Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Cyberbullying Research Center provides information about the nature, extent, causes, and consequences of cyberbullying among adolescents. Cyberbullying can be defined as “Willful and repeated harm inflicted through the use of computers, cell phones, and other electronic devices.” It is also known as “cyber bullying,” “electronic bullying,” “e-bullying,” “sms bullying,” “mobile bullying,” “online bullying,” “digital bullying,” or “Internet bullying.” The web site serves as a clearinghouse of information concerning the ways adolescents use and misuse technology. It is intended to be a resource for parents, educators, law enforcement officers, counselors, and others who work with youth. It contains facts, figures, and detailed stories from those who have been directly impacted by online aggression. In addition, the site includes numerous resources to help prevent and respond to cyberbullying incidents.

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Adolescents, Aggression, Behavioral problems, Bullying, School violence, Technology, Telecommunications, Violence prevention

Annotation: The Brady Center to Prevent Gun Violence (CPHV), established in 1983, is a nonprofit education and research organization that works to educate the public about the scope of handgun violence in the United States and the risks and responsibilities of handgun ownership. The center developed the nation's first K–12 curriculum on gun violence prevention, now used in several major school systems. CPHV publishes a newsletter and provides publications and reference information for consumers; some materials are available in Spanish. The center also sponsors conferences and training seminars. The center does not respond to individual inquiries.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Consumer education, Curricula, Firearms, Handguns, School health education, Violence prevention, Weapons

Annotation: The Institute on Violence, Abuse and Trauma (IVAT) works to improve the quality of life and promote violence-free living for individuals on a local, national, and international level by conducting research, sharing and disseminating information, improving networking among professionals, and assisting with program evaluation, consultation, and training. Formed when the Family Violence and Sexual Assault Institute merged with the Alliant International University,the institute promotes collaboration across disciplines and and encorporates many centers that focus on family violence, sexual assault, youth and school violence, workplace volence, violence prevention, and traumatic stress. IVAT publishes a bulletin, journals, and resource lists; and hosts an international conference.

Keywords: Violence, . School violence, Assault, Domestic violence, Family violence, Sexual assault, Trauma, Violence prevention

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) began studying motor vehicle, home, and recreational injuries in the early 1970s and violence prevention in 1983. From these early activities grew a national program to reduce injury, disability, death, and costs associated with injuries outside the workplace. in June 1992, CDC established the National Center for Injury Prevention and Control (NCIPC). As the lead federal agency for injury prevention, NCIPC works closely with other federal agencies; national, state, and local organizations; state and local health departments; and research institutions. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. NCIPC publishes a newsletter, supports research, and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Agricultural injuries, Bicycle helmets, Car seats, Data, Domestic violence, Federal initiatives, Gun violence, Head injuries, Household injuries, Injuries, School injuries, School violence, Sports injuries, Unintentional injuries, Violence

Annotation: The National Center for School Crisis and Bereavement was created to promote an appreciation of the role schools can serve to support students, staff ,and families at times of crisis and loss; enhance the training of individuals in school-related professional education programs in the areas of crisis and loss; link efforts to provide trauma-related and bereavement support services within school settings; and collaborate with professional organizations, governmental and non-governmental agencies and community groups to further help students, staff and families at times of crisis and loss. The center provides information, training materials, consultation and technical assistance for school systems, professional training programs, professional organizations, governmental and non-governmental agencies, communities, children's groups and projects in the areas of crisis and loss. Web content can be viewed in both English and Spanish. The center was established in December 2005 with funding from the September 11th Children's Fund and the National Philanthropic Trust. 

Keywords: School health, Bereavement, Communication, Coping, Disasters, Emotional adjustment, Grief, Posttraumatic stress disorder, Professional education, Professional training Spanish language materials, School age children, Support groups, Trauma, Violence

Annotation: The National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges (NCJFCJ) represents America's judges who exercise jurisdiction over delinquency, abuse, and neglect, divorce, custody, support, domestic violence and similar types of cases throughout the country. The National Council, a 501 (c) (3) coroporation, conducts judicial education and training programs at the Louis W. McHardy National College of Juvenile and Family Justice, located on the Reno campus of the University of Nevada as well as at numerous sites throughout the country. Current focus issues of the National Council include juvenile and family law, serious and violent juvenile crime, child abuse and neglect, youthful sex offenders, family violence, substance abuse issues and a host of other subjects. Their services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. NCJFCJ publishes a journal, newsletter, digest, and catalog. The association also sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Homeless persons, Injury prevention, Juvenile delinquency, Runaways, School dropouts, Substance abuse, Violence prevention

Annotation: The National School Safety Center (NSSC) serves as an advocate for safe, secure and peaceful schools worldwide and as a catalyst for the prevention of school crime and violence. Emphasis is placed on the prevention of school crime and violence, and on programs to improve student attendance, achievement, and school climate. The center provides consultation and technical assistance, offers a school safety assessment program, sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars, and produces videotapes and publications (including news updates and resource papers).

Keywords: Audio visual materials, Conferences, Gangs, Information sources, Public relations, Publications, Resource centers, School safety, School violence, Technical assistance, Violence prevention

Annotation: Prepare Tomorrow's Parents, formerly the Parenting Project, is a non-profit organization that works to bring parenting, empathy and nurturing skills education to all school age children and adolescents. The organization identifies and promotes parenting-education programs; maintains a clearinghouse of instructional materials for teachers and advocates of parenting education for young people; publishes and distributes an advocacy guide; and provides links to numerous parenting education resources on its website. I

Keywords: Child abuse prevention, Family life education, Parent education, Parenting, Schools, Violence prevention

Annotation: The Safe Schools Coalition, founded in 1993 as the Safe Schools Coalition of Washington, aims to reduce bias-based bullying and violence in schools and to help schools better meet the needs of sexual minority youth and children with sexual minority parents or guardians in Washington state, nationally and internationally. The coalition provides information, referral, and advocacy for students, families, and educators; and offers training, model policies from Washington state school districts, posters, reports, handouts, and a resource guide.

Keywords: Bullying, Child safety, Coalitions, Homosexuality, School safety, School violence

Annotation: The Office of Safe and Healthy Students (OSHS) administers, coordinates, and recommends policy for improving the quality and excellence of programs and activities in the following areas: safe and supportive schools; health, mental health, environmental health, and physical education; drug and violence prevention; character and civic education; and homeland security, emergency management, and school preparedness.

Keywords: Environmental health, Federal programs, Health promotion, Mental health, Physical education, Public policy, Safety, School age children, Schools, Violence prevention

Annotation: The Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP), a component of the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice, collaborates with professionals from diverse disciplines to improve juvenile justice policies and practices. OJJDP supports states, local communities, and tribal jurisdictions in their efforts to develop and implement effective programs for juveniles. The Office strives to strengthen the juvenile justice system's efforts to protect public safety, hold offenders accountable, and provide services that address the needs of youth and their families. Through its components, OJJDP sponsors research, program, and training initiatives; develops priorities and goals and sets policies to guide federal juvenile justice issues; disseminates information about juvenile justice issues; and awards funds to states to support local programming.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Homeless persons, Information services, Injury prevention, Juvenile delinquency, Runaways, School dropouts, Spanish language materials, Substance abuse, Violence prevention