Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 17 (17 total).

Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention Coalition of North Carolina (APPCNC)

Annotation: The Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention Coalition of North Carolina (APPCNC) serves as a statewide clearinghouse and network for adolescent pregnancy prevention resources and helps local communities to develop prevention councils. The coalition maintains a library and resource center of more than 1,000 pamphlets, brochures, films, videotapes, curricula, national and state reports, and other materials on adolescent pregnancy issues. Services to consumers also include referrals. APPCNC sponsors conferences and training seminars, and publishes a catalog and newsletter. It also provides materials in Spanish.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Coalition, North Carolina, Prevention programs, Referals, Self help clearinghouses

Education Commission of the States (ECS)

Annotation: The Education Commission of the States (ECS) is a nonprofit, nationwide, interstate compact formed to help governors, state legislators, state education officials, and others develop policies to improve the quality of education from birth through post-graduate school. The commission conducts policy research and surveys, maintains an information clearinghouse, provides technical assistance to states and helps them to implement changes in education, fosters nationwide leadership and cooperation in education, and organizes state, regional, and national forums. The comission sponsors conferences and workshops, maintains online databases, and publishes periodicals, policy briefs, and dozens of topic-related products.

Keywords: Education, Policy development, Research, Self help clearinghouses, Surveys

Gluten Intolerance Group® (GIG®)

Annotation: The Gluten Intolerance Group® (GIG®) offers assistance, counseling, and referrals to people with celiac sprue and/or dermatitis herpetiformis, their families, consumers, and health care professionals. Publications include diet instruction, gluten-free bread recipes, an introductory brochure, a resource guide, research reports, and the quarterly GIG® Newsletter. Materials are available in Braille and Spanish. A catalog of audiovisual materials is available. GIG® also sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops. GIG® was formerly called the Gluten Intolerance Group of North America.

Keywords: Celiac disease, Dermatitis herpetiformis, Gluten intolerance, Self help clearinghouses

Healthy Teen Network

Annotation: Healthy Teen Network, formerly the National Organization on Adolescent Pregnancy, Parenting, and Prevention, is a national resource network of individuals and organizations focused on solving problems related to adolescent pregnancy prevention, sexuality, pregnancy, and parenting. The organization serves as a resource sharing and communication network to inform service providers and others about available resources and successful program models. Some materials are available in Spanish. It publishes a quarterly newsletter and also prepares alerts on funding opportunities and legislation. The organization also sponsors conferences. In 2010 it launched an evidence-based resource center.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent parents, Community programs, Parenting, Prevention programs, School based clinics, Self help clearinghouses, Sexuality

Illinois Early Childhood Intervention Clearinghouse

Annotation: The Illinois Early Childhood Intervention Clearinghouse provides resource materials on issues related to young children with special needs and their families. The clearinghouse provides referrals and reference information, operates a statewide lending library, maintains a bibliographic database of more than 33,000 citations, and publishes a catalog and a quarterly newsletter, Early Intervention. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Early intervention, Children, Developmental disabilities, Illinois, Self help clearinghouses

Iron Overload Diseases Association (IOD)

Annotation: Iron Overload Diseases Association (IOD) promotes research, provides referrals, conducts education programs for the medical profession and the public, sponsors annual symposia, acts as a clearinghouse for doctors and patients, sponsors screening programs, publicizes the problem of iron overload diseases through the media, maintains a computerized information center, and raises funds. Publications include Overload: An Ironic Disease, Iron Overload Alert, the bimonthly newsletter Ironic Blood, audiovisual materials, and a fact sheet.

Keywords: Hemochromatosis, Fundraising, Hematologic diseases, Iron overload diseases, Medical education, Medical research, Metabolic diseases, Self help clearinghouses

National Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases Information Clearinghouse (NIAMS Information Clearinghouse)

Annotation: The NIAMS Information Clearinghouse is a public service sponsored by the National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (NIAMS) that provides health information and information sources. NIAMS, a part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), leads the Federal biomedical research efforts in arthritis and musculoskeletal and skin diseases. The Clearinghouse distributes NIAMS publications. Some materials are available in Spanish. Additional information and research updates can be found on the NIAMS web site.

