Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (36 total).

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

Annotation: The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) supports research designed to improve the quality of health care, reduce its cost, and broaden access to essential services. AHRQ supports the National Guideline Clearinghouse, a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines; the National Quality Measures Clearinghouse, a public resource for evidence-based quality measures and measure sets; the Patient Safety Network, a collection of patient safety news, literature, tools, and resources; and the Effective Health Care Program, a collection of research centers working to provide evidence on health care interventions.

Keywords: Health care delivery, Safety, Clearinghouses, Clinical medicine, Foreign language materials, Guidelines, Health disparities , Health policy, Medical technology, Patient care management, Program evaluation, Referrals, Research, Research, Service delivery, Spanish language materials, State Children's Health Insurance Program, Training, Treatment outcomes

American Hospital Association (AHA)

Annotation: The American Hospital Association (AHA), a membership association of individuals and health care delivery institutions, conducts research and education projects in areas such as health care administration, hospital economics, and community relations. The Resource Center offers ready reference information, research, document delivery, current awareness, and information alerting by searches of online databases. Services are directed primarily to health professionals. Some services have fees for members and nonmembers of AHA. A service and fee schedule is available through the web site at http://www.aha.org.

Keywords: American Hospital Association, Health care delivery, Health care financing, Health services, Hospital administration, Hospital services, Online databases, Patient care, Professional societies, Public awareness materials, Research, Resource centers

Anderson Center for Dental Care

Annotation: The Anderson Center for Dental Care comprises a collection of pediatric oral health care programs. The center was established in 1996 to improve the oral health of all children in San Diego County, California, and particularly those with early childhood caries (ECC), disabilities, or complex medical conditions. Services include community and professional education, advocacy, treatment, and research.

Keywords: Children, Health services delivery, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry

Brazelton Touchpoints Center

Annotation: The Brazelton Touchpoints Center is dedicated to strengthening the families of young children and the systems of care that surround them so that all children – regardless of their cultural, socioeconomic, physical, psychological, emotional health, or environmental challenges – will be successful early learners and have the opportunity to thrive. It provides professional development, research and evaluation, practice innovation and technical assistance, and policy advocacy focused on systemic change for children and families.

Keywords: Child behavior, Child development, Families, Infant behavior, Infant development, Service delivery systems, Training

Building Bright Futures

Annotation: Building Bright Futures is a nonprofit organization that serves the dual role as the State Early Childhood Advisory Council and the governance structure for the early childhood system, aligning the work at the state level with the work of 12 regional councils across Vermont to promote improvements in access, quality, and affordability of prevention and intervention services for families and young children from birth through age 6. This work includes maintaining a formal system for planning, coordinating, and integrating early childhood programs, policies, information and resources that is recognized, consistent and supported at the state and regional levels.

Keywords: Early childhood education, Early intervention, Public private partnerships, Service delivery systems, State organizations, Vermont, Young children

California Department of Mental Health

Annotation: The California Department of Mental Health has oversight of a public mental health budget of more than $4 billion, including local assistance funding. Its responsibilities include: providing leadership for local county mental health departments; evaluation and monitoring of public mental health programs; administration of federal funds for mental health programs and services; the care and treatment of the severely mentally ill at the five state mental hospitals (Atascadero, Metropolitan, Napa, Coalinga and Patton State Hospitals) and at the Acute Psychiatric Programs located at the California Medical Facilities in Vacaville and Salinas Valley; and implementation of the Mental Health Services Act (Proposition 63), which provides state tax dollars for specific county mental health programs and services.

Keywords: California, Health services delivery, Mental health, State agencies

California Maternal Quality Care Collaborative (CMQCC)

Annotation: The California Maternal Quality Care Collaborative is devoted to eliminating preventable maternal death and injury and promoting equitable maternity care in California by bringing resources, tools, measures, and quality improvement techniques to providers, administrators, and public health leaders. The web site offers current information about California maternal outcomes, specific projects that are in process, annotated bibliographies of important topics, resources developed or have received from other organizations, key links, and specific information to assist in performing quality improvement for maternity topics. The site also serves as a communications tool for the many CMQCC committees that are working on state-wide projects.

