Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (55 total).

Alaska Health Education Library Project (AHELP)

Annotation: The Alaska Health Education Library Project (AHELP) is an electronic clearinghouse of current health promotion and health education resources that are specific to and available in Alaska. It contains information on health promotion programs, projects and materials, key contact people in health promotion program areas, a calendar of health observances and health promotion training and events, and resource organizations at the state and national level. AHELP has an online discussion list (listserv) for professionals involved in health education and health promotion.

Keywords: Alaska, Clearinghouses, Health sciences libraries, Listservs, State agencies

American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)

Annotation: The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is an international non-profit organization dedicated to advancing science around the world by serving as an educator, leader, spokesperson, and professional association. In addition to organizing membership activities, AAAS publishes the journal Science, as well as newsletters, books, and reports. AAAS also spearheads programs in four primary areas: science and policy; international activities; education and human resources; and literacy in science, mathematics, and technology.

Keywords: Science, Professional societies, Scientists

American Psychological Association (APA)

Annotation: The American Psychological Association (APA) is a scientific and professional society of psychologists that works to advance psychology as a science, a profession, and a means of promoting health, education and the human welfare. Students may participate as affiliates. Publications include newsletters, catalogs, journals, abstracts, and many other materials. APA also sponsors conferences and workshops.

Keywords: Psychology, Advocacy, Behavioral sciences, Conferences, Consumer education, Information sources, Mental health, Mental health services, Professional societies, Psychologists, Publications, Resource centers, Spanish language materials, Training

Arizona Health Sciences Library (AHSL )

Annotation: The Arizona Health Sciences Library (AHSL) is open to the public for on-site use; faculty, staff, students, and health care professionals licensed in Arizona may check out materials; electronic resources are accessible off-site for faculty, staff, and students.

Keywords: Arizona, Health sciences libraries, State agencies

Association for Women in Science (AWIS)

Annotation: The Association for Women in Science (AWIS) is a non-profit organization that advocates for the participation of women scientists in the process of creating the agenda for women's health research. The association is committed to equity and full participation for women and girls in sciences, mathematics, engineering, and technology. AWIS publishes a newsletter and sponsors conferences to promote and maintain the participation of women in the scientific field.

Keywords: Research, Science, Scientists, Women, Women's health

Association of Mental Health Librarians (AMHL)

Annotation: The Association of Mental Health Librarians (AMHL) is a professional organization of individuals working in the field of mental health information delivery. Its members come from a variety of settings: inpatient hospitals, academic and research institutions, and psychiatric and psychological agencies. AMHL provides opportunities for its members to enhance their professional skills; encourages research activities in mental health librarianship; and strengthens the role of the librarian within the mental health community. AMHL has an annual conference, which provides continuing education and networking possibilities for its members.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Librarians, Mental health, Professional societies

Biological Sciences Curriculum Study (BSCS)

Annotation: Biological Sciences Curriculum Study (BSCS) is an international organization that develops curricula and conducts research to improve literacy in science. Programs are marketed through commercial publishers. Publications include a newsletter (three per year), a catalog of publications and supplementary materials.

Keywords: Biological sciences, Curricula, Genetics education, Health education

Canadian Health Libraries Association

Annotation: The Canadian Health Libraries Association / Association des bibliothèques de la santé du Canada (CHLA/ABSC) is a professional organization of approximately 400 individuals in the health sciences library field in Canada. Through its programs and publications CHLA/ABSC encourages the professional development of its members whose foremost concern is the dissemination of health sciences information to those in research, education and patient care. Information is available in English and French.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Associations, Canada, Professional development

Center for Health Policy and Inequalities Research

Annotation: The Center for Health Policy and Inequalities Research (formerly the Duke University Center for Health Policy) stimulates and facilitates collaborative, interdisciplinary research focusing on population based health, health systems, intervention, and evaluation. The Center also offers an array of educational opportunities for students seeking careers in health policy making, research, and analysis.