Keywords: Arthritis, Alopecia, Arthroscopy, Ichthyosis, Information dissemination, Lyme disease, Musculoskeletal diseases, Self help clearinghouses, Skin diseases, Women's health

National Diabetes Information Clearinghouse (NDIC)

Annotation: The National Diabetes Information Clearinghouse (NDIC) is an information and referral service of the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, one of the National Institutes of Health. The clearinghouse responds to written inquiries, develops and distributes publications about diabetes, and provides referrals to diabetes organizations. The NDIC maintains a database of patient and professional educational materials from which literature searches are generated. The clearinghouse will provide bulk orders of publications to health and information professionals planning patient health education programs at a minimal cost. Some publications are available in Spanish. The organization also sponsors an email newsletter Diabetes Dateline.

Keywords: Diabetes, Digestive system diseases, Kidney diseases, Metabolic diseases, Self help clearinghouses

National Digestive Diseases Information Clearinghouse (NDDIC)

Annotation: The National Digestive Diseases Information Clearinghouse (NDDIC) is an information and referral service of the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, one of the National Institutes of Health. A central information resource on the prevention and management of digestive diseases, the clearinghouse responds to written inquiries, develops and distributes publications about digestive diseases, and provides referrals to digestive disease organizations, including support groups. The NDDIC maintains a database of patient and professional educational materials from which literature searches are generated. The clearinghouse will provide bulk orders of publications at a minimal cost to health and information professionals planning patient health education programs. Publications include a catalog and newsletter. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Digestive system diseases, Gastrointestinal diseases, Self help clearinghouses, Support groups

National Health Information Center (NHIC)

Annotation: The National Health Information Center (NHIC) is a health information referral service that links people to organizations that provide reliable health information. The Health Information Resource Database includes organizations and government offices that provide health information upon request. Entries include contact information, short abstracts, and information about publications and services the organization provides. NHIC also provides key support for the healthfinder.gov website, a gateway to consumer health information in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Health education, Databases, Federal agencies, Health promotion, Information sources, Online databases, Publications, Reference materials, Referrals, Referrals, Self help clearinghouses

National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders Information Clearinghouse (NIDCDIC)

Annotation: The National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD) conducts and supports biomedical and behavioral research and training on disorders of hearing, balance, smell, taste, voice, speech, and language. The NIDCD Information Clearinghouse disseminates information and resources on human communication processes. The clearinghouse operates an information service, develops and distributes materials, and maintains a computerized database. Publications include a newsletter and a catalog. Some materials are available in Spanish. The Institute also provides referrals.

Keywords: Deafness, Balance disorders, Communication disorders, Government financing, Hearing disorders, Information services, Language, Language development, Language disorders, Medical research, Medical research, Self help clearinghouses, Smell, Speech, Taste disorders, Voice disorders

National Mental Health Consumers' Self-Help Clearinghouse

Annotation: Established in 1985, the National Mental Health Consumers' Self-Help Clearinghouse promotes and assists in the development of consumer-run self-help groups. The clearinghouse provides information and referral services to individuals and groups in need of technical assistance, maintains a computerized listing of self-help technical assistance providers, encourages consumers and organizations to provide technical assistance to other consumers and self-help groups, sponsors conferences and training seminars, and promotes networking among mental health consumers nationwide. Publications include a newsletter.

