be viewed in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Child health, Conferences, Families, Immunization, Physicians, Preventive health services, Primary care, Professional societies, Professional training, Publications, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) develops policy and educates health professionals and the public on pediatric health needs, and serves as an advocate for children, adolescents, and families by promoting legislation and community-based programs that affect their health. Publications include Red Book: Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases, AAP News, policy statements, manuals, patient education materials, and a monthly journal, Pediatrics, as well as a publications catalog. Some resources are available in Spanish and other languages. AAP also sponsors conferences and training seminars for members.

Keywords: Adolescents, Child abuse, Child advocacy, Child care, Child health, Conferences, Immunization, Injury prevention, Pediatrics, Preventive health services, Professional societies, Professional training, Publications, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatric's Pediatric History Center documents the story of the advancement in caring for children and meeting their special needs. The center includes oral histories, archival documents, artifacts, historical publications and papers, and the archives of the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Keywords: Child health, Adolescent health, Child advocacy, Child care, History, Oral history, Pediatrics, Preventive health services, Professional societies, Resources for professionals, Young children

Annotation: The American Association of Birth Centers (AABC) educates women and families about the birth center alternative, promotes standards for quality care through licensure and certification, and provides a forum for communication among birth centers. The association has a resource center of statistical information and publishes standards, reports, a membership directory, and audiovisual materials. Services to consumers include referrals. ABCC offers a multimedia Web site with information, stories, statistics and directories for all (clinicians and consumers). The association also publishes a newsletter and sponsors workshops and conferences. AABC was formerly called the National Association of Childbearing Centers (NACC).

Keywords: Childbirth, Birthing centers, Information services, Pregnancy, Statistics

Annotation: The American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) represents America's baccalaureate- and higher-degree nursing education programs. AACN conducts research, collects data, advocates, and develops curriculum standards and policy statements. Publications include the Journal of Professional Nursing, Syllabus (a bimonthly newsletter), and AACN Issue Bulletins (each focusing on a specific topic).

Keywords: Curricula, School health programs, Colleges, Data collection, Education, Nursing, Nursing services, Policy development, Standards

Annotation: The American Association of Poison Control Centers (AAPCC) is a professional organization for poison control centers and individuals involved in clinical toxicology and poison prevention. Association activities include maintaining the nationwide toll-free number (800/222-1222) which reaches all U.S. Poison Centers. Other activities include an annual scientific meeting, certification specialists, data collection, and toxicosurveillance. AAPCC provides access to the New Core System Database (NCSBeta) -- a comprehensive poisoning surveillance database -- and annual reports (summaries) of data from the National Poisoning and Exposure Database -- which contains detailed toxicological information on more than 24 million poison exposures reported to U.S. poison centers.from 1983-2006.

Keywords: Poisons, Certification, Emergency medical services, Hotlines, Poison control centers, Population surveillance, Prevention, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Resource centers, Toxicology