Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) represents America's baccalaureate- and higher-degree nursing education programs. AACN conducts research, collects data, advocates, and develops curriculum standards and policy statements. Publications include the Journal of Professional Nursing, Syllabus (a bimonthly newsletter), and AACN Issue Bulletins (each focusing on a specific topic).

Keywords: Curricula, School health programs, Colleges, Data collection, Education, Nursing, Nursing services, Policy development, Standards

Annotation: The American School Health Association (ASHA), founded in 1927, is an interdisciplinary professional membership association whose members include nurses, physicians, teachers, physical educators, counselors, social workers, psychologists, administrators, health educators, health coordinators, nutritionists, and others all advocating for high-quality school health instruction, health services, and a healthful school environment. ASHA's mission is to protect and promote the health of children and youth by supporting coordinated school health programs as a foundation for school success. The association hosts a listservice and publishes The Journal of School Health (subscription with membership), Health in Action (a practitioners publication), and the Pulse newsletter. ASHA information, membership application, publications, annual conference, application for conference presentations, student scholarship, and workshops are available on the Web site.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, School health programs, School health services, Professional societies, School health

Annotation: The Center for Health and Health Care in Schools (CHHCS) specializes in researching and advancing effective school-connected programs, policies, and systems using the school location as a place-based solution for improving children's overall health and school success. CHHCS has developed a national network of leading stakeholders including researchers, practitioners, funders, and policymakers working across health, education, and family systems to facilitate communication among key experts and drive collective action. The center is a nonpartisan policy, resource, and technical assistance center located at the George Washington University School of Public Health and Health Services.

Keywords: School based clinics, School health, School health education, School health programs, School health services

Annotation: The Colorado Association for School-Based Health Care (CASBHC) advocates for health care in schools for Colorado's children and adolescents. Established in 1996, CASBHC is a 501(c)(3) organization. The CASBHC's goals include that every child in Colorado: should receive the care necessary to optimize health and well-being; should have preventive and primary health care available where children are, in school; that good health is essential for student success and that delivering health care in schools will improve academic achievement; and that school-based health centers should provide children with the tools they need to make healthy choices now and in the future. The name has been changed to Youth Heathcare Alliance.

Keywords: Advocacy, Colorado, School based clinics, School health education, School health services, School-age children, State organizations

Annotation: The Connecticut Association of School-Based Health Centers (CASBHC) is a statewide network of 75 school-based health centers (SBHCs) operating in 18 Connecticut communities. The group was established in 1994, and received its 501(c)(3) non-profit designation in 1996. Members of CASBHC have collectively established a base of support for school-based health centers in Connecticut through community engagement, delivery of quality services, advocacy and effective marketing.

Keywords: Advocacy, Connecticut, Health services delivery, Outreach, School based clinics, State organizations

Annotation: The District of Columbia Department of Health (DC DOH) Dental Services sponsors a school-based oral health program (SBOHP) that provides onsite access to care for children at-risk for not receiving oral health services. The program provides free basic dental services to children at partnering public schools, public charter schools, and Head Start and early childhood learning centers. Participating schools/sites must have at least 50% of its student population enrolled in the national free or reduced-price lunch program. Services are provided to children onsite using portable dental units and include dental sealant application, fluoride treatment, dental screenings and dental prophylaxis (cleanings), oral health literacy, education and promotion, and dental referrals. Services are provided by licensed dentists and/or oral health educators. All children must have a signed parental consent form in order to receive services. Students who need more advanced care are referred to dental clinics and dental offices for further treatment. All new school-based health centers include dental services.

Keywords: District of Columbia, Oral health, School health services, State agencies

Annotation: Future Smiles is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization that provides oral hygiene and disease prevention services at local schools, Family Enrichment Centers, health fairs, and other community events in southern Nevada. Restorative care is referred out to the community through a network of oral health professionals who collaborate with Future Smiles. Futures Smiles' mobile school-based dental sealant program, operates at three sites. They also participate in community health fairs and oral health presentations, along with school-based brush-at-lunch programs.

Keywords: Dental care, Nevada, Oral health, School health services, State initiatives

Annotation: The Illinois Department of Public Health School Health Program provides technical assistance and training to Illinois school health personnel serving school age children including communication about current health requirements, communicable and infectious disease issues, current practices in management of acute and chronic disease, education and grant opportunities, changes in public health rule and law, and resources available through state agencies. The program also monitors compliance among 63 certified school health centers operating in Illinois. The website provides information about the program's email list and School Health Days Conference.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent parents, Grants, Illinois, Preventive health services, School linked programs

Annotation: The National Association of State School Nurse Consultants (NASSNC) provides a forum for state-level nurse consultants to share information and develop expert consensus on issues in the practice of school nursing, as that practice relates to the overall health and educability of the nation's school children and youth. The association seeks to promote a better understanding and acceptance of comprehensive school health programs, including school health services, school health education, and a safe school environment. The Web site provides information about members, achievement awards, position statements, and links to other sources of information.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Nursing schools, School health, School health education, School health programs, School health services, School safety