Keywords: Research, California, Health services delivery, Maternal health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Quality assurance, State initiatives

UCLA Center for Healthier Children, Families and Communities

Annotation: The UCLA Center for Healthier Children, Families and Communities works to improve society's ability to provide children with the best opportunities for health and well-being, and the chance to assume productive roles within families and communities. Uniting a broad range of specialists, including health care providers, educators, economists, and public policy makers together with families, community groups, providers, and businesses, the center aims to increase the efficiency, effectiveness, and distribution of health and social services; assist communities in transforming themselves into healthier environments for their children; and improve the health of children, families, and communities by developing innovative and responsive service programs; The center is a multi-disciplinary program of the UCLA School of Medicine, Department of Pediatrics, and the UCLA School of Public Health, with faculty participation from the School of Public Policy and Social Research, School of Law, and the College of Letters and Sciences. The center provides technical assistance, training, publications, and other resources.

Keywords: , Public private partnerships, Child health, Collaboration, Community programs, Education, Families, Interdisciplinary approach, Program improvement, School readiness, Service delivery, University affiliated centers

Center for Healthy Families and Cultural Diversity (CHFCD )

Annotation: The Center for Healthy Families and Cultural Diversity (CHFCD) is dedicated to leadership, advocacy, and excellence in promoting culturally-responsive, quality health care for diverse populations. The center has evolved from a program focused primarily on multicultural education and training for health professionals, to an expanded and growing resource for technical assistance, consultation, and research/evaluation services. CHFCD sponsors conferences and disseminates information through publications, Web sites, videos, and CD-ROMs, and more than 200 presentations have been given on the subject of culturally and linguistically appropriate services delivery.

Keywords: Cultural competence, Cultural diversity, Culturally competent services, Health education, Health promotion, Linguistic competence, Service delivery, Technical assistance, Training

Center for the Study of Social Policy (CSSP)

Annotation: The Center for the Study of Social Policy seeks to promote systematic reform in human services through changes in financing, administration, and service delivery. Its mission is to effect change through the analysis of existing policies and the development of new policies reflecting both intergovernmental and interagency perspectives. The center prepares publications on income maintenance, social services, health care, disability, long-term care, and services to children, youth, and families. It also provides reference information to consumers.

Keywords: Service delivery, Service integration

Community Voices, Health Care for the Underserved

Annotation: Community Voices Health Care for the Underserved works to increase enrollment of eligible people into public programs and to improve health care access and quality for the underserved by providing models for change and improvement. "Learning laboratories" are based in Albuquerque, NM; Baltimore, MD; Denver, CO; Lansing, MI; Miami, FL; New York, NY; Oakland, CA; and Pinehurst, NC. Areas of focus include community outreach using frontline workers, improving access to care for men, case/care management to link people with providers and services, improving adult access to oral health, and mental health treatment.

Keywords: Access to health care, Community programs, Health care delivery, Health services delivery

Connecticut Association of School Based Health Centers

Annotation: The Connecticut Association of School-Based Health Centers (CASBHC) is a statewide network of 75 school-based health centers (SBHCs) operating in 18 Connecticut communities. The group was established in 1994, and received its 501(c)(3) non-profit designation in 1996. Members of CASBHC have collectively established a base of support for school-based health centers in Connecticut through community engagement, delivery of quality services, advocacy and effective marketing.

Keywords: Advocacy, Connecticut, Health services delivery, Outreach, School based clinics, State organizations

Dental Trade Alliance Foundation (DTAF)

Annotation: The Dental Trade Alliance Foundation (DTAF) was established in 2000 as the philanthropic arm of the Dental Trade Alliance. The foundation funds early stage innovative programs designed to increase the effectiveness of the oral health care system by encouraging changes in overall health behavior, improving access for underserved populations, and enhancing the efficiency of the system. The foundation's Dental ReSERVE provides donated equipment and supplies to vetted, non-proift organizations that provide free dental care to those in need.

Keywords: Financing, Foundations, Oral health, Service delivery systems, Systems development

Early Childhood Comprehensive Systems Collaborative Improvement and Innovation Network (ECC CoIIN)

Annotation: The Early Childhood Comprehensive Systems Collaborative Improvement and Innovation Network (ECCS CoIIN) is a five-year initiative that supports 12 states and their communities in an effort to enhance early childhood systems and demonstrate improved outcomes in population-based children’s developmental health and family well-being indicators.