Keywords: Self help programs, Mental health, Self help clearinghouses, Support groups, Technical assistance, Training

National Stepfamily Resource Center (NSRC)

Annotation: The National Stepfamily Resource Center (NSRC) -- a division of Auburn University’s Center for Children, Youth, and Families -- serves as a clearinghouse of information, linking family science research on stepfamilies and best practices in work with couples and children in stepfamilies. The resource center provides online access to frequently-asked-questions about stepfamilies, Your Stepfamily Magazine, research summaries, and annotated bibliographies of stepfamily research. NSRC also provides information on training institutes for family life and marriage educators, training institutes for therapists and counselors, media consulting on stepfamily issues, expert consulting on special projects, programs, and products targeting stepfamilies; and development of educational materials for use with stepfamilies. [In 2006, the Stepfamily Association of America voted not to renew its independent organization 501(c)(3) nonprofit status and donated its history, Web site, and experts network to support the development and expansion of The National Stepfamily Resource Center.]

Keywords: Child health, Advocacy, Counseling, Self help clearinghouses, Stepfamilies, Support groups

U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (ODPHP)

Annotation: The Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (ODPHP) sets national health goals and objectives and supports programs, services, and education activities that improve the health of all Americans. ODPHP sponsors trainings (e-learning courses), visiting scholars and residencies, and the National Health Information Center and manages the health.gov, HealthyPeople.gov, and healthfinder.gov websites. ODPHP also provides information and resources on topics such as the national dietary guidelines, physical activity guidelines, health literacy and communication, and health care quality and patient safety. Congress ODPHP in 1976 to lead disease prevention and health promotion efforts in the United States. ODPHP is part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services under the Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health.

Keywords: Health promotion, Consumer education, Healthy People 2010, Information sources, Prevention, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Public awareness materials, Publications, Referrals, Self help clearinghouses, World Wide Web

Oley Foundation for Home Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition

Annotation: The Oley Foundation is a non-profit organization that provides free information and psycho-social support to patients requiring home nutrition support and their families. This includes enteral (tube) nutrition, for those who cannot eat but have at least a partially-functioning intestinal tract; and parenteral (intravenous) nutrition, for those who cannot absorb nutrients into their systems because of a damaged or removed intestinal tract. Oley support services include an information clearinghouse, bimonthly newsletter, national toll-free consumer networking, local grassroots support, conferences and research on health outcomes.

Keywords: Parenteral nutrition, Enteral nutrition, Home Care, Self help clearinghouses, Social support

U.S. Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP)

Annotation: The Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP) works with federal, state, public, and private organizations to develop comprehensive prevention systems. CSAP provides national leadership in the development of policies, programs, and services to prevent the onset of illegal drug use, prescription drug misuse and abuse, alcohol misuse and abuse, and underage alcohol and tobacco use. CSAP also promotes effective substance abuse prevention practices that enable states, communities, and other organizations to apply prevention knowledge effectively.

Keywords: Substance abuse, Alcoholic beverages, Alcoholism, Drugs, High risk adolescents, Prevention programs, Self help clearinghouses

Wisconsin Clearinghouse For Prevention Resources (WCH)

Annotation: The Wisconsin Clearinghouse For Prevention Resources is an official information and materials resource for the state of Wisconsin that also serves schools, agencies, programs, community groups, and businesses nationwide. Its goal is to strengthen individuals, families, and communities. The Clearinghouse provides a wide range of educational materials and services to prevention specialists, counselors, and other professionals. Topics include alcohol and other drugs, curricula and teacher resources, high-risk youth and high-risk behaviors, resources for programs and professionals, tobacco and smoking, fetal alcohol syndrome, primary prevention and health promotion, mental health, and families and substance abuse prevention. Posters, publications and videotapes are available. Some materials are available in Spanish, plus a few items also available in Chinese, Vietnamese, Cambodian, and Korean. The organization publishes a quarterly newsletter.

Keywords: Alcoholic beverages, Audiovisual materials, Curricula, Educational materials, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Health promotion, High risk adolescents, Mental health, Recreational drug use, Self help clearinghouses, Smoking, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Teratology, Tobacco, Wisconsin

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.