Annotation: The National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion is a component of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Divisions of the center that are relevant to maternal and child health include the Division of Adolescent and School Health, Division of Nutrition and Physical Activity, Division of Diabetes Translation, Division of Cancer Prevention and Control, Division of Reproductive Health, Division of Oral Health, and Office on Smoking and Health.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Community health services, Community programs, Data, Health promotion, Medical research, Nutrition education, Nutrition monitoring, Nutrition policies, Nutrition programs, Nutrition research, Oral health, Outreach, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Public health nutrition, School health, Sexual health, Sexually transmitted diseases, Smoking, Women', s health

Annotation: The National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health (NCEMCH) leads a national effort to collect, develop, and disseminate information and educational materials on maternal and child health. It collaborates with public agencies, voluntary and professional organizations, research and training programs, policy centers, and others to advance education and program and policy development in maternal and child health. The center maintains a reference collection of educational materials documenting the last 100 years of maternal and child health and publishes a variety of guides, directories, bibliographies, and newsletters. Additionally, subject specialists implement special projects in support of federal initiatives. NCEMCH houses on-line information on programs and products from the Special Projects of Regional and National Significance (SPRANS) and other projects supported by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau. The Center's Web site contains databases, bibliographies on maternal and child health topics, lists of selected organizations and MCHB-funded projects, information about Center projects, and selected full-text publications. Selected records from the Center's bibliographic database are available for online retrieval through the Center database MCHLine(r) and also through the Combined Health Information Database (CHID), available on the World Wide Web. The NCEMCH organization database is included on the DIRLINE database at the National Library of Medicine. Services to consumers and health professionals include referrals, reference information, and publications. NCEMCH publishes a weekly electronic newsletter, MCH Alert, which provides timely MCH research and findings, policy developments, information about recently released publications, new programs and initiatives, and conferences affecting the MCH community.

Keywords: Health education, National Information Resource Centers, Adolescent health, Child health, Continuing Education, Data Analysis, Data Collection, Databases, Dissemination, Electronic newsletters, Health promotion, History, Information Services, Information services, Maternal health, Nutrition, Online Systems, Public Policy, Public awareness materials, School readiness, Young children

Annotation: Providence Community Health Centers (PCHC), established in 1968, is a large primary health-care provider in Providence, RI, and treat patients regardless of their ability to pay. PCHC is dedicated to preventing most common medical problems as seen by pediatricians, internists, family practitioners, certified nurse midwives, and ob/gyn physicians. Well-respected medical professionals work to control common chronic diseases, treat acute illnesses, and arrange for referrals to specialists. In addition to five health clinics. PCHC also operates a school-based program, a dental clinic, and the state’s only sexually transmitted disease clinic. PCHC is one of the providers of the WIC (Women, Infant and Children) nutrition program in Rhode Island.

Keywords: Community health services, Health facilities, Primary care, Rhode Island, School based clinics

Annotation: A regional public-private partnership, the Regional Health Alliance (RHA) works to improve the community's health in the Calhoun County region in Michigan. The RHA researches health problems, prioritizes health issues, sets indicator targets for the year 2010, benchmarks progress in achieving objectives, identifies resources, encourages and assists in the development of a coordinated regional health plan, serves as a catalyst for positive change in the health care arena, measures the impact of Regional Health Alliance (RHA) initiatives, fosters collaborations, and initiates projects to promote the health of the community. Utilizing a wholistic definition of health, the RHA utilizes preventive and indicator-driven approaches to improve health care access, to decrease chronic disease, and to meet specific health indicator targets by 2010. Issue action groups focus on access to care, maternal and infant health, school wellness program advisory, obesity reduction and regular physical activity, and adolescent pregnancy prevention. It is funded by the Battle Creek Community Foundation.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent pregnancy, Collaboration, Infant health, Maternal and child health, Michigan, Obesity, Prevention services, Public health, Public private partnerships, School health

Annotation: Special Olympics (SO) is an international organization that promotes understanding, acceptance, and inclusion between people with and without intellectual disabilities through year-round sports training and athletic competition and other related programming. SO provides children and adults with intellectual disabilities continuing opportunities to realize their potential, develop physical fitness, demonstrate courage, and experience joy and friendship. Resources include research reports, an e-newsletter, a fellowship program, and schools and youth outreach. SO also offers free health screenings and health information at local, regional, and World Games. SO's Project Unify is a school-based initiative in the United States that focuses on social inclusion, bringing youth with and without intellectual disabilities together through sports and related activities.

Keywords: Physical fitness, Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Developmental disabilities, Inclusive schools, Information services, Mental retardation, School health programs, Sports

Annotation: The Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP), a component of the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice, collaborates with professionals from diverse disciplines to improve juvenile justice policies and practices. OJJDP supports states, local communities, and tribal jurisdictions in their efforts to develop and implement effective programs for juveniles. The Office strives to strengthen the juvenile justice system's efforts to protect public safety, hold offenders accountable, and provide services that address the needs of youth and their families. Through its components, OJJDP sponsors research, program, and training initiatives; develops priorities and goals and sets policies to guide federal juvenile justice issues; disseminates information about juvenile justice issues; and awards funds to states to support local programming.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Homeless persons, Information services, Injury prevention, Juvenile delinquency, Runaways, School dropouts, Spanish language materials, Substance abuse, Violence prevention