Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 11 (11 total).

First Things First

Annotation: First Things First supports the healthy development and learning of young children from birth to age 5 in Arizona. The website explains why the early years are critical for a child's healthy development and why investing in quality early childhood programs benefits children, families, communities, and the state. The website includes information for parents and families on topics such as brain development, ages and stages, child care and preschool, and literacy. Resources include a parent kit; a birth to five helpline; annual and biennial reports on statewide and regional needs and assets, and regional impact; research on brain science, quality early learning, and parenting education and family support; and data and statistics relevant to early childhood on national, state, and local levels.

Keywords: Arizona, Child care, Child health, Child safety, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Family support, Learning, Parent education, Research, School readiness, State initiatives, Statistical data, Young children

Gay, Lesbian and Straight Education Network (GLSEN)

Annotation: The Gay, Lesbian and Straight Education Network (GLSEN) works to ensure safe schools for all students, including lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender students. GLSEN focuses on three areas: (1) making anti-LGBT bullying, harassment and name calling unacceptable in America's schools; (2) engaging and empowering educators as partners in creating schools where every student can fully participate in school life; and (3) ensuring that the national agenda to create effective schools includes LGBT issues. GLSEN's Web site includes a library of news and other publications. GLSEN supports public policy agendas, sponsors public information campaigns, has a college scholarship program, holds conferences, and produces the National SChool Climate Survey.

Keywords: Homosexuality, School safety

Healthy Meals Resource System

National Association of State School Nurse Consultants (NASSNC)

Annotation: The National Association of State School Nurse Consultants (NASSNC) provides a forum for state-level nurse consultants to share information and develop expert consensus on issues in the practice of school nursing, as that practice relates to the overall health and educability of the nation's school children and youth. The association seeks to promote a better understanding and acceptance of comprehensive school health programs, including school health services, school health education, and a safe school environment. The Web site provides information about members, achievement awards, position statements, and links to other sources of information.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Nursing schools, School health, School health education, School health programs, School health services, School safety

National Center for Safe Routes to School

Annotation: Established in May 2006, the National Center for Safe Routes to School assists states and communities in enabling and encouraging children to safely walk and bicycle to school. The National Center serves as the information clearinghouse for the federal Safe Routes to School program. The organization also provides technical support and resources and coordinates online registration efforts for U.S. Walk to School Day and facilitates worldwide promotion and participation. The National Center is part of the University of North Carolina Highway Safety Research Center with funding from the U.S. Department of Transportation Federal Highway Administration.

Keywords: Resource centers, Bicycles, Child safety, Injury prevention, School age children, Walking

National Center on Safe Supportive Learning Environments (NCSSLE)

Annotation: The National Center on Safe Supportive Learning Environments (NCSSLE) provides training and support to state administrators, including 11 grantees funded under the Safe and Supportive Schools grant program, school and district administrators, institutions of higher education, teachers, support staff at schools, communities and families, and students and seeks to improve schools' conditions for learning through measurement and program implementation, so that all students have the opportunity to realize academic success in safe and supportive environments. It is funded by the U.S. Department of Education’s Office of Safe and Healthy Students and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration.

Keywords: Elementary schools, High schools, School safety, Social support

National School Safety Center (NSSC)

Annotation: The National School Safety Center (NSSC) serves as an advocate for safe, secure and peaceful schools worldwide and as a catalyst for the prevention of school crime and violence. Emphasis is placed on the prevention of school crime and violence, and on programs to improve student attendance, achievement, and school climate. The center provides consultation and technical assistance, offers a school safety assessment program, sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars, and produces videotapes and publications (including news updates and resource papers).

Keywords: Audio visual materials, Conferences, Gangs, Information sources, Public relations, Publications, Resource centers, School safety, School violence, Technical assistance, Violence prevention

National School Transportation Association (NSTA)

Annotation: The National School Transportation Association (NSTA) was founded in 1964 by school bus contractors to promote and foster the highest degree of safety in the transportation of school children. NSTA works with Federal and state legislatures, Federal agencies, the public sector, and other interested parties to bring about industry-wide improvements in all areas of pupil transportation. NSTA serves as the trade organization for school bus contractors which are companies that own and operate school buses and contract with school districts to provide the pupil transportation service.

Keywords: School buses, Transportation safety

Readiness and Emergency Management for Schools (REMS) Technical Assistance (TA) Center

Annotation: The U.S. Department of Education (ED)'s Office of Safe and Healthy Students', OSHS, (formerly the Office of Safe and Drug-Free Schools, OSDFS) Center for School Preparedness (CSP) provides support, resources, and training to support school emergency management efforts for local educational agencies (LEAs) and institutions of higher education (IHEs). The REMS Technical Assistance Center's primary goal is to support schools, school districts, and institutions of higher education in school emergency management, including the development and implementation of comprehensive all-hazards emergency management plans. The TA Center disseminates information about school emergency management to help individual schools, school districts, and institutions of higher education learn more about developing, implementing, and evaluating comprehensive, all-hazards school emergency management plans. In addition, the TA Center helps OSHS coordinate technical assistance meetings and share school emergency management information, and responds to direct requests for technical assistance and training.

Keywords: Disaster planning, Emergencies, School safety, Schools, Students, Technical assistance

Safe Schools Coalition

Annotation: The Safe Schools Coalition, founded in 1993 as the Safe Schools Coalition of Washington, aims to reduce bias-based bullying and violence in schools and to help schools better meet the needs of sexual minority youth and children with sexual minority parents or guardians in Washington state, nationally and internationally. The coalition provides information, referral, and advocacy for students, families, and educators; and offers training, model policies from Washington state school districts, posters, reports, handouts, and a resource guide.

Keywords: Bullying, Child safety, Coalitions, Homosexuality, School safety, School violence

U.S. Department of Education, Office of Safe and Healthy Students (OSHS)

Annotation: The Office of Safe and Healthy Students (OSHS) administers, coordinates, and recommends policy for improving the quality and excellence of programs and activities in the following areas: safe and supportive schools; health, mental health, environmental health, and physical education; drug and violence prevention; character and civic education; and homeland security, emergency management, and school preparedness.

Keywords: Environmental health, Federal programs, Health promotion, Mental health, Physical education, Public policy, Safety, School age children, Schools, Violence prevention

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.