Keywords: Child development, Collaboration, Community programs, Early childhood development, Model programs, Provider networks, Service delivery systems, Young children

Family Voices of Wisconsin

Annotation: Family Voices of Wisconsin promotes a system of comprehensive health and community supports based on fundamental principles that assure the health and well being of children and youth with special health care needs and/or disabilities and their families. The role of Family Voices of Wisconsin is to advocate for the inclusion of these principles in the design, implementation and delivery of supports and services throughout Wisconsin. Activities include supporting an active network of parents/families through our listserv, newsletter and website (www.FVofWI.org); developing information to help families stay informed about public policy issues and connect families and youth to leadership and advocacy opportunities; hosting listening sessions to hear from families about their experiences with health care and support services and share this important information with policy makers to work toward improving their systems of care; providing training to families on navigating health and community supports; promoting a "family voice" in public policy, systems change and professional education; and nurturing strong family and provider partnerships in decision making, which can improve the quality of care and services children receive.

Keywords: Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Families, Health services delivery, Parent participation

FosterClub

Annotation: FosterClub is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization that supports youth in care by providing information about how foster care works, connecting them to peers and other resources in their community, and providing guidance on self-advocacy within the system and in the foster home. FosterClub also supports foster parents, child welfare professionals, and concerned citizens through connections to mentoring or coaching opportunities. The website provides access to research, stories, and discussion groups on topics such as adoption, sex trafficking, grief, healthy relationships, and transitioning. Information about training and state resources are also included.

Keywords: Residential care, Adolescents, Advocacy, Children, Foster care, Mentors, Peer support programs, Self care, Service delivery systems, Transitions, Young adults

Fraser

Annotation: This Minnesota non-profit organization, formed in 1935, has been helping children, adolescents and adults in the greater Twin Cities area reach their potentials. One of the largest community resources of its kind, Fraser offers a lifelong spectrum of services including diagnostic evaluations, comprehensive mental health services including individual and group therapy, rehabilitation services including physical, occupational, speech-language, and music therapy, child care and education for children with typical needs and special needs, housing for adults and children with developmental disabilities, and workshops and seminars for parents, caregivers and professionals

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Early intervention, Health services delivery

Genetic Services Policy Project (GSPP )

Annotation: The Genetic Services Policy Project (GSPP) is working to assess the current model for genetic services delivery; explore alternative models for delivery of genetic services; and identify changes in public policies that would promote appropriate and cost effective access to a broad range of genetic services to all who might benefit from them. The assessment will include evaluating the economic, legal, cultural and policy aspects of the existing system and alternatives. In addition, GSPP will examine specific genetic service markets such as screening and testing, as well as markets for complementary services such as genetic counseling and education. The project disseminates information and posts a variety of resources on its Web site, including papers and presentations, clinical case study summaries, meeting agendas and notes, and genetic profiles of all 50 states. A recommended reading list (with links to full-text articles) is provided as well. GSPP is a collaborative effort, supported by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, the Washington State Department of Health, and the University of Washington.

Keywords: Genetics, Assessment, Genetic services, Genetics education, Information dissemination, Service delivery

Health Outreach Partners

Annotation: Health Outreach Partners (HOP) is a national non-profit health organization providing training, consultation, and information services to community-based organizations striving to improve the quality of life of hard-to-reach populations. HOP focuses on six priority areas that aim to increase access to care, quality of health services, and organizational sustainability: health outreach and enabling services, program planning and development, needs assessment and evaluation data, health education and promotion, community collaboration and coalition building, and cultural competency. Offices are also located in Seattle, WA and Washington, DC.

Keywords: Collaboration, Community based services, Cultural competency, Cultural sensitivity Advocacy, Health services delivery, Needs assessment, Outreach, Program development, Program planning

Institute for Oral Health

Annotation: The Institute for Oral Health applies the knowledge gained from scientific research and insight from data analysis to recommend options to overcome the barriers to efficient and effective dental care delivery. The institute works to fill the gap that exists between research and development institutions and real world dental practice; reduce the amount of time it takes to transfer innovations from academic research to the dental chair; and facilitate the adoption of innovations by healthcare policy makers, dental care providers, and the insurance community. The institute collaborates with other organizations to support public policies that advance oral health and makes research and data accessible as a resource to government agencies, universities, benefits companies, dental professionals, dental benefits purchasers, and the public.

Keywords: Advocacy, Barriers, Oral health, Collaboration, Data analysis, Program improvement, Public policy, Research, Service delivery systems

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.