Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The American Podiatric Medical Association (APMA) is a professional organization representing the nation's podiatrists in an orchestrated effort to improve the nation's quality of foot care. APMA's Council on Podiatric Medical Education accredits the nation's podiatric medical schools, residency programs, and continuing medical education programs. APMA sponsors an annual conference, publishes the Journal of the American Podiatric Medical Association, and provides career information and professional development opportunities. APMA also provides scholarships for podiatric medical students as well as free foot health information and online resources for the general public.

Keywords: Professional societies, Accreditation, Consumer education, Continuing education, Health personnel, Medical education, Medical schools, Medical students, Podiatrists

Annotation: The Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) is a nonprofit association founded in 1876 to work for reform in medical education. The association offers advocacy services and educational programs for medical staff, including workshops, seminars, and training sessions. The association's publications provide information about member institutions and their missions. AAMC also offers publications geared to medical school applicants. The website contains a digital collectino of historical AAMC documents containing some of its earliest documentation.

Keywords: Professional societies, Advocacy, Colleges, Databases, Educational change, Health education, Health personnel, History, Medical education, Medical schools, Medical students

Annotation: The Center for School Mental Health (CSMH) strengthens policies and programs in school mental health to improve learning and promote success for children and adolescents.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Clearinghouses, Conferences, Interdisciplinary training, Mental health, National MCH resource center, Publications, Referrals, Resource centers, School counseling, School health, School health programs, School personnel, School psychology, Spanish language materials, Technical assistance, Training

Annotation: The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) is a nonprofit organization of the public officials who head the departments of elementary and secondary education in states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity, and five extra-state jurisdictions including Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. Activities of the Council's School Health Project include providing information about HIV education, school-based pregnancy prevention, successful collaboration, and other coordinated school health programs. Publications include newsletters and reports (many can be downloaded free of charge). The Directory of Coordinated School Health Program Staff (jointly published by CCSSO, the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, and and the Society of State Directors of Health, Physical Education, and Recreation) is a state-by-state listing of staff in state education and health agencies whose responsibilities are related to health education, physical education, counseling and psychological services, parent/community involvement, and other aspects of school health. Copies of the directory may be ordered through the Publications section of tthe CCSSO Web site

Keywords: School health, Adolescents, Children, HIV, Health education, Listservs, Prevention programs, School personnel

Annotation: The National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) serves middle level and high school principals, assistant principals, and aspiring school leaders. NASSP provides its members with professional resources and support to effectively lead their schools. The association publishes audiotapes, videotapes, software, and print materials; organizes professional development conventions and conferences; provides a national voice in government; offers legal advice; and conducts research on learning, instruction, and other aspects of education.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Principals, School personnel, Secondary schools