Keywords: Public health, Educational programs, Health policy, Interdisciplinary approach, Legal processes, Management, Research, Social sciences, University affiliated centers

Center for Science in the Public Interest (CSPI)

Annotation: The Center for Science in the Public Interest (CSPI) is a national consumer organization that focuses on health and nutrition issues, including alcohol policy, biotechnology, food safety, integrity in science, international issues, and nutrition policy. The organization publishes books, posters, and a magazine, Nutrition Action Healthletter.

Keywords: ? Public health, Consumer satisfaction, ?Child, Advocacy, Nutrition, Science

Claude Moore Health Sciences Library

Annotation: The Claude Moore Health Siences Library at the University of Virginia serves as a biomedical information resource for the university at large, the local community, and the Commonwealth of Virginia through proactive outreach services, and the nation through cooperative programs with other libraries and agencies. The library is open to the public and some services are provided to local health care professionals and the public, in addition to specialized services provided to those affiliated with the University of Virginia.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, State agencies, Virginia

Consortium of Social Science Associations (COSSA)

Annotation: The Consortium of Social Science Associations (COSSA), an advocacy organization supported by over 100 academic associations and educational institutions, serves as a bridge between researchers and policymakers. The consortium advocates for the inclusion of social and behavioral science perspectives in federally funded research on women's health. It also informs the science community about relevant federal policies, cooperates with other science and education groups to meet common goals, and monitors the status of women in health professions and as researchers. Publications include a newsletter. COSSA also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Advocacy, Behavioral sciences, Research, Social sciences, Women's health

Delaware Academy of Medicine, G.P. Gill Consumer Health Library

Annotation: The Consumer Health Library located, within the Delaware Academy of Medicine's library, offers a wide range of health and medical information to consumers. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries

Dickerman Library

Annotation: The Dickerman Library offers electronic searching of its library catalog, journal title searching for users of the New York State Department of Health, a new books display, and links to catalogs of other libraries. The Wadsworth Center is New York's state health laboratory.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, New York, State agencies

Ebling Library

Annotation: The Ebling Library is a newly constructed health sciences learning center that combines three health sciences libraries at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, formerly known as the W.W. Middleton Health Sciences Library, the Weston Library, and the Pharmaceutical Library. The reference staff responds to in-person, phone and e-mail subject queries. Reference assistance includes answering directional and reference questions, providing instruction, technical assistance, and referral. A variety of electronic toolkits and other online resources are available on the Web site.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, State agencies, Wisconsin

George T. Harrell Library

Annotation: The George T. Harrell Library primarily serves the faculty, students, and staff of Penn State Milton S. Hershey Medical Center and the Penn State College of Medicine, and users from the Central Pennsylvania community. The Web site provides access to many electronic resources, including online databases and consumer health information.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Pennsylvania, State agencies

Hardin Library for the Health Sciences

Annotation: The Hardin Library for the Health Sciences disseminates health sciences information to the students, faculty, and staff of the University of Iowa in support of education, research, and health care. The library serves the combined information and research needs of the University of Iowa Colleges of Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Public Health; the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (including related allied-health education programs); and the Department of Speech Pathology and Audiology. The Web site provides electronic access to dozens of biomedical and general databases.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Information services, Databases, Libraries, Library services

Howard University, Health Sciences Library

Annotation: The Howard University Health Sciences Library offers electronic resources to all users. Borrowing privileges are retricted to faculty and students affiliated with Howard University.

Keywords: District of Columbia, Health sciences libraries

Idaho State University, Idaho Health Sciences Library (IHSL)

Annotation: The Idaho Health Sciences Library (IHSL) answers brief questions, helps with research and literature searching, and conducts workshops and tours at no charge for faculty, staff, and students at Idaho State University; health care professionals, clinics, and hospitals; and consumers and others. In-depth literature searches and photocopies are provided for a fee. The Web site offers many electronic resources including a guide for consumers.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Idaho, State agencies

J. Otto Lottes Health Sciences Library

Annotation: The J. Otto Lottes Health Sciences Library at the University of Missouri-Columbia provides library services for health care personnel and residents of Missouri, as well as for faculty, staff, and students of the university. Their Web site also directs users to information for patients and health consumers.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Missouri, State agencies